Home
Frightened Grasshopper Solar Powered Bug
0

Customer reviews of Frightened Grasshopper Solar Powered Bug by Elenco Electronics, Inc.

Return to Frightened Grasshopper Solar Powered Bug product information...

Frightened Grasshopper Solar Powered Bug has been reviewed 138 times with an average rating of 4.23

Solar Grasshopper Fun Teaching Tool
Posted 8/21/2009 by Tracy Peterson
Rating: 5

This product was given to my kids by their grandparents. It was assembled by my 11 year old son and enjoyed by both children (my daughter is 6). As soon as it gets in the sunlight it vibrates in the palm of the hand, and stops immediately when you walk into the shade. I took it to my daughter's kindergarten last spring and the children had a great time taking turns with it on the playground, holding it flat in the palm of their hands. The teacher liked it so much that I ordered one for him to have for his classroom this year. Really cool!

37 of 44 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

Frightened Grasshopper
Posted 10/20/2008 by Michele Adornetto - RELATIVE
Rating: 5

I really love this little bug. Its adorable and my nephew loved it. It ended up being perfect for a little family gift exchange. Thanks so much and I was so excited to see all the other educational products you sell.

31 of 36 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

Information about Frightened Grasshopper Solar Powered Bug
Posted 6/25/2008 by Bernita W. Stuckey
Rating: 4

The frightened grasshopper was very easy to assemble. The instructions were simple and my 10yr old had no problem following them. The toy was smaller than I anticipated, but my child has enjoyed playing with it.

21 of 23 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

Review of Frightened Grasshopper Solar Powered Bug
Posted 6/5/2008 by Robyn Martichuski
Rating: 4

the frightened grasshopper is great. My duaghter loved putting it together and watching it work ing the sun. She also experimented and found that it does not work with indoor lighting.

19 of 22 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

GRASSHOPPER
Posted 9/17/2008 by MARLANA VENUS
Rating: 5

I gave it to my son last night and I was surprised how small it was but it was really cute. He really enjoyed putting it together and really enjoyed taking it outside and seeing it work! Even the neighbor kids enjoyed it.

17 of 20 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

great educational toy
Posted 6/9/2009 by Tara Henrichon
Rating: 5

I purchased this as a demonstration toy for the nature center that I work at. We used it recently at a community event and the children and adults alike loved watching it (and the solar robot, and hopping solar frog) jump around -- and sometimes off --- the table they were set up on. Many visitors to the Fair asked for the website they could order it from and we happily passed it on!

15 of 16 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

Review of Frightened Grasshopper Solar Powered Bug
Posted 1/28/2010
Rating: 5

I bought this for my 10 year old daughter's science fair project. She was able to put it together herself. As soon as we took it outside it started to jump around in her hand. She is enjoying this project!

13 of 14 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

My rating of Frightened Grasshopper Solar Powered Bug
Posted 10/20/2009
Rating: 4

Very cute, but very small. It was well worth the money for the 'cool science' aspect, but is not a toy to be really played with; especially for younger children. We homeschool, though, so it will be an asset for solar energy lessons.

13 of 14 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

Delights young kids
Posted 1/3/2010 by ROBERT B THOMPSON
Rating: 5

This model was simple to assemble in 5 or ten minutes. I bought two and I assembled one while our grand-niece of 6 years assembled another while watching my moves. She and her sister (age 4) were delighted with the result. Lots of giggling attracted the interest of their parents and they were charmed as well. Its a simple toy. Held their immediate attention for another five or ten minutes after the assembly. But I expect they will return to play with it when their friends come over to play.

12 of 12 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

Review of Frightened Grasshopper Solar Powered Bug
Posted 6/20/2011 by Susan Rich
Rating: 5

This was a birthday gift for a 10-year-old boy. When he opened it, he was very excited about the concept as were all the kids - boys & girls - who attended the party.

11 of 12 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

Grasshopper Solar Powered Bug
Posted 10/30/2010 by Kim Adams
Rating: 5

My son had fun putting int together and learning about solar energy

11 of 12 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

Review for Frightened Grasshopper Solar Powered Bug
Posted 8/17/2009 by David Tester
Rating: 4

The product was smaller than I thought. It came with good instrucitons and worked!

