Home
GeoSafari Junior Talking Microscope
0

Customer reviews of GeoSafari Junior Talking Microscope by Learning Resources / Educational Insights

Return to GeoSafari Junior Talking Microscope product information...

GeoSafari Junior Talking Microscope has been reviewed 49 times with an average rating of 4.69

Perfect Gift!
Posted 11/21/2008 by Jaimie Miller
Rating: 5

This is a gift for my exceptionally bright 4-year-old niece. It is both bright and colorful and easy for a child to use. The only (mild) censure I could give is that it only has programming and equipment for insects and arachnids. If it included slides/data on plants and single-celled organisms it would be that much better.

12 of 12 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

Great First Microscope!
Posted 8/2/2010 by Chelsea Blazer
Rating: 5

My 5 year old loves this toy! It's not "messy", and it is perfect for little ones who have a shortened attention span. I love that it gives facts, asks questions, the slide codes are easy enough for my son to enter on his own, and it is made well. You can also put other things (besides the provided slide) under the scope! All-around great toy!

10 of 10 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

GeoSafari Talking Microscope
Posted 2/28/2007 by Tracy Macfarlane - TEACHER
Rating: 3

The children have really enjoyed working with the microscope in class. They are always interested in working with it during free time. It does however seem a bit limited. There is a quiz that you can do with each slide or you can learn facts about the slides. I think it would be enhanced by additional slides and a way to use it as a group.

9 of 9 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

WOW
Posted 1/17/2012 by cindy
Rating: 5

My grandson was very excited when he opened this microscope. It was something he said he wanted from the FBT catalog. He is a young kindergartner and absolutely loves learning. I sat with him for the first few slides and he was able to insert the slides and remembered the instructions very quickly. I was impressed with how much he remembered from the information when taking the quiz. He abvolutely loves this toy!

8 of 8 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

GeoSafari Junior Talking Microscope
Posted 12/22/2011 by David Apple
Rating: 3

The buttons (A,B,C, etc.) work well. The light illuminates well. The volume does not get very loud. Essentially, the microscope has to be used in a quiet room, in order to hear the sound. Also, the cover that fits over the batteries needed McGiver-ing once I inserted the batteries. The plastic backing of the thread housing was broken and loose inside the microscope, so the cover would not screw down into place. I removed the entire bottom panel, extracted the small broken plastic backing, and glued it in place below the thread housing. Needless to say, this made the overall experience much less than impressive due to the poor manufacturing/design of the battery cover assembly. In addition, the interface between the slides and the slide holder could be improved. It's not intuitive, nor is it clear exactly where the slides click into place. It would also be better if the scope could be plugged into the wall, rather than battery powered. Overall, the microscope is functional and educational.
Cool as it is, McGiver-ing is unnecessary. We provided our customer a gift certificate for the excessive adjustments needed to make this microscope function properly. Please visit our Returns & Exchanges if your microscope challenges intuitive use.

8 of 8 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

Great Beginning Microscope
Posted 1/4/2011 by Katharin Kelker
Rating: 5

I bought microscope for my six year old grandson who is in kindergarten. He is very interested in science so he loved this toy. It was easy for him to operate independently and he quickly understood how the whole process worked.

7 of 7 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

Review of GeoSafari Junior Talking Microscope
Posted 12/4/2007
Rating: 5

The microscope is very child friendly. It's simplistic enough for a young child to work, but is advanced enough for an older child to use. The slides have a high kid interest level and are easy to put in and out of the slide holder. The information told to the child with each slide is also very high interest and ties in with the slide.

7 of 7 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

More than I expected
Posted 1/2/2012 by H. Weston Drumheller
Rating: 5

I have a real scientific microscope that handed down to me from my father who is a doctor. I have had the strong desire to share the experience of using it with my son since he was old enough to look through binoculars, but it's too advanced and too fragile. This microscope toy is a great alternative. It was a little difficult for my four year old (and me) to get the slide in position to activate the microscope at first, but once that's done, it's all microscopic vision and learning.

7 of 8 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

A rating of GeoSafari Junior Talking Microscope
Posted 1/29/2012 by KS713
Rating: 5

We gave this toy to a 5 year old nephew and he loves it!

