Home
Shape Sorting Cube
0

Customer reviews of Shape Sorting Cube by Melissa & Doug

Return to Shape Sorting Cube product information...

Shape Sorting Cube has been reviewed 242 times with an average rating of 4.52

My rating of Shape Sorting Cube
Posted 8/7/2009 by Cheri Benedict - RELATIVE
Rating: 5

I was extremely pleased with the construction and quality of the toy. The toy was reasonably priced and one that my nephew will get hours of enjoyment playing as he grows. I appreciate that this toy allows for imaginative play in a digital world.

9 of 9 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

Second time around
Posted 5/27/2010 by Carilda Thomas
Rating: 4

This is the second one I got for my grandson because the dog ate the first one just as he was starting to get the hang of shape sorting. He replays this frequently. The only issue I have is with the cover - it would have been better if there were some latch to hold the cover on; right now it slides off too easily.

9 of 10 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

The title is accurate
Posted 9/30/2011 by Sarah Bouchette
Rating: 3

The product appears very durable. However, 5 different chips of the wood around the shape cutouts have flaked off. I was nearby when this happened, but my 1 year old could have put them in her mouth. In addition, I bought this for my 1 and 3 year olds to play with. My 1 year old enjoys putting the pieces in the slots I indicate. But my 3 year old who wants to play with it independently cannot tell the difference between the octagon, hexagon, and pentagon shapes, and he has a hard time with the diamond and quadrilateral. I wish I had known the shapes were so similar. I would have bought a different product with less confusing pieces for my toddlers.
Faulty construction is highly unusual for Melissa & Doug products. If you receive a defective product -or if any toy design doesn't square up with your expectations call us! We assisted our customer promptly. Get an angle on 100% satisfaction, visit the Returns & Exchanges center for details.

8 of 8 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

Shape Sorting Cube
Posted 6/17/2009
Rating: 4

The construction of this toy is sturdy, and it is smooth and easy to get the shape blocks in and out. It arrived with the blocks positioned in the openings, and some of the paint from the blocks is smeared here, as if they were inserted with the paint still wet. It's just a few smears and isn't a problem, but I mention it because I ordered another Mellissa and Doug toy, and it also seemed to have been assembled before the paint was dry and it was a problem, because paint was flaking off. I will be returning this other toy because I don't want my daughter to but a toy with flaking paint into her mouth So, be careful.

8 of 8 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

shape sorting cube
Posted 10/21/2008 by Heather
Rating: 4

This product is VERY good quality! My son is a little too yong to use it to it's full potential.(he's 1) but as he gets older he'll be able to learn a lot from this toy.

8 of 8 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

My rating of Shape Sorting Cube
Posted 3/16/2009 by Nicole Brien
Rating: 5

Loved the shape sorter. I am a mother of three (5 years, 20 month old twins) and I buy Melissa and Doug toys for them and as gifts. You never have to worry about quality or design.

8 of 9 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

Product review of Shape Sorting Cube
Posted 9/22/2009 by barbara rood - GRANDPARENT
Rating: 5

my grandson is only 16 months old, so the concept of shapes is new to him. but he tried to follow my example of inserting the different shapes into the correct holes, so he was getting the idea anyway. he loved to just open the box and put the shapes in and then take them out. the item appeared well made and the colors are very bright. i am sure we will enjoy learning/playing with it for many months to come!

7 of 7 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

Product review of Shape Sorting Cube
Posted 8/24/2009 by Holly Cavanaugh
Rating: 4

the shape sorting cube is great but I believe my son will enjoy it more in a few months, he is still too young (10 months). He is too busy learning to walk.

7 of 7 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

improvements needed
Posted 6/14/2012 by Jeanette Day - GRANDPARENT
Rating: 2

Lid isn't tight enough... doesn't stay on when turning cube to put in shapes. Corners need to be rounded.
Our service is designed to please. We'll put a lid on your troubles and take the edge off your concerns. Please visit our Returns & Exchanges center for details. Please note: The lid on this item is intended to be loose. This is designed to make it easier for kids to get the pieces from the inside.

6 of 6 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

My rating of Shape Sorting Cube
Posted 2/9/2012 by Lindsay Clark
Rating: 3

Wood was splitting on side when received.
How much wood could a woodchuck split if a woodchuck could split wood? Please visit the Returns & Exchanges center for details if you receive a defective toy. In a split second we assisted our customer.

6 of 6 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

Shape Sorting Cube
Posted 2/19/2010 by sue ricker
Rating: 5

I purchased the Shape Sorting Cube for both my grandchildren and daycare. I needed a toy that would not only be fun but would also teach. A toy that would stand up to alot of use and abuse. The cube has done this and more. The kids are having fun and don't realize that they're learning at the same time. The Sorting Cube has them engaging in conversation, imagination and problem solving while I purchased the Shape Sorting Cube for both my grandghildren and daycare. I needed a toy that would not only be fun but also teach. A toy that would stand up to alot of use and abuse. The Sorting Shape Cube is not only fun but is teaching the kids without them realizing it. They're engageing in conversation, using their imanagination and are problem solving, not to mention improving their eye/hand coordination, it's great. I was not disappointed. helping them with their eye/hand coordination, it's great. I was not disappointed.

6 of 6 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

Review for Shape Sorting Cube
Posted 1/28/2010 by Shang Dai
Rating: 4

something solid inside will be better, instead of a paper box.

6 of 6 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

Product review of Shape Sorting Cube
Posted 12/17/2009 by Dana Lashly
Rating: 4

Good product. No complaints.

6 of 6 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

Great Quality
Posted 10/27/2009 by Sara Elliott
Rating: 5

I bought this for my 17 month old daughter. She loves the shape sorters and this one is great. It's definitely more complex but she is enjoying the challenge! Plus the quality of the toy is exceptional. Great recommendation from Fat Brain Toys!

6 of 6 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

My rating of Shape Sorting Cube
Posted 10/7/2009 by David Krikheli
Rating: 5

we love the toy, very good quality

6 of 6 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

Classic
Posted 6/9/2009 by Jane - RELATIVE
Rating: 5

Actually, I ordered this for a birthday gift for my soon to be two year old niece. My two year old son doesn't get tired of his

6 of 6 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

Birthday gift
Posted 9/18/2008 by Andrea Alderman
Rating: 4

The shape sorter is a very good product. I read another review about the lid falling off but this one does not. It actually stays on properly to the frustration of my son who is not yet old enough to get it off and on by himself. I think it will be a great toy for him to continue to use as he gets older.

