Home
My First Sewing Kit
0

Customer reviews of My First Sewing Kit by Alex

Return to My First Sewing Kit product information...

My First Sewing Kit has been reviewed 45 times with an average rating of 4.47

Review of My First Sewing Kit
Posted 6/6/2011 by melissa hauck
Rating: 4

My 9 year old daughter wanted to learn to sew. I can only sew buttons on shirts so she wasn't going to get anywhere with me. Her Grandma on the other hand can sew all kinds of things. When I saw this product I thought it would be a great way for my mom to show her how sew. They've had a great time working on the projects and my daughter loves it. She really liked the pretty box that holds everything!

17 of 17 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

Review of My First Sewing Kit
Posted 6/28/2009 by Frederikke Bartholomew
Rating: 5

Have looked a long time in order to find a sewing kit for my 6 year old, she has been wanting to learn how to sew for a long time. Look high quality.

15 of 19 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

Only Okay
Posted 7/27/2009 by Alexa Ferguson
Rating: 3

I bought this kit to introduce my 8 year old daughter to sewing. I thought that the projects were too similar (three or four animals). There were no included instructions, which meant that my daughter couldn't just pull this kit out on her own and work on something. All in all, it was worth the price that I paid, but I don't think I would buy it again.

17 of 24 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

She loved it
Posted 1/1/2012 by Linda Anderson - GRANDPARENT
Rating: 5

My granddaughter loved this kit. It was a great complement to her favorite toy this year, her doll. She quickly started making assessories for her doll. She is a very creative 7 year old, so it was a great gift for her. It was the second kit of this kind that she has received in the last 6 months and she was thrilled to see it.

11 of 12 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

Product review of My First Sewing Kit
Posted 12/29/2010
Rating: 4

This was a repeat purchase. I'd given one to the older granddaughter a year ago when she was about 8, and both she and the younger granddaughter (now 5) often requested that I help them sew when I visited. It's not something they can do alone yet. We branched out from what was in the kit to make toy pillows, clothes for stuffed animals, etc. The younger girl borrowed items from her mom's sewing kit and scraps of worn-out clothes we could cut up. We mended several things, too. But it was clear she wanted a kit of her own, so this year I got her one and got both girls some extra spools of thread. We'll need to replenish the stuffing, too. The kits definitely have lasting play value and it's easy to buy or borrow a few extra supplies to keep them going and add options. It would be nice if they had more regular thread instead of just floss, and slightly sharper scissors, but they're a really open-ended play experience that teach skills useful later in life. Also a great grandma-grandchild bonding experience.

11 of 12 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

Review of My First Sewing Kit
Posted 12/26/2010 by Julie Willardson
Rating: 5

This is my daughter's very favorite Christmas gift! She has been begging for it since she saw it in the catalog. I love that the patterns are already cut out, all the supplies are included, and are made small for a child's hand. Since I sew quite a lot, she will be able to sit down with me and work on her own project. We are both delighted with the small details of the kit including the pincushion and thimble. We can't wait to use it!

11 of 12 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

Review of My First Sewing Kit
Posted 11/6/2009 - RELATIVE
Rating: 4

My daughter loves this! She has always enjoyed watching me mend clothing, so to have her own sewing things was a thrill. She has completed one project and is eager to do more (but I am saving this for a rainy/snowy day). I just wish the straight pins had not been included for safety reasons.

11 of 12 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

A great gift!!
Posted 11/21/2011 by Lubna Bazzy
Rating: 5

My daughter was thrilled when she unwrapped this sewing kit! She hasn't stopped putting pieces together! I think it's a winner!!

9 of 9 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

She loves it
Posted 1/5/2011 by Cathy Kresge
Rating: 5

From the moment my 9 year old daughter opend this, she was asking me to teach her to sew. Exactly what I was hoping for. she has made several of the items that came with the kit, and has also taken to fixing some things around the house. She needs more practice, but it is a great learning tool.

9 of 9 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

Information about My First Sewing Kit
Posted 12/27/2011 by Skye Loyd
Rating: 4

Fun kit! It's a great introduction to sewing. My daughter was able to complete the stuffed elephant in an afternoon and is looking forward to the other projects. The contrasting colors really help with visibility. The projects require just the right amount of parental help. I do wish the directions were a little more in-depth, and the stuffing is the kind made for blankets, not stuffed animals. The box is kind of flimsy for the price, but it should hold up till the projects are done.

8 of 9 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

Great product but better for older kids
Posted 12/26/2010 by Kendra Pollard
Rating: 4

I bought this for my 8 year old and while she was really excited she had trouble with the straight stitch concept. I'm sure in a year or so this will be much easier. It's a great product but I would recommend it for older kids.

6 of 6 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

Sewing away
Posted 1/3/2013 by Debra Galloway
Rating: 5

Daughter loves it, likes the things she can make and loves the colors they come in. Easy for her to do and keeps her interest.

