Home
Butterfly Garden
0

Customer reviews of Butterfly Garden by Insect Lore

Return to Butterfly Garden product information...

Butterfly Garden has been reviewed 160 times with an average rating of 4.63

Butterfly Garden
Posted 6/24/2011 - FRIEND
Rating: 5

As stated by other customers, this is a tricky "toy" to give as a gift, as the best part - the caterpillars! - can't be given with the gift (the shipping window is 1-3 weeks for the caterpillars which makes timing difficult). Also, there is a $5.00 extra shipping charge for the caterpillars, but this is easily remedied by inserted the fee in with the birthday card. I researched several other butterfly gardens, and this site was the most forward about the extra fee which I appreciated. The reviews by other customers also made me think about its feasibility as a gift, but the fascination as the caterpillars change to chrysalises and then butterflies is worth the wait!

21 of 24 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

Review of Butterfly Garden
Posted 11/22/2011 by Carmella Sibilia - GRANDPARENT
Rating: 5

My grandaughter loved it!! We received 5 caterpillars and they all turned into butterflies. She kept them for two days and released them outside.

15 of 17 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

Perfect Gift
Posted 9/18/2009 by Glenn
Rating: 5

My daughter received the Butterfly Garden as a brthday present and at first glance it was not her favorite. That soon changed when the caterpillars arrived in the mail. She couldn't wait to watch the "how to" DVD and get started. For the next couple of weeks checking on them became a twice a day, or more, ritual. She was so excited to see Butterfly's and couldn't wait to start to feed them. Unfortunately they don't live forever. After losing 2 of the 5 five we decide to set them free. She is still talking about and can't wait for me to get more caterpillars so we can start all over. We've already given 4 of them as B-Day presents. Easily a 5 star product!

13 of 14 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

A rating of Butterfly Garden
Posted 12/12/2008 by deborah thompson - GRANDPARENT
Rating: 5

we all enjoyed watching the butterflies

12 of 12 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

Granson's gift
Posted 11/29/2009 by Jan
Rating: 5

These butterflies did everything right on schudle!! incredible to watch there world unfold.

12 of 13 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

Spring Fun and Discovery
Posted 5/2/2012 by Catherine MacDermott
Rating: 5

Hours of fun finding butterflies, frogs, inch-worms, and whatever else to put into their see-through butterfly "house." 6 yr old boy and 4 yr old girl. 4 yr old seemed to have the most fun catching butterflies and watching the "residence" in the butterfly house. It became a competition to see how many she could get in there. At the end of the day she released 23 butterflies - who had been great sports for several hours!

11 of 11 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

Review for Butterfly Garden
Posted 8/26/2010
Rating: 2

I was disappointed to find out that for $4 more 3- 5 cocoons had to be special ordered. The little girl was unable to appreciate it on her birthday.
Friends, cocoons simply cannot be shelved in a warehouse. Imagine the destruction and chaos whilst we trip over ourselves with nets in hand attempting to catch the hatchlings. Some of our customers have reported ordering the cocoons from the nature facility (see enclosed coupon) before they give this product as a gift. If you are that organized and on top of things - well done! And if not - be assured, this gift is one that will be enjoyed well beyond the day of the birthday!

15 of 20 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

My rating of Butterfly Garden
Posted 5/28/2010 by Kelly
Rating: 5

We buy this product for all the birthday parties that my 5 year old daughter is invited to. She is always excited to give such a unique gift. Everyone loves receiving this as a gift-it it fun for the child and the parents!

10 of 11 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

Review of Butterfly Garden
Posted 8/8/2008 by Natasha Dias
Rating: 5

My nephew love it. We kept wondering what to get him for his birthday. Last year he was interested in solar system. This year he loves insects... and has been going to morton arboreteum to see the big wooden ones. So he loved this gift. He watches it all the time

11 of 14 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

Review for Butterfly Garden
Posted 8/4/2008 by Loretta Y. Chou
Rating: 4

We loved this product! It's a great teaching tool that really gets the children involved and encourages their enthusiasm and love for nature. Once the butterflies emerged, our children would stand by the net and watch for hours, fascinated with how they flew around and ate the fruit we left at the bottom. They were sad to see the butterflies leave after we let them go, but are excited at the prospect of new caterpillars. The net was lightweight and easy to hang in an area that made it possible for the kids to observe them. The only difficulty was in the cleaning of the net afterwards; the meconium left large stains and these were difficult to remove.

