Home
Antworks
0

Customer reviews of Antworks by Fascinations

Return to Antworks product information...

Antworks has been reviewed 274 times with an average rating of 4.58

Antworks farm and illuminator
Posted 4/25/2009 by Libby McVicker
Rating: 5

We are really happy with the product. I don't know who loves the product more, my 5 year old son, or my 33 year old husband! Ha. Unfortunately, we got a faulty illuminator. Fortunately, I called Fatbrain and they sent us a new one right away. I would order from them again. We received excellent customer service.

25 of 27 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

Entertaining and educational!
Posted 8/13/2008 by Michelle Williams
Rating: 5

We, as in the whole family love this gift. Every day for the first week we woke up wanting to know what the ants had done. It is a great product and I knew from the enclosure that the ants could not escape. (something some people might worry about) My kids received this for their 5th birthday.

21 of 22 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

Works exactly as advertised!
Posted 4/15/2009 by Karen S.
Rating: 5

My daughter's 2nd grade class wanted an ant farm to study. After some research, I decided to get this Antworks ant farm because of the great reviews it received here. They were right!! I ordered the ants from the recommended site. They sent about 30 ants and they all arrived alive. We dropped them in the ant farm and within 24 hours, they were tunneling! The kids in the classroom loved it and their teacher was also pleased.

17 of 17 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

Awesome Ant Farm
Posted 4/15/2009 by Jennifer Lemay - RELATIVE
Rating: 5

The Antworks ant farm is very well made. It is completely contained and clean. It looks very cool also.

13 of 13 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

Extremely pleased
Posted 8/13/2008 by Terry Z.
Rating: 5

We gave this as a birthday gift to our granddaughter and she was completely mezmorized by it. Watched for hours on end. Very happy with it.

13 of 14 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

im a kid (holly) and i luv ANTWORKS!!!!!!!!!!!!!
Posted 6/24/2009 by Holly Jones,12yrs.
Rating: 5

i love when i wake up so i get a surprise to see what my ants have tunneled last night

14 of 17 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

ants rule!
Posted 3/1/2009 by Donna McBride
Rating: 5

Just wanted to say the ants have been quite interesting to watch. To have the gel to see through is so cool.I actually got it for my 23 yr. old son,and he's enjoyed it! We've all enjoyed it. Watching them bite through the gel with their strong pinchers up close with the magnifying glass is wild. They are truly amazing little insects.Glad we bought it, Thanks!

11 of 11 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

Antworks Gel Ant Farm is Great!
Posted 7/21/2008 by JSM
Rating: 5

Everything I read about this is true, it is a great product! It's self-contained, odor-free, maintenance-free and has my two boys leaping out of bed every morning to check on the progress of the tunnels. I bought this as a replacement "pet" for the 4 successive fish/frogs that died over the previous two months. The translucent gel is wonderful as it allows both boys to look at it from either side without fighting over who has the better view. I bought this without the light bar underneath as it is our plan to buy the resin kit later to turn it into a night-light sculpture which will come with its own light bar. I bought the ants, via the web, the day I received the Antworks (Monday) and had them by Friday of the same week. It's been a great experience and would recommend it to anyone.

10 of 10 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

This Is The Best Antfarm Ever!
Posted 12/9/2007 by Christina Moore, Dad Moore
Rating: 5

I have had my Antworks farm for over a month now, and am fascinated at how much my ants have effected their environment and at how interesting it is to watch them build their tunnels. I initially ordered the product so that I could do some macro photography. However, I am finding that I am thoroughly enjoying watching the ants progress, and seeing what they are able to accomplish over the course of each night. Indeed, this is such an interesting and high quality product that I ordered one for my nephew (and would consider giving this as a standard gift for children- and indeed my friend Claudia who is 43 wants one!). I brought mine to church this morning to teach little children about community and not only were the children entranced, but the adults were as well. I have gotten emails from parents asking where to find this product. Kudos on making such an interesting and high quality toy. The only concern I have is what to do with the toy once the ants die...

10 of 10 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

Antworks Works!
Posted 11/28/2007 by Melinda M.
Rating: 5

My entire family enjoyed watching our ants. For the first month or so the ants occupied a space on our table so we could watch them while we ate our meals. We accidentally ordered two sets of ants and had to buy a competitor ant farm to house them, as we didn't think the ants would live while we waited for another Antworks farm. The gel in AntWorks is far superior to the competitor's green gel because not only do the ants seem happier and more productive in the AntWorks farm, but it is much easier to see them through the AntWorks gel. Though it might have been nice to have the light attachment, we were able to see without any additional light source. We have had the farm for almost 3 months now and the ants are still alive and busy working on their tunnels, and there is still untouched gel left to tunnel through. We will be using our AntWorks farm as a suncatcher in the kitchen window once the ants are finished with it. We will only buy AntWorks in the future!

8 of 8 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

neat to watch...
Posted 10/21/2009 by Ashley Howcroft
Rating: 4

very neat to watch them dig and interact with eachother. fun for the hole family.

11 of 15 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

Review of Antworks
Posted 8/30/2008 by Edsie
Rating: 5

My grandson loves his Antworks. His entire family is enjoying it. I was always curious about ants when I was a child. I knew when my grandson would drop to the ground every time he saw an ant this was the teaching toy for him.

10 of 13 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

Fun Fun Fun FUN
Posted 8/19/2008
Rating: 5

OMG SO GREAT THE ANTS THEY GO NUTS OVER THIS GOO STUFF.

10 of 13 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

Review of Antworks
Posted 1/11/2008 by Lorraine - OTHER
Rating: 3

I love the idea of this product. Be sure you can provide a real room temperature environment. If not, the gel doesn't retain its own heat and can lead to an environment too cold for your ants. As such, I'll be waiting for the summer to have a better go at it. For the brief time I did keep locally caught ants in it, it was fascinating to watch.

9 of 11 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

My rating of Antworks
Posted 11/26/2011 by jennifer vines
Rating: 5

This was a good gift for my 6 year old son. He was very excited. We did not order ants though, he went out and caught some his self.. I think that they might do more work if we had ordered ants because I guess they would come with a queen ant.. they seem sort of confused with out a queen. Other than that it's awesome because you don't have to worry about the ants starving to death at the hands of a 6 year old as they can eat the material in the tank. It's very entertaining to watch them..for myself as well as my son.

7 of 7 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

antworks
Posted 9/15/2011 by Mary Varacallo
Rating: 5

The whole family is fascinated watching the tunnelling ants.

7 of 7 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

My rating of Antworks
Posted 4/5/2011 by Kathleen Broskin - EDUCATOR
Rating: 5

It was of good quality and you gave me dependable service.

7 of 7 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

great for kids and adults!
Posted 3/15/2011 by Leana Martin
Rating: 5

I bought this item for my 3 year old for Christmas. He was previously interested in ant hills outside of our house. He has since fallen in love with his ant farm. He runs into my bedroom to tell me about each new tunnel the ants dug. The gel is clear and you can see the ants from all angles. I recommend buying the light feature as it makes a unique night light. I recently bought this item again for a 4 year old's birthday gift and he too is excited about watching the ants. My son is 3 months in and still talks about it. Definately by the ants on the internet! I received my "snail mail" ants in 3 weeks but when I ordered ants on the internet I received them in 4 days.

