Home
3-D Home Kit
0

Customer reviews of 3-D Home Kit by Design Works, Inc.

Return to 3-D Home Kit product information...

3-D Home Kit has been reviewed 59 times with an average rating of 4.24

Fantastic Modeling Kit
Posted 3/24/2008 by C. Jewell - FRIEND
Rating: 5

I'm not sure what the age rating is for this "toy" but it's definitely something that will need adult input to get it going...in fact a lot of adult guidance will be necessary. I purchased this for myself (42 yrs old) and I find it's more of a professional level tool for house model building. My expectations were greatly exceeded for this - I was blown away! However, I think only a child with a LOT of patience is going to be able to handle this.

53 of 58 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

Product review of 3-D Home Kit
Posted 3/22/2010
Rating: 3

This kit has great supplies for creating a model home. The problem was that it doesn't have instructions to follow. You really need to start from scratch, and most young people don't know where to begin unless they have someone instructing them along the way.

33 of 40 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

Review for 3-D Home Kit
Posted 12/26/2007 by Tricia
Rating: 5

This is a great product. We visited Frank Lloyd Wright's Fallingwater, and it peaked our son's interest in architecture. He's reading about Wright's teachings, and wants to design a house using these materials. Great for kids who are detail-oriented and ready to visualize their ideas in 3D.

29 of 33 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

3-D Home Kit
Posted 11/28/2007 by Brianna Palmer - RELATIVE
Rating: 4

The kit is really cool, I bought it for my brother who is into building things and he loves it. I didn't buy the extra instruction guide as he likes to build independently and that worked out great. He really likes the kit and has been building for days now. He is thirteen and at what I feel to be the perfect age for this type of toy. It's a little too sophisticated for my 11 year old brother.

29 of 35 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

3-D Home Kit
Posted 12/29/2009 - GRANDPARENT
Rating: 5

My grandson was really excited to get this. He likes to learn and have a final product through experimenting with hands-on materials. This kit is great, instructions and all, no disappointments that sometimes happen with other products. There are some videos online that can be viewed to see others putting together sample homes with the kit.

23 of 25 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

Great Design in Mind
Posted 12/26/2010 by kim murray
Rating: 5

My son has "planned communities" with paper and tape in the past. This is a dream for him to do it with "real tools". He is 12.

20 of 21 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

Good for grown-ups too
Posted 2/6/2008 by David E - OTHER
Rating: 4

We got the 3-D home kit to do mock-ups of planned home remodeling projects. We knew we'd have to knock out walls and the kit seemed like a great way to visualize results before we started using a sledge hammer. For us, the kit worked as it was intended because we have a drawer full of exacto knives, good straightedges and glue from other projects, but if you didn't have that sort of thing, or hadn't done much cut-and-paste work, the kit might be sort of daunting. For us, though, it was great.

20 of 22 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

home model kit
Posted 2/15/2010 by Andrew Ballard
Rating: 5

This product is for adults or teenagers. It will require patients and craftsmanship to use properly. In the right hands it is really neat. Not for kids under about 14.

20 of 24 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

coolest thing ever
Posted 4/13/2011 by olga diaz
Rating: 5

This is the coolest thing ever my 10 year old daughter is so happy with this item her imagination has gone very wild she is building the best house or as she would say her dream house...very cool item i highly recommend this item........

16 of 16 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

3-D Home Kit
Posted 6/25/2007 by Donn Gorelik - RELATIVE
Rating: 3

The material is not strong enough to provide for long term use or repeated use and the writing on many of the pieces is too small to discern.

20 of 26 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

3-D Home Kit
Posted 8/26/2009 by Karen M.
Rating: 4

Good product for teenager with passionate interest in architecture and building/planning/landscaping. Needs a few more pieces such as siding. Uncomplicated, hands-on, tactile learning to develop spatial learning.

