Home
Acuity
0

Customer reviews of Acuity by Fat Brain Toy Co.

Return to Acuity product information...

Acuity has been reviewed 68 times with an average rating of 4.43

Pretty tough for a 6 year old
Posted 11/3/2010
Rating: 3

I recently bought "Set" for my son. It is a card game based upon matching shapes, count, colors, etc. which is great for adults or kids. Better yet, it is great for both kids & adults to play together. It is the only game I've played where I can play with my 6-year-old son and don't need to act the fool in order to make the game fun (competitive) for him. I bought Acuity shortly afterward convinced that children are (or at least my child is) simply innately good at spotting patterns & can do it as well as adults. This might still be true, but acuity is a very tough game to play without patience. Certainly my 6 year old could not play it, due to the patience needed. I would say maybe even only especially patient 8 year olds could play it. I was having a bit of trouble. The game is not too "hard", it is just very slow, due to the complexity.

29 of 32 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

Acuity
Posted 2/21/2011 by Sammy Coleman
Rating: 4

I work in a vision clinic under the direction of a developmental optometrist. We use many different games along with other prisms or flippers to improve a patient's vision and perception. This game is an excellent perceptual exercise. I like the fact that no game is the same and every time I pick it up to do with a patient, I'm not sure what to expect from the grid or the patient. It is a great tool to teach focus and perseverance.

18 of 18 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

A rating of Acuity
Posted 11/16/2010 by Diane - OTHER
Rating: 4

Purchased for use in a library. Used during two gaming sessions thus far. Able to quickly teach the rules and let kids play. Drew a crowd around the tiles with everyone trying to find a match. Tiles are sturdy and should last a long time, even with use in a library.

14 of 14 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

Great concentration game
Posted 10/18/2011 by Kim Bailey
Rating: 5

This is a wonderful game of 'I spy' packaged in a fun way. Not only does it foster competition between my two kids (and me) but it's helping them think 'outside the box' when it comes to finding the right matches!

14 of 16 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

Acuity good, but challenging
Posted 3/17/2011 by Kathy Ruhnke
Rating: 4

I got Acuity to help hone my daughter's vision; she's seeing a developmental optometrist. She was excited to play the game; it took some explaining before we both figured out how to play. It is challenging, for both of us, to look for matching patterns. She still is asking to play the game, so that's promising. I did have to give her some hints as to what section of the board had the match. I'm thinking the more she plays, the better she'll get!

13 of 14 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

Younger children can still play Acuity
Posted 11/18/2011 by Jason L
Rating: 5

I got this for my soon-to-be-4-year-old daughter as an 'aspirational' game and was a little concerned it may be too advanced. But as the game indicates, you can alter the way you play it to adjust for your child's learning curve and cognitive level. So I started setting up the "board" and picking out the easiest matches for my daughter (e.g. 4 circles, 4 stars, 2 adjacent squares & 2 adjacent diamonds, etc.). As she got used to it, she began matching some of the more complex tiles on her own. At each step of the way I would give her positive reinforcement for finding a match and now she brings the game to me to play and enjoys finding the matches. At this point, I still have to introduce the "quarter-turn" element of the game to her but I'm in no rush. As usual, it'll probably happen sooner than I anticipate.

11 of 12 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

Acuity is Not That Acute
Posted 2/14/2011 by Jar Chan
Rating: 2

My six year old was really excited to play this game but the directions and the game really were not that clear. We could never find the right match. It was not worth the money.
We contacted our customer, and we've set our sights on serving you! If you'd like further explanation for playing any game - contact us! Prefer a gift certificate or exchange? We're the perfect match to your expectations. Please drop by our Returns & Exchanges center for details.

12 of 15 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

Great Teacher Toy
Posted 6/12/2012 by Dawn
Rating: 5

This game has multiple levels and really focuses on developing so many skills at once. I bought it for my 4 year old who seems capable of everything so far. She enjoyed it, but I think it is a little difficult and she tires easily when we play. It really exercises the brain. My 5 year old was too easily frustrated even thought they are both able to find matches (we played level 1). I even had to search pretty thoroughly for the matches. I think 6 or 7 is the perfect age for this game and it is really helpful for children who need to "scan" and decode in the classroom without using a computer. It is a great rehab tool for brain trauma also. A grown-up memory game.