7 of 7 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

highly recommend
Posted 12/30/2008 by Laurie Parent - RELATIVE
Rating: 5

An amazing ant farm environment.

7 of 7 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

Antworks Ant Farm
Posted 8/3/2008 by JK Checketts
Rating: 5

Great product! This ant farm is easy to maintain and much more fun than a fish tank. We've found that harvester ants love digging in the blue gel and the kids watch them for hours. Best of all, the tight-fitting lid prevents my four year old from setting his little red friends free in the carpet.

7 of 7 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

Antworks ROCKS!
Posted 7/2/2008 by Jennifer Karpelenia
Rating: 5

This is the second time I bought one of these new-age ant farms because I liked the first one so much. My first one had the light up base so I just bought the cheapest base model this time and transferred the light up base to the new one. (Until they come up with a convenient and cheap replacement gel I will just be getting a new one every year.) I am a science teacher and the summer school kids (as well as my own family) think it's really cool to watch the ants at work digging their tunnels and then hauling away the little pieces. Pretty fascinating how organized these little creatures are.

7 of 7 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

My rating of Antworks
Posted 1/30/2008 by Melanie Brunson
Rating: 5

I bought this for my 8-year-old son. The ants took about 3 weeks to arrive. We live in a cold, snowy climate and we only had one ant dead on arrival. The ants immediately went to work tunneling. Our entire family has enjoyed watching the ants. We wake up every morning to see what additional tunnels they have made overnight. Because the gel is translucent, you can see the ants more clearly than through sand. Also, you don't have to feed or water the ants as with a sand filled ant farm. If you have a child who is interested in nature, this is an educational and fun product.

7 of 7 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

My rating of Antworks
Posted 10/28/2007 by Keith Ciccaglione
Rating: 5

It was so cool to see ants interacting with each other, crawling around and excavating tunnels inside the gel farm. It's easy to upkeep and the ants eat the gel for food and moisture so they never need to be fed or watered.

7 of 7 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

Antworks
Posted 8/10/2008
Rating: 4

This ant farm is very nice looking, our only trouble was the lid had "dried" onto the sides and so the seal tore at the sides on opening. It was OK though, once we got ants big enough to not squeeze out the damaged spots. The air holes we taped as recommended, because our ants could get out. This product's exterior scratches fairly easily, so I wouldn't suggest you do as we did and take it out to the ant's nest . Ants caught in a small jar by tapping them in off a stick (no dirt that way), and refrigerated for a few minutes slowed them enough to keep them in the ant habitat long enough to put the lid on while in the house. The little "ant catcher" worked best for us as an excellent tiny magnifier once the ant's were in the habitat. We did not send away for the recommended Harvester ants yet; medium-sized ants ("pavement" ants) from our area are working fine, tiny ants did not do well,the gel seemed hard for them to deal with-we let them go after 2 days, since the gel is how they are to be fed. For this reason also, we took only worker ants the second time-no pupae, eggs or soldiers ants. The ants are quite amazing to watch in the clear tunnels, our 13 and 11 year-old children constantly check their progress.

7 of 8 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

Antworks
Posted 8/23/2006 by Anita Emde - EDUCATOR
Rating: 5

This is my second Antworks colony. My first gelpak lasted from Sept. - April. The students were fascinated each time we loaded a new batch of ants (we have a nearby colony of large red ants) to see how differently they reacted to the gel. Some "rested" for several days and then slowly worked on a network of tunnels. Others quickly cleaned all debris out of tunnels and piled it in a corner. One group dug straight to the bottom and created a "den" where they seemed to hibernate. My only disappointment with this product is the wastefulness of having to throw away the entire plastic container rather than being able to refill it. Be sure to remove dead ants as soon as possible to prevent mold growth. This is key to a healthy colony. The live ants should bring any ants who die in the tunnels up to the surface for you. Some batches did a better job of this than others. You can add new ants to old as long as they are from the same ant hill. Ants can also be purchased from the company. Have fun! We love our ants!!!

6 of 6 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

Not Just For Kids
Posted 5/31/2006 by Barbara Zack - OTHER
Rating: 5

I love this thing. I keep it on my nightstand and I can even watch my critters in the dark with the Illuminator turned on. The gel is a great idea. I knocked it off the stand last night. That would have been sudden death with a conventional ant farm, but the Antworks tunnels survived. I have a second one being delivered to my office tomorrow. It's going to look really cool next to my lava lamp. I showed this to a friend of mine and she ordered three of them. Web site descriptions and pictures are accurate and detailed.

6 of 6 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

Great Ant Farm!
Posted 4/28/2011 by Trevor
Rating: 5

This ant farm is nice because there is no maintenance and the blue gel makes it easy for the kids to see the ants at work in the tunnels. very educational toy.

7 of 9 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

Geralyn Fucinari
Posted 9/27/2011 by Geralyn Fucinari - FRIEND
Rating: 4

Have to wait till Oct. 17th to order ants...thats when regular shipping is available. Quite impressed with quality of product tho..

6 of 7 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

Product review of Antworks
Posted 9/19/2011 by Renee Burris - EDUCATOR
Rating: 4

Watching the ants work is very interesting!

6 of 7 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

Fun for nature-minded kids.
Posted 10/30/2010 by California
Rating: 5

Very fascinating for kids who love the outdoors and nature. Very well made. Keeps the kids interested for long periods of time. They use it when they go to bed as a night light. Great learning toy.

6 of 7 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

A Little Surprised
Posted 3/20/2007 by PJ
Rating: 3

I ordered the AntWorks ant farm. The one I ordered had a place for the same bottom plate and lighting, but no plate. If there are different versions of this product, I did not find it to be clear, otherwise I would have ordered the version with the lights.
To clarify, "Antworks" does not include the lighted base. The lighted base is called the "Antworks Illuminator" - it is purchased separately. The "Antworks Illuminated Combo" includes both Antworks AND the Illuminator Base.

6 of 7 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

Antworks!
Posted 5/2/2006 by Valerie A Barnes
Rating: 5

This is an awesome item for kids of all ages. This is our second Antworks -- the first group of 25 ants made it for almost five months! It was fascinating to watch them work together to dig their tunnels. The whole family was captivated. This would be great for a classroom science project as well. No upkeep, no feeding, no cleaning. Need I say more?

6 of 7 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

Product review of Antworks
Posted 1/10/2006 by Tiffany
Rating: 3

They should really tell you that you need to find LARGE ants for the ant farm. My niece captured some regular black ants in the garden, but they all escaped through the small air holes on the lid! I would highly recommend ordering the ants, even though it seems silly to pay for bugs...