11 of 14 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

Awesome buterfly garden
Posted 5/10/2010 by Harry L Wheeler - GRANDPARENT
Rating: 5

The butterfly garden was everything that we were hoping for. My grandson is having a blast watching the catapillars.

10 of 12 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

Butterfly Garden
Posted 4/19/2011 by DC
Rating: 5

My kiddos are so excited for the caterpillars to arrive! I actually feel that not having immediate access to the caterpillars is a plus...we ordered the caterpillars online together and the wait gets them more excited. (Plus a lesson in delayed gratification! :) The only downside is, of course, you pay the extra for shipping.

9 of 10 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

Kids and I enjoyed
Posted 7/21/2010 by Sarah
Rating: 5

We have not sent away for caterpillars yet, but used our own from our garden. The habitat has worked out well. Our whole family has enjoyed watching our caterpillars transform into a chrysalis. You can find information on how to care for your caterpillars on internet.

9 of 10 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

Awesome experience!
Posted 10/6/2009 by Kari L Kuhn
Rating: 5

The Butterfly Garden wasn't only enjoyable for my 9 year old daughter, but for the whole family. Very fun AND educational to watch the process close up! Lots of fun - would recommend it to anybody!

9 of 10 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

A bounty of Butterflies...
Posted 3/18/2010 by ML - EDUCATOR
Rating: 4

We just received our packages and will put in the order for the butterflies after spring break. The kit contained the butterfly net in an appealing package. I will use this to motivate my students to continue their science inquiry as the NYC weather warms up. we plan to release them in a nearby park after tracking the growth process. It's a surprise so no responses from my 5th graders yet. But I am certain from past experience that it will be a hit!

8 of 8 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

Butterfly Garden
Posted 6/29/2008
Rating: 5

My daughter wanted this for her 4th birthday, after her preschool class had one. I was able to get it at a much lower price here, compared to purchasing it off the tv add. Order it like a month before you need to give it, so you have time to receive the kit and mail off the postcard to get your caterpillars (for $3.00). We did this, and had the caterpillars in time. They all arrived alive, the kids have seen them grow EVERY day, and about a week later, they are all forming their chysalids. Excellent educational toy, but fun for the kids to watch as well. Can't wait to see the butterflies hatch!

8 of 8 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

A rating of Butterfly Garden
Posted 8/13/2007 by SKT
Rating: 5

It was easy for my daughters to observe the butterflies as they dried their new wings and tried them for the first time. It is small enough for my 4-year-old to carry, so she was able to carry the baby butterfly to the butterfly garden herself, which was very exciting for her. We have not yet ordered the live caterpillars that come with this product, and we will probably wait until next summer to do so. Honestly, though, I would give this product the highest rating even without the caterpillars. (Butterfly caterpillars and their eggs are quite plentiful and easy to collect anyway.) We will certainly make plenty of use of this product each summer..

8 of 8 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

Product review of Butterfly Garden
Posted 12/23/2011 by Nicki Davis
Rating: 5

this is not really a toy so, play doesn't apply

10 of 13 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

Product review of Butterfly Garden
Posted 6/17/2010 by Diana Alcorn - FRIEND
Rating: 5

We've ordered the caterpillars and are waiting for their arrival...just wish they would have been a part of the total order to be shipped all at once.

8 of 9 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

Product review of Butterfly Garden
Posted 8/19/2008 by Peter Maras - GRANDPARENT
Rating: 5

The Butterfly Garden was great, and our Grand Daughter was absolutely thrilled ro receive it. She can't wait to see the caterpillars form cocoons and emerge as butterflies !!

8 of 9 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

Butterfly Garden
Posted 7/30/2008
Rating: 5

We haven't been able to use it yet b/c we had to send away for the caterpillars and food after we received the butterfly house. The kit purchased on the website contains a coupon that needs to be mailed in to receive the caterpillars....not a big deal since there aren't any time constraints for us--this is only going to be a fun at home project.

