Home
Solar Deluxe Educational Kit
0

Customer reviews of Solar Deluxe Educational Kit by Elenco Electronics, Inc.

Return to Solar Deluxe Educational Kit product information...

Solar Deluxe Educational Kit has been reviewed 63 times with an average rating of 4.24

Review of Solar Deluxe Educational Kit
Posted 5/4/2008
Rating: 3

I use this in lessons on solar energy/photovoltaics for 4th - 10th grade students. It is easy to assemble and pretty durable with use by many students.

19 of 22 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

Review of Solar Deluxe Educational Kit
Posted 3/21/2008 by Tim Whiting - EDUCATOR
Rating: 5

Well made and well configured. The guide is very detailed. I was using this with a group of 3rd graders to explain electricity. With some help from an adult this kit is age appropriate, but also is appropriate for junior high schoolers should they wish to dive into the real science behind electricity. Great kit for the price.

15 of 15 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

Information about Solar Deluxe Educational Kit
Posted 1/11/2010 by Rebecca Massman - RELATIVE
Rating: 5

We gave this to my nephew for Christmas and he loves playing with it! This is a go-to toy for creative time before video game time! One surprise was that it will connect to and power the Snap Circuits set my other nephew got for Christmas - so they can play together! And, my sister says she'll never have to buy batteries again!! They love it!

14 of 17 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

Solar Deluxe Educational Kit
Posted 2/19/2007
Rating: 2

This was way more advanced than what I was expecting for a 4-5 grader. The Kit was complete and the information was good, but the appropriate ages for use need to be evaluated.

11 of 11 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

Product review of Solar Deluxe Educational Kit
Posted 6/2/2011 by Donna Biehler
Rating: 1

The item was not the greatest, the kids did not like it. It does not work very well and the morse code thing doesn't work at all.
We contacted our customer. If use of the Solar Energy Kit is not an energizing experience, let us know. We'll gladly convert your purchase to a refund or easy exchange. To shine a light on the details, visit our Returns & Exchanges center.)

12 of 14 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

good age group visual snag and intrigue
Posted 11/13/2008 by Elizabeth McIlrath - FRIEND
Rating: 5

The manual gets a bit wordy for an 8 yr. old and discouraging with the engineering directive instruction,and then saves the day with the option to disregard and move onto the next thing.

11 of 12 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

Great Kit!
Posted 6/6/2009 by tom nielsen
Rating: 4

Everything in the kit worked just great! It is a bit light on instructions, and you need to be a bit careful with the connecting wires as they are a somewhat fragile. But it made for a fun time with the group of girl scouts that I bought it for.

10 of 10 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

Good Learning/Teaching Tool, Although...
Posted 5/25/2009 by Jason Leigh - OTHER
Rating: 3

I found the kit a nice introduction to hands-on Solar power. The manual might be tough for an eight year old to read without an adult. Forget about the math; that's strictly college level math to figure out the various voltage/amps. Everything needed to see Solar power in-action is included in this kit. It is a blast when it works. However, placing the Solar panel in a window for about 4 hours reaped not enough power to light the light or to move the little fan. At first I thought the panel might be defective, until I placed it within inches of a 100 watt light, and then the light lit and the solar motor came alive and turned the fan! My main disappointment was in discovering that the solar panel did not "store power," it only used solar power while being activated.

10 of 11 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

Good learning toy
Posted 1/10/2010 by Ash
Rating: 4

Includes a fan, light bulb, solar panel and a sound box with connecting wires. Increases the child's awareness of solar energy and energy-conversion. Keeps the child's interest for a considerable time. Negatives: the fan mount is a trifle shaky. Would also strongly recommend the "snap-circuits" range.

9 of 9 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

solar power kit
Posted 12/27/2009 by jane deeken - GRANDPARENT
Rating: 4

I bought these for grown men who were fascinated and anxious to get them up i the windows of their apartments.

9 of 9 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

Wonderful Product, Excellent Price
Posted 1/25/2008 by Susan
Rating: 5

My son needed a solar panel kit for his science fair project. This one fits the bill for an extremely reasonable price. He especially likes that this kit has different options for showing how solar energy works. The demonstration portion of his project is very important and he is very happy that he can choose the method that will best suit his needs.

9 of 9 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

Product review of Solar Deluxe Educational Kit
Posted 9/22/2008 by Gerald Strazek - GRANDPARENT
Rating: 3

Very educational for solar power.

10 of 12 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

Product review of Solar Deluxe Educational Kit
Posted 7/21/2009 by Christa Graham - EDUCATOR
Rating: 4

Good instructions as well as trouble shooting tips. Easy to follow instructions. I recommend this highly.