6 of 6 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

Review for Shape Sorting Cube
Posted 8/26/2008 by Carolyn C. Carter - GRANDPARENT
Rating: 5

This is a great toy for the 2 year old. Even though other toys work on the same sorting skill, this one adds a new format for the child.

6 of 6 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

A rating of Shape Sorting Cube
Posted 8/19/2008 by Shani
Rating: 4

the only thing that is a problem is that the cube is small enough that when you are getting to the last couple of shapes it is hard to put them in there because there is no room left because of how small the cube is. oh it would be nice if the top wouldn't slide of quite as easily.

6 of 6 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

Review for Shape Sorting Cube
Posted 5/4/2006 by Joan Oates
Rating: 2

I have had the opportunity to use this with several children. This toy is an advanced shape sorting toy that will challenge children for several years. For the younger child a few shapes can be presented at a time and for the older children a few of the shapes are very close in shape and have been challenging. I like the growth that is available but the lid does not stay on so as the children rotate the toy the lid comes off and all the pieces fall out. This has frustrated both me and the children enough that I hesitate to recommend it.

6 of 6 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

Product review of Shape Sorting Cube
Posted 5/14/2012 by Diane Hall - GRANDPARENT
Rating: 5

a lot of fun, very functional material.

5 of 5 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

Just what I was looking for
Posted 2/27/2012 by Dana C Guidry - GRANDPARENT
Rating: 5

He's still a little young for this, but he really enjoys the toy. The more he plays with it, the better he gets at putting the correct block through the correct hole. This is a toy that will be used with other grandkids.

5 of 5 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

Great Classic
Posted 2/9/2012 by momof2
Rating: 4

This is a great classic toy that is constructed well. We bought this toy for our second child who just had his 1st birthday because we wanted him to have something educational as well as different from what our first son already has. Even as a one year old he loves to try to figure out where the shapes fit or to even just have the lid off and stuff the blocks and other items into the box then dump it out and do it again!

5 of 5 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

Review of Shape Sorting Cube
Posted 9/21/2011 by Debra
Rating: 5

Only because she is 5.5 months old and we play with it together! But I think it is well made and will be something we can enjoy for years to come.

5 of 5 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

Peeling Paint!!!!
Posted 7/1/2011 by Jennifer Becker
Rating: 1

I have actually hidden this toy from my one year son. I was a fan of this line of wooden toys until I bought this. I read the reviews and although it is intended for older kids, it said that many one year old boys seem to enjoy it. So I tried it. Not only is it way too complex for a one year old but when he chewed on one of the blocks the paint peeled off and I found his face covered in blue paint! I read the label and it claims to be non toxic but I am sure eating paint is not good for my boy whether it is labeled as toxic or not. I am very disappointed and am undecided as to whether I will even hang on to this toy until he gets to the recommended age range. If your child is past the point of wanting to chew on his toys this might be great for you, otherwise stay clear!
We assisted our customer immediately. If you are a very young child who likes to chew on your toys, be forewarned - your mother will take this toy away from you. Likely if you are chewing on toys, you are too young for this one anyhow. Maybe, throw a wild fit, a better tasting cookie may show up instead.

5 of 5 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

My rating of Shape Sorting Cube
Posted 3/10/2011 by Nikolet B Jensen
Rating: 4

My daughter is 13-months-old and she like this toy. She is still not very good with matching the right shapes but she also uses it as a box to put stuff in and she likes to play with the different pieces. It's a good way to teach her colors and shapes.

5 of 5 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

Review of Shape Sorting Cube
Posted 1/5/2011 by Grandma L - GRANDPARENT
Rating: 5

I bought this for my 7 mo old granddaughter. She was immediately attracted to it. She even opened the slide like by herself. She isn't to the point of matching shapes to holes but loves to empty and refill the box with the shapes. I'm pleased with the finish on the blocks. Since everything goes in her mouth, they can easily be wiped clean. I know she will be "growing into" the other features of the toy but it is already a hit.

5 of 5 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

A rating of Shape Sorting Cube
Posted 7/21/2010 by Gary Karr - GRANDPARENT
Rating: 5

This is actually being used by a 1 year old. Pieces are large enough that we don't have to worry about swallowing them and although she is not coordinated enough to get the right pieces in the right openings, she does try. Spends a lot of time working with the toy.

5 of 5 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

Sweet, well-made shape sorter
Posted 7/9/2010 by HOLLY D
Rating: 5

I bought this as a birthday present for my 1-year-old. The sorting activity is still a little advanced for her, but she loves the brightly colored blocks. They are the perfect size for her to hold on to and bang away on whatever is at hand. She also likes to slide the lid open and shut. I like that the sorter is beautifully made, with no rough edges or jagged points. I also love that the lid moves so smoothly--it shows a great sense of detail. One small drawback is the sheer number of shapes in the sorter. I can see that it could be frustrating trying to fit a block into the correct hole--seeing as there are about fifteen holes, some of which go to very similar shapes.

5 of 5 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

Classic
Posted 5/6/2010 by anna ostrovskaya - FRIEND
Rating: 5

Bought the toy as a gift. Both parents and the kid enjoy it quite a bit.

5 of 5 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

Best price I could find
Posted 5/18/2008 by Ava, IA
Rating: 5

I read reviews about people not liking that the top as not attached, however, this doesn't bother my family. I, the bargain finder, loved that it was $5-7 cheaper than elsewhere, and that it's non-toxic. My son is below the recommended age for it and it's a tad frustrating for him, but I do believe that he enjoys playing with it, and I'm happy that something educational is holding his attention for a good period of time.

5 of 5 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

Review for Shape Sorting Cube
Posted 8/29/2007
Rating: 5

The best toy under $15 for our 17 month old son. He loves the shapes, especially the star and oval. And he can manage to put most of the shapes in the right slot. The parallelogram and diamond are in the same color and their shapes are very similar so our son got a little confused with them.

5 of 5 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

Review for Shape Sorting Cube
Posted 5/24/2007 by Jill
Rating: 3

I like the box, but I thought it would be a little bit bigger than it is. The wood is nice and the pieces look good. It would be nice if the top had a way of attaching to the box so that it wouldn't come right off. If someone wanted to work on putting the shapes in the side of the box it could not be turned to the side without the top coming off and contents coming out. However, I do like Melissa & Doug's handcrafted wooden toys!