6 of 7 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

Can't take our eyes off it
Posted 8/2/2012 by Jodi Abel
Rating: 5

I bought this for my Special Education classroom of high school students. So many others came to our room daily to check out the ants and see what they were up to. Was great for Science, teamwork, journalling, and creating writing. Loved it so much- we just bought a second one!

5 of 5 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

My son love it!
Posted 9/10/2011 by camille schults - OTHER
Rating: 5

My son loves this product he watches his ants everyday and is fasntied by it..i was happy to know that it got sent out quickly.. :)

5 of 5 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

Antastic!
Posted 4/4/2006 by Dr. Michael Loescher
Rating: 5

My four year old daughter and I decided we needed a pet. We started the consideration with a pony and worked down through dogs, cats and hamsters (with the occasional suggestion of tigers and elephants) before deciding on the ants. It was with glee that my daughter opened the box to discover the potential of a world existing it what appeared to be blueberry gelatin. We are still waiting for the ants, ordered with the enclosed form for a reasonable three dollars, but already her imagination has built a society within the jello. The ants are named and the constitution has been drafted (including such edicts as the ants 'have to go to bed when I do', and the ants 'can't eat my breakfast until I am done'). The product is exactly as advertised and the accompanying book provides information suitable for all ages with a little translation for the very young.

5 of 5 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

Amazing Ants
Posted 4/3/2006 by Bethany H
Rating: 5

This is a fascinating and easy "ant farm". My two boys ages 4 and 7 love watching the ants make tunnel after tunnel. After you put the ants in, there is no maintenance...just hours of fun watching them work and eat. My son took it to school for a projects on invertabrates and now his teacher is going to order one for the class. I highly recommend it.

5 of 5 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

Product review of Antworks
Posted 3/31/2006 by Nadene Geyer
Rating: 5

This is a wonderful product. The ants arrived in good condition and as soon as they were placed in the habitat they went straight to work. My duaghter is fascinated and we gave one to her classroom in honor of her birthday.

5 of 5 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

Antworks ant farm
Posted 3/29/2006 by Jenifer Dold - EDUCATOR
Rating: 5

We Love It. My kids love seeing what the ants have done overnight. The light at the bottom especially makes the ant farm pleasing to look at.

5 of 5 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

Fascinating & Clean
Posted 3/16/2006 by Judy Hendrixson - RELATIVE
Rating: 5

We set up both our older sand filled ant farm and the new Antworks side by side as a science fair project for the third grade. We sent for two vials of ants. After three weeks, the AntWorks ants had a wonderful intricate pattern of tunnels. The older sand ant farm had a just a few. The AntWorks ants were clean and maintenance free and fabulous to watch with the light at night. The sand ants required food and water and mold began to grow in some areas. It was quite an attraction at the fair! (And I think you now have more customers.)

5 of 5 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

Product review of Antworks
Posted 3/10/2006 by Kristine Howlett
Rating: 5

Great product! The illuminator light is great! You should offer the ants through your company.

5 of 5 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

Great Antfarm
Posted 3/8/2006 by Lori McGee Smart
Rating: 4

Although we have not received our ants yet, this is a very well-made product. My children, ages 6 1/2 and almost 10, can't wait to see what happens. The great colored gel is also a huge improvement over the old sand-filled ones.

5 of 5 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

Review for Antworks
Posted 3/2/2006 by Ginny Gibbs
Rating: 5

Far-out ant farm. Blue gel shows off tunneling beautifully and is the ants food and liquid. Unlike the "Uncle Milton" sand ant farms, chambers and tunnels are indestructable. It has been back and forth to school many times w/o any signs of wear. Bought two additional ant farms for gists

5 of 5 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

Very, very cool!
Posted 3/2/2006 by Cindy Frey
Rating: 4

What a wondrous science toy! I admit we were a bit skeptical in the beginning. It took the ants 3-4 days to begin to burrow and create their tunnels. Almost half the ants died before the digging began, but the other half were clearly strong enough to take on the task! My 3 1/2 year old son is loving waking up each morning to see what the ants have taken on next! The light accessory is a must! It has served as a great night light in my son's bathroom!

5 of 5 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

AntWorks
Posted 3/2/2006 by Karl Morris
Rating: 4

Product is interesting and basically as advertised. I was a bit disappointed in the overall size of the unit, smaller than was expected based on the photos on the web site. Overall though the product is made of good quality materials and seems to be useful for my intended purpose. I'm generally pleased.

5 of 5 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

Really nice product
Posted 2/28/2006 by Jesse Pomerantz - OTHER
Rating: 5

I found this to be great for the imagination. It's great for any age person who always wanted to see how ants live their lives and how they work.

5 of 5 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

Review of Antworks
Posted 2/22/2006 by Molly Stapleton - FRIEND
Rating: 5

This is a really cool product where you can actually see the ants at work!

5 of 5 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

Antworks
Posted 2/22/2006 by Daniel J Bittner Jr - RELATIVE
Rating: 5

I have yet to receive my ants, but this item has sparked much interest and curosity in my brother's house. I bought one for myself and also one for my brother on his birthday. I would recommend buying the light that is offered with it. It illuminates the gel to be seen easier.

5 of 5 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

Antworks
Posted 2/21/2006 by Phyllis Palmer
Rating: 4

Although the magnifier broke the first time it was used, the rest of teh product has been enjoyable. The kids can watch the ants tunnel and learn about ant community behavior by watching their every move. The kids are fasinated by this item. We have had other ant farms before, but none come close to this level of fun.

5 of 5 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

Antworks Ant Farm
Posted 2/6/2006 by Joanna Drukker
Rating: 5

My 9 year old daughter received this as a Christmas present. The whole family loves it! The gel is very cool. It was supposed to stay in her room, but it is now in the kitchen. My husband wanted one for his office, so I bought him one for his birthday! We're waiting on the ants. We also have the light which attaches to the bottom of the ant farm. I would highly recommend getting that also. It really illuminates the ants' tunnels.

5 of 5 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

I can't say enough about this product!
Posted 2/1/2006
Rating: 5

I purchased this product as a birthday gift for my son's 6-yr-old friend while at the same time purchasing it for my 6-yr old son for Christmas. The little friend took his farm in to school for show and tell and the students and teacher were so enthusiastic about it that I ended up buying one for my son's kindergarten classroom as well as my 2nd grade daughter's classroom. The children think it is really cool to see the new tunnels every day! I've seen some reviews commenting on that the item is small, but quite frankly I think it is plenty big. Because of the high quality of the product, the children are able to manipulate and handle the antfarm without worry of it spilling open. The information book that accompanies it has great information and it has become quite a learning tool both at home and school. The ants that you order for the farm are HUGE. It really is quite fascinating. I would recommend that you order the ants on-line vs. mail order. We recieved our online ants in 3 days. The mail-order ants took 5 weeks. And just to clarify, it is the SAME COMPANY that we ordered the ants from. Bottom line: This is a GREAT gift - I've bought 4 and I'm sure I will end up buying more!

5 of 5 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

Antworks
Posted 1/31/2006 by Toni Morrissey
Rating: 5

What a great idea -- the whole family enjoys checking out what the ants are up to each day. We are really enjoying it and plan to give one for a birthday present too...