9 of 11 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

Product review of Solar Deluxe Educational Kit
Posted 8/22/2011 by Lisa Mallo
Rating: 5

This product has many great solar experiments..my kids are both very interested in this kit and I feel we will use for a science fair project this year.

7 of 7 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

Awesome
Posted 12/27/2009 by Regina Morgen - RELATIVE
Rating: 5

Gave this to my nephew for Christmas after he asked for a solar panel. He loved it. Opened it right away and started using it. He had no problem figuring out the hooks ups etc.

7 of 7 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

Solar Deluxe Educational Kit
Posted 2/12/2008 by Jennifer Stallbaumer-Rouyer
Rating: 4

We have been pleased with this product. We were thrilled with how fast it made it to us as we homeschool and had planned a session with 12 other kids on solar energy. We had ample time to work out any kinks. The kids were able to put together different items to power with the solar panel. In fact, I had an e-mail to you all frustrated that none of the items were working, when my 8 year old daughter figured out how to power the radio. My primary frustration with this product is the user's manual. For a beginner, it would be nice to know how to trouble shoot when things aren't working like one would expect or to have some customer support specific to the product. We were reticent to expect much due to the price of the item and where it was made, but it has proven to be an educational tool that works.

7 of 7 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

Cool But Limited
Posted 12/16/2007 by MT
Rating: 3

This product is a good start. It provides simple pieces that are easily put together. The only bad thing is that there's not much to it.

7 of 7 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

Solar Deluxe Educational Kit
Posted 5/1/2007 by Jodi Foreman
Rating: 4

The kids in my Gifted/Talented classroom loved using the kit. Their only complaint was that they wanted it to do more. Some of the components were a little tricky to put together.

7 of 7 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

Solar Kit
Posted 4/10/2007 by Don Rambadt
Rating: 5

A very cool little kit. I bought it to use as an air circulator for an orchid case, but learned a bit about solar power to boot. The parts are well designed and fit together well.

7 of 7 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

Great Kit
Posted 4/26/2006 by Jim Bregman
Rating: 4

The kit is lots of fun and very educational too. My daughter (almost 7) was fascinated with solar energy and I got her the kit so she could learn more about it. She loved the little music box and had fun moving the panel in and out of the sun. Also she learned about polarity by wiring the motor first one way then the other. My only criticism is that the directions could have been a lot better. It is a well made good toy.

7 of 7 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

SNAP CIRCUITS JR.
Posted 10/12/2008 by Cecilia Chynn Ku
Rating: 5

GOOD ORGANIZED. INTERESTING! SAFETY. TRAINING BRAIN.

9 of 12 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

Solar Deluxe Eductional Kit
Posted 1/5/2009
Rating: 4

Well-made and eductional (good instruction manual too) - excellent value for money!

8 of 10 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

Fast- solid products, great value
Posted 3/16/2008 by William Taub
Rating: 5

I was very pleased with the quality and value of the product. I ordered some solar lab kits for my child's Sci-Fair project and they are exceptional value. We needed something to show in parallel and serial circuitry and each kit has all we needed. I ordered two and may not even need the second kit. Much better quality than the overpriced nonsense at Radio Shack and the expensive education toy stores.

7 of 8 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

My rating of Solar Deluxe Educational Kit
Posted 12/29/2007 by Cheryl McMahon
Rating: 4

Lots of interesting projects and did keep my son interested, but it really does need solar light, artificial light just won't do even thought the directions give options for that. Did get my son interested in solar power though and he started researching this subject on his own.

6 of 6 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

Information about Solar Deluxe Educational Kit
Posted 1/14/2011 by Judy Rae Smith - FRIEND
Rating: 4

The 11 year old for whom it was purchased has been very interested in the kit. It was bought to take advantage of the high number of sunny days here in New Mexico and will be used a great deal.

6 of 7 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

Product review of Solar Deluxe Educational Kit
Posted 12/26/2009 - GRANDPARENT
Rating: 5

Purchased this item for my 10 yr. old grandson. He is very interested in science and engineering and this item proved to be the best choice for him.

5 of 5 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

Loco para el sol
Posted 5/17/2007
Rating: 4

Great product! Simple design makes it easy to teach a wide range of ages. My only complaint is that the instructions are only in English.

5 of 5 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

fun for father and son
Posted 3/23/2010 by Anne Borden - RELATIVE
Rating: 4

I bought this for my 8-year-old nephew's birthday. I was happy to see my brother and my nephew sitting together in a big chair discussing what they could do with it. My brother seemed excited about it too!

6 of 8 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

My rating of Solar Deluxe Educational Kit
Posted 11/21/2010 by Fariborz Rouchi
Rating: 4

He likes it. Is very curious as how it works. Needed assistance at first, then he was fine on his own.