8 of 9 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

Really cool for any age group
Posted 5/3/2010 by Michelle Miller - RELATIVE
Rating: 4

I bought this as a gift for my niece's 13th birthday after I found out that she had been keeping some pet tent-worms in her room and needed a good habitat for them. The habitat is working well for the tent worms and is a nice looking addition to her bedroom. She was thrilled with it, and is looking forward to starting her butterfly project after her tent worms turn to moths. What a fantastic engaging toy! I will buy this again as a birthday present, and for my own daughter when she is a little older.

7 of 7 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

Butterfly garden
Posted 2/3/2010 by Jami
Rating: 5

My son was super excited to receive this for his 3rd birthday. We are waiting for our larvae to arrive now! His favorite color is green, so it was an extra special treat that it has green on it! I can't wait to see his face when we let them go!

7 of 7 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

Information about Butterfly Garden
Posted 6/15/2008 by Jacquelyn Bondurant
Rating: 5

It's a sturdily made and should endure our four year old's rough handling. I like that it folds up flat for easy storage when not in use.

7 of 7 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

nice!
Posted 6/12/2008 by Nick Fuentes
Rating: 4

Butterfly garden is very popular at my daughter's 1st grade class. They studied butterflies, ladybugs and other bugs and many kids have the Butterfly Garden. When I got it I was happy to se that you can order the Butterfly Coccoons year round.

7 of 7 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

So Much Fun!
Posted 5/6/2008 by B. Taylor
Rating: 5

My daughters (ages 6 and 3) and I are having a fantastic time with our new little "pets"! It's a thrill to get up each morning to see how much these tiny caterpillars have grown in one night. At times I think they grow as we watch! We received 5 tiny caterpillars and all are thriving and growing. Although they do wiggle a bit, there is not a lot of movement from them most of the time and this could make this part of the adventure boring for some younger children. But we are having fun with our Painted Ladies. We look forward to watching their amazing transformation!

7 of 7 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

Butterfly Garden
Posted 11/18/2009
Rating: 4

Great concept. I purchased this for our 7 year old granddaughter for Christmas. I'm hoping it is age appropriate. Some 7 yr olds may not have the 'patience' for this project in this culture of instant gratification. I will order the 'larvae' so they will arrive the week after Christmas so she can look forward to their arrival about the time the 'let down' of the holiday hits.

6 of 6 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

butterfly garden
Posted 6/12/2009 by sandra rocha
Rating: 5

Very good, but my daughter was sad that we still needed to send to get the larvea by mail. Ever since we received the shipment of the garden we are still waiting to received the larvea. This means we still have not had the chance to go throught the changes of the butterflies.

6 of 6 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

Awesome product!
Posted 7/30/2008 by Gayle Bendoris
Rating: 5

This is an awesome product! My girls are not easy to amuse (3 and a half and 5 and a half) and they get bored easily but they loved this. This butterfly garden is also fun for parents. We enjoyed watching the changes and were actually lucky enough to be able to watch the butterflies as they came out of the chrysalis. We also released them together and watched them fly off. It was more than it promised to be!

6 of 6 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

Butterfly Garden
Posted 7/23/2008
Rating: 5

We purchased this as a birthday gift for our 6-year-old daughter. She was very excited to receive her caterpillars and watch them grow. We took pictures, kept a journal, and also read a book to learn more about caterpillars and butterflies. There was plenty of action during the first stages to keep her interested - caterpillars crawling, spinning silk, moving towards to the top of the jar, etc. She was thrilled when her butterflies finally hatched. A fun, educational gift!

6 of 6 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

Review of Butterfly Garden
Posted 6/11/2008 by Andrea
Rating: 4

I bought this kit for my 5 year old and 3 year old and they both enjoy it very much. It is very easy to use once you receive your catepillars in the mail. Right now they have turned to chrysalides and are hanging down in the butterfly house. My kids are anxiously waiting for them to turn in butterflies. The product is exactly as described and excellent value for money.I recommend it to everybody.

6 of 6 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

Product review of Butterfly Garden
Posted 3/30/2008 by Jennifer Novegrod
Rating: 5

As a former kindergarten teacher, I understand the importance of visual presentation of lessons. After reading my toddler THE VERY HUNGRY CATERPILLAR, he was thrilled to receive a gift that would enable him to watch a real life version of his book. He loved it!