5 of 5 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

Very Appropriate
Posted 2/6/2007 by Bob and Lisa
Rating: 5

I have been looking for a shape sorting toy for several months now. We have several premier toy stores in our area, but none carried any "sorting" type of toys...only flat puzzles. I love the natural wood, rather than plastic. I love the bright colors, which allows the shapes to be sorted by colors as well. I love the chunky, substantial shapes themselves that can be used for stacking and building. My daughter just turned two, and she is already saying "trapezoid and parallelogram." The only shape that was totally missing was the plain old circle. But, There are plenty of circles in the real world, so it is not a problem. I love the toy. My daughter plays with it endlessly. Even my older children cannot resist it!

5 of 5 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

Product review of Shape Sorting Cube
Posted 1/5/2007
Rating: 4

My son loves it! He enjoys putting the shapes in the appropriate spots.

5 of 5 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

Review of Shape Sorting Cube
Posted 12/20/2006 by Aviva Symes
Rating: 2

The problem with this toy is that the lid is not attached. It just sits there. When your kid turns the cube over to look for the right sized hole for the piece they are holding, the top falls off and some of the pieces already inside fall out. This makes it pretty frustrating. It is otherwise well made, and has interesting shapes. Our almost 2 year old daughter, could put some shapes in correctly, but still is challenged by a lot of shapes. However, she doesn't want to spend time with the toy due to the problem described. It could be a great toy with a little hinge on the lid, and a catch on the other side, that could be easily opened.

5 of 5 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

Brain Cube
Posted 10/13/2006 by Greg Armstrong
Rating: 5

This was bought for our grandson as his first birthday gift. It will be very helpful in brain development & eye hand coordination. Great toy & of good quality.

5 of 5 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

Wonderful!
Posted 9/29/2006 by Josette Dzencelowcz
Rating: 5

We're at the best stage for this toy! Our son is 2 and loves the colors and logic level of the toy.

5 of 5 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

Review of Shape Sorting Cube
Posted 8/1/2006 by Michelle
Rating: 4

Our 18 month old son loves this toy! It is well-constructed and challenging for him. I'm certain he will be interested in it for some time to come.

5 of 5 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

Great!
Posted 8/28/2008 by Kellie K
Rating: 5

The shape sorting cube was in excellent new condition, just as described. My daughter loves it.

5 of 6 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

Good Toy
Posted 8/27/2008 by Derek Olander
Rating: 5

Well constructed. The shapes are colored well and look like they will hold up to a lot of use.

5 of 6 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

Information about Shape Sorting Cube
Posted 3/6/2007 by Rebecca Birmingham
Rating: 4

I like the variety of shapes that are included in this toy. It is quite a challenge, as our little darling is just 18 months old. He is able to fit some of the shapes. It will grow with him as he advances to the more difficult shapes.

5 of 6 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

My rating of Shape Sorting Cube
Posted 1/17/2007 by Cristen Brown
Rating: 3

This is a good toy. The only problem I saw with it was the fact that, when, say, nine or so of the shapes are already inside the cube, they pile and take up so much room inside that subsequent pieces don't have room to fall down into the cube when you place them through their respective openings.

5 of 6 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

Review of Shape Sorting Cube
Posted 7/25/2012 by Cathryn Strong - GRANDPARENT
Rating: 5

loves this one too for a first bday it is great

4 of 4 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

Great Gift for One-Year-Old Nephew
Posted 7/12/2012 by MS
Rating: 5

I bought the Melissa & Doug Shape Sorting Cube, Geometric Stacker & Pound-A-Peg for my one-year-old nephew's first birthday. Not only did he love all three items, but my four-year-old girl loved them too.

4 of 4 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

Product review of Shape Sorting Cube
Posted 6/5/2012 by shaun davis
Rating: 5

all cubes at once are a little overwhelming so i hand him the 3 that go to one side and he loves it

4 of 4 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

Review for Shape Sorting Cube
Posted 3/12/2012 by Stacy M. - GRANDPARENT
Rating: 5

He received a lot of gifts - however seems to like this as much or more than the majority of the toys.

4 of 4 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

Review for Shape Sorting Cube
Posted 3/7/2012 by Kristen Kim
Rating: 5

good for motor skill!

4 of 4 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

Information about Shape Sorting Cube
Posted 12/28/2011 by Pamela Tokar-Ickes
Rating: 4

Have always liked the Melissa and Doug line- very pleased with the quality of the toy.

4 of 4 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

Great Product--- Shape Sorting Cube
Posted 12/19/2011 by Jennifer C
Rating: 5

Our 1 year old son loves this toy. He loves all the different sides to work with and is constantly tumbling it around. He also likes just opening the lid and putting the shapes in and out. He hasn't mastered the shape holes but banging it around is fun for him. It is holding up nicely. I love the bright colors!

4 of 4 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

Fun Cube, great quality, one small hiccup
Posted 9/9/2011 by Bernardo Mainou
Rating: 4

I bought this for our 6 month old kid. While he cannot figure out the shapes to the extent of putting them in the correct slot of the cube, he loves jiggling the cube, getting the pieces out and playing with them. He loves the colors of the pieces, and the construction of the set is very nice. The only downside is the piece on top that slides off the top of the cube to take the pieces out does not have a locking mechanism. So, the piece just slides off easily and the pieces come out.

4 of 4 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

Difficult shapes.
Posted 9/7/2011 by Michelle Lebron
Rating: 4

My 15 months old and 2 1/2 enjoy playing with this. It has really peculiar shapes, so it's a big more challenging for even at 2 1/2 year old. But, both my daughter enjoy trying to master it!

4 of 4 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

High Quality!
Posted 8/10/2011 by Mrs Newcomb
Rating: 5

The shape sorting toy is great and far surpasses others of similar type; the reason is that the shapes are of a good size that they can hold on to them well, and they fit will through the holes. Also the toy is so sturdy, solid (if a bit heavy) and will last for a long long time! My triplets will get lots and lots of use from this toy!

4 of 4 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

Information about Shape Sorting Cube
Posted 4/27/2011 by Yvette Smith
Rating: 4

It's a great toy and I love that it's wood, but I think he's not quite ready for it yet at 9 months.

4 of 4 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

Awesome!
Posted 3/29/2011 by Maura Maynard
Rating: 4

My son is 23 months and he really enjoys this toy. IT's great for going over colors & shapes with him!

4 of 4 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

age appropriateness
Posted 3/18/2011 by Carol - GRANDPARENT
Rating: 4

Actually, my grandson doesn't play with it much because we've put it away until he's older. He is a very perceptive one year old with excellent dexterity. Nevertheless, the shape sorting is rather daunting even for adults who typically assume it to be simple.