5 of 5 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

short and stocky
Posted 1/28/2006 by Slash Johnson
Rating: 5

Yeah I was expecting it to be wider and taller, but it is a full inch think (I was expecting it to be about 1/2 think), so it's not like you are getting ripped off in terms of volume, you get a lot of goop for your money! The blue gell is pretty and futuristic looking, the magnifying glass and Jewlers lens work great, kind of scary and creepy looking at them with the Jewlers lens, looks like something out of a science fiction horror movie.

5 of 5 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

Antworks
Posted 1/21/2006 by Adrienne Vivar
Rating: 4

It was smaller than I expected, but very interesting. The whole family loves seeing what the ants have been up to during the night. It's amazing to watch them carrying the gel to the surface. We never knew ants were so smart. The plastic is thick and appears to be a quality item.

5 of 5 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

Science and Nature - Insects
Posted 1/16/2006 by Michael Bush
Rating: 5

This is a great gift idea. It is educational and captivating. I gave three of these for Christmas, for ages 6 through 10 (1 boy and 2 girls), and they all loved it. It is neat, clean, and self-contained, with absolutely no maintainence required. I would highly recommend this for any boy or girl age 6 through 12. And adults find it fascinating too!

5 of 5 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

Product review of Antworks
Posted 10/9/2011 by Carl Larsen - OTHER
Rating: 5

This is purchased as a Christmas Gift.

6 of 8 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

Fun!
Posted 11/21/2010
Rating: 4

Well, the case is smaller than I expected. But although we're still waiting for the ants, my son is very excited about it, has been playing with it as much as he can already, and it does look very cool when there are holes in it. I am sure it will look awesome with tunnels and lighting.

6 of 8 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

Product review of Antworks
Posted 5/10/2011 by JAN J BLUM
Rating: 4

This is very educational and it will expand my granddaughter's interest in other projects and give her satisfaction and excitement for caring for animals.

5 of 6 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

Antworks Ant Farm
Posted 5/24/2006 by T.G.
Rating: 4

The ant farm is really nice. The gel inside is neat and clean and requires no maintenance. The lid seals well, but is easy for an adult to remove. The enclosed guide is amusing and informative. The first day, we found sugar ants. Unfortunately, sugar ants can escape through the tiny air holes in the lid. Our colony now resides somewhere behind my daughter's dresser. Added three carpenter ants...who sat happily eating for two days, but never began to tunnel. Upon release, the three lazy insects scurried out of the ant farm and set up camp in an old hollow tree in our yard. My daughter is eagerly awaiting her shipment of harvester ants (there's an order form in the back of the manual; the ants are not expensive - just $3.00 to cover shipping). Hmm...I wonder how they will ship live ants? And how I will unload them into the ant farm without them escaping all over the house? This ought to be interesting.

5 of 6 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

Review of AntWorks
Posted 5/13/2006 by Nancy Taylor - EDUCATOR
Rating: 4

Exceptional educational item! I teach third grade and my class LOVES AntWorks! I have the illuminated one, and ordered the regular AntWorks for next year's class. It just snaps on the illuminating part. My only regret with the product is that refills of the gel are not available. I did talk to the company that manufactures AntWorks, and was told that it was not safe to provide the refill gel, as it must be heated to very high temperatures during the filling process. Therefore, they couldn't provide that due to liability issues. So, I'll just keep getting a new AntWorks to snap on every year. The cost is worth it...though when teacher's have to pay for these things out of their own pocket...it does become somewhat difficult.

5 of 6 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

Information about Antworks
Posted 4/26/2006 by Sandra Gallentine
Rating: 5

Extremely entertaining for the whole family.

5 of 6 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

Information about Antworks
Posted 4/26/2006 by Donna Charissis
Rating: 5

What a great learning toy! We've decided to hold off ordering ants until winter-for now we can collect them. The only problem we've had with it is getting the collected ants into the farm while not letting the others escape. We've only got 5 ants in there now and they seem to have settled down so we'll try adding more now. They've already started digging and my three kids check on it at least three times a day. We decided to get an ant farm when one of my children cried when we killed an ant in the house. Now we collect them and put them in the farm! I love how clean it is and how you can see the tunneling. I can see us buying more of these for gifts!

5 of 6 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

Antworks
Posted 3/7/2011 by Caryl Curless
Rating: 5

Fascinating! Format allows viewer to see all aspects of ants' community living. Ants can't go to an area that is not visible. Can observe ants in their daily lives--eating, clearing a path for their travels, caring for each other. We have used it in classrooms for a couple of years, at home, and given as gifts. Everyone has positive comments and are anxious to have it again. Adding the light makes a great night light and the ants' activity really shows up. Great educational tool which is also lots of fun.

4 of 4 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

Fantastic, Unique gift
Posted 3/2/2011 by Carol Welch
Rating: 5

I was looking for a unique birthday gift for a 7 year old boy and found this ant farm. After reading the positive reviews I knew I had to get it. The gift was a total hit and unlike anything else he got. Two days later the ants arrived and the farm is working just like it should. Now, my two girls are begging me for one of their own. Guess I will be placing another order. Thanks again for providing something that is both educational as well as fun to use.

4 of 4 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

Review for Antworks
Posted 1/3/2011 by sallie
Rating: 4

awesome way to have "pets"

4 of 4 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

great procuct but didnt realize we had to get our own ants
Posted 12/30/2010 by Mackenzie Warren - FRIEND
Rating: 4

made wonderfully. my girls love it but we didnt realize it didnt come with ants (i dont know why) so it wasnt a great christmas gift in ohio but when spring rolled around we were capturing on the sidewalk and captivated

4 of 4 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

antworks
Posted 12/29/2010 by Felix
Rating: 5

My 5 year old son loves it. Every day the make a new tunnel!

4 of 4 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

My rating of Antworks
Posted 12/27/2010 by Brandy Wheeler
Rating: 5

We love this ant farm, it is amazing! The ants work so hard and it is fascinating to watch them.

4 of 4 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

Best Grown-Up Toy Ever!
Posted 7/22/2008 by Ben
Rating: 5

This is the only way you can feel like an astronaut and a kid again all at the same time, from the comfort of your own living room! My friends are always skeptical when someone brags about my ant farm... until they see it in action! (Of course, this would be even better if the owner actually IS a kid!) The illuminator is a must, and you can reuse it once it's time to get a new farm.

4 of 4 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

Kids Love It
Posted 5/27/2008 by C. Albert
Rating: 5

Everything advertised about the Antworks antfarm and the ants that we ordered separately was true. The kids love it. One already brought it to school for the day. The other is bringing it tomorrow. Very clean and well contained. No dirt. You can see everything the ants do. I'm not a big fan of bugs, but these don't bother me. Pretty fascinating. Who knew ants inside the house could be so interesting?