6 of 6 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

Live Butterfly Garden Hatching Kit
Posted 7/16/2010 by KATHERINE
Rating: 4

I can't tell you how excited my daughter is. Every day, we check the mail to see if our caterpillars have arrived. This is the first toy that both my daughter and I are equally invested in!

5 of 5 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

Great
Posted 1/21/2010 by Bev Onorato - FRIEND
Rating: 4

I didn't get the caterpillars yet, but I'm hoping they will all grow to adulthood.

5 of 5 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

Review for Butterfly Garden
Posted 12/29/2009 by Susan Honeycutt
Rating: 5

Very educational. We just received the larvae and food today. Just now starting the process. I plan on getting one for my little girl's preschool class.

5 of 5 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

Butterfly Garden
Posted 12/23/2009 by Michael chrnelich
Rating: 4

Great! was in excellent condition out of the box and was packaged nicely

5 of 5 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

Product review of Butterfly Garden
Posted 9/29/2009 by ROBYN R HAZELTON
Rating: 4

I ordered the butterfly house for my niece and she LOVED it!

5 of 5 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

Butterfly Garden
Posted 7/30/2009 by Karen C. Shaw
Rating: 5

I didn't actually get to see the product, but my niece loved it.

5 of 5 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

Butterfly Garden
Posted 7/6/2009 by Elizabeth R. Daley
Rating: 5

Item as descibed. Fast delivery. Great price!

5 of 5 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

A rating of Butterfly Garden
Posted 6/27/2009 by Rhonda Fietzek DeVries
Rating: 5

I haven't had a chance to really look at the product. It was a gift for my grandson, but I have not heard any complaints.

5 of 5 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

Very Cool Childrens Educational Toy
Posted 6/23/2009 by Amber
Rating: 5

This is one of the best educational toys that we've had. Simply amazing to watch the butterflies develop. As an added bonus you get to keep the large net for future bug catches. Its large enough to hold TONS of lightening bugs!

5 of 5 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

Watch the butterflies emerge!
Posted 6/18/2009 by S. Farrell
Rating: 5

A wonderful way to keep butterflies, and watch them emerge. We have used it to keep insects we have caught. We have ordered the included caterpillars so we can watch them change into caterpillars. I especially like the fact that it easily folds up and stores very well.

5 of 5 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

PERFECT ARRIVED UQICKLY
Posted 6/12/2009 by james
Rating: 5

Very nice my kids cannot wait to put the catapillars in it.

5 of 5 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

Product review of Butterfly Garden
Posted 7/25/2008 by Elvia Michaels
Rating: 4

I think the product is very lovely and can't wait for the live larva to arrive so that we can begin the process. The container is colorful and bright and fun.

5 of 5 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

Butterfly Garden
Posted 7/8/2008 by Karilyn Price
Rating: 4

This product was given as a birthday gift to a 9 year old girl ( my niece). She was delighted and can not wait for the cocoons to arrive.

5 of 5 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

butterfly garden
Posted 6/23/2008 by carrie reppa
Rating: 5

so far, so good. we recvd our catipillers quickly. they are growing every day. our 3 1/2 loves watching them and is excited to see them turn into butterflys.

5 of 5 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

Product review of Butterfly Garden
Posted 6/15/2008 by Stephanie Reneau
Rating: 5

fun and educational. I really like the fact that we can do it again without buying the whole kit again. Just send in for more butterflies.

5 of 5 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

Butterflies
Posted 6/12/2008 by Rusty L. Fulker
Rating: 4

Very nice kit for the children. Very fun to watch them grow! A very good way to get children into nature.

5 of 5 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

Butterfly Garden
Posted 6/11/2008 by Jessica McKimmins
Rating: 5

The catipillars came very quickly and they were so cool to watch grow and change into butterflys. My 2 year old loved it and it was easy to do. I am going to do it again soon.

5 of 5 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

I recommend this product
Posted 6/5/2008 by Colleen McWhorter
Rating: 4

We were very pleased with this item. Easy to feed the butterflies and plenty of space for them. The butterflies we received also did very well. All 5 of them hatched and were released. The only thing I would change is that it wasn't clear to me that there would be an additional charge ($5) for sending off for the butterflies. The box reads like there would be no additional charge. Great product, though. All 3 of my kids LOVED the experience.