9 of 9 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

My rating of Acuity
Posted 2/20/2011 by Diane Nayman - GRANDPARENT
Rating: 5

This was for my 6 yr. old grandson....just loved it....trying to teach his 3yr. old brother....Thank you.

9 of 9 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

Acuity is a fun game for the whole family
Posted 12/3/2010 by Tom
Rating: 4

We got this game around Thanksgiving and have played it ever since. It's very easy to setup and very simple yet rewarding to play. It really makes you think and plan out your moves. Fast pace and easy to learn.

9 of 9 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

great game for all ages!
Posted 12/29/2011 by Michael Galietta
Rating: 5

This is a great game for all ages. Love that it can be played in different ways, alone or with others. Highly recommend!

8 of 8 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

Information about Acuity
Posted 12/14/2010 by ruth kruse
Rating: 5

Keeps the brain active and growing with creativeness

8 of 8 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

A rating of Acuity
Posted 1/24/2011 by Diane Papa - RELATIVE
Rating: 4

This game is rated for 6 yrs and up but we thought it was way too hard for children. The instructions leave room for interpretation so we aren't sure if we are playing it correctly.
Acuity matches up well to the visual spatial abilities of some six year olds and challenges others. If the directions of any game leave you perplexed, we're experienced decoders of our customers' concerns! We provided our customer simplified game instructions, and we'll happily help you too. Please visit the Returns & Exchanges center for details.

9 of 11 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

My rating of Acuity
Posted 12/31/2010
Rating: 4

I bought this game for a 9-year-old and a precocious 41/2-year-old to play. It is beyond the younger, and the game says 6 years and up. But the surprise is that the adults who played it liked it a lot. IQ and education don't necessarily lead to success at this game. It's visual perception and logic.

7 of 8 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

Review of Acuity
Posted 7/25/2012 by Kelli Bretz
Rating: 4

Little ones love it.

6 of 6 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

Good
Posted 4/12/2012 by Lisa Poe
Rating: 4

It is a great game and a little difficult. Great for visual scanning!

6 of 7 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

Review for Acuity
Posted 1/6/2011 by Karen Grant
Rating: 4

I got this game for my 8 year old son, however when it came time to play it my 15 and 20 year old sons were the ones to play with me. We thought it was a good game, fun to play with a lot of people or three. Playing with the older "kids" it became more of a competition. We haven't had it long, but so far a great game that uses your brain.

6 of 7 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

Acuity
Posted 12/29/2010
Rating: 4

Our whole family from age 5 to 72 played the game and enjoyed it. It can be played competitively or cooperatively just for fun. Everyone had a good time. It's especially nice that it does not require reading so even the little ones can set it up and play without an adult.

5 of 5 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

Acuity
Posted 1/8/2012 by Sheila Smith
Rating: 4

Receiver is 6. Well designed packaging. Believe that instructions are not good enough. Pattern matching recommendations are questionable. Try to show more options in the patterning options. I really enjoyed it, even if I did it incorrectly.

6 of 8 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

Information about Acuity
Posted 1/10/2011 by Brenda Conaway - GRANDPARENT
Rating: 5

Liked the game will play it over and over.

6 of 8 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

Review of Acuity
Posted 5/28/2013 by A. Thomas - OTHER
Rating: 5

Use it frequently during therapy to help with visual scanning, attention and concentration. Clients enjoy activity.

4 of 4 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

Acuity
Posted 12/30/2010
Rating: 4

Our 6-year old wasn't terribly interested. A lot had to do with the fact he was so overwhelmed by all the toys he received. Given some time, we believe he will grow to like it since he loves patterns and enjoys board games.

5 of 7 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

Acuity
Posted 12/30/2010 - GRANDPARENT
Rating: 4

Sturdy tiles; would have liked a 'board' of some sort with slight ridges for various array possibilities. ...very MINOR annoyance having to keep tiles togethe. Instructions do not indicate if rotating the tile manually is OK when making a match and thus changing the game board in an ongoing fashion.