4 of 4 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

Antworks
Posted 5/16/2008 by Janice Nelson
Rating: 5

We purchased Antworks last summer. We enjoyed it so much that we ordered another for this summer. The whole family spent a lot of time watching these fascinating creatures. Everything is self contained. There is nothing to do but enjoy! You do have to order the ants separately. You only pay a nominal shipping cost. I have recommended this product to others.

4 of 4 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

Awesome For Any Age!
Posted 5/13/2008
Rating: 5

This is a perfect gift for kids and adults! Everyone I have given this to (from my 5 year old nephew to my 30 year old friend) has absolutely loved it! You can get ants online faster than with the coupon in the box, too.

4 of 4 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

A rating of Antworks
Posted 4/29/2008 by Ryan R
Rating: 5

I've had a few ant farms with varying levels of success. After ordering the ants online (from the recommended website) they came in about 10 days. I put them in the farm and they went pretty much right to work. I've spent hours watching them tunnel with the included magnifying glasses. I've learned quite a bit just by watching them. There's no way for the ants to escape as long as you don't open the lid. This is a remarkably educational product. A great way for anyone to learn about ants, young or old.

4 of 4 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

Antworks
Posted 4/16/2008 by Holly L Gangle
Rating: 4

This was a great gift for my kids ages 4 and 7. The ants created all kinds of tunnels. Just like the picture shows. The only negative was that we had to wait quite a while for the ants to arrive.

4 of 4 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

Iluminated Anworks!
Posted 4/6/2008 by Mohamed Fazel S Angolkar
Rating: 5

Excellent product. The best gift any child or adult could get or rather should get. Invoking curiosity, intrigue and an excellent ice-breaker point. Portable, thus able to bring it anywhere I want.

4 of 4 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

Information about Antworks
Posted 4/2/2008 by Maureen
Rating: 5

Antworks has been a hit with our two boys (4 and 8). They love watching the ants tunnel. They wake up every day excited to see what has happened overnight. This simple to use, self contained unit has given us hours of entertainment. Would buy again!

4 of 4 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

Product review of Antworks
Posted 4/1/2008 by Jill S. Stubenvoll
Rating: 5

Excellent, fun, intriguing and very easy to use product! All these aspects make it the perfect birthday gift for all of my son's six year old friends. I'm glad to be able to buy just the replacement gel, so that we can continue to reuse our light source and not have to re-buy the entire kit each year. There is also the option of making your own replacement gel, but I have not gone that far yet.

4 of 4 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

My Son Loves It!
Posted 3/31/2008 by Kathy Pinter
Rating: 5

My 9 year old loves this Ant Farm. Once we ordered and received the ants, the fun began. He checks it every morning and every day after school to see how much progress his ants have made. The gel is awesome because my son can carry the Ant Farm around the house, without destroying the ants' tunnels. Only downfall is, it doesn't come with ants. The sooner you order them, the better.

4 of 4 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

Fun For Kids
Posted 3/31/2008 by Anna Centuolo
Rating: 4

My son loves bugs. The gel is great for observing ant behavior. It is sturdy. I wish it included supplemental suggestions or information on ant behavior.

4 of 4 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

Review for Antworks
Posted 3/12/2008 by Dianna Chen
Rating: 5

I'm a teacher getting ready to study insects with my class. I just received my ant farm last week, and the ants arrived a day later. We're just a few days into watching the ants, and wow is it fascinating! I like several things about this product. Mainly, it's foolproof. There's no mess, no fuss...just add ants! It's also very easy to observe the ant activity through the gel.

4 of 4 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

Product review of Antworks
Posted 3/11/2008 by Lee Ann M
Rating: 5

The ant farm is great and the kids love it. It only took a day for the ants to figure out what to do. We have lots of tunnels now!

4 of 4 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

Ant Farm Of The Future Delivers!
Posted 3/10/2008 by Hunter L
Rating: 5

I had the traditional Green "Giant Ant Farm" version that most 90's kids had or at least knew about growing up. I was dubious about this gel-based, compact type of Ant environment. Luckily everything about it on the website turned out to be accurate. This model is easy to deal with as well as more interesting. You can see a more 3-Dimensional tunnel landscape being dug by the ants as well as them piling the excess gel above ground to form artificial walls lining the sides. They have built a cemetery area, and what seems to be a food (gel) storage area which is tightly condensed. The only issue I have with it is that I wish there were some way to open the lid more easily without the high-risk chance of one or more "fast" moving ants escaping in a matter of seconds. You have to be really careful when opening the suction-based top.

4 of 4 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

Review for Antworks
Posted 3/5/2008 by Stacy Butler
Rating: 5

I love this ant farm. I have used it my classroom before. It is extremely engaging for my students.

4 of 4 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

Antworks Antfarm
Posted 2/28/2008 - OTHER
Rating: 4

I purchased this Antfarm as a gift for my wife. She is very happy with it. She enjoys watching the ants as they tunnel through the gel.

4 of 4 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

Review of Antworks
Posted 2/18/2008 by Amy Leonard
Rating: 4

My class is already looking forward to using this. It's nice that food and watering of ants is already taken care of. However, it would be nice if the booklet also included instructions on how to obtain ants other than ordering them.

4 of 4 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

Awesome
Posted 2/14/2008 by Barbara Roy
Rating: 5

This product is very cool. My kids love watching them dig tunnels through the gel. The ants have lived on for longer then expected. They have completely tunneled the entire housing. The ants also work very fast so that you can sit and watch and not get bored.

4 of 4 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

We Love The Antworks Ant Farm
Posted 2/12/2008 by Julie Bastien
Rating: 5

The Antworks ant farm is just as much fun as it said it would be. We ordered Harvester ants using the enclosed order form. We have had a terrific time watching the ants make tunnels. The ants are very active. One thing that surprised us was how much the ants sleep. They sleep together in a pack. My son and I try to predict which direction the ants will tunnel next. It's been quite a lot of fun. One of my colleagues says his children have a lighted Antworks ant farm and love it also.

4 of 4 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

A rating of Antworks
Posted 2/7/2008 by Leslie Hurd
Rating: 5

This was so fun and educational. It says for ages 8+. But my 5 year old absolutely loved it. As did the rest of the family.

4 of 4 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

Antworks
Posted 1/31/2008 by Laura A. Finkel
Rating: 5

My class is so excited to be able to watch a community of ants creat their colony. What a wonderful learning experience!

4 of 4 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

Intriguing for all ages
Posted 1/25/2008 by Jill Yorke
Rating: 5

An unusual opportunity to observe these industrious little guys up close. I haven't met anyone who wasn't totally fascinated by it.

4 of 4 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

Product review of Antworks
Posted 1/23/2008 by Wendy Johnson
Rating: 4

Functional. Displays attributes very well. I liked the blue gel.

4 of 4 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

Information about Antworks
Posted 1/23/2008 by Jennifer Jones
Rating: 5

Our son was so excited when he opened up his ant farm. My husband gave him the old "back in the day" story about how when we were kids, our ant farms were dirt. You were very lucky to see a tunnel next to the glass. With the Antworks farm, you can see all the ants and all the tunnels. Very cool! He cannot wait for the ants to arrive.