4 of 4 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

Product review of Shape Sorting Cube
Posted 1/16/2011
Rating: 5

This is a gift to a mother to be, so I can not gauge the "play" value. I observed my friend's little boy playing with the the sorter.

4 of 4 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

Our 14 month old granddaughter LOVED this gift!
Posted 12/28/2010 by Bonnie Gaeth - GRANDPARENT
Rating: 5

Our granddaughter played with this cube sorter in a variety of ways; not just those for which it was designed. She enjoyed throwing all the blocks in the box and dumping them all out. She enjoyed the shape sorting lid too, but found that more challenging, so once she discovered how to remove the lid, she spent more time practicing her "in and out" skills. Overall, it was successfully received by our granddaughter and her parents alike.

4 of 4 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

Review for Shape Sorting Cube
Posted 12/8/2010 by Alisha Wood
Rating: 5

Christmas present for my son. We are excited to give it to him.

4 of 4 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

great for my nephew
Posted 11/30/2010 by Alison Smith
Rating: 5

I have this toy for my year old nephew and when he comes over it's usually the first thing he goes to.

4 of 4 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

Product review of Shape Sorting Cube
Posted 11/14/2010 by mihail antonescu
Rating: 4

the quality of the product is good, it appeals to both, parents and children

4 of 4 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

A rating of Shape Sorting Cube
Posted 5/3/2010 by Kelsie O'Dell - EDUCATOR
Rating: 4

This is a great product for learing however it seems to be the last thing my kids pick off he shelfs.

4 of 4 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

Outstanding quality
Posted 3/11/2010 by Amber Brantly
Rating: 5

My soon-to-be one-year-old loves these fun-shaped blocks. She's still figuring out putting things INTO things, but she enjoys the colors and sound of the blocks as she throws them across the floor. I love that it's made of wood and safe dyes. It is a quality product that I'm sure will prove the test of time through a lot of wear and tear.

4 of 4 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

Product review of Shape Sorting Cube
Posted 3/11/2010 by Christopher Moore
Rating: 5

Our children love the toys we purchased for them and have been playing with the nano bugs non stop.

4 of 4 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

Product review of Shape Sorting Cube
Posted 1/1/2010 by rz
Rating: 4

My 1-year old needs help matching up the blocks to the right shape holes, but it is teaching her useful skills.

4 of 4 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

My rating of Shape Sorting Cube
Posted 12/28/2009 by Raymond Rodriguez
Rating: 5

I was very pleased with the Shape Sorting Cube and the quality. As soon my grandson received his Shape Sorting Cube, I was amazed by the fact that he found interest in the toy. I've had experiences with other toys that didn't keep his attention.

4 of 4 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

Fun Toy
Posted 12/27/2009 by Shawna - RELATIVE
Rating: 5

I bought this for my niece for Christmas. She played with it all day long. She would take all the shapes and put them inside, then turn it over and dump them out, and then start over. She is only a 1 year old, so she will learn more about placing the shapes in the proper cutouts later, but she is having a good time stacking the blocks.

4 of 4 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

Great toy
Posted 12/26/2009 by Candice Gillespie
Rating: 5

Great quality. The colors are bright and engaging. I bought this for our youngest, but have seen my 5 year old playing with it on many occasions!

4 of 4 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

Perfect toddler toy
Posted 12/25/2009 by Kristi Cummings
Rating: 5

My son (23 mos.) got this for Christmas today and was immediately captivated. He eagerly asked for help getting the blocks out, then put each one in (some with help) when I showed him which hole to use. As he grows, I expect it to continue being challenging and fun at the same time. It's great for learning shapes, colors, and manual dexterity.

4 of 4 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

Looks great
Posted 12/16/2009 by Nancy
Rating: 5

I left this product in its packaging and shipped it, so I can't comment on how much my great niece likes it. However, I was impressed by the obvious high quality of the toy. I like that it's all wood and brightly colorful. I'd play with it myself!

4 of 4 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

My rating of Shape Sorting Cube
Posted 12/13/2009
Rating: 5

Good quality. Bright colors and interesting shapes. Excellent manipulative toy that will provide hours of fun. I did not open the clear wrap on the toy as it was a gift, but the top appears to slide into grooves now which will prevent it from falling off as chilrdren rotate the box. This was the one criticism I read about it and. unless I am visually mistaken, that problem seems to be corrected.

4 of 4 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

Product review of Shape Sorting Cube
Posted 12/8/2009 by Kathleen A Holzhei - GRANDPARENT
Rating: 5

it was a gift and the child is enjoying it very much and his parents are also pleased with the quality

4 of 4 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

Information about Shape Sorting Cube
Posted 12/6/2009 by Jennifer McClure
Rating: 5

We bought this for our 2yr old son and he loves it. His older brothers like to take off with it and use it as a cage for their little animals :) The quality of this product is tops, and I would expect nothing less of a Melissa and Doug product! We have several of their products and they have been through three boys and still look great! The only thing that may be frustrating is the door that opens to take them out slides out easily so when they are turning the cube , it sometimes falls out and the pieces they have already put in fall out as well. It seems there should be a way to lock it into place.

4 of 4 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

Information about Shape Sorting Cube
Posted 11/11/2009 by Teresa Myrick
Rating: 5

My 2 year old loves this toy. She had a handme down of the old toy where you had to pull really hard to get the pieces back out of the round puzzle. She could never get them out and lost interest in the toy. I remember I did too when I played with it as a child. This toy is so easy to get the pieces in and out over and over again. Great design!

4 of 4 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

Product review of Shape Sorting Cube
Posted 11/6/2009 by Sean forker
Rating: 5

Great Learning Toy!!

4 of 4 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

Information about Shape Sorting Cube
Posted 5/27/2009 by Rebecca
Rating: 4

My son is 9 months and he loves to hear the shapes clink when he puts them in the box, but he is not yet putting the shapes through the cutout holes. I like the bright colors and the clean construction. This toy is well put together and I am glad that I bought it.

4 of 4 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

Educational and fun
Posted 5/25/2009 by P Burgess
Rating: 5

My daughter loves the cube! She had another one made out of plastic that she rarely used but this one has become one of her favorite toys. The product is very well made and it has alot of different shapes with bright colors. I would highly recommend this product!