11 of 12 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

My rating of Frightened Grasshopper Solar Powered Bug
Posted 3/4/2008 by Elizabeth Woods
Rating: 4

The product will be used by my high school students to teach elementary students about the forms of energy. We want to teach that solar energy can be used to generate electricity. Also that radiant energy from the sun can be transformed to electrical energy with the use of a PV cell and that a motor (the inard of this toy) transforms electrical energy into motion. This toy is a kid friendly way to get the message across. I think it will work really well! However, this toy needs to be super close to a light source to work and did not work at all with florescent bulbs.

10 of 10 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

A rating of Frightened Grasshopper Solar Powered Bug
Posted 12/27/2007 - HOMESCHOOL
Rating: 3

My 12 year old grandson really enjoyed it. It was easy to build. He thought it should do more then shake under a light but he still enjoyed it.

10 of 10 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

My rating of Frightened Grasshopper Solar Powered Bug
Posted 7/16/2008 by Rafael Mora - TEACHER
Rating: 5

Excelent, funny,...

14 of 19 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

A grasshopper that won't hop
Posted 5/24/2010 by David Werner
Rating: 3

My 10 yr old daughter was able to assemble it for the most part herself. It's a cute little thing. We took it outside into the sun to watch it "hop". No such luck. It just sat and stared at us with those big eyes. Upon disassembly I discovered it has an intermittent connection between the solar collector and vibrator motor. I would have rated it lower but she learned something putting it together.
If your grasshopper resists hopping, please contact us. We provided our customer information for receiving a replacement hopping solar grasshopper.

9 of 10 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

A Fun Solar Wonder
Posted 4/23/2008 by Samantha Crow
Rating: 5

This grasshopper trembles like crazy. He has quite a lot of power for a little guy! Quick to assemble. Great for a few minutes of fun. Works through a sunny window and in bright artificial light. Cute, too.

9 of 10 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

Super Fun Grasshopper!
Posted 1/30/2008 by Nina
Rating: 5

Fun little project. Great idea! Very cool solar powered thing.

9 of 10 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

Does not work
Posted 10/7/2012 by J.W.
Rating: 2

I got this for my son's 10th birthday. He had no trouble putting it together & we sat it in the sun for 6 hours and nothing happened. I'm assuming the motor in the back is supposed to spin and the grasshopper will make a chirping sound? It was not stated in the directions, I just read that off of someone else's fabulous review. My husband and I were with my son as he put it together so I know it was assembled properly.
Shake a leg and contact us if your grasshopper doesn't hop. A replacement for the defective hopper was promptly shipped. Visit our Returns & Exchanges Center for details.

8 of 8 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

Review of Frightened Grasshopper Solar Powered Bug
Posted 1/6/2008 by Thomas Micale
Rating: 4

This toy is interesting and fun for my nephew, and stimulated conversation about solar power and its possibilities in the world.

8 of 9 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

Review of Frightened Grasshopper Solar Powered Bug
Posted 1/17/2013 by cindy kelly
Rating: 2

I thought this would be more of a project, it took my son about 2 minutes to assemble. Also, it was much smaller than I expected

7 of 7 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

Review for Frightened Grasshopper Solar Powered Bug
Posted 8/11/2011 by Andrea Moncrease
Rating: 4

The solar grasshopper was a great technology item to add to our program, the children were able to assemble the product and enjoy the features.

7 of 7 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

My rating of Frightened Grasshopper Solar Powered Bug
Posted 12/29/2009 by Janet
Rating: 4

Cute, but has a number of small parts, so I would not recommend if you have infants in the house.

7 of 7 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

Product review of Frightened Grasshopper Solar Powered Bug
Posted 12/29/2009 by Margaret Parker
Rating: 5

grandkids and their parents having alot of fun with the toys

7 of 8 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

Great Easter gift!!
Posted 4/9/2012 by Robin Moldenhauer
Rating: 5

Gave one of these to each of our kids for Easter....Really cool and teaches them about the use of Solar power versus batteries or electricity....

