Home
Happy Hopping Solar Powered Frog
0

Customer reviews of Happy Hopping Solar Powered Frog by Elenco Electronics, Inc.

Return to Happy Hopping Solar Powered Frog product information...

Happy Hopping Solar Powered Frog has been reviewed 42 times with an average rating of 3.62

Solar Frog
Posted 12/4/2009 by Patricia Layne
Rating: 4

Looks like another favorite gift!

7 of 7 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

Sedated Frog
Posted 8/30/2009
Rating: 2

Our frog seems pretty slow even in direct summer sunlight. Not so much happy hopping as slow lurching. It would require supervision for assembly by children. The Frightened Grasshopper is more entertaining for kids in my opinion.

7 of 7 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

My rating of Happy Hopping Solar Powered Frog
Posted 7/26/2010
Rating: 4

My children were excited when they saw this on the internet. They got even more excited when they learned that they had to put it together. We have not used it yet because it is a Christmas present.

7 of 8 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

fantastic item
Posted 12/20/2009 by Linda Lloyd
Rating: 5

My daugther wants to be a scientist and found this toy facinating.

7 of 8 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

Maybe It Was Me...
Posted 2/25/2008 by Edwin C Glover
Rating: 1

It was impossible to assemble. It's still sitting in the box.
Upon contact with our customer, we discovered that a piece was missing from the kit. A replacement frog was sent. Happy hopping, solar frog

6 of 6 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

Cool Frog and Great Service
Posted 1/18/2008 by Matt Meyer
Rating: 4

Though in need of some adult assistance, this neat toy combines science, model making, and a love of animals and the environment. My seven year old son did all the preliminary work on his own, calling me in for a bit of final adjustments. Then, with light bulb to the solar panel (he couldn't wait till morning!), the cute new pet started hoping around. A nice and multifaceted product.

6 of 6 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

Attracts Attention
Posted 8/3/2010 by Emmett Worick - GRANDPARENT
Rating: 5

Again, I have no children so far to show it to, but the solar aspect of it demands attention from adults. I didn't know I would have to assemble it, but it was really a piece of cake. I made up a halogen lamp so that I can demonstrate the frog in action without the sun. It works beautifully. I have since ordered two more to give away after I assemble them.

7 of 9 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

solar powered frog
Posted 12/28/2011 by Christine VanSlyke
Rating: 4

The nine year old recipient was immediately drawn to the opportunity to build his own toy and was able to complete the task quickly with assistance. The toy is fun to play with and an interest in solar options to battery power was piqued.

5 of 5 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

solar frog
Posted 12/17/2011 by Neiland Sammons
Rating: 2

cute and funny

5 of 5 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

Too sensitive to play
Posted 5/26/2011 by Moayed Daneshyari
Rating: 3

The frog was cool, but the problem with the product is too sensitive in design. After my son has put it on the sand to move, now it does not work, since I think somehow sand has gone into the frog from many cracks it has. It only worked for 2-3 hours and now it is a few days that it does not work anymore.
Unbeknownst to well meaning children, this is a solar frog, not a sand toad. However, we hopped right to it to provide a free replacement. We aren't a-phib-ian, we're here to help. Please visit the Returns & Exchanges center for details.

5 of 5 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

Great toy
Posted 11/3/2008 by Mary Collins
Rating: 5

This was easy to put together and caught the interest of my 8 year old son immediately. We like it so much we bought the cricket too.

5 of 5 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

Review for Happy Hopping Solar Powered Frog
Posted 2/17/2008 by Peg
Rating: 4

I purchased this toy for the son of a close friend as a birthday gift. He is very gifted when it comes to parts and engineering type toys. I thought it would be right up his ally. The solar powered part is great. It gives his mom a break from buying batteries for all the remote controlled toys they already own.

5 of 5 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

My rating of Happy Hopping Solar Powered Frog
Posted 12/11/2007 by Lisa Belmarsh
Rating: 3

Pieces so small that they were lost immediately!

5 of 5 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

this one is realy cool
Posted 11/8/2009 by David Taulbut - GRANDPARENT
Rating: 5

My grand children and I had the most fun with this one they even took it to school.

5 of 6 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

Happy Hopping Solar Powered Frog
Posted 1/10/2008 by William L Novak
Rating: 1

My 12 year old son is very good at putting these types of products together. He could not get this to work. Then my husband also took it apart and tried to get it to work. No luck.
This defective product was returned and a credit was issued to our customer.

5 of 6 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

Product review of Happy Hopping Solar Powered Frog
Posted 1/3/2012
Rating: 4

A little difficult to put together, pieces easily lost. 12 yr old able to assemble by himself.