4 of 4 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

Review for Shape Sorting Cube
Posted 11/5/2008 by Lisa Tabora
Rating: 5

The toys were much bigger than I expected them to be, which I was ahppy about that. We haven't opened them yet because they are Christmas, but I htink the kids will love them.

4 of 4 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

A rating of Shape Sorting Cube
Posted 8/15/2008 by Daryol R. Forinash
Rating: 5

My grand daughter loves her new sorting cube and my daughter loves having toys that she had as a child for her children!!! Realy well made. Thank you.

4 of 4 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

A Shape Sorter with Longevity
Posted 8/4/2008 by A. Tenorio
Rating: 5

This is a very well constructed shape sorter. There are twelve different shapes (as opposed to the usual circle, square, and triangle), which I like because it presents a greater challenge for the child. The cube and the shapes are well made and withstand plenty of banging and mouthing. My child loves this shape sorter, and I expect her to get much enjoyment from it.

4 of 4 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

many shapes!
Posted 7/7/2008 by Alexandra
Rating: 4

we love that there are soooo many shapes to sort! however, my son is only 19 months and has trouble with the hexagon and octagon...sometimes it frustrates him that they are so similar, he just opens the top and throws them in!

4 of 4 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

Sorting Cube
Posted 7/3/2008 by Pat Young
Rating: 5

We chose this toy as a gift for our 2-yr-old granddaughter on the request of our daughter-in-law. Our granddaughter has a mitochondrial disorder and is delayed. The physical therapist working with her utilizes this toy, so we wanted our granddaughter to have her own sorting cube to play with. It is obviously a useful aid in encouraging development. Also, we love the wooden toys and the educational toys available for children.

4 of 4 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

Fun for years to come
Posted 6/26/2008 by Cristin
Rating: 4

We ordered this for our 10 month old daughter. Although she doesn't understand the concept of shapes yet she enjoys banging the wooden pieces together. The fact that this is a wooden toy means it will hold up for her to enjoy it for a few years.

4 of 4 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

Review for Shape Sorting Cube
Posted 3/16/2008 by Susan - TEACHER
Rating: 4

The shape sorting cube will be a great toy for my son when he outgrows the need to put everything in his mouth. He sucked on one piece for a while as he looked at the rest of the toy, and when I put that piece into the cube, the paint began rubbing off! We've put it away until he's old enough to understand he can't eat while he plays.

4 of 4 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

Shape Sorting Cube
Posted 3/3/2008 by Richard Russell
Rating: 4

The product functionally had exactly what I was looking for. A variety of different shapes that could be held, and manipulated into matching holes. I felt that this would, and it does seem to, offer the opportunity to sharpen shape differentiation, and naming, also exercising of fine motor skills. Drawbacks were minor, but expected of Chinese products: 1. The lid is poorly designed, the result is that it always falls off. However, this was easily remedied by putting thin strips of Velcro in the base of each notch and the corresponding mating surfaces of the lid. This affords enough grip to hold, but not so much that young hands can't pry off when needed to. 2. There is insufficient difference between the rectangle and the square. This seems more a design issue rather than one of cost. 3. The paint is not of good quality, as some is rubbing off in the first week of use. OVERALL: I recommend this product.

4 of 4 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

Shape Sorting Cube Review
Posted 2/8/2008 by Chad Theriault
Rating: 4

I thought this was a very good product as it includes many more types of shapes than other boxes of a similar purpose. One negative of this toy is that the 'lid' comes off very easily, resulting in the 'cubes' falling out or the child realizing that they can just stick the cubes in the large opening. Overall, though, if supervised, this is a good toy that provides education about shapes and their differences; particularly with the pentagon, hexagon, and octogon.

4 of 4 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

My rating of Shape Sorting Cube
Posted 2/5/2008 by Lisa Britt
Rating: 5

Very solid and easy for my baby to handle. She is already understanding the concept of shape. Thank you for offering such a fabulous learning tool.

4 of 4 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

A rating of Shape Sorting Cube
Posted 1/2/2008 by Karen Bowcutt
Rating: 5

This cube is sturdy and well made. My 2 year old has fun playing with it although I think it is a little advanced for him. My only complaint is that the lid comes all of the way off, so if you are turning it to look at the others sides the lid falls off. I think it would be better on a hinge. Overall, a great toy that is a classic.

4 of 4 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

A More Challenging Shape Sorter
Posted 11/26/2007 by Christine McConnachie
Rating: 5

I ordered this shape sorter for my son. The Melissa and Doug shape sorter is far more challenging. Basically there are 12 different shapes and you must turn the cube and look at all sides to figure out where the hole is for the particular shape you have in your hand. I would highly recommend this shape sorter. It holds my son's interest (he is almost 2).

4 of 4 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

Review of Shape Sorting Cube
Posted 10/28/2007 by Melinda Cottam
Rating: 5

It certainly met our expectations. My son just turned one, and he course, has yet to master the toy, but we have played with him, and he enjoys it. It is a well made product, and meets our parental requirements that ensure it is, among other things, a learning toy without batteries.

4 of 4 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

Review of Shape Sorting Cube
Posted 6/13/2007
Rating: 4

I purchased this particular shape sorting cube primarily because I wanted to move away from plastics and was attracted to the large variety of shapes. The cube and shapes are well constructed, however the lid comes off too easily when the cube is tilted. Perhaps the cube is meant to be spun, rather than tilted? My 6 month old will likely appreciate a simpler version with fewer shapes that are located on one side to start.

4 of 4 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

Purchase of Shape Sorting Cube
Posted 5/9/2007 by Norma
Rating: 5

I love the cube so much. My grandson saw a toy similar to this at the doctor's office. I have been trying to find something he loves as much and this seems to be a winner. It is educational and entertaining...perfect for a growing toddler.

4 of 4 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

This Is Fun!
Posted 4/2/2007 by Janet Beuckelaere - OTHER
Rating: 4

This is a wonderful, well-made toy. I wish that the side that allows the pieces to come out was attached somehow, although I don't know how that would be best accomplished.

4 of 4 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

Great Product!
Posted 3/29/2007 by Sherille Varela
Rating: 5

My 2 1/2 year old loves it! The quality is great and it is definitely a great learning toy.

4 of 4 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

A Great Buy
Posted 3/26/2007
Rating: 5

My 19 month old son loves the shape sorter. With at least 9 different shapes, it is more challenging than the typical plastic shape sorter. Consequently, it is better at holding his attention. I also like that he's learning the names and properties of some other shapes, not everything in life is a circle, square or triangle.