5 of 8 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

Interesting!
Posted 12/2/2013 by Jon Shilling
Rating: 5



2 of 2 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

acuity
Posted 1/25/2013
Rating: 3

The directions were a bit confusing, but my kids made up their own version, which is just fine! My 6 year old loses interest pretty quickly and hates to clean it up, but my 7 year old enjoys playing it.
Our customer care team is always game to help! If the directions are confusing, direct your attention to us! Acuity is a such a fun game, give us a couple minutes and we'll clarify it for you. Then get your game on - and prepare for grand fun!

2 of 2 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

group play
Posted 12/5/2012 by Dominique Carlson - RELATIVE
Rating: 5

I am an art teacher that also over sees a study hall for 6th graders. The kids like to play games on Fridays. I purchased this as a classroom game. the students were very excited to check it out. they caught on easily and were enthusiastic about it.

2 of 2 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

Great game for mixed age play
Posted 5/30/2014 by L TEBBEN
Rating: 5

We purchased this game to supplement our 10 year old's vision therapy. While I still feel it is a great purchase from the standpoint of improving his visual performance, I would purchase it again solely for "fun". We have used the game for individual play and group game play. We recently played with group ranging from 10 to 71. Everyone (even the teenager) enjoyed it. The rules were easy to understand so we could quickly start playing. The game itself is well made. I like that the box lid fits securely. The pieces are thick and sturdy. The only change I would make is to redesign the tray so the tiles stay in place if the game is stored vertically.

1 of 1 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

Acuity
Posted 1/4/2014 by MaryAnn Brand - GRANDPARENT
Rating: 5

Great but a bit hard game

1 of 1 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

Acuity cool
Posted 12/27/2013 by Dan Dartman
Rating: 5

Ok, I bought this for my 7 year old Girl. I'll just say that she liked it. When we started playing it, it turned out that all the adults liked it a bunch. We crowded out the kids, who had flashier things to look at. We had a ball playing. Then the kids started to come back and had a great time too.

1 of 1 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

game acuity
Posted 4/1/2013 by Kathy Walling
Rating: 5

My granddaughter received this game for her 9th birthday -- absolutely loves it -- wants to play all the time -- so happy with it.

1 of 1 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

Acuity
Posted 3/5/2013
Rating: 4

This game is really fun! It takes some getting used to, but once you get it figured out it really makes you think. It is great for getting kids to think outside the box, and adults too! The game pieces are very sturdy.

1 of 1 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

Acuity
Posted 12/28/2012 by Farmgirl - RELATIVE
Rating: 5

I bought this for Christmas and took it along for several gatherings. I was amazed how much people enjoyed it. The people that I thought would not like it, really got it. It's really fun to watch them "light up" when they find where the piece goes. It's not as hard as I thought it would be. For me, I feel a sence of accomplishment. It's a feel good game!!

1 of 1 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

A rating of Acuity
Posted 12/26/2012
Rating: 3

I don't understand how to match the sides. The instructions didn't explain very well.
We contacted our customer promptly. We're your match if instructions are not clear. With a small bit of guidance, Acuity shapes up to be great fun!

1 of 1 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

The kids love it!
Posted 12/11/2012 by Robin Osteen
Rating: 5

My 6-10 year olds love it! It's simple but challenging. The only thing I would change if I could, would be to make the tiles something more solid. The kids are already picking at the edges.

1 of 1 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

Information about Acuity
Posted 11/12/2012 by Anna Wygrys - GRANDPARENT
Rating: 4

By changing the matching by shapes, colors, number of tiles needed, etc. it is challenging for multiple ages.

1 of 1 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

My rating of Acuity
Posted 5/26/2014 by Linda Manning - FRIEND
Rating: 5

It was a gift and I'm not sure how much he is playing with it.

Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

Review of Acuity
Posted 5/26/2014 by Sheila Rayer - RELATIVE
Rating: 5

Acuity is being played by the whole family: Dad, Mom, Jessica, age 8 and the gift recipient, Ryan age 7. Interestingly, Dad and Ryan are the quickest so far but the challenge is on! I expect the game will become a family favourite and one reason is that there is an endless array of patterns so the game rules are constant but the board always changes. Grandma and Grandpa were invited to play as soon as we arrived for a post birthday visit.

Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

Great Game for Teaching Spatial Recognition
Posted 4/29/2014 by J Stanley - RELATIVE
Rating: 5

I bought this game for a 6 yr old boy but since it's not a video game, it was put by the wayside. So I played this game with a few adults. The purpose of the game is to match up the 4 symbols on a tile with the same 4 symbols on the board. There are no two tiles that are alike, so many times you have to rotate (in your head) a tile to get the symbols to match up. Since you are competing with the other players on who can spot the match first, the game can be quite difficult depending on how old/smart your opponents are. All of the adults loved this game and I bet once the kid puts the video game down, he will love it too!

Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

A rating of Acuity
Posted 4/4/2014 by Jessica Newton
Rating: 3

It is an ok game... not one of our favorites.
Nothing lost! Do yourself a favor and visit the Returns & Exchanges Center. With 450+ games to choose from, we'll help you find the one that's right for you!

Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

Acuity
Posted 12/30/2013
Rating: 5

I purchased Acuity for my 9 year old son. He loves this game. It is a great family game. It is easy to set up. The tiles (cards) are colorful and durable. I like the game because it promotes visual perception skills. It is a fun and challenging game.

Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

My rating of Acuity
Posted 9/23/2013 by SUDHA R MUDUNDI
Rating: 4

My daughter really enjoys playing this with her friends.

Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

Vision training
Posted 1/3/2013 by Gena
Rating: 4

We have played this game a few times now. While we didn't find it super 'fun' per se, I have every intention of playing it with my autistic daughter on a regular basis. It definitely makes you look for patterns and makes you think about 'what if I turn the tile this way?' sequences. Her spatial comprehension is delayed, and I can certainly see this as a fun and colorful training tool to help improve her eye/vision coordination and pattern recognition.

Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

Acuity Review
Posted 1/2/2013 by Shani Valdez
Rating: 4

I was really looking forward to this game for my kids, but found the game a little harder than I thought it would be. I think my children will get into this later on, but not as much of a hit right now.

Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

Great Visual skills
Posted 12/29/2012 by Marcy Kozlowski
Rating: 4

We played this game as a family with our oldest child being 16 and our youngest only 7. The game has adaptations for younger players like allowing them additional time to find the patterns. It was fun game and challenging but not frustrating.

Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

Acuity
Posted 12/26/2012
Rating: 4

This was a gift for a 8 year old. The family has played this and say it is a lot of fun!

Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

Review
Posted 12/13/2012 by Kenneth Deja
Rating: 4

Fun game, we enjoy playing it with our daughter.

Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

Viusal matching
Posted 1/21/2013
Rating: 4

Fun game trying to match patterns. The game was much easier for my daughter and wife who are more "visually" oriented. I had a much tougher time, being a left-brained individual. I have to play the game more often to stimulate the other side of my brain.

1 of 3 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

Great game!
Posted 11/27/2013 by Joyce Biffar
Rating: 5

Great for little ones -- they love it!

Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

Review for Acuity
Posted 10/7/2012 by Yolanda Mohr - GRANDPARENT
Rating: 5

Tis is a Christmas present so I can't reply as to how oftwen they play or like it

1 of 7 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)


McAfee SECURE sites help keep you safe from identity theft, credit card fraud, spyware, spam, viruses and online scams
Home | Shopping Cart | Help | Privacy Policy | Return Authorizations | Toy Blog | Coming Soon | Christmas Toys
Best Toys by Age | Birthday Gifts | Top Kids Toys | Toys on Sale | New Toys | Popular Toy Searches

Copyright © 2003-2014 Fat Brain Toys LLC. All rights reserved. Fat Brain Toys® is a registered service mark of Fat Brain Toys, LLC
Fat Brain Toys Offices
1405 N 205th Street, Suite 120
Elkhorn, Nebraska 68022
Phone 1-800-590-5987
Omaha Toy Store
16909 Burke Street, Suite 131
Omaha, Nebraska 68118
Phone 402-504-6218
Overland Park/Kansas City Toy Store
5601 West 135th Street, Suite 2230
Overland Park, Kansas 66223
Phone 913-305-4894

  MacWeb03