Home
Trebuchet Kit
0

Customer reviews of Trebuchet Kit by Abong

Return to Trebuchet Kit product information...

Trebuchet Kit has been reviewed 41 times with an average rating of 4.07

Made 2 boys happy!
Posted 8/19/2009 by candace Timpte
Rating: 5

Got one for a gift and one for my 11 year old son (who already has the catapult); both boys love it! Now they're planning on making a larger model so they can launch watermelons.

9 of 9 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

Information about Trebuchet Kit
Posted 1/4/2012 by Sandra Iannotti - RELATIVE
Rating: 4

Inspired us to review utube videos of real trebuchet (s). Still putting it together with 6 year old son interested. had to wait for glue to dry so lost interest but will probably pick it back up next weekend.

7 of 7 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

Trebuchet
Posted 12/28/2011 by Deborah P
Rating: 3

Great idea to make this a toy. It was very frustrating to put it together. I expected tongue and groove type of assembly and not having to prop pieces in place and hope the glue dried fast enough to keep the piece in the correct position. I also thought it was pretty cheap quality to make the counter weight out of PAPER! The wood pieces claimed precision cut with accuracy, yet several of the dowels wouldn't fit through the holes and the upright pieces wouldn't fit into the notches. I expected a better quality product from Fat Brain Toys. I am so glad I thought to assemble this before giving it as a gift. That would have been a non-gift if I had expected them to assemble it!

7 of 7 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

trebuchet kit
Posted 9/30/2009 by Mackenzie Warren
Rating: 4

a little smaller than expected but still quite good. my nephew had a lot of fun putting it together. he, at age 13, is a history nut so it was perfect. the size isnt horrible and he can display it on his desk since it isnt this big thing

7 of 7 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

A rating of Trebuchet Kit
Posted 11/26/2011 by Jerry Sanicky
Rating: 5

Just make sure you take your time in building this kit. Follow directions (really), square things up and leave time for glue to dry. You won't be disappointed

6 of 6 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

Forces in Motion
Posted 2/1/2010 by Edie Schmidt
Rating: 5

I used the trebuchet kits in my Physical Science classroom. Students built them and demonstrated forces in motion. The students had a blast, and will be using them again in their math classes in the future to discuss the properties of parabolas. Next time, I will try to plan this unit to conincide with social studies' units on medieval times for a more rounded approach. All in all, the trebuchets were a great lab for science, math, and social studies.

6 of 6 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

Review for Trebuchet Kit
Posted 11/30/2009
Rating: 4

This kit was fun to put together, and worked well. It was easy to do, and took very little time. Iy would have been nice if the wooden pieces had been sanded before they were packed.

6 of 6 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

Trebuchet
Posted 1/25/2011 by Ryan Unterkircher
Rating: 2

Cardboard weight basket makes for a cheap toy.
If the bucket were heavy - could the trebuchet launch projectiles as fast? On the flip side, if you've received a troublechet instead of a trebuchet call us! We're fast in launching you towards happiness. You could say we're the fulcrum of full satisfaction. Gain momentum quickly by visiting the Returns & Exchanges center for details.

7 of 9 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

Trebuchet
Posted 10/25/2012 by RedSpqr
Rating: 3

This was smaller than expected. I did not see a size advertised (maybe I missed it). I did see a video of a completed kit, but I think it was for the other one, not this one. This is what I would call a "desk top" toy. Easy to assemble and it does work, but it is small and sightly cheesy. Purchased for a 12 year old boy. he likes it, I just hope it lasts a while.

5 of 5 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

My rating of Trebuchet Kit
Posted 9/11/2011 by Susie - RELATIVE
Rating: 4

I bought the trebuchet kit for my 7 y/o nephew's birthday. Every year, in our community we have a Punkin' Chunkin' and my nephew has always been fascinated with the catapults and the trebuchets. So when I saw the kits, I knew that I had to get him one. He and his father (and grandfather) put it together. It was too difficult for my 7 y/o to put together by himself.

5 of 5 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

Cool Kit
Posted 12/14/2010 by Rob - GRANDPARENT
Rating: 4

Pretty easy kit to build if you have done the standard model airplane or pine wood derby sorts of activities. A basic set of hobby tools and a little tweaking/ sanding/ re-sizing was required. The toughest parts were tieing all of the knots for the sling and release.

5 of 5 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

Product review of Trebuchet Kit
Posted 5/7/2010 by Lorelle Tunstall
Rating: 4

Very good trebuchet. Simple to construct with diagrams of each stage of construction. Took only a couple of hours and model was ready to use. Impressive firing distance for such a small trebuchet. Pleased with overall quality and appearance.

5 of 5 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

Trebuchet Kit
Posted 12/6/2009 by Helen Berg
Rating: 4

My 11-year old grandson put the kit together without much difficulty. It took a little patience and following of the instructions. It was a good learning experience, and a fun toy for him.