6 of 6 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

Frightened Grasshopper Solar Powered Bug
Posted 2/6/2009 by Candace Zaugg
Rating: 5

This was part of a gift certificate for my 13 yr old son from my parents. He had a blast assembling the little grasshopper. When he brings it out to play with - his younger brothers always get a kick out of how the grasshopper trembles near any light. A very ingenious toy!

6 of 6 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

Product review of Frightened Grasshopper Solar Powered Bug
Posted 2/23/2011 by Daniel McManaman
Rating: 5

haven't given it to my grandson yet

7 of 9 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

Review of Frightened Grasshopper Solar Powered Bug
Posted 12/27/2009 by SARA
Rating: 1

I was so excited for my boys to play with this toy. I ordered two of these. The concept is so awesome. I opened the product and was excited to see that they would get to put it together. The instructions were well laid out and easy to follow. That's were the excitement ended. One of the grasshoppers broke in the process of putting it together. The small plastic tail end broke off. The other didn't fall apart, but did not work when we put it together. I disassembled each of them thinking they had been put together incorrectly. They had not. I checked the solar panels and one didn't work at all. I actually had to spin the motor to get it to work. The other motor worked, but I had to put a high powered flashlight directly onto the solar panel to make it work. In the end the boys didn't get to play with their solar bugs at all. The concept of this toy is great, too bad it's not what the manufacturer promised!
Frightened Grasshoppers require a gentle hand in assembly. We contacted our customer to offer our assistance for obtaining grasshoppers that readily hop.

7 of 9 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

Information about Frightened Grasshopper Solar Powered Bug
Posted 11/11/2009 by Patrick Oliver
Rating: 5

Simple, fun. Great!

7 of 9 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

Product review of Frightened Grasshopper Solar Powered Bug
Posted 12/10/2009 by Barbara DeSerres
Rating: 5

Very quirky, just the thing for a very bright 9 years old.

6 of 7 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

Frightened Grasshopper
Posted 12/27/2012 by Jenny Hawkins
Rating: 1

Grasshopper does NOT work ie move, at all.
The grasshopper was just waiting for a sunny day. He's on the move now - and our customer is pleased. If you believe any Fat Brain Toy is defective, we leap into action and serve you well. Visit the Returns & Exchanges Center for details.

5 of 5 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

Product review of Frightened Grasshopper Solar Powered Bug
Posted 1/2/2012 by nicole murray
Rating: 5

My 10 year old daughter specifically requested something she could assemble with her retired engineer grandfather. They both enjoyed the assembly and were pleased when it buzzed in the sunlight.

5 of 5 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

Product review of Frightened Grasshopper Solar Powered Bug
Posted 12/28/2011 by Christine VanSlyke
Rating: 5

This toy provided the nine year old recipient with an opportunity to build his own solar powered toy within minutes and without assistance or frustration. The glow of completion added to the enchantment of the cute little creature and the solar powered feature was educational for both children and adults.

5 of 5 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

My rating of Frightened Grasshopper Solar Powered Bug
Posted 6/6/2011 by lisa king
Rating: 5

My grandson was very excited to get this and begin putting it together and playing with it!

5 of 5 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

My rating of Frightened Grasshopper Solar Powered Bug
Posted 1/3/2011 by L. Bexley
Rating: 4

Very cute little grasshopper! I gave this to my son for Christmas and he assembled it quickly and easily. Once it sat in the sun for a few seconds it started vibrating and moving. My son was mpressed to see how the sun makes it move.

5 of 5 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

Cool little bug
Posted 1/3/2011
Rating: 5

Easy to put together and cool to operate!

5 of 5 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

Information about Frightened Grasshopper Solar Powered Bug
Posted 12/3/2010
Rating: 4

Great project! I gave this to a 13 year old boy and he wouldn't put it down until it was completed. Definitely kept him engaged!