6 of 6 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

Wonderful Educational Toy
Posted 1/2/2012 by Carol Foster
Rating: 4

We got this microscope for our 5 (nearly 6) year old son as a Christmas gift. He is very into school and various academic related toys. He is very engaged by the device. I like that it speaks to him about the various bugs on the slides and allows more information on the item, if desired. At this point, he pops the slide out before it completely goes through the lesson, but I'm sure that will pass as the newness of the toy wears off. The one problem we found is that the slides require a little pressure to secure and remove. We had one slide that took a little work before we realized it wasn't fully attached and we've had a few slides fly across the table while he learns to remove them on his own. With all that said, he is able to load and unload the slides and enter the code all by himself. If you are able to sit down and guide the child through the first several fundamentals of the toy, they will definitely be able to play with it all by themselves in no time at all.

6 of 6 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

GeoSafari Microscope
Posted 7/6/2009
Rating: 4

Nephew liked it. Made sure it worked before I wrapped it as I read other reviews that stated the buttons are sometimes defective. Good toy to introduce the concept of a microscope to a child. Slides are actually just photographs but it works for this age.

6 of 6 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

Review of GeoSafari Junior Talking Microscope
Posted 2/8/2007 by Marlene
Rating: 4

I bought this for my son's K-1 class at school. I tried it out before I gave it to his teacher. My son was excited to see all the bugs on the slides and the buttons were easy to use. I would have given this product 5 stars, but I found it a little hard to insert the slides just right. I thought it might be a little hard for my son, but with a little practice he was able to do.

6 of 6 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

Great Microscope to Start With
Posted 3/9/2010 by CopTeacher
Rating: 5

My grandson really enjoys this microscope. He is having fun learning about the different slides. He also like the freedom when he can put the slide in and program the correct sequence of letters for each slide. I know this will increase his desire to learn and hopefully he will want a microscope with even more features and magnifications, as he gets older, to investigate further. We would like to see more slides become available.

5 of 5 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

GeoSafari Talking Microscope is Great!
Posted 1/12/2010
Rating: 4

This is a well made children's toy and all the 5 year-olds in my neighborhood seem to love it. It's easy to change the slides and the information presented is interesting and appropriate for 4-6 year olds.

5 of 5 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

Very Educational
Posted 12/31/2009 - RELATIVE
Rating: 4

The durability of the plastic leaves a little to be desired, especially for use by curious 5 yr. old boys. But looking at bugs is still cool. My son thinks this 'scope rocks

5 of 5 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

My oldest son loves it!!
Posted 12/30/2009 by Silvia J. Sullivan
Rating: 5

This is a very nice product for a small boy. My 7 year old loves everything related to Science and he was the one who told me this microscope was in his classroom. It provides so much information about bugs and there is no mess. I just wish we could buy more slides for the microscope.

5 of 5 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

Good for the little ones
Posted 12/29/2009 by Tyler
Rating: 4

Got the microscope for my 2nd grader and it performs well. The slides it come with are all good and has decent adjustments for focusing. The one draw back is that it talks ALL the time and there is not much of anyway to look at anything other then the slides it comes with. Its only these 2 draw backs that kept it from a perfect score.

5 of 5 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

GeoSafari Talking Microscope
Posted 5/20/2008 by MaryBeth Bush
Rating: 5

Great and educational for all levels of my preschool.

5 of 5 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

talking microscope
Posted 2/1/2011
Rating: 4

my 4 year old boys loves it and plays every day

6 of 8 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

Jr Microscope
Posted 12/5/2011 by James Ott
Rating: 4

Creates Interest....

5 of 6 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

A rating of GeoSafari Junior Talking Microscope
Posted 8/16/2009 by Lisa
Rating: 5

My grandsons love it.

4 of 5 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

This Is Great!
Posted 12/27/2007 by Haley Werle
Rating: 4

Great for little scientists. Easy to use. My 4 1/2 year old loves it!

4 of 5 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

Great
Posted 3/22/2007 by Kathy
Rating: 5

I was very pleased with the microscope. It was for my grandson. He loves it.

4 of 5 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

Review for GeoSafari Junior Talking Microscope
Posted 12/28/2006 by Marti Zohner
Rating: 5

My grandchildren loved it! I bought it for a 5 year old but the 3 year old loved just as much.

4 of 5 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

Product review of GeoSafari Junior Talking Microscope
Posted 10/5/2006 by R. Anaya
Rating: 5

It's interesting. My kid really likes bugs.