5 of 5 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

Review for Trebuchet Kit
Posted 10/27/2009 by Pete Keller
Rating: 4

The toy works great. No problems. My son loves it also.

6 of 8 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

A rating of Trebuchet Kit
Posted 11/29/2011 by Cathy Zent - RELATIVE
Rating: 4

good construction materials

5 of 6 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

A rating of Trebuchet Kit
Posted 9/27/2011 by Eddie Riley - EDUCATOR
Rating: 5

Well thought out, smaller than I thought from the pictures

4 of 4 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

A rating of Trebuchet Kit
Posted 9/26/2011 by JAMIE SPRAGUE
Rating: 4

this is a very good learing toy they might make it a bit stronger rember these are kids balsa (of what ever) pretty weak. over all good toy

4 of 4 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

Trebuchet Kit
Posted 8/9/2010 - RELATIVE
Rating: 3

The Trebuchet kit was less interesting to my 8-year old nephew than I had thought it would be. The demographic data indicated that 8 years old was a good age for this toy. However, the assembly process was well beyond his manual dexterity level, so he lost interest in assembly. Two adults had to complete it. Once it was put together, it did not fling the included projectiles 10 feet... My nephew played with it for about half an hour and then moved on to other toys. I would not recommend this toy for 8 year olds with average dexterity.
The manufacturer's age recommendation is noted within the "Product Specifications" section. We offered our customer assistance and the option of returning the Trebuchet for a refund or gift certificate. Please visit the Returns & Exchanges center for the full construct of your satisfaction. Always and in all ways, we aim to please.

4 of 4 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

My rating of Trebuchet Kit
Posted 1/5/2010 by Jennifer Williams
Rating: 5

This product was great. I knew that the hangman's knot was going to be difficult so I practiced and practiced and finally after an hour I got my technique down for tying them. Really cool knot but not good for 11 year old boys to tie.

4 of 4 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

Review of Trebuchet Kit
Posted 11/28/2008 by Linda Philcrantz
Rating: 4

Smaller than I thought it would be.

9 of 16 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

Great Gift!
Posted 1/3/2013 by LISA HOKANSSON
Rating: 5

The recipient (age 12) immediately opened this and went to work building! The instructions were easy for him to follow and it went together without a problem -- the only thing he needed help on was knotting the strings for the sling. After completion, it worked! Fun kit, fun toy.

3 of 4 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

Product review of Trebuchet Kit
Posted 11/20/2012
Rating: 2

Vague instructions. Only threw ball a max of 13.5 inches. The piece warned would fall apart if not put together perfectly... fell apart and we had his detail oriented dad do that one part to prevent it. Many ways the counter weight could have been made differently to last longer than 6 throws.
Counter defective products with a visit to our Returns & Exchanges Center. We aim to please. Our customer received credit for the defective item.)

3 of 5 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

Great toy!
Posted 1/3/2014 by Breanna A.
Rating: 5

I bought this as a gift for my husband for his desk at work, and he loves it! He enjoyed putting it together, and it works great! The only problem we had was not realizing we needed to buy glue to put it together, so he had to wait a couple of days until we went to the store so he could build it. We used wood glue for the structure and hot glue for the counterweight.

1 of 1 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

For the little scientist
Posted 1/7/2013 by Sally Brinton
Rating: 4

my little scientist grandson is loving this toy and enjoys putting it together and finding out how it works

1 of 2 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

Great
Posted 12/27/2012 by Jennifer Parker - OTHER
Rating: 4

Good replica with the fun of building it yourself

1 of 2 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

Not assembled yet.
Posted 12/20/2013 by Gottlieb Goltz
Rating: 5

If It's like the Ballista, It will be great. It looks as good of quality as the Ballista.

Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

A challenge for 9 year old boy
Posted 12/27/2012 by Jeanette Smith
Rating: 3

This model required more skill than my bright nine year old grandson was willing to invest. Actually was a bit of a challenge for me to assemble.

Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)


McAfee SECURE sites help keep you safe from identity theft, credit card fraud, spyware, spam, viruses and online scams
Home | Shopping Cart | Help | Privacy Policy | Return Authorizations | Toy Blog | Coming Soon | Christmas Toys
Best Toys by Age | Birthday Gifts | Top Kids Toys | Toys on Sale | New Toys | Popular Toy Searches

Copyright © 2003-2014 Fat Brain Toys LLC. All rights reserved. Fat Brain Toys® is a registered service mark of Fat Brain Toys, LLC
Fat Brain Toys Offices
1405 N 205th Street, Suite 120
Elkhorn, Nebraska 68022
Phone 1-800-590-5987
Omaha Toy Store
16909 Burke Street, Suite 131
Omaha, Nebraska 68118
Phone 402-504-6218
Overland Park/Kansas City Toy Store
5601 West 135th Street, Suite 2230
Overland Park, Kansas 66223
Phone 913-305-4894

  MacWeb03