15 of 16 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

fun and educational
Posted 11/9/2010 by Glenn Debes
Rating: 4

not only was this product fun I learned what goes into building a home and the math they use to build a home

14 of 14 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

Review for 3-D Home Kit
Posted 8/26/2013 by Barbara Wolin
Rating: 4

I bought this as a gift for a very bright eleven year old. It is a challenging project and takes concentration, the ability to measure and think carefully. His father is a builder and he went to him for advice. It was great watching the two of them figure things out. He only needed a little advice from his father. He definitely worked on this project himself. There are different home models to build and it looks like this will keep him busy for at least a month.

13 of 13 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

Information about 3-D Home Kit
Posted 12/12/2012 - GRANDPARENT
Rating: 5

This is a great item. However, the description should provide more specific age recommendations. My grand-daughter loves all things about house design. However, this set requires use of scissors or razor knives to cut out very small features. Then glue is necessary to attach. She is only six. So, the large sheet of a hundred windows will soon be demolished with her awkward cutting skills. I'm quite sure the gluing will not be her strong suit either. I researched this item on another website to find a low age of 6. I didn't find any recommendation on your site. I'd think that a child may need to be 12 or up to be able to really assemble this kit. She'll love it. But it is way over her head.

13 of 13 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

My rating of 3-D Home Kit
Posted 12/12/2012 by Joan Biediger
Rating: 5

My son was thrilled with the 3D house to build. He is 11yrs old and had worked his way up thru all the next challenging levels of Legos. He has accomplished all of them that we know of! So this building project was a new thing for him. Once he opened it & began putting it together he was absorbed for hours. He loves it & is still working on it. Great purchase!!

12 of 12 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

3d home
Posted 12/9/2009 by Carolyn L. Hilt
Rating: 5

This is awesome. For our budding architect it is just the thing. Hours of enjoyment, creative thinking, something of which to be proud upon completion.

12 of 13 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

A rating of 3-D Home Kit
Posted 12/23/2009 by Linda I Clifford
Rating: 1

This was the most ridiculous toy I have ever seen. I could have xeroxed a set of plans or a model of a home. It's like paper dolls, only for a house. I guess I bought $23 worth of paper.
Good news. Fat Brain Toys carries 5,000 other selections to choose from should an item not meet your expectations! Please visit our Returns & Exchanges center for details and peace of mind. Ms. Clifford was issued a gift certificate to try another Fat Brain Toy.

16 of 23 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

great product for my nephew
Posted 7/16/2013 by Melissa R.
Rating: 5

I purchased this for my 12 yr old nephew and he is so excited to build a replica of his own house! He is a big lego kid and this is a step above that. Great gift

10 of 11 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

3-D Home Kit
Posted 11/3/2006 by Julie M. Zuby
Rating: 5

A wonderful gift for child who enjoys creativity and a chance to see what he's capable of producing.

9 of 10 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

Review for 3-D Home Kit
Posted 11/30/2009 by Kathy Huggins
Rating: 4

I bought this 3-D Home Kit for my 11 year old nephew. He loved it. He needed some help to get going, but then was able to create his own model. Great gift for the future architect!

8 of 9 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

Information about 3-D Home Kit
Posted 11/21/2011
Rating: 5

Purchased this for my 12 year old nephew who loves building things and he is so excited to make a house.

13 of 20 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

Information about 3-D Home Kit
Posted 1/2/2012 by Debora Foote
Rating: 3

I was disappointed in the quality of the product and the material it was made of, I thought it would be more sturdy. However the recipient was pleased and is looking forward to constructing it. I hope it holds up or he will be disappointed. (Fat Brain Toys: If your 3D Home kit doesn't open doorways to great thinking, here's your window of opportunity. Visit our Returns & Exchanges for a better view.)

11 of 16 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

My rating of 3-D Home Kit
Posted 4/25/2012 - RELATIVE
Rating: 5

My brother was very excited to make his own house. This is a great alternative to his obsession with Legos!

10 of 14 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

3D House
Posted 12/16/2009 by Georgia Alcala
Rating: 4

I bought this item for my 14 year old son. He is a future architect. I had such a difficult time trying to find something for him, but this is the perfect gift. I can't wait until he opens it!