4 of 4 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

Review of Shape Sorting Cube
Posted 2/16/2007 by Michelle
Rating: 4

So far my almost two year old son can mostly figure out where each piece goes if we turn it to the correct side. I think it is a very educational toy. I recommend it highly.

4 of 4 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

Fun Toy
Posted 1/30/2007 by Michele
Rating: 4

I got this toy for my 2 year old. She likes it and has learned the names of less common shapes. My 12 month old also enjoys putting the lid on and off, tossing the shapes in the top, and dumping them out.

4 of 4 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

Great Quality
Posted 1/26/2007 by Chris Smith - ADMINISTRATOR
Rating: 5

The cube was for me to illustrate how people fit into some areas of service and not others. When my daughter saw it, I lost it. It is very well made with a great finish. The colors are nice, and it is really stout.

4 of 4 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

Veru Good Toy
Posted 1/16/2007 by Guzel Bayazitova
Rating: 5

I realized that having a sorter with only four main shapes is not challenging for my two year daughter anymore. I searched the Internet and found this great wood sorter from our favorite maker Melissa & Doug. The toy has 12 shapes including octagon, pentagon, hexagon, oval, star and some others. My daughter loves to play with her sorter but still needs some assistance. I have to turn the sorter to help her find a proper slot.

4 of 4 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

Good Old Fashioned Toy
Posted 1/5/2007 by Kristy Eve Saueressig
Rating: 5

It's nice to see some good old fashioned toys where the manufacturers aren't worried about being so user friendly that they fall apart rather than have sharp corners. This toy actually looks handmade and makes me feel like the person making it really cared about the person recieving it. In this day and age of electronics and plastic everything, it's nice to see that some people actually take the time to care about the toy itself and a child's enjoyment.

4 of 4 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

How Do I Like the Shape Sorting Cube?
Posted 12/25/2006 by A. Woods
Rating: 5

I love it. My son who is 2 just loved it. It is very easy to work with. I love the opening for the shapes, it makes it easy to dump out so he can sort them into the correct shapes. Great Product!

4 of 4 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

Shape Sorting Cube
Posted 12/22/2006 by Amanda L Cotten
Rating: 5

Excellent! My three year old grandson has a passion for shapes and the only shape toys I could find were plastic. Nothing wrong with plastic, but the wooden set just "feels" better. The colors are bright and vibrant. My grandson has spent countless hours in educational play.

4 of 4 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

Shape Sorting Cube Review
Posted 11/6/2006 by Indiana Gramma
Rating: 5

This toy is very well-made. My granddaughter loved playing with it during her visit. Every time we turned around, she was playing with it again. She kept Grandpa hopping!

4 of 4 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

A rating of Shape Sorting Cube
Posted 10/16/2006 by Patricia Matteson - GRANDPARENT
Rating: 5

I purchased this toy for my grandson who is developmentally delayed. I wanted something to challenge him and help him with his fine motor skills. I liked the fact that this toy had other shapes besides the standard circle, square, etc. I thought it would be a little more challenging for him. So far he is enjoying the toy, and it is not too easy for him. The quality is great.

4 of 4 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

Shape Sorting Cube
Posted 9/21/2006 by Jeff Quigley
Rating: 5

Both my 2 1/2 year old and 1 year old love it!

4 of 4 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

Product review of Shape Sorting Cube
Posted 9/11/2006 by Rebecca
Rating: 4

This a good toy, but the lid falls off when the cube is turned on it's side, which causes shapes to fall out. It would be better if the lid was hinged.

4 of 4 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

Great product
Posted 9/1/2006 by Kimberly D. Harter
Rating: 5

This product is so awesome! I love wood toys, as my child has others of Melissa and Doug and loves each of them! I got this for her birthday and know she will love it! It reminds me of the shape sorter I had back in the day, but it's even better with its wood shapes. I know this will be a great, long lasting toy to teach her shapes and coordination. I'm so glad Melissa and Doug makes these products! I can't wait to buy more!

4 of 4 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

Information about Shape Sorting Cube
Posted 8/22/2006 by Dottie Steinhoff
Rating: 5

The product is sturdy, well made. It is exactly as promised and my 10 month old son loves it. He can chew on it, bang on it, and work with the shapes.

4 of 4 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

Mom of 3
Posted 8/10/2006 by Margaret M Harris
Rating: 5

Really great ! My 1 year old loves it.

4 of 4 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

My Niece Won't Put It Down
Posted 8/4/2006 by Elizabeth Corwin
Rating: 5

My niece loves it; the construction is great. The only thing that would be better is that the top that comes all of the way off should have a latch to keep it on. Other than that, it is a great toy and learning tool.

4 of 4 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

Product review of Shape Sorting Cube
Posted 4/13/2006 by Deborah Kline
Rating: 5

I bought this for my one year old son, and he enjoys putting the shapes in the box without the top on. I think it will continue to interest and stimulate him for several more years.

4 of 4 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

Great toy
Posted 3/21/2006 by Lisa
Rating: 4

Great toy, only problem is when it starts to get full, sometimes it was a bit hard to get the blocks in with all the other blocks in the way. Other than that, nice colors and great quality.

4 of 4 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

Review for Shape Sorting Cube
Posted 3/13/2006 by Shannon E. Beckish
Rating: 5

The toys I ordered are ALL excellent. I am a pediatric occupational therapist. One of the things I am trained to do is use toys to facilitate typical child development. Shape sorters are really one of the best toys for this. They can be used as with a child as early as nine months, usually up to around 3 years. This shape sorter is wonderful. It has 16 shapes, many unique to the majority of sorters. The blocks are bright--wooden toys are so much better than junky plastic ones. This sorter was inexpensive...I just love, love, love it. My 5 month old baby likes to watch me dump the shapes onto the floor. He also likes to pick up the shapes (I place and hold them in his hand) and release them into the cube. The only thing I wish were different is that the cube could be bigger. It's hard to fit the last 3 blocks into the cube once the other shapes are in it.

4 of 4 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

Product review of Shape Sorting Cube
Posted 2/6/2006 by Amanda Danielson
Rating: 5

This is a well-constructed toy that will undoubtedly be of interest to our 14-month old for a few years as she goes from placing the shapes simply in and out of the box to actually finding the correct holes.

4 of 4 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

Review for Shape Sorting Cube
Posted 2/1/2006 by Robby Morehead
Rating: 4

My 20 month-old twin boys love this toy so much I am considering purchasing another. I only wish the lid stayed on a little more securely.

4 of 4 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

Solid and nice
Posted 1/4/2006 by Shannon Gillen
Rating: 5

A great toy of old time quality. This is a perfect gift for any new kid.

4 of 4 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

Auntie J.
Posted 1/4/2006
Rating: 5

My one year old nephew really enjoyed this gift! Solid construction and quick delivery. Well done!

4 of 4 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

Review of Shape Sorting Cube
Posted 1/4/2006 by Jeanette Canto
Rating: 5

My two year daughter loves her shape sorting cube!

4 of 4 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

Information about Shape Sorting Cube
Posted 1/4/2006 by Mary Rathjen
Rating: 5

This was exactly as we thought, we love the toy and the price. The delivery was also faster than we expected.

4 of 4 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

Shape Sorting Cube
Posted 10/12/2005 by Jenny Osborne
Rating: 5

My daughter loves it and is learning her shapes and colors while improving her motor skills

4 of 4 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

Shape Sorting Cub
Posted 6/22/2005 by Jennifer Coscia
Rating: 4

We haven't had any time since we received the toy in the mail, but I did open it for my 2-year old and then my 5-year old said to him, "let's put the shapes where they belong". I thought that was interesting because most of the time, my 5-year old will shun any gifts my 2-year old receives. But I think initially, this toy was very well received and will be played with.

4 of 4 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

Nice product at a decent price
Posted 8/26/2008 by Irene Terrazas
Rating: 4

Nice toy. My baby is too young to use it to the fullest as yet. Some of the shapes are so similar that it is slightly challenging even for me. It will definitely challenge her when she's old enough to want to challenge herself. Design-wise, I think, I might have opted to put the different variations of the same shape on the same side. I feel this would help baby see more clearly and sooner that though the shapes are very similiar, they really are diffrent. (It would promote shape discrimination.)

5 of 7 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

Exciting and Challenging
Posted 8/17/2011 by SCOTT WALHAUG
Rating: 5

The product is challenging and takes time to learn the concept of matching the shapes of the blocks with the holes in the cube. My little girl gets really excited when she she is able to get a block into the cube. Sometimes she just plays with the blocks and it is fun to teach her how to match the blocks with the right holes in the cube. This should last a while and is a good learning tool as it takes time to figure out and master the concept.

4 of 5 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

Great Classic Toy
Posted 5/26/2010 by JAMES M.
Rating: 5

The solid construction is great for my 11 month-old son. He likes to carry it around and will sometimes drop it on our wooden floor, but that has no effect on the toy. At this point, he would rather slide the side off and take the solid wooden blocks out of the box, instead of putting them in, but he still enjoys it. It even taught us parents a new shape - the quatrefoil.

4 of 5 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

Review of Shape Sorting Cube
Posted 2/17/2009 by hilda cortez
Rating: 3

It is a fun toy, but two of the shapes are very hard to put in their place.

4 of 5 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

Product review of Shape Sorting Cube
Posted 2/12/2008 by Shannon Johnston
Rating: 3

This is a nice product, but the lid broke in half a few days after we received it. So that was disappointing. I was also surprised at how many different shapes there were. It is a little advanced for my one year old. I assumed there were only 4 shapes total.

4 of 5 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

Information about Shape Sorting Cube
Posted 3/5/2007
Rating: 5

This product is just as described. It is colorful and an excellent addition to our toddler room. Loved by both teacher and children. Thanks.

4 of 5 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

Shape Sorting Cube
Posted 10/5/2006 by Deb Green - RELATIVE
Rating: 5

Great Product. A really nice teaching toy, i.e., shapes and colors.

4 of 5 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

My rating of Shape Sorting Cube
Posted 1/8/2014
Rating: 3

I was disappointed when we opened the shape sorting cube. It is not nearly as robust as other Melissa and Doug toys we have. The wooden top that slides out is thin and could break easily. The cube has already splintered around most of the shaped openings. This is the only time I wish I'd purchased a plastic version of this toy instead of a wooden one!
Rough start? Smooth out imperfections with a visit to the Returns & Exchanges Center. We assisted our customer promptly.

1 of 1 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

Review of Shape Sorting Cube
Posted 11/28/2013
Rating: 5

My son loves this toy. It was a great way to learn different shapes and also the colors associated with them. I loved it so much that I also bought one for my nephew. My son still plays with it even though he's 5 years old. He won't let me give it away.

1 of 1 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

Great learning tool
Posted 11/18/2013
Rating: 3

The product design has changed from the picture. Although it is similar, the old design looks more durable. The newly designed wooden box is laminated wood glued together to look like a solid sheet of wood. My particular item was flaking and jagged where the shapes had been cut out. The top now also slides into place and is less than 1/4 inch thick, making it a bit flimsy and hard to open and close to get shapes out.
We contacted our customer promptly. If you receive a defective toy, we'll sort out the situation and make things right. Visit the Returns & Exchanges Center for prompt assistance.

1 of 1 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

Love this!
Posted 7/23/2013 by Mary Ladage
Rating: 4

We gave this to our son for his first birthday. He's mostly intrigued with the blocks and hasn't interacted much with the cube except to shake it. He does like to put the blocks in the cube if the lid is off, so it's only a matter of time until he figures out how to put the blocks through their matching cut out. It is well built, although the wood did splinter a little bit around the cut out areas when we first opened it. Also, it's small - the blocks are the perfect size for little hands! Great product!

1 of 1 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

Information about Shape Sorting Cube
Posted 3/26/2013 - GRANDPARENT
Rating: 3

Upper level of sorting. Requires memory and thinking on toddler's part. The box should be of a higher quality wood or thickness. It has lots of splinters that I take off. Gives a higher sense of gratification of accomplishment for toddler.
Wood shavings have you puzzled? Fortunately, we deliver high quality customer care. Our customer was promptly assisted with the defective shape sorter. Visit the Returns & Exchanges Center for details.

1 of 1 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

Product review of Shape Sorting Cube
Posted 10/29/2012 by Deborah Maloney - RELATIVE
Rating: 4

Nicely constructed

1 of 1 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

Product review of Shape Sorting Cube
Posted 10/7/2012 by Nancy barrow - GRANDPARENT
Rating: 4

Purchased this product a little "ahead of schedule" for my grandson. He and I enjoy this toy together. The solid wood, easy to hold shapes are teaching colors and dexterity. Shape sorting won't be far behind!