5 of 6 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

Solar Deluxe Educational Kit
Posted 3/12/2008 by MV
Rating: 3

The solar educational kit is a nice inexpensive way to get children 10-14 years interested in knowing more about solar energy and its numerous uses.

5 of 6 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

Solar Deluxe Educational Kit
Posted 3/29/2007 by Sandra Walker
Rating: 5

Wonderful kit! I am a teacher and my students love this! I gave them the instruction booklet and the parts and told them to try the experiments. It's great and they are truly enjoying the product.

5 of 6 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

Review of Solar Deluxe Educational Kit
Posted 8/2/2006 by Anthony Walker
Rating: 5

Good product. It got me interested in more solar toys or applications. Product was exactly as described.

5 of 6 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

Review for Solar Deluxe Educational Kit
Posted 12/26/2010 by Linda Taylor
Rating: 4

The educational nature of the toys I purchased gives them more play value than the rating might imply.

4 of 4 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

My rating of Solar Deluxe Educational Kit
Posted 12/16/2009 by Anne Maitland
Rating: 4

interesting introduction to green energy for my nephew he loves gadgets and should be intrigued by this one

4 of 4 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

item description
Posted 3/30/2011 by Nancy Kratz
Rating: 5

This item was purchased as a gift for my nephew. He hasn't received it yet but I know he will love it as he always wants to see how things work.

5 of 7 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

Parent
Posted 2/11/2011 by tom
Rating: 4

To be used in Science Fair

5 of 7 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

Information about Solar Deluxe Educational Kit
Posted 12/26/2009 by David Hirsch
Rating: 4

The Solar Delux Educational Kit is a good educational toy for the price. It allowed me to introduce my neice to some of the aspects of the solar system that she has heard about or seen at school or on television.

5 of 7 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

birthday gift --solar deluxe educational kit
Posted 8/31/2009 by sue krum - GRANDPARENT
Rating: 4

this is a great gift for an eight year old. i bought it for my nephew and his father to work on together.

5 of 7 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

My rating of Solar Deluxe Educational Kit
Posted 7/2/2009 by Ann Vail
Rating: 5

my nephew loved it, could hardly get him to put it away!

5 of 7 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

Review of Solar Deluxe Educational Kit
Posted 2/7/2007 by Tracy Tymko
Rating: 4

The Solar Deluxe Education Kit serves as a wonderful introduction to the basic concepts of electricity. Voltage, amperage, circuits in series and parallel were all covered in the instruction book.

4 of 5 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

purchased items for upcoming birthday
Posted 8/1/2011 by Janice McKee - GRANDPARENT
Rating: 5

purchased items for upcoming birthday, unable to rate at this time.

5 of 8 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

A rating of Solar Deluxe Educational Kit
Posted 11/30/2005 by Elizabeth Shoemake
Rating: 4

I ordered this for my son for Christmas, so he has not opened it yet. However, the packaging looks like it did online, and I think it will be as I expected.

4 of 6 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

Review of Solar Deluxe Educational Kit
Posted 1/2/2013 - GRANDPARENT
Rating: 5

solar panel is pretty big...works in direct sunlight or a lightbulb...son loves the boat and the wind (fan) working off the panel...good toy for explaining solar power to a child

2 of 2 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

Review for Solar Deluxe Educational Kit
Posted 8/10/2009 by Mark Englander - EDUCATOR
Rating: 5

I'LL BE GETTING MORE STUFF SOON for christmas stock

4 of 7 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

A rating of Solar Deluxe Educational Kit
Posted 12/30/2012 by Diane - GRANDPARENT
Rating: 5

Good for ages 10 and up.

1 of 1 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

Review of Solar Deluxe Educational Kit
Posted 11/25/2012 by Cornel Driessen
Rating: 4

Given to a boy that may be too young to appreciate in total (<5 yrs)

1 of 1 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)


McAfee SECURE sites help keep you safe from identity theft, credit card fraud, spyware, spam, viruses and online scams
Home | Shopping Cart | Help | Privacy Policy | Return Authorizations | Toy Blog | Coming Soon | Christmas Toys
Best Toys by Age | Birthday Gifts | Top Kids Toys | Toys on Sale | New Toys | Popular Toy Searches

Copyright © 2003-2014 Fat Brain Toys LLC. All rights reserved. Fat Brain Toys® is a registered service mark of Fat Brain Toys, LLC
Fat Brain Toys Offices
1405 N. 205th St., Ste. 120 Elkhorn, Nebraska USA 68022
Phone 1-800-590-5987
Omaha Toy Store
16909 Burke Street, Suite 131 Omaha, Nebraska 68118
Phone 402-504-6218
Overland Park/Kansas City Toy Store
5601 West 135th Street Overland Park, Kansas 66223
Opening May 2014!

  MacWeb01