5 of 5 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

Information about Butterfly Garden
Posted 6/2/2008 by Sheri Curry
Rating: 5

Kids love this! I've used it before in my classroom, too. I think it's a great product.

5 of 5 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

Great Product
Posted 6/2/2008 by Greta Clark
Rating: 5

My nephew loves this set. He can not wait to find other insects to catch!

5 of 5 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

Review for Butterfly Garden
Posted 6/1/2008 by Jolene Dombrosky
Rating: 4

My 3 year old son had a terrific time learning about the life cycle of the caterpillar/butterfly. I was exciting every day to check and see what progress had been made. Only 4 out of 5 caterpillars made it to butterfly status but my son didn't seem to mind. He is so excited about the other 4!

5 of 5 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

Review for Butterfly Garden
Posted 5/28/2008 by Diane N
Rating: 4

We ordered this item because my daughter had seen it in her school. Her experience was that it is exciting and educational.We have not yet received our caterpillars. One surprise that we did not expect is that you have to pay an additional fee for the caterpillars. It would be great if they were included in the price and did not have to be ordered later.

5 of 5 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

Review for Butterfly Garden
Posted 5/28/2008 by A. Contreras
Rating: 5

Loved it. Very educational, and interesting.

5 of 5 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

Great Product
Posted 5/23/2008
Rating: 5

We love the Butterfly Garden. We have enjoyed watching the process of our chrysalids turn into butterflies. We will definitely use it again.

5 of 5 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

Review of Butterfly Garden
Posted 5/6/2008 by Fauve Yandel
Rating: 5

My kids love this activity. They look forward to it every spring. It is a fantastic teaching tool. Great for kids and their parents!

5 of 5 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

Butterflies Bloom
Posted 5/5/2008 by Andrea Adams
Rating: 5

My daughter's eyes lit up as she opened this gift for her birthday... "Just what I wanted!" she proclaimed. The Butterfly Garden immediately "popped" up as I pulled it from the package. We are waiting on our caterpillars to arrive and will anxiously await their transformation into butterflies!

5 of 5 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

Butterfly Habitat
Posted 5/4/2008 by Lori A. Bierbaum
Rating: 5

We love this item. We purchased a similar one last year and our daughter wore it out. She safely captured butterflies throughout the summer. This year we are using the Butterfly Habitat and the larvae to bring into school for a Kindergarten project. Great product. We highly recommend it. We especially love the redesigned zip opening.

5 of 5 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

Butterfly Garden
Posted 5/3/2008 by Michelle Wehr
Rating: 4

The kids are very excited about the Butterfly Garden. It is exactly as described. Excellent learning process for my children to explore science at home. I would definitely consider giving it as a gift to a young child with a spring/early summer birthday.

5 of 5 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

Butterfly Garden
Posted 5/2/2008 by Tricia Croake-Uleman
Rating: 5

I have 3 kids (ages 9, 7 and 4). They love the Butterfly Garden! I enjoy it, also. I recommend this for anyone.

5 of 5 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

Butterfly Gardens Are Wonderful!
Posted 5/1/2008
Rating: 5

The Butterfly Garden is simple, yet very informative. Children in our preschool love to watch the caterpillars grow and change! Talking about wildlife and nature with our children is simply not enough. Visual aides help hold the attention of children of all ages. This is an amazing product.

5 of 5 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

Butterfly Garden
Posted 3/26/2008
Rating: 4

My 8 year old loves it. It's amazing to see just how quickly the caterpillars grow. They are in their cocoon stage right now, so there's not much to see. We can't wait until they emerge as butterflies. I'm very happy I purchased it. My daughter has told me thank you at least 3 times for getting it.

5 of 5 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

Love It
Posted 3/11/2008 by Marc T
Rating: 5

I purchased this for my nephew for his birthday. He loved it. He could not wait to get his larvae to see the butterflies grow. Great product!

5 of 5 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

Biology At Home
Posted 3/11/2008 by Mrs Anna L Centuolo
Rating: 5

This product is nicely constructed. The coupon redeemable for the butterflies allows you to time the project around your schedule. My kids are so excited for the butterflies to arrive!