4 of 4 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

Antworks
Posted 1/15/2008 by Jason Zastrow
Rating: 4

It is a quality product that I've had before.

4 of 4 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

Fun for the Whole Family!
Posted 1/1/2008 by Margaret Cornett
Rating: 5

In 2006 we bought the Antworks for our grandson. Everyone in the family from a 86 year old great grandmother to a 6 year old grandson became actively involved in watching the ants work. Daily, everyone hurried home from work & school to see the progress of these busy ants. It generated a lot of interaction & conversation within the family. Our grandson also took the Antworks to school for a science project! 2007, our grandson asked for another Antworks!

4 of 4 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

Fascinating
Posted 12/31/2007
Rating: 4

This is a great product. I haven't had a chance to order the ants yet, but I am happy with the ant farm itself. The only thing that I might have wanted is for it to have been a bit larger.

4 of 4 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

Antwroks Ant Farm
Posted 12/27/2007 by Mollie
Rating: 5

I originally found this product when I was a preschool teacher, and had to have it for my classroom. The children were all fascinated and never seemed to grow bored with the ants. This is a very well made product, and I have never had a problem with ants getting loose or anything like that. The only drawback is that with the first one I purchased, the ants did not want to start digging their tunnels. I had to "help them out" and then everything was fine from there!

4 of 4 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

Very Interesting Product!!
Posted 12/11/2007 by Eric
Rating: 5

The antworks ant farm is an awesome option for children that enjoy watching nature. However, the ant farm was a little bit smaller than I expected.

4 of 4 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

Review for Antworks
Posted 12/10/2007
Rating: 4

Cool item!

4 of 4 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

Great Products and Services
Posted 12/6/2007 by Carly Marques
Rating: 5

This is awesome to watch!

4 of 4 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

Wonderful Birthday Gift for a Girl!
Posted 11/28/2007 by Beverly K. Carroll
Rating: 5

My 25 year old daughter (yes, twenty-five and married) wanted one of these for her birthday when she saw that I had bought one for her little cousin for Christmas. She has been absolutely thrilled with this thing! She had a sand ant farm when she was little and this one is so much cooler. No watering or having to feed them and them trying to escape out of the little holes when you are doing it. She uses this one for a night light in her swanky kitchen and gets a big kick out of people coming in and gasping....oh my....you have ants in your kitchen!

4 of 4 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

Review for Antworks
Posted 11/21/2007
Rating: 5

I ordered this for a gift and it looks great. My grandson had one before and loved it.

4 of 4 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

Review of Antworks
Posted 11/16/2007 by Keping Bi
Rating: 5

This product is made very well.

4 of 4 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

Too Cool!
Posted 11/13/2007
Rating: 5

A teacher at the school where I work was using the Antworks ant farm in her class. I knew I had to get it for my 3 year old son, who recently broke his leg and has become bored doing arts and cratfs all day. Watching the ants tunnel has been fun for my entire family. My son wants to see the farm first thing every morning to see what the ants have been up too. He invites anyone that comes to the house to see his pet ants and everyone stops to look closely for a few minutes!

4 of 4 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

A rating of Antworks
Posted 10/25/2007
Rating: 4

Great new age adaptation of an old favorite.

4 of 4 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

Good
Posted 10/17/2007 by Martyn Speck
Rating: 4

Cool product. Antworks is a clean and good looking ant farm.

4 of 4 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

Fantastic Learning Experience
Posted 9/25/2007 by Minnie Hellberg
Rating: 5

The Antworks Farm is a great learning tool. I currently use it in my classroom--grades K-3. The children are amazed to watch the ants build tunnels through the gel. You can actually see the ants pick at the gel and carry it all over the farm. It is also a good experience for life/death, as the ants last only a few months, but the children can see how hard they work. I highly recommend the Antworks Farm!

4 of 4 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

Ant Works
Posted 7/3/2007
Rating: 4

Excellent item for summer camps, but no matter the topic of camp all children are fascinated by insects.

4 of 4 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

Antworks
Posted 5/11/2007 by Annette
Rating: 4

Initially quite fun to watch. Now that the ants have built all their tunnels, the kids don't seem as interested in them, and they crawl around at the top like they would like to get out.

4 of 4 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

Ant Farm
Posted 3/25/2007 by Susan Norris
Rating: 5

We bought the ant farm for our 9 year old grandaughter's birthday. It was the hit of the party. We also got one for our 5 and 14 year old grandaughters. They all love them, but I think it is granddad that is having the most fun.

4 of 4 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

A Science Experiment and Lighted Sculpture
Posted 2/11/2007 by Gary L. Coleman
Rating: 4

When my 11 year old nephew told me he wanted a "gel ant farm," I had no idea what he was talking about. Then, I discovered Antworks. In reality, Antworks is based on a NASA science experiment. In addition to the main gel container, I purchased the Antworks lighted base. That's the best part of the whole thing. The lighted base works by electricity and has several LED lights in it. When you set the Antworks gel container on top of the lighted base, the LED lights shine up through the gel material producing a soft, blue light that fills the room. It's a science experiment and lighted sculpture all in one. Adults will enjoy the instruction book that comes with Antworks. It's written with a touch of humor, so you really want to read it. Be prepared. The Antworks gel container plus lighted base is not very big. It is the exact dimensions as described, but it was smaller than I expected. However, it is the right size for a desk or bookcase. I can't imagine buying the Antworks gel container without the lighted base. Everyone in the family from my 2 year old niece to Dad and Mom think Antworks looks "really cool."

4 of 4 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

Product review of Antworks
Posted 1/25/2007 by Jodi
Rating: 4

Great product. Antworks has keep our whole family entertained for hours. We wake up in the morning and can't wait to see what the ants have done all night. Best pet we ever had!

4 of 4 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

Review for Antworks
Posted 1/19/2007 by Katherine Welden
Rating: 5

Excellent construction and an instant hit with my niece who loves bugs. Even her Daddy is crazy about it!

4 of 4 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

Information about Antworks
Posted 1/2/2007 by Jennie
Rating: 4

I bought this as a present for a 7 year old boy. At first he was not excited, because the ants are not included-you have to send away for them-so he really did not understand what it was. The saving grace was the informational booklet included with interesting facts all about ants. We spent a lot of time reading it and it got him very excited to set it up. Now that it is in his bedroom, he loves watching the ants in their tunnels. I am now going to buy the optional light, so he can see them at night.

4 of 4 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

AntWorks
Posted 11/27/2006 by Dwayne Roane
Rating: 5

This is a good product and my child really enjoyed it. I would recommend it to other kids the same age (11) but not younger since harvest ants also bite.
Sorry kids, the ants can't come out to play.

4 of 4 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

My rating of Antworks
Posted 10/16/2006 by Vinca LaFleur
Rating: 5

We love this toy so much we bought four more to give to friends! Who knew ants could be so much fun to watch?

4 of 4 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

Product review of Antworks
Posted 10/12/2006 by Timothy P. Baldwin
Rating: 5

I have displayed your product in my 1st grade classroom. My students can't wait to visit the ant display each morning. They are in awe of the number of tunnels!