1 of 1 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

Fun for toddlers!
Posted 8/30/2012 by LJ (Chicago)
Rating: 4

Great item. My son spied this on the kitchen counter (didn't see me take it out of the shipping box) and pulled my husband over to get it for him so he could open it and start playing with it. He is a little boy, after all, and if unsupervised, will sometimes just throw the shapes instead of trying to put them back in the box. A couple of the pieces are already showing signs of relatively heavy wear and paint chipping after only a week, but since it is non-toxic, I am unconcerned.

1 of 1 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

Review for Shape Sorting Cube
Posted TODAY by carol harris - GRANDPARENT
Rating: 5

Love the classic, educational, no fuss products!!

Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

Review
Posted 6/25/2014 by Vanessa Dunn
Rating: 4

Now that she has her room ready we will give her this toy to play with.

Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

shape toy
Posted 6/1/2014 by Linda Wright
Rating: 5

Great product and great service from Fat Brain toys. This was a gift for my Grandson and he loves it!! Perfect age appropriateness as indicated on the age recommendation. I love Fat Brain toys!!

Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

Great for 2yr Old
Posted 4/4/2014 by Lindsey J
Rating: 5

My 2 yr old loves matching up the shapes and asking what shape it is and tells us the color. After 2 days of playing he's learned square to trapezoid. The wooden door slides off easily so we use tape to hold it closed.

Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

Shape Sorting Cube
Posted 12/11/2013 by Shawn Beach - GRANDPARENT
Rating: 5

bright bold colors, easily store the pieces inside, great for a toddler

Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

Sorting cube
Posted 11/17/2013 by Trista Button
Rating: 5

Very good for teaching shapes and colors as well, and hand eye coordination for finding which spot best fits the shaped block

Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

Review of Shape Sorting Cube
Posted 10/22/2013 by melissa Gonzalez
Rating: 5

Hard to open to get blocks out

Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

Shape Sorting Cubd
Posted 10/16/2013 by Kari Brewer
Rating: 5

It's a Christmas present so we haven't played with it yet. I love this website though! Fast shipping and great products for a good price!! Definitely referring to everyone I know!!

Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

Shape Sorting Cube
Posted 9/26/2013 by Daniel Witsil
Rating: 4

High quality product that does the job it was intended to do. My 11 month old is still a little young for this toy, but I am sure she will grow to love it.

Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

Shape cube
Posted 9/11/2013 by Tanya
Rating: 4

My one year old loves this toy. He tries to put the shapes in the cube constantly then takes them out again and again. He loves this toy

Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

Review for Shape Sorting Cube
Posted 8/8/2013 by Marilyn Marcin
Rating: 5

The Cube was purchased as a Christmas gift for my grandson.

Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

Shape sorting cube
Posted 1/14/2013 by Jamie French
Rating: 3

The shape pieces my son plays with frequently, the cube not so much. The side of the cube that slides out to release he shapes is really loose and often opens on its own. While I like that the whole thing is made of wood, it still seems kind of cheaply designed, and once you get over half of the blocks in it fills up and gets really difficult to put more in.

Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

A rating of Shape Sorting Cube
Posted 1/4/2013 by arlene doshner - GRANDPARENT
Rating: 5

shapes easy to handle colors bright

Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

An excellent learning tool
Posted 1/1/2013 by Bryan Boroski
Rating: 5

Bought this for my 13 month old son. While he's in the early stages of figuring out what goes where and using the toy as a whole, he loves the block shapes themselves. Constantly playing with them and putting them in other toys of his. As for my take on the product, it's a nice sturdy product that should hold up nicely to the modest pounding a toddler can dish out to their toys. My nieces had similar plastic versions of this toy, but I really liked the wood look and feel and wanted that for my child.

Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

Information about Shape Sorting Cube
Posted 12/30/2012
Rating: 4

Bought for my 18 month old and my mom gave her one very similar that was made of colorful plastic that rolls and the pieces fit like a puzzle and can pushed through that she likes better but this toy is well made and we will give it to another child

Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

Review for Shape Sorting Cube
Posted 12/27/2012 by Rachel Schuldt
Rating: 4

Very simple for my 21 month old to understand! Very cute!

Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

Nice Gift
Posted 12/18/2012 by Francine Sargalski
Rating: 5

This is a Christmas gift so I don't know the play value yet.

Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

shape sorting cube
Posted 12/9/2012 by DOLORES - GRANDPARENT
Rating: 5

i got this for my grandson ( 1 year old ) last year. He loves it! He's not one to sit very long, but he will sit for this. He loves this so much it went on vacation, visits to Grandmom's etc. I just ordered another one in the last few weeks because he lost some of the pieces. I gave it to him last Saturday and his face just lit up. I would definitely recommend this! Well worth the money

Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

shape sorting cube
Posted 12/6/2012 by Nancy Luedtke
Rating: 3

While I really like the variety of the shapes and vibrant colors included for sorting, I would like the product better if it were made of hard, durable plastic. Very young children do put toy items in their mouths, and it would be easier to sanitize this toy if it were made of plastic.

Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

Great learning toy
Posted 12/2/2012 by Barbara Perry
Rating: 5

This toy is made of high quality materials that is safe for children. The colors are vibrant and the learning aspect along with the fun had by children is worth every penny.

Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

Awesome!
Posted 11/24/2012 by Jenny Higdon
Rating: 5

My one-year-old loves this toy! He enjoys the colors and shapes, and the "in and out" repetition is his favorite!

Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

shape sorting cube
Posted 11/15/2012 by Gale Pokorny
Rating: 5

she's pretty young right now but will grow into it. Loves the bright colors

Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

Great toy!
Posted 11/14/2012 by Ronnie Shalev
Rating: 4

great learning tool!

Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)


McAfee SECURE sites help keep you safe from identity theft, credit card fraud, spyware, spam, viruses and online scams
Home | Shopping Cart | Help | Privacy Policy | Return Authorizations | Toy Blog | Coming Soon | Christmas Toys
Best Toys by Age | Birthday Gifts | Top Kids Toys | Toys on Sale | New Toys | Popular Toy Searches

Copyright © 2003-2014 Fat Brain Toys LLC. All rights reserved. Fat Brain Toys® is a registered service mark of Fat Brain Toys, LLC
Fat Brain Toys Offices
1405 N 205th Street, Suite 120
Elkhorn, Nebraska 68022
Phone 1-800-590-5987
Omaha Toy Store
16909 Burke Street, Suite 131
Omaha, Nebraska 68118
Phone 402-504-6218
Overland Park/Kansas City Toy Store
5601 West 135th Street, Suite 2230
Overland Park, Kansas 66223
Phone 913-305-4894

  MacWeb01