5 of 5 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

Educational & Fun!!
Posted 3/10/2008 by Marie P.
Rating: 5

I bought this for my 4 year old daughter who loves butterflies. Little did I know that the whole family was going to love it! I even have a neighbor that comes to check on it everyday. What a great mix of education and fun!

5 of 5 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

Awesome Butterfly garden!
Posted 3/9/2008 by Dee Dee Khakbaz
Rating: 5

Product came in excellent condition and is being used to hatch painted lady butterflies! The product is simple enough for a child to use and pretty enough to display in one's home!

5 of 5 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

Information about Butterfly Garden
Posted 2/20/2008 by Gilda V. Calvin
Rating: 5

This product teaches children about the beauty of nature. Nothing on TV or the Internet will wow them the way this item will. It is simply a fantastic gift.

5 of 5 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

Butterfly Garden
Posted 1/20/2008 by Stacy Rodrigues
Rating: 4

Excellent product. True to description. I would buy this again, especially for a gift.

5 of 5 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

Cool Kid's Toy
Posted 1/18/2008 by Gregory Elkinbard
Rating: 4

This is an interesting toy. My girl collected a bunch of tent caterpillars. She is waiting for the moth to come out. It is nice to get rid of the old strawberry box.

5 of 5 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

A rating of Butterfly Garden
Posted 1/15/2008 by Daniel M. O'Keefe
Rating: 4

Fun and educational!

5 of 5 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

Great toy!
Posted 1/14/2008 by MM
Rating: 4

Love the concept for this toy. My son will absolutely adore it. We bought it together with a book on butterflys to make it a really educational piece. It will be fun to use the book together with the butterfly garden through the whole process. Only disappointment I had with this was you still have to pay another $5 or so to get the butterflies. That isn't explained clearly in the description of the toy. Knowing that now, I would have still purchased it.

5 of 5 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

Butterfly Garden
Posted 12/31/2007 by Patricia Flynn
Rating: 5

This was a really fun way to spend lots of time with my 8 year old! The directions are also easy to follow!

5 of 5 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

Information about Butterfly Garden
Posted 12/27/2007 by Chris Atkin
Rating: 5

Both of my sons can't wait to get the latest project going. It will be a fun summer for them, for sure.

5 of 5 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

Fantastic Educational & Fun Product
Posted 11/19/2007 by Stacy H. Crabtree
Rating: 5

I love products that provide an educational experience for my kids. When they are enjoying it so much, they don't even recognize it as educational. Why shouldn't education be fun? With today's technology, why shouldn't it be first-hand and hands-on as well? We just loved this experience, and with the ability to reorder caterpillars -we will be able to enjoy it again and again!

5 of 5 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

Product review of Butterfly Garden
Posted 11/18/2007
Rating: 5

I have done this experiment several times myself with my children and it is amazing. I have given these kits at least 4 times as gifts and every person loved it and was as amazed as both my children and myself. As a matter of fact, I gave one as a gift because when I asked the mom what the child wanted she said "I'd hoped you buy her that butterfly kit you have been getting everyone," so I did.

5 of 5 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

My rating of Butterfly Garden
Posted 11/14/2007 by Stephanie M Calhoun
Rating: 5

I teach kindergarten, and I have a buttterfly garden in my classroom. My 4 year old daughter is fascinated with nature and loves to find various things. She had found a cocoon at her grandmother's house and is waiting for it to emerge. That gave me the idea to buy her the butterfly garden to put in her room so she can watch the transformation up close.

5 of 5 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

Butterfly Garden
Posted 10/28/2007 by Molly Rogers
Rating: 4

Fun learning experience for kids.

5 of 5 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

The Best
Posted 10/11/2007 by Lynda Young
Rating: 5

We "raised" 7 monarch caterpillars and got the opportunity to watch a few pupate and a few emerge. What a miracle. I can't wait until we can do it again. I am now suffering from empty nest syndrome. We don't have any children, but can only imagine how educational and exciting it would be for them to watch the process.

5 of 5 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

Beautiful Butterflies
Posted 10/4/2007 by Tamra Bowman
Rating: 5

The contents included were of above average quality. Nicer than pictured.

5 of 5 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

Butterfly Garden
Posted 5/27/2007
Rating: 5

This makes a wonderful, unique, and long lasting birthday gift unlike other toys. Highly recommend for all ages.

5 of 5 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

My rating of Butterfly Garden
Posted 1/1/2012 by Brandi Chammartin
Rating: 5

My kids played with this EVERYDAY last summer - which is why we bought another one for this year!

6 of 8 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

Great Idea, but Overpriced
Posted 5/23/2010 by B Sambrook
Rating: 4

My husband and I are both science geeks, so this butterfly garden was a natural choice for educating our children (ages 3 and 5) about the life cycle of a butterfly. I thought the price was rather high--that only pays for the habitat--another $3 is needed to get the larvae. Obviously, that didn't stop me from purchasing the item, as I felt the education to be gained was worth it. I would like to either see the price of the habitat come down, or include the cost of the larvae. But that's really my only complaint, and the habitat is reusable so the cost is somewhat justifiable. We received our larvae from Insect Lore promptly one week ago, and have been enjoying watching our caterpillars get fat! Our daughter (the 5 year old) checks them daily--couldn't rate the play value higher because we cautioned her not to handle the container with the larvae too much! But she seems interested and overall, I'm glad I purchased this.

5 of 6 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

Review for Butterfly Garden
Posted 12/28/2012 by Sharron West
Rating: 4

I ordered the butterfly garden for a granddaughter last year. She and her two brothers loved watching the growth process and seeing the beautiful butterflies. I ordered a second butterfly garden for another granddaughter this year. My only complaint is that I couldn't order more butterflies for the kids to watch after the first set flew away. It would be nice if we could order and reorder extra butterflies. I would even like one for myself if more butterflies were made available.

3 of 4 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

Information about Butterfly Garden
Posted 9/12/2013 by janet volpe - GRANDPARENT
Rating: 3

This product is being used by a 10 year old girl. She loves it, and can't wait till the butterflies grow up!! She is highly into science! Thank you, I have seen this product when I taught preschool and didn't know where to purchase it!

1 of 1 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

Great entertainment
Posted 5/28/2013 by Tara figas - RELATIVE
Rating: 5

I purchased this for my niece as a birthday gift not knowing that her pre-school had one as well. She was so excited to have her own, and little brother got a chance to experience the butterfly process as well. Although caterpillars didn't come with package it was nice because their mom could send off for them at their convenience.

1 of 1 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

butterfly set
Posted 12/8/2013 by Albion J Fitzgerald
Rating: 5

Child is excited about using this.

Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

Butterfly Garden -- Perfect for my Girl Scouts
Posted 9/3/2013 by Sabrina Eschweiler
Rating: 5

This is the perfect addition to our studies of butterflies and their transformation. The girls could see it all right before their eyes!

Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

My rating of Butterfly Garden
Posted 12/30/2012 by Douglas Tyler
Rating: 5

It looks greats, total appreciation won't happen until the cup of caterpillers come. The girls are excited to start.

Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

Butterfly Garden
Posted 12/25/2012 by Charles Gates
Rating: 4

Daughter wanted a butterfly garden forever, very happy to recieve one for Christmas

Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)


McAfee SECURE sites help keep you safe from identity theft, credit card fraud, spyware, spam, viruses and online scams
Home | Shopping Cart | Help | Privacy Policy | Return Authorizations | Toy Blog | Coming Soon | Christmas Toys
Best Toys by Age | Birthday Gifts | Top Kids Toys | Toys on Sale | New Toys | Popular Toy Searches

Copyright © 2003-2014 Fat Brain Toys LLC. All rights reserved. Fat Brain Toys® is a registered service mark of Fat Brain Toys, LLC
Fat Brain Toys Offices
1405 N. 205th St., Ste. 120 Elkhorn, Nebraska USA 68022
Phone 1-800-590-5987
Omaha Toy Store
16909 Burke Street, Suite 131 Omaha, Nebraska 68118
Phone 402-504-6218
Overland Park/Kansas City Toy Store
5601 West 135th Street Overland Park, Kansas 66223
Opening May 2014!

  MacWeb03