4 of 4 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

Antworks
Posted 8/8/2006 by Roland L. Halpern
Rating: 4

I was somewhat surprised at its small size. Also, air holes would allow very small ants to escape, so you definitely want larger ants for this product.

4 of 4 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

A rating of Antworks
Posted 7/20/2006
Rating: 5

An excellent product for kids and educational use.

4 of 4 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

Information about Antworks
Posted 5/31/2006 by Marckle Myers - RELATIVE
Rating: 5

We love this new swing on the ant farm. The first few days are amazing to watch the little creatures. My only complaint is once they have made their tunnels it's "life as usual"...it is not as exciting to watch. However, once you decide to observe them with the magnifying lens included...it it spectacular to watch! Delightful!

4 of 4 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

Thankx!
Posted 5/31/2006 by CMB
Rating: 4

Great find. Kids just love watching the Ants as they make tracks thru the gell.

4 of 4 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

Information about Antworks
Posted 5/30/2006
Rating: 5

We love the Antworks, this is our second purchase of this item. We ordered the ants (order form for ants comes with the product) and it was amazing watching them work. Our ants eventually died after about 2 months.

4 of 4 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

Awsome!
Posted 1/14/2006 by Monika Darron
Rating: 5

I bought Antworks as a gift for my daughter. She is totally thrilled. She even wanted to take the continer to school with her not to miss any of the ants' activities!

4 of 4 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

Ant Farm
Posted 1/2/2006 by Jeffrey M. King
Rating: 4

It is certainly smaller than what you see on the web site....as the ants are certainly bigger in the picture than real life. My son is looking forward to getting the ants and using it.

4 of 4 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

Awesome!
Posted 1/2/2006 by Valerie DePetrillo
Rating: 4

Very cool ant farm. I'm not sure who likes it more me, my husband or my 4 year old.

4 of 4 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

My rating of Antworks
Posted 1/2/2006 by Stacy
Rating: 4

We love watching the ants working!

4 of 4 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

Great gift for adults and children!
Posted 1/2/2006 by Jennifer Jackson
Rating: 5

This has been an amazing gift that we gave to our son and nephews who are 8 years apart in age. They have all been just as facinated as the adults with what is being created. We were a bit surprised at how many ants passed right away. However, I will give excellent rating to the company who shipped the ants for their timing! The smaller number of ants was a bit disappointing, but those that remain are busy working on a magnificent masterpiece! I would definitely purchase again as a gift for children or adults and recommend to others.

4 of 4 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

My rating of Antworks
Posted 1/2/2006 by Jim Wallace
Rating: 5

This is a great product...Add the light and it looks really great at night even without the ants. Now go create a bigger version or a big light made out of the same materials.

4 of 4 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

A rating of Antworks
Posted 1/2/2006 by Tatiana Deach
Rating: 5

My son Loved it and I really liked the enclosed order form and info on different kinds of ants. Thanks

4 of 4 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

Review of Antworks
Posted 12/29/2005 by Joyce Slocum
Rating: 4

My 11-year-old grandson has been extremely interested in his ant farm. Doesn't even want 8-year-old brother to share! So it has been a very successful gift, and thank you for sending it so quickly. I read about it in Time magazine, and procrastinated in ordering, but you came through for me.

4 of 4 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

Antworks is super cool!
Posted 12/28/2005 by Steph in Seattle
Rating: 4

I was excited to open the Antworks box and see how it would look with the Illuminator. I loved how it glowed and was excited to know that there would be no issues with sand since gel is being used by the ants. I look foward to seeing the results of the ants making their home but for now it looks great and works as a nightlight in my nephews room. I know that others were concerned about it's small size but I am content as I know it is just right for my nephew.

4 of 4 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

Review of Antworks
Posted 12/27/2005 by Suzanne Burnett
Rating: 5

Purchased this item for Christmas for my 6 year old son. He loves it. It is amazing how fast the ants started to build tunnels. I love the fact I do not need to water and feed the ants. Having a blast watching them work.

4 of 4 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

Love It!
Posted 12/23/2005
Rating: 5

I ordered this item for my 6yr old nephew. Upon arrival, I had to pry it out of my 8yr old son's hands. It was then I decided that Antworks would be the ultimate gift.

4 of 4 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

Great product!
Posted 12/23/2005 by Kelly
Rating: 4

This is a really interesting new product. It is a little smaller than I expected, but very interesting to watch.

4 of 4 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

Great Product
Posted 12/23/2005 by Melanie Johnson
Rating: 5

I sent this as a gift and my 11 yr. old nephew absolutely loves it. He was able to catch several ants right away. He says it esepcially cool at night with the base light.

4 of 4 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

My rating of Antworks
Posted 12/23/2005 by Jeanette Warner
Rating: 4

The Antworks antfarm is sweet, especially with the lights that go underneath it. I purchased it for my boyfriend, and both him and his brothers are enjoying the ants. The only thing I was dissapointed with was the size.

4 of 4 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

Information about Antworks
Posted 12/23/2005 by Steve Edlund
Rating: 5

The Antworks with the Illuminator is a great product and has so far proved entertaining for my 2 kids, ages 6 and 4. The ants have started tunneling and adapting to their new home.

4 of 4 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

Review for Antworks
Posted 12/19/2005 by Bee Thao
Rating: 4

Awesome. I like it a lot because it's very different from the other antfarms. Everyone else who has seen it is like, "Cool, where did you get that?"

4 of 4 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

Information about Antworks
Posted 12/19/2005 by Robert D. Luginbill
Rating: 5

Surprisingly wonderful! Unlike traditional ant farms, the gel in Antworks is stable so that the farm may be moved about without collapsing tunnels. It's also possible to see the entire colony from every side (i.e., it really is just like the picture). The fact that the gel contains nutrients also makes this a no fuss no muss product. The one thing any prospective buyer needs to know is that ants are not included for obvious reasons (they only live 3 months or so). It is possible to buy ant supplies on the internet in antcipation of this delay. The product contains an order blank for ants in the event that such a delay is not a drawback.

4 of 4 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

Great!
Posted 12/19/2005 by Colleen Tullis
Rating: 5

This is a great present-- our son loves it-- The ants are amazing to watch------- and the clear gel works like little building blocks-- would highly recommend this toy for anyone who has a child who loves bugs........

4 of 4 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

Antworks
Posted 12/19/2005 by Brett Grinder
Rating: 4

Neat little package. It is somewhat small, but the kids don't mind, and the ants are forced into doing more with less. One time- use product, but the ants are still alive at this time and I expect they will be there for several months.

4 of 4 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

Product review of Antworks
Posted 12/12/2005 by Neil Ackerman
Rating: 4

Bought this for my nephew...smaller than I anticipated, but still fun and a modern twist on the ant farm. A lot easier and less messy. I also purchased the illuminator - makes for a fun show at night.