5 of 5 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

Cute 'n Crazy Grasshopper
Posted 1/20/2010 by C.
Rating: 3

I received this as a gift. I thought it would be a lot bigger. The picture on the box is very deceiving. I carefully followed the instructions which for an adult I thought were difficult to do. I am mechanical as well. Then the grasshopper did nothing. I held it in front of a 100 watt bulb. I even opened my window in the middle of winter in a cold climate on a sunny day and nothing. I called and told Fat Brain of the situation and was sent another grasshopper immediately. This time I did not put the grasshopper together right away, but instead held the solar panel in front of a 100 watt bulb and presto, the little motor started to work. I opened my window and it also worked in direct sunlight. When held the panel just in front of the glass it would not work. Wish it did because I wanted to see my grasshopper move and shake in the afternoons when the sun hits my window. I thought that any light would power this cute little insect. I will just have to wait until spring and summer when I can have my window opened.

5 of 5 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

My rating of Frightened Grasshopper Solar Powered Bug
Posted 1/7/2010 by Linda Whitmire - GRANDPARENT
Rating: 4

We had to wait for the sunshine for the bug to work. But when the sun came out my grandson had a great time playing with the cat.

5 of 5 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

Good Bug
Posted 1/2/2010 by Evelyn Alberding
Rating: 4

This is a cool little toy, but not really an enduring keepsake. It takes about 30 seconds to put together and then it does, as expected, jump when exposed to DIRECT, BRIGHT sunlight.

5 of 5 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

Cute grasshopper
Posted 12/29/2009
Rating: 4

Cute holiday gadget! Smaller than expected, but very cute and entertaining.

5 of 5 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

Fun little bug
Posted 12/29/2009 by Jennefer P
Rating: 4

I got this for my 5 year old daughter after she saw it in the Fat Brain Toys newspaper and requested it on her Christmas list. She loves bugs and anything with cute wiggly eyes. You have to assemble it - which was really simple - but i had to do it becasue the parts were way too small for her. Supposed to use it on a sunny day - which it was cloudy out - so we put him next to a light bulb instead & it worked! It vibrates and moves around when the heat from the lamp hits it. She though it was super cool & loved it. Cant wait to try it outside in the sun. Really fun way to teach kids about solar power! Only suprise was it was much smaller than I thought - like the size of a sugar packet. We put him in a little plastic box so he doesnt get lost or broken.

5 of 5 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

My rating of Frightened Grasshopper Solar Powered Bug
Posted 12/29/2009 by tracey bowen
Rating: 4

Fun to play with, but bug needs a lot of light to activate. Directions only tell you how to put it together, not how to operate it after it's completed. Overall good value for the price.

5 of 5 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

Great fun
Posted 12/28/2009 - GRANDPARENT
Rating: 5

Do this when the sun is out! It is suprisingly easy to put together, but don't do it on a cloudy day or if you can't find a 100 watt light bulb. We will certainly buy another!

5 of 5 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

Product review of Frightened Grasshopper Solar Powered Bug
Posted 12/25/2009 by grandma mary
Rating: 4

Purchased this toy as Christmas gift for eight year old grandson. With his Dad supervising and giving a few verbal suggestions, Jacob assemble the bug in a couple of minutes. On a sunny window sill the bug took a minute or so to "charge" the solar cell and began trembling and emitting sounds. Jacob was happy with the performance and experimented with different light sources. We expect that his cat will also find the bug entertaining! This is well constructed and performs as advertised. It remains to be seen how long the novelty will last. I expected the bug to be small, after reading others' reviews. I hope it will not be lost underfoot and smashed or mauled by cat.

5 of 5 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

Great Grasshopper!
Posted 12/23/2009 by Rebecah Freeling - RELATIVE
Rating: 4

My 10 year old neice loved this and she and her mom had a great time putting it together.

5 of 5 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

My rating of Frightened Grasshopper Solar Powered Bug
Posted 12/18/2009 by Danielle Eballar
Rating: 4

it was cute, funny, and unique.

5 of 5 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

My rating of Frightened Grasshopper Solar Powered Bug
Posted 12/15/2009 by Jason V. McBride
Rating: 4

A little smaller than expected, but very fun and the recipient loved it and my daughter wanted one for herself.

5 of 5 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

Review of Frightened Grasshopper Solar Powered Bug
Posted 12/14/2009 by mark raymond
Rating: 4

Interesting toy! Fun to put together.

5 of 5 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

Frightened Grasshopper
Posted 12/9/2009 by J. Patrick Burns
Rating: 4

This is a great toy for Science minded kids. It's simple, inexpensive, and fun.

5 of 5 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

Review for Frightened Grasshopper Solar Powered Bug
Posted 12/9/2009 by Amy Kuhn
Rating: 3

It was easy for my 9 year old son to assemble. He likes how he can scare people with it. I wish it came with info on solar power and how that energy is used to move the motor.

5 of 5 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

neat toy for kids
Posted 6/9/2009
Rating: 4

The grasshopper only hops is fairly strong light, and it pulses on/off. The kids I gave it to liked it a lot. It's not the sturdiest thing in the world, but it's fine for

5 of 5 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

Excellent
Posted 3/17/2009 by Sandra Billmyer
Rating: 4

Very fun and easy to put together. My 8 year old daughter found it and assembled it on her own without us realizing it. She had no trouble and was able to put it to the test after 20 minutes. It's been a great learning tool and she will be using it for an upcoming science project.

5 of 5 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

Fun and educational toy
Posted 1/23/2010 by Geoff
Rating: 5

We love this bug! It was easy to assemble and clearly demonstrates to children how one can obtain energy from the sun. Note that multi-pane/low-E glass can reduce the Sun's energy enough to prevent the bug from working, so use a strong interior light, open the window, or go outside!

6 of 8 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

Review of Frightened Grasshopper Solar Powered Bug
Posted 3/12/2011 by Chris Sietsema
Rating: 1

Even under intense sunlight, mine won't work. Only if I put it an inch away from my kitchen light does it work, which is useless.
We contacted our customer to assist. A manufacturer's warranty is included with every Hopping Grasshopper to ensure that your solar grasshopper is looking good and quick on his feet. If you need assistance, we leap into action - Please visit the Returns & Exchanges center for details.)

5 of 6 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

Information about Frightened Grasshopper Solar Powered Bug
Posted 2/2/2010
Rating: 1

We could never get it to work.
A warranty is included with the grasshopper kit. Completing this information will ensure that you quickly and easily receive a replacement hopper if needed.

5 of 6 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

Product review of Frightened Grasshopper Solar Powered Bug
Posted 1/16/2010 by Robin Nogiewich
Rating: 5

Fun and easy to put together. Works very well indoors with a flashlight. This is a great science project for anyone fascinated with solar power.

5 of 6 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

A Hit
Posted 1/15/2010 by Patricia Brannon - GRANDPARENT
Rating: 5

This solar powered bug kit was a Christmas gift for our 9 year old home-schooled grandson. He was excited when he opened it and wanted to start putting it together right away. Even his younger sister got in on the action. This was a grat cooperative activity for the two of them. Directions well written and assembly no problem for them.

5 of 6 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

Very fun
Posted 12/20/2009
Rating: 5

My 5 year old son loves this bug. It was easy to put together and great to see in action.

5 of 6 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

A rating of Frightened Grasshopper Solar Powered Bug
Posted 12/19/2009 by Marcio Ubiratan de Almeida Rosa
Rating: 5

I liked, it´s is a very interesting.

5 of 6 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

Review for Frightened Grasshopper Solar Powered Bug
Posted 12/18/2009 by Corinne Odermatt
Rating: 5

cute bug! Works great!

5 of 6 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

My rating of Frightened Grasshopper Solar Powered Bug
Posted 12/17/2009 by Linda O'Neal - GRANDPARENT
Rating: 5

The solar grasshopper is for my grandson who is 8 and loves things like this. I would have loved to get this as a gift.

5 of 6 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

Great toy for the Kids!
Posted 12/11/2009 by Sally Glausen
Rating: 5

I ordered this toy for my nephew- he asked for it! I was impressed with the educational aspect of the toy, he was more impressed with the "bug look."

5 of 6 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

They are Christmas Presents - Not yet tested
Posted 12/10/2009 by Elaine Steward
Rating: 5

Sorry, but I won't have a report until after Christmas. Feel free to contact me then.

5 of 6 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

Great Looking Toy/Project!
Posted 12/9/2009 by Carrie Piccard
Rating: 5

We haven't played with this because it is a gift for a cousin - but the idea of this toy is amazing and I like that it is an activity for an adult and child to do together!

5 of 6 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

Frightened Grasshopper Solar Powered Bug
Posted 12/7/2009 by Salie Godfrey
Rating: 5

We haven't yet opened it but it looks fun!

5 of 6 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

Satisfied
Posted 12/5/2009 by J.
Rating: 4

Bought as a gift, nephew enjoyed.

5 of 6 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

Grasshopper Solar bug
Posted 12/4/2009 by Patricia Layne
Rating: 4

Looks like it could be another favorite gift.

5 of 6 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

fun
Posted 11/8/2009 by David Taulbut - GRANDPARENT
Rating: 5

My grand children and I had fun putting these robotic toys together I only wish they had something like this when I was a child now I’m Waiting for you to offer the hex Bug Nano ….

5 of 6 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

Frightened Grasshopper Solar Powered Bug
Posted 5/24/2009 - GRANDPARENT
Rating: 5

6 yr old grandson was intrigued with it, and happliy played with it most of the day. Thanks!

5 of 6 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

super cool
Posted 5/15/2009 by Rebecca - FRIEND
Rating: 5

I bought this for a friends 8 year old son and he loves it. It was easy for him to put together and really captures his attention.

5 of 6 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

Didn't even get to try it
Posted 5/14/2009 by Lisa Song
Rating: 5

As soon as we opened the box, my son pulled a little too strongly on the blue and red wires and detached them from the solar panel body. Unfortunately, we didn't even get to make the little grasshopper. It looked pretty cool though. Wish we could have tried it out.

5 of 6 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

My rating of Frightened Grasshopper Solar Powered Bug
Posted 4/13/2009 by willie ericson - RELATIVE
Rating: 5

What a find. It was very easy to put together, the instructions were well illustrated.

5 of 6 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

My rating of Frightened Grasshopper Solar Powered Bug
Posted 12/26/2011 by Charity Nuckolls
Rating: 4

Really educational toy.Love how it is solar powered!

4 of 4 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

Information about Frightened Grasshopper Solar Powered Bug
Posted 12/23/2011 by Kerry Bruce
Rating: 4

Bought this for my 11-year old nephew. He was able to put it together and getting working right away. Really enjoyed it.

4 of 4 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

solar bug
Posted 12/17/2011 by Nei Sammons
Rating: 2

It doesn't really do anything but shake so it really isn't that fun to play with. It is a novelty though, and cute to boot.

4 of 4 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

Frightened Grasshopper Solar Powered Bug
Posted 11/24/2011
Rating: 1

It just doesn't seem to work well. We got it to work once outside in high sunlight, and it didn't do much. We were told it would hop but that never happened, just a little movement. Can't get it to work under a light bulb.
We hop to it when your Solar Grasshopper doesn't! We contacted our customer with information for receiving a replacement. The grass is greener here. Visit our Returns & Exchanges center for details.

4 of 4 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

My rating of Frightened Grasshopper Solar Powered Bug
Posted 1/26/2011 by Jane Klassen
Rating: 5

What fun! The recipient (9yr old) was able to put this together completely on his own. It makes everyone laugh when it is powered up.

4 of 4 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

My rating of Frightened Grasshopper Solar Powered Bug
Posted 12/30/2010 by Deanna Brassington - GRANDPARENT
Rating: 4

This is a good toy for learning about solar energy. My 10 yr. old grandson easily constructed it. The only hitch was that the sun coming in the window (Michigan) is at too low of an angle to activate it on its feet. He had to hold it in his hand on its side before it would vibrate. The lights we tried on it weren't strong enough to activate it. We'll have to try a stronger light.

4 of 4 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

Grasshopper fun
Posted 12/29/2010 - RELATIVE
Rating: 4

Good product, perfect as a gift.

4 of 4 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

Review for Frightened Grasshopper Solar Powered Bug
Posted 12/28/2010 by Stephanie Blake
Rating: 5

My grandson received it on Christmas and went straight to the table and put it together. He absolutely loved it!

4 of 4 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

A rating of Frightened Grasshopper Solar Powered Bug
Posted 12/27/2010 by Tara Eng
Rating: 4

Pretty neat. But after it's all put together and we see it working, there's not much else to do with it.

4 of 4 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

Review for Frightened Grasshopper Solar Powered Bug
Posted 1/20/2010 by Heidi Pederson
Rating: 3

We are having difficulty getting to work.
If your solar grasshopper is too calm let us know. We shipped a readily frightened grasshopper as a replacement.

4 of 4 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

A rating of Frightened Grasshopper Solar Powered Bug
Posted 1/12/2010 by Linda - GRANDPARENT
Rating: 5

My grandson loved this!

4 of 4 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

Great toy
Posted 1/12/2010 - RELATIVE
Rating: 5

I bought this as a birthday present for my nephew (7yrs old) he absolutely loved it. He couldn't wait to get it out of the package and start building it. I have to admit it was so cute I was very tempted to keep it for my self.

4 of 4 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

Just What We Needed
Posted 1/11/2010 by Michele B
Rating: 5

We purchased this product to use in a science fair project at my son's school. My eleven year old son enjoyed putting the grasshopper together and it made his science fair project lots of fun. In fact, he giggled all the way through it! It's refreshing to see an educational toy bring a smile to a child's face as he/she learns about solar, electrical and kinetic energy. This product is highly recommended.

4 of 4 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

Product review of Frightened Grasshopper Solar Powered Bug
Posted 12/29/2009 by Mary Lager - GRANDPARENT
Rating: 5

This toy was fascinating to my 10 year old grandson. He was amazed at the cause and effect of sunlight and electric light on the grasshopper.

4 of 4 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

Great Toy and Teaching Tool
Posted 12/28/2009 by Qin Cai
Rating: 4

It took a bit effort to assemble. It's quite obvious that the bug vibrates under the direct sun and stops immediately once we block the sun. The vibration is simple, it will be better it can actually hops (my 6 year old's comment).

4 of 4 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

Frightened Grasshopper Solar Powered Bug
Posted 12/27/2009 by Monica L. Perri
Rating: 5

easy to build and fun to watch it vibrate. everyone really liked it. You do need very bright light though to make it move, but it works well and is surprisingly durable.

4 of 4 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

A rating of Frightened Grasshopper Solar Powered Bug
Posted 12/27/2009
Rating: 3

The grasshopper was fairly easy to assemble. My 10 year old son put it together and put it in the windowsill to see what it would do. It is pretty cute, but did not hold his attention for a long time. It just skitters around aimlessly.

4 of 4 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

Not A Winter Thing I Guess
Posted 12/26/2009 by Kathryn Canada
Rating: 2

Not easy for a 7 year old to put together. It only works outdoors in direct sunlight which actually it hasn't even done yet either?
A warranty is included with the grasshopper kit. Completing this information will ensure that the manufacturer sends a replacement if needed.

4 of 4 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

A rating of Frightened Grasshopper Solar Powered Bug
Posted 12/26/2009 by Marsha Grafe
Rating: 2

My son enjoyed his gift. He played with it a lot more than his other gifts. My problem was the picture on the screen was about five times bigger than what the cricket really is. The picture was misleading. It caused the cricket to look as big as someone's palm of there hand. Also the picture did not say that the product was smaller than the picture. But on top of that we really enjoyed it!!

4 of 4 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

Review for Frightened Grasshopper Solar Powered Bug
Posted 10/13/2009 by George Oberlender
Rating: 5

principles of solar power

8 of 13 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

My rating of Frightened Grasshopper Solar Powered Bug
Posted 7/18/2010 by Laura Berglund - RELATIVE
Rating: 3

I was disappointed with the overall size of the box and item. It looks so small and for the price seems too small, especially to give as a gift. I think the toy will be neat and fun when played with, but I will not know until next week.

6 of 9 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

not received yet???
Posted 12/14/2009 by Chris Lowe
Rating: 5

I have not received the product as of today (12/14). Please look into why this email was sent, but no product

5 of 7 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

Review of Frightened Grasshopper Solar Powered Bug
Posted 12/14/2009 by Dee Kinney
Rating: 5

This is a Christmas gift, so I haven't really seen it out of the box, yet.

5 of 7 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

Product review of Frightened Grasshopper Solar Powered Bug
Posted 12/2/2009 by Mindy Thomas
Rating: 5

Wonderful toy for my 8 year old son.

5 of 7 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

Review of Frightened Grasshopper Solar Powered Bug
Posted 12/29/2011 by Linnea Nelson
Rating: 4

This toy was cool. My 10 yr old loves putting things together and solar power amazes him. He put it together in a snap.

4 of 5 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

Product review of Frightened Grasshopper Solar Powered Bug
Posted 1/2/2013 by DONIVAN HUWALDT
Rating: 4

The grasshopper got lots of play initially by all. It was still one of the top toys that both kids, & adults were still doing the next day. I'm pretty sure it wil not be forgotten.

3 of 3 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

Review for Frightened Grasshopper Solar Powered Bug
Posted 11/18/2012
Rating: 4

My son got this for a science fair assignment. Even after that was over he continues to play with the bug.

3 of 3 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

Review of Frightened Grasshopper Solar Powered Bug
Posted 9/11/2012 by Patricia Henzel - GRANDPARENT
Rating: 4

Love it.... my grandson loves it and i love that he is able to understand the energy derived from the sun.

3 of 3 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

Product review of Frightened Grasshopper Solar Powered Bug
Posted 2/2/2010 by Rex Harvey - OTHER
Rating: 4

Cute product. Movement is somewhat disappointing. Only random. I think if you angled the legs correctly, it move move forward. 10 year old might be able to construct it.

5 of 8 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

Cute toy
Posted 5/15/2011
Rating: 5

Simple toy, but great one! My four year old loves it

4 of 6 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

Review for Frightened Grasshopper Solar Powered Bug
Posted 5/3/2010
Rating: 4

Looks very sweet, although won't know for sure my opinion for some time. The item is a stocking stuffer for Christmas. Trying to think ahead!

6 of 11 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

Product review of Frightened Grasshopper Solar Powered Bug
Posted 11/30/2009 by Janice Fontaine - RELATIVE
Rating: 4

sorry but this was purchased as a Christmas gift and have not used yet

6 of 11 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

Review for Frightened Grasshopper Solar Powered Bug
Posted 12/1/2009
Rating: 4

Product was as expected from Fat Brain Toys.

5 of 9 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

Product review of Frightened Grasshopper Solar Powered Bug
Posted 12/22/2013
Rating: 5

I can't say what kind of "play value" the grasshopper has, because I give these to executives and engineers. I will say they stop me to say how much they enjoyed the gift and how excited they got when it started hopping around. I always suggest they put it in a small bowl so it doesn't hop off the desk and fly apart.

1 of 1 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

Product review of Frightened Grasshopper Solar Powered Bug
Posted 7/26/2010
Rating: 4

We have not put the frog together yet. I ordered it early for a Christmas present. My kids were excited when they saw this product and the frog that could be put together. I look forward to watching and helping my kids put together the frog and the grasshopper after Christmas.

6 of 13 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

A rating of Frightened Grasshopper Solar Powered Bug
Posted 9/30/2012 by Joan Hanley
Rating: 5

It is a purchase for Christmas. Don't have any comment yet

2 of 5 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

A rating of Frightened Grasshopper Solar Powered Bug
Posted 10/24/2011 by carol foss
Rating: 5

Haven't received the product yet!!

4 of 16 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)


McAfee SECURE sites help keep you safe from identity theft, credit card fraud, spyware, spam, viruses and online scams
Home | Shopping Cart | Help | Privacy Policy | Return Authorizations | Toy Blog | Coming Soon | Christmas Toys
Best Toys by Age | Birthday Gifts | Top Kids Toys | Toys on Sale | New Toys | Popular Toy Searches

Copyright © 2003-2014 Fat Brain Toys LLC. All rights reserved. Fat Brain Toys® is a registered service mark of Fat Brain Toys, LLC
Fat Brain Toys Offices
1405 N 205th Street, Suite 120
Elkhorn, Nebraska 68022
Phone 1-800-590-5987
Omaha Toy Store
16909 Burke Street, Suite 131
Omaha, Nebraska 68118
Phone 402-504-6218
Overland Park/Kansas City Toy Store
5601 West 135th Street, Suite 2230
Overland Park, Kansas 66223
Phone 913-305-4894

  MacWeb03