5 of 5 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

Review of My First Sewing Kit
Posted 12/28/2012 - GRANDPARENT
Rating: 4

She really liked it but it seems like adult help was always needed. Maybe after using it more she will become more independent. Very hard to get needle threaded. The needle threader broke right away so an adult always had to thread the needle. Thread should be longer so that you can continue sewing longer without always have to stop and get another piece and then more adult help in threading needle.

4 of 5 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

Great fun for girls and their grandmas
Posted 12/30/2012 by Elizabeth Montgomery
Rating: 5

This is great, helps develop fine motor skills and is good for my daughter to do with her Grandma. Everyone has had fun!

3 of 3 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

Review of My First Sewing Kit
Posted 10/29/2013
Rating: 4

It is sturdy and cute.

3 of 4 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

FUN!
Posted 12/28/2012 by Penny Leech-Freed
Rating: 4

Daughter loves this gift. She has had so much fun creating new things with her kit. She hopes to be a fashion designer one day so this is her first design. Thanks.

3 of 4 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

Pretty Good
Posted 12/15/2013 by Jenny Hoshaw
Rating: 4

My 7 year old daughter is wanted to learn how to sew and this is a great gift to get her started. It is easy for her to do and love the projects

2 of 2 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

great gift
Posted 10/18/2013 by Sarah Ahrens - FRIEND
Rating: 5

Thanks to FatBrainToys, I was able to pick out the best age & gender appropriate gift for a 7 year old girl. She loves crafts and this is a perfect next step towards developing her creative skills. Great carrying case.

2 of 3 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

Review for My First Sewing Kit
Posted 7/2/2014 by Kathy D
Rating: 4

This product is great for my 8 yr old grandchild. The only problem was trying to thread the embroidery thread. After we separated the threads, it went great. Fun product.

1 of 1 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

Review of My First Sewing Kit
Posted 2/6/2014 by Tammy Schultz - GRANDPARENT
Rating: 4

Our 5 yr. old granddaughter was very interested in it when she first got it, but became impatient when she discovered how long it took to make something. I do think it is a great learning toy and will try again when she is a little older.

1 of 1 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

Review of My First Sewing Kit
Posted 12/26/2012 by Natalie
Rating: 4

My almost 6 year old needed some instruction and support, but was able to align the patterns, details and make the stitches pretty well. It met our expectations and hers.

1 of 1 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

First Sewing Kit
Posted 12/7/2012 by kristofor Vrondran
Rating: 4

This is a great way for my 8 year old to interact on a new level with her grandmother who's hobby is quilt making. Now my 8 year old can show me the things that she makes with a real sense of accomplishment that is great for her self esteem.

1 of 1 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

Review of My First Sewing Kit
Posted 3 days ago by Lisa Hale - GRANDPARENT
Rating: 5

my granddaughter loves projects and this one was great

Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

Review of My First Sewing Kit
Posted 12/16/2012 by Kb
Rating: 4

We got this for both of our girls for Xmas - I think the girls will totally love this as they make their own clothes out of large prices of paper. Looking forward to seeing what they can do.

Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

Cute Gift
Posted 12/6/2012 by Elizabeth
Rating: 4

This is a christmas present for my 8yo daughter so we haven't opened it yet but it looks really cute and the materials listed inside are perfect for quick (1h start to finish) but satisfying projects.

Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

Product review of My First Sewing Kit
Posted 7/5/2011 by Allan Green - GRANDPARENT
Rating: 5

Too early to answer your questions. Item was sent to my grand daughter. Check back with me later.

5 of 11 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

lost in transit
Posted 12/12/2013 by Deborah Winkler
Rating: 5

I wouldn't know since I haven't received it.

2 of 6 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

My first sewing kit
Posted 11/4/2013 by Joanne Engle - GRANDPARENT
Rating: 5

Bought this item as a Christmas gift for my 6-year-old granddaughter. She hasn't received it yet. I can tell you the packaging looks great and I'm sure she will enjoy hours of fun with this kit.

3 of 11 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)


McAfee SECURE sites help keep you safe from identity theft, credit card fraud, spyware, spam, viruses and online scams
Home | Shopping Cart | Help | Privacy Policy | Return Authorizations | Toy Blog | Coming Soon | Christmas Toys
Best Toys by Age | Birthday Gifts | Top Kids Toys | Toys on Sale | New Toys | Popular Toy Searches

Copyright © 2003-2014 Fat Brain Toys LLC. All rights reserved. Fat Brain Toys® is a registered service mark of Fat Brain Toys, LLC
Fat Brain Toys Offices
1405 N 205th Street, Suite 120
Elkhorn, Nebraska 68022
Phone 1-800-590-5987
Omaha Toy Store
16909 Burke Street, Suite 131
Omaha, Nebraska 68118
Phone 402-504-6218
Overland Park/Kansas City Toy Store
5601 West 135th Street, Suite 2230
Overland Park, Kansas 66223
Phone 913-305-4894

  MacWeb02