4 of 4 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

Very cool!!!
Posted 12/8/2005 by Nick Gatewood
Rating: 5

This ant farm is very easy to use and very cool. My 8 year old is fascinated by it, would definitely recommend to anyone interested in nature, Thank you.

4 of 4 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

Antworks
Posted 12/1/2005 by Ofelia
Rating: 5

I saw an article on magazine and talked about some of the best item this year and sure enough, your Antwork is one of the best item I ever bought for a present and wanted one for myself. I could not be more happier. Thank you.

4 of 4 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

Review for Antworks
Posted 11/30/2005 by Loren Nalewanski
Rating: 5

This is a fantastic gift for my son after having seen one of these in my co-workers office! The serviice from Fat Brain is the best bar none. Thanks for great service and follow-up from ordering to delivery to this survey.

4 of 4 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

Ant Farm Review
Posted 11/28/2005 by Gregory Hart
Rating: 5

This is a great educational item. It was a gift for my 87 year old Mother. She enjoyed being able to relive a childhood memory and especially liked the ease of setup and use.

4 of 4 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

A rating of Antworks
Posted 11/28/2005 by Terry G. Pinkston
Rating: 5

Staff and public really like it--we had a smaller one in the past, so these are informed ant watchers!

4 of 4 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

Ant works
Posted 11/3/2005 by Cheryl Sala
Rating: 5

Antworks has proved to be a great purchase. My 4 year old son has enjoyed watching the progress the ants make each day as they dig new tunnels. The blue gel makes it easy to see the ants as they work and sleep. It also supplies all the food and water necessary for the ants to live. The kit includes two magnifying glasses for up-close viewing and a booklet of interesting facts. You can send away for the ants or use the ones from your own garden. We sent away and in just a few weeks we recieved a vial of ants for our Antworks. It was easy to pour them in, close the lid, and watch them get to work. Unlike the sand ant farms, if your child knocks this one over, the tunnels won't collapse.

4 of 4 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

Ants are cool
Posted 10/26/2005 by sarah thompson
Rating: 4

This is a really neat product. I bought it for my 3 year old daughter's preschool class. They absolutely love it!

4 of 4 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

not bad
Posted 10/24/2005 by David Banks
Rating: 5

Nifty little thing it is. A little smaller than I expected, but cool nonetheless. Shipping was quick and the packing was well done as well. The "instructions" were casual and very humorous too. It looks a lot cooler in person than it does online, and the blue led add on compliments it very well. Regular household ants are a bit small too see too.

4 of 4 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

An awesome product
Posted 10/17/2005 by Tanya James
Rating: 5

My 3 year old son is not into toys but loves real things, so for his birthday we ordered ANTWORKs. As a family we took a hike and collected the ants (you need the big ones). For weeks we watched the ants work even my husband and I were entertained. The one negative aspect to this product is that you can not reuse it like other antfarms, but having the opportunity to see the entire work process by far outweighs the one negative. Our family enjoyed this product so much that we bought another one for us and one for my sons classroom. Enjoy.

4 of 4 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

Antworks
Posted 10/12/2005 by Beth
Rating: 4

Antworks is a great "antfarm." My six year old daughter found it both entertaining and educuational. We are planning to purchase another one for her classroom when they study insects in the spring. The ants are self-contained (all nutrients, including water) are contained in the gel. You can watch the ants tunnel around without having to risk getting stung ! Really cool !

4 of 4 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

Review for Antworks
Posted 10/11/2005 by Travis McKee
Rating: 4

I do like the antworks ant farm. I actually captured fire ants (which it says not to do), and they have worked out rather well. I'll probably order other ants for it soon. At the same time, I ordered a large 400 piece geomag magnet set. Both items came in the same box, but the shipping box had a large hole punched in it. I have to say that that annoyed me. I like to keep the boxes for items in perfect shape in case I want to sell the item at a later date. Other than that, everything is fine. Thank you for taking an interest.

4 of 4 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

Review for Antworks
Posted 9/30/2008 by Gina Pfeifer
Rating: 5

just as shown online!

8 of 13 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

My rating of Antworks
Posted 5/5/2011 by AMY BOYLES
Rating: 5

We are fascinated at the ant and each new tunnel they dig. We bought it for our 6 year old but everyone in our family enjoys watching the ants.

5 of 7 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

Review for Antworks
Posted 2/15/2006 by Jamie Monaco
Rating: 5

We have not gotten a chance to use the product, as we do not have the ants! I have ordered them and my daughter is looking forward to getting started. Her friend has Antworks so she's has seen first hand how it works. She is so excited to have one of her own!

4 of 5 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

Disappointing size but looks like good clean fun!
Posted 11/25/2005
Rating: 3

This was much smaller than I anticpated, but I still think it's going to be a hit with the nephew I bought it for!

4 of 5 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

Antworks
Posted 12/26/2011 by cnuck....
Rating: 4

The antfarms are wonderful!!!!!

4 of 6 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

Buy the Ants!
Posted 7/15/2013 by s. brown
Rating: 3

Since ants were not included, I asked my son to gather some. So far we have some, but nothing is happening as of yet, this is our second group! hopefully this new group will work out, if not I will order the ants.

1 of 1 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

My rating of Antworks
Posted 3/25/2014 by Nic Loux
Rating: 5

My 7 year old just loves this. It is all self contained and very easy since no feeding or watering!!

Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

Overall GREAT experience
Posted 12/11/2013 by kayla schexnayder
Rating: 5

I was a bit skeptical that any sand-like product could be "clean" but this product is awesome!!! Its a breeze to pull out and save up. The kids love it, and the adults cant help but play with it also.

Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

Review for Antworks
Posted 12/3/2013 by Lori Boss
Rating: 4

Great product and durable. I don't feel like ants are going to crawl out

Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

A rating of Antworks
Posted 11/7/2013 by Joyce - GRANDPARENT
Rating: 5

I bought this for my 7 year old grandson's birthday. But I think it was actually just as much fun for my son (his daddy)! It has been fun, educational and has taught him responsibility among other things.

Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

Follow-up on Your Order
Posted 10/28/2013 by Yoav Bensoussan
Rating: 4

kids love it.. better than TV!

Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)


McAfee SECURE sites help keep you safe from identity theft, credit card fraud, spyware, spam, viruses and online scams
Home | Shopping Cart | Help | Privacy Policy | Return Authorizations | Toy Blog | Coming Soon | Christmas Toys
Best Toys by Age | Birthday Gifts | Top Kids Toys | Toys on Sale | New Toys | Popular Toy Searches

Copyright © 2003-2014 Fat Brain Toys LLC. All rights reserved. Fat Brain Toys® is a registered service mark of Fat Brain Toys, LLC
Fat Brain Toys Offices
1405 N 205th Street, Suite 120
Elkhorn, Nebraska 68022
Phone 1-800-590-5987
Omaha Toy Store
16909 Burke Street, Suite 131
Omaha, Nebraska 68118
Phone 402-504-6218
Overland Park/Kansas City Toy Store
5601 West 135th Street, Suite 2230
Overland Park, Kansas 66223
Phone 913-305-4894

  MacWeb01