4 of 5 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

My rating of GeoSafari Junior Talking Microscope
Posted 12/11/2012 by Patsy Verhoeven - GRANDPARENT
Rating: 5

It is easy to use and fun for the kids. It is also well made.

2 of 2 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

Perfect for Litttle Ones
Posted 8/18/2014 by Pamela Shultz
Rating: 5

This is a very sturdy and inviting microscope. The slides are fascinating for toddlers to adults. I'm using this in an educational setting where it gets used by 100's daily. It is not only attractive but is holding up well. I would definitely order this product again. A couple of suggestions....I would buy extra slides if they were offerred. I would also like a volume control, as with crowds the sound is difficult to hear.
Sturdy, inviting, fascinating... these are words we expect to hear! And thanks for your suggestion; we do have additional slides available to purchase - Please view the Suggested Accessories on the right-hand sidebar for additional slides.

Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

feedback requested before order delivery
Posted 8/15/2014 by chandrashekhar potkar
Rating: 5

havent received the product as yet!

Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

Review for GeoSafari Junior Talking Microscope
Posted 5/14/2014 by Simone Keaton-Harshaw - RELATIVE
Rating: 5

My nephew really enjoyed the microscope.... especially the talking feature

Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

Grandson loves this microscope!
Posted 1/2/2014 by Harold Houff - GRANDPARENT
Rating: 5

Very educational and engaging!

Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

Grandson's Fifth Birthday Present
Posted 12/3/2013 by Wanda - GRANDPARENT
Rating: 5

Grandson's Mom says he loves pushing the buttons....

Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

Daughter Loves It!
Posted 12/1/2013 by Johanna G.
Rating: 5

My 4.5 year-old daughter loves this microscope. She is very interested in science right now, and enjoys being able to examine things up close.

Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

Product review of GeoSafari Junior Talking Microscope
Posted 12/1/2013 by Johanna Bouker - GRANDPARENT
Rating: 5

is a Xmas gift so don't know yet

Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

Review for GeoSafari Junior Talking Microscope
Posted 11/24/2013 by ANN HANNAN
Rating: 5

Last year my little 4 year old friend got the electronic cash resister and would not put it down. This year i bought the talking microscope for her and same response. Your toys are not run of the mill junk and i was so satisfied that her microscope was the best looking gift of the bunch! i will certainly purchase from Fat Brain again!

Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

Geo microscope
Posted 11/22/2013 by Maxine
Rating: 4

This is a Christmas gift so no play has occurred . I purchased it because of its high reviews. I think my grandchildren will enjoy it. My only concern was that I found it listed $10.00 cheaper after I placed the order. So between that and shipping I feel I spent too much.

Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

Review of GeoSafari Junior Talking Microscope
Posted 10/21/2013 by Lynessa Alonso
Rating: 4

Excellent learning tool, We have learned all about the various insects/arachnids on the slides. Has easy to follow voice directions for taking the quiz, listening to the info on each slide. My 5 year old can play with it independently.

Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

A rating of GeoSafari Junior Talking Microscope
Posted 2/21/2011 by Delci C Lev
Rating: 5

The item was purchased for my grandson's 6th birthday, on March 16, 2011 - the item will not be used until then. Will be more then happy to review at that point. The other gifts will be shared at that time.

4 of 14 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)


McAfee SECURE sites help keep you safe from identity theft, credit card fraud, spyware, spam, viruses and online scams
Home | Shopping Cart | Help | Privacy Policy | Return Authorizations | Toy Blog | Coming Soon | Christmas Toys
Best Toys by Age | Birthday Gifts | Top Kids Toys | Toys on Sale | New Toys | Popular Toy Searches

Copyright © 2003-2014 Fat Brain Toys LLC. All rights reserved. Fat Brain Toys® is a registered service mark of Fat Brain Toys, LLC
Fat Brain Toys Offices
1405 N 205th Street, Suite 120
Elkhorn, Nebraska 68022
Phone 1-800-590-5987
Omaha Toy Store
16909 Burke Street, Suite 131
Omaha, Nebraska 68118
Phone 402-504-6218
Overland Park/Kansas City Toy Store
5601 West 135th Street, Suite 2230
Overland Park, Kansas 66223
Phone 913-305-4894

  MacWeb01