Home
Shape, Model and Mold Play Set
0

Customer reviews of Shape, Model and Mold Play Set by Melissa & Doug

Return to Shape, Model and Mold Play Set product information...

Shape, Model and Mold Play Set has been reviewed 67 times with an average rating of 4.43

Lots of fun!
Posted 2/22/2010
Rating: 4

This is a great play set for toddlers. We purchased this for our two-year-old son, and he seems to have lots of fun rolling and stamping the playdough. The only negative is that the paint on the stamps seems to chip easily - our son played with this toy once and already the color is coming off.

8 of 8 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

Review for Shape, Model and Mold Play Set
Posted 2/18/2009 by Esther weiss - GRANDPARENT
Rating: 4

I hadn't noticed the scale of this set and find it somewhat small to be totally satisfying. But the kids do have fun with it - and that's the best part. The rollers and punchers are their favorites.

8 of 8 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

For the grandchildren
Posted 10/7/2010 by K Jackson
Rating: 3

The clay was crumbly and had to be thrown away, but the shapes are great.
If your clay doesn't last one day contact us! Fresh clay will be shipped to our customer.

6 of 6 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

Product review of Shape, Model and Mold Play Set
Posted 8/2/2010 by Michelle
Rating: 4

My 2 1/2 year old daughter really likes this set! My only complaint is that the clay tubs are very small. I think they could give you a bit more. However, since they are small, I put the entire set in a zip lock bag and take it with me wherever we go. It really keeps her entertained at restaurants or any place that requires waiting!

6 of 6 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

Review for Shape, Model and Mold Play Set
Posted 4/6/2010 by Janet Thompson
Rating: 4

Very nice wooden tools, but I mistakenly believed this would be more like clay and less like Play-Doh. It is really just very expensive play-doh in a very small amount for the money. But the tools are much better than the cheap plastic play-doh tools and will last much longer.

6 of 6 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

Fun Toy
Posted 12/28/2009 by Stacy Newton
Rating: 4

This is a cute toy. Our daughter is only 2 so we might grow into this a bit more shortly. The rollers provided are nice but the dough sticks to them and makes it hard for her to 'roll' out the dough on her own. The cutter is the same way, a neat idea but the dough sticks to it more than the cutter cuts through it... we are still having fun with this set and I really do feel that she will grow into it and become more independent with this toy.

6 of 6 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

Review of Playdough Play Set
Posted 12/6/2009 by Kathleen Troost
Rating: 5

I know that this will be used alot! Melissa and Doug toys last and can be handed down. I went online and got a great play dough recipe and gave it with this gift. What alot of fun.

6 of 6 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

Review for Shape, Model and Mold Play Set
Posted 11/18/2008 by Frances Loud - GRANDPARENT
Rating: 5

My granddaughter is not even quite 2 years old, but she loves playing with this...she "bakes" cookies and just loves to run the designs all over the dough. She is, of course, carefuly monitored, and she will play with this for half an hour up to a full hour. It is placed high when we're not playing, but she knows where it is and always points up and says, "Bake cookies, gramma!"

6 of 6 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

Just super!
Posted 11/17/2008 by Michele Brown - HOMESCHOOL
Rating: 5

This toy is great for children who are experimenting with playdough, great for texturing and imprinting shpaes. My son absolutely loves it. We already have a box of playdough tools but this one for some reason is more appropriate for children who are 2-3. Thanks so much! A+ Michele Brown-Ramirez PS- The shipping was AMAZINGLY fast.

6 of 6 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

Review for Shape, Model and Mold Play Set
Posted 3/7/2009 by Monica Donofrio
Rating: 5

We gave this a gift to our friend's 2 year old daughter. She LOVES it - the colors are nice as are the "tools" to play with the dough. A lot of fun to create different shapes and designs.

6 of 7 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

Disappointed
Posted 9/22/2011 - GRANDPARENT
Rating: 3

Playdough was very sticky. Threw it away. rollers are nice size as are the cubes.
Stick with us and you're not stuck with sticky playdough! We contacted our customer to assist. Please visit the Returns & Exchanges center for details.

5 of 5 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

Product review of Shape, Model and Mold Play Set
Posted 4/28/2011 by Julian Miles
Rating: 4

We have not had this toy for very long, but my toddler likes it so far. Better quality that plastic play doh toys!

5 of 5 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

Can never go wrong with M & D products
Posted 1/11/2011 by Mariah Smith
Rating: 5

Great quality, of course, love that most of their products come in sturdy wooden open boxes because this is where it is stored. Sadly my kids don't play with it as often as I would have thought however, they're boys and tend to be more into rough and tough play, trucks and cars, more so than creating things at this point. Love it cause it keeps them out of my utensil drawer as well as ruining some of their toys when we play with clay, play dough, etc. So I definitely would recommend this product if you have children that love to play with molding clay, play dough, etc

5 of 5 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

Cool set.
Posted 1/4/2010 by Diana
Rating: 4

I didn't realize that the stamps contained actual dough, and purchased this to go with some playdough. Gives lots of different textures and allows different types of interactions with the dough. Has a kind of cooking/pastry feel to the set.