4 of 4 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

A rating of Happy Hopping Solar Powered Frog
Posted 3/9/2011 by Cheri Pilant
Rating: 3

The Frog was for my 10 year old grand daughter's birthday gift. We have had very few days that she has been able to take it outside in the sun. When we did have a sunny day it didn't work very well. She had to keep tapping it on the head to get it to hop. We will try again when she can take it outside on a sunny day. If it doesn't work any better than it has, I think it was a waste of money--not very much fun! I expected it to hop around a lot.
Tapping your frog's head - though a novel way of prodding your frog along - isn't a requirement. We contacted our customer with the option of a return. Please visit the Returns & Exchanges center for the ribbeting details.

4 of 4 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

Cool little guy!
Posted 1/3/2011
Rating: 5

Good basic design that is easy to put together and fun to play with.

4 of 4 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

Happy Kiddie From
Posted 12/28/2010 by David Inwood - RELATIVE
Rating: 4

It looks like a good product, and I was going to give it as a Christmas gift to my teenage brother, but I felt uneasy about it when I got it and saw a picture of a little kid in a scientist outfit on the box. It made it look more juvenile then I expected, and I wound up buying him some video game accessories instead. I am going to hang on to it, and will probably give it to someone younger for a birthday gift later in the year.

4 of 4 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

Information about Happy Hopping Solar Powered Frog
Posted 3/11/2010 by Margaret Mick
Rating: 1

Put the frog together and it has never worked. They put it in several different windows and nothing. Very disappointed.
We contacted our customer. Solar Hopping Frogs are picky about their sunshine. Most generally, they will not hop unless they are placed in direct sunlight, not in sun through a windowpane.

7 of 11 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

Bad Implementataion of Good Idea
Posted 12/26/2009 by TC in KC
Rating: 1

I ordered this thinking it'd be a great use of vacation time. The assembly was ridiculous. Directions were ok but LOTS and LOTS of small parts. My 10 year old could not assemble it herself. AND our frog does not work! Thinking we goofed the assembly up, I have taken this apart and reassembled 3 times (still not sure of directions for some parts). A great disappointment!
Included with this product is a warranty for a replacement frog if needed. We "hopped to it" and emailed our customer instructions for receiving a speedy replacement.

5 of 7 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

Nothing Hopping Yet
Posted 3/16/2009 by Karen Longo - RELATIVE
Rating: 3

We ordered the frogs and grasshopper for a school Science Fair at the end of April. Two second grade girls will be putting them together, then building some racing lanes out of foam core. The girls will be applying different light sources to the solar panels to see which frog hops the fastest/furthest. Stay tuned...

5 of 7 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

Review for Happy Hopping Solar Powered Frog
Posted 5/3/2010
Rating: 4

Won't know for a while as the item is being saved for a Christmas stocking stuffer.

7 of 12 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

Product review of Happy Hopping Solar Powered Frog
Posted 1/9/2014
Rating: 3

This comes unassembled, which is nice, in that kids get to see and assemble the workings of a machine. However, I got it for a seven-year-old, and it was far too complicated for her. Getting the tiny screws in required an eyeglass screwdriver and a lot if elbow grease. It's a bit fussy for a child's toy. The solar power is neat, but it needs absolutely full sun (a rarity in Oregon winter!) And the motion is very slow - hop a half-inch ... Waaaaiiiitttt ... Hop. Not that exciting.

1 of 1 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

Information about Happy Hopping Solar Powered Frog
Posted 10/19/2012 by Kristal Rubin - RELATIVE
Rating: 5

My husband put the frog together for my son. They charged it according to the directions but it didn't work. They tried this process several times before we returned it for a refund. Now my son just has to decide if he would like order to something else in its place or reorder the same product (and cross our fingers that the first frog was just a lemon!).

1 of 2 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)


McAfee SECURE sites help keep you safe from identity theft, credit card fraud, spyware, spam, viruses and online scams
Home | Shopping Cart | Help | Privacy Policy | Return Authorizations | Toy Blog | Coming Soon | Christmas Toys
Best Toys by Age | Birthday Gifts | Top Kids Toys | Toys on Sale | New Toys | Popular Toy Searches

Copyright © 2003-2014 Fat Brain Toys LLC. All rights reserved. Fat Brain Toys® is a registered service mark of Fat Brain Toys, LLC
Fat Brain Toys Offices
1405 N 205th Street, Suite 120
Elkhorn, Nebraska 68022
Phone 1-800-590-5987
Omaha Toy Store
16909 Burke Street, Suite 131
Omaha, Nebraska 68118
Phone 402-504-6218
Overland Park/Kansas City Toy Store
5601 West 135th Street, Suite 2230
Overland Park, Kansas 66223
Phone 913-305-4894

  MacWeb03