8 of 10 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

Looks like good fun
Posted 4/27/2011 by Laird Kelly - GRANDPARENT
Rating: 4

I resisted the urge to open this and fool with it before giving it our granddaughter. It looks to be very versatile, giving you the materials to create nearly any type of home. Good for adults who want to prototype a remodeling project as well as kids who want to dream about becoming a builder or architect.

8 of 12 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

Product review of 3-D Home Kit
Posted 12/19/2013
Rating: 5

This is a project more than it is a toy. But, it is very detailed and will take her a while to finish.. which is a good thing!

4 of 4 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

Incorrectly described
Posted 12/19/2011
Rating: 1

This was advertised as a toy and it is not. Maybe an adult will use it sometime. As it was a gift, I purchased something else for my grandson.
The 3D Home Kit is designed for older children and adults. We provided our customer a gift certificate. Isn't it great when your satisfaction is built right in? Please visit our Home Sweet Home for assistance - Returns & Exchanges.

7 of 11 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

Looks can be deceiving
Posted 12/5/2011 by Melissa
Rating: 1

I bought this with the intentions of giving it to my 11 year old son. I was very disappointed with what I received. Just a stack of paper in a plastic bag! Really? ... Looks cheap and nothing I would ever give as a gift!
We contacted our customer with assurance of our 100% guarantee. Happiness is in the bag with every purchase! Please visit the Returns & Exchanges center for details.

6 of 11 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

No directions at all
Posted 11/13/2013 by Tamara melnik
Rating: 2

My son has no idea were to start to put this house together, there is no instruction at all, very disappointed, I guess I just wasted $.
Please note: Instructions are not included with this kit. The components are designed to be used as imagination leads. If you're not at home with that concept, consider visiting the home of exceptional customer care. The Returns & Exchanges Center has satisfaction built right in. We contacted our customer promptly.

2 of 3 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

Challenging kit
Posted 12/8/2013 by Janine Greer
Rating: 4

I thought the materials would be sturdier but our 13 yo loved the concept and challenge

1 of 2 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

Product review of 3-D Home Kit
Posted 27 days ago by Laura Bandrowski - RELATIVE
Rating: 5

My son and new wife building a new home so got for them to have fun with and they are excited to experiment with it.

Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

Great chance to work with dad
Posted 7/11/2014 by Nonnie
Rating: 4

The description & reviews provided were sufficient to know it was an involved kit and would need parental support. I think the opportunity to work on something with Dad and gain experience with paper models, exacto knives and rubber cement.

Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

Review of 3-D Home Kit
Posted 12/15/2009 by JAMIE SARCHE
Rating: 5

Looks cool, but we haven't opened it yet.

4 of 10 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

Information about 3-D Home Kit
Posted 5/13/2013 - OTHER
Rating: 4

Haven't had a chance to use it yet

1 of 12 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

Information about 3-D Home Kit
Posted 12/26/2009 by ANN D'ANTONIO - GRANDPARENT
Rating: 5

This item has not yet been given to our grandson. He will receive it as a birthday present in a couple of months.

6 of 25 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

Information about 3-D Home Kit
Posted 11/8/2011 by MaryAnn Quellos
Rating: 5

This is going to be a christmas present.

4 of 23 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)


McAfee SECURE sites help keep you safe from identity theft, credit card fraud, spyware, spam, viruses and online scams
Home | Shopping Cart | Help | Privacy Policy | Return Authorizations | Toy Blog | Coming Soon | Christmas Toys
Best Toys by Age | Birthday Gifts | Top Kids Toys | Toys on Sale | New Toys | Popular Toy Searches

Copyright © 2003-2014 Fat Brain Toys LLC. All rights reserved. Fat Brain Toys® is a registered service mark of Fat Brain Toys, LLC
Fat Brain Toys Offices
1405 N 205th Street, Suite 120
Elkhorn, Nebraska 68022
Phone 1-800-590-5987
Omaha Toy Store
16909 Burke Street, Suite 131
Omaha, Nebraska 68118
Phone 402-504-6218
Overland Park/Kansas City Toy Store
5601 West 135th Street, Suite 2230
Overland Park, Kansas 66223
Phone 913-305-4894

  MacWeb02