5 of 5 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

Sturdy, well-made
Posted 12/30/2009 by Nicole Evans
Rating: 4

My daughters love to help me cook, and one of their favorite things to do is to use my rolling pin to roll out dough. One of their favorite toys is play-doh, so when I saw this set of tools, I didn't hesitate. As pictured, the set comes with three rolling pins - two textured and one smooth, one edging tool, five wood blocks with patterns on them, and four small containers of modeling dough. The containers of modeling dough have molds on the lids to create various shapes with the dough. The wood pieces in this set are high-quality, with shiny paint and sturdy construction. I like that the packaging acts as a storage tray for all the pieces. The modeling dough containers are small, and children will need an adult to help open the wrapping under the lid, covering the dough. The lids are also difficult to properly set on to the containers. Overall, I love this set. I thought it was slightly pricey compared to play-doh accessories, but I am willing to pay more for the quality of this set.

5 of 5 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

Information about Shape, Model and Mold Play Set
Posted 10/21/2009 by Stacey Virga
Rating: 3

This is a good set for use with play dough although I was hoping the rollers would have more defined textures and would be a little larger.

5 of 5 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

Disappointed in Shape, Model and Mold Play Set
Posted 8/25/2009 by P. Cadd - GRANDPARENT
Rating: 2

I was disappointed in this play set. The textured rolling surface of the rolling pins is only 3" long. The five stamping blocks are OK, nothing special. There are four very tiny containers (about 2 tablespoons) of modeling dough that was too stiff for child fingers (it took adult hand strength to get it loosened up). The plastic lids of these containers can be used to stamp a raised animal figure and are pretty flimsy and not interesting to my child. Overall, this did not add anything to our play dough setup - which is a soft homemade dough with large dowels for rolling, along with household items for cutting and stamping.

5 of 5 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

great set for playing
Posted 5/27/2008 by Natalia Giles
Rating: 5

my 2 year old son absolutely loves playing with all the stamps and rolling the clay. everything is very safe, He doesn't need my assistance playing with it and gets quite carried away with the set for a while, which happens to be very helpful when i need to catch up on some house work.

5 of 5 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

The Hit of the Birthday Party
Posted 5/15/2008 by Donna Cox - FRIEND
Rating: 5

My daughter loves playing with play dough and these toys are fantastic for little hands. I found a different wood play dough toy set on another educational website and ordered them for a lower price as a gift--what a waste. I ended up sending them back and eating the shipping cost. I learned my lesson, stick with the brands you know are quality. Melissa and Doug have never let me down.

5 of 5 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

Great Quality!
Posted 1/29/2008 by Jennifer
Rating: 5

Very pleased with this set! My son loved all the different tools. I was happy to see the high quality of the rolling pins. It is a set that will last in our house for years and years.

5 of 5 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

Product review of Shape, Model and Mold Play Set
Posted 8/1/2012 by Ken Brown
Rating: 4

We like all the M&D stuff, and this looked like it would be nicer than the plastic play dough tools you can get pretty much anywhere. Overall, this is something I'd recommend for any toddler or young child who enjoys play dough.

4 of 4 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

Shape, Model and Mold Play Set
Posted 7/24/2012 by lisa godfrey - GRANDPARENT
Rating: 5

Anything I have purchased for my grandchildren from Fat Brains has been wonderful. I ordered this for my 2 yr old grandaughter who is just starting to experiment with clay. It came with just enough tools to get started without her being overwhelmed with so many pieces.

4 of 4 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

Shape, Model and Mold play set
Posted 2/4/2012 by Lois Ryan - GRANDPARENT
Rating: 5

My granddaughter loves to use this with her Playdough. She loves to run the rolling pins and wheel over Playdough to make different designs. She always asks to play with it, so I am glad I found this product and at a reasonable price.

4 of 4 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

Review of Shape, Model and Mold Play Set
Posted 9/15/2011
Rating: 5

My daughter loves the set. She is especially fond of the little caps with animal molds. It was a very good idea to buy more play dough together with this set.

4 of 4 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

Shape, Model and Mold Play Set
Posted 10/20/2010 by Cindy McMahon - GRANDPARENT
Rating: 5

multiplies the ways the kids can now use Playdoh

4 of 4 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

Information about Shape, Model and Mold Play Set
Posted 8/1/2010 by Morteza Razavi
Rating: 4

very good product, easy to use, good quality,

4 of 4 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

A rating of Shape, Model and Mold Play Set
Posted 2/22/2010 by Erica Baruti
Rating: 5

Great quality, sturdy. I'm secure that the set will definitely grow w/my son. Unlike some toys he has which break in a week's time because of poor crafmanship.

4 of 4 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

cool play set
Posted 2/17/2010
Rating: 4

i have a 3 year old and a cousin that visits that is 1 1/2 . they both sit down and mold and play with the playdough and clay. Keeps them content for a little while.

4 of 4 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

Another great Melissa & Doug toy!!
Posted 10/13/2009 by Jennifer Herman
Rating: 4

My children (age 8, 3, and 21 months old) all love to use this playset. The tools are great wooden quality, but the molding doh could be better. We use it with playdoh most of the time and is a good toy for motor development.

4 of 4 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

My rating of Shape, Model and Mold Play Set
Posted 10/9/2009 by Kara Wyatt
Rating: 5

Like for 2 year old bc not small pieces

4 of 4 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

Shape & Model Mold Play Set
Posted 10/7/2009 by Leslie Lutes - EDUCATOR
Rating: 5

Kids love this product. It really enhances creativity, drawing it out of each child :-)

4 of 4 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

Shape, Model and Mold Play Set
Posted 9/7/2009 - GRANDPARENT
Rating: 5

As always I was extremely pleased when I received your product. It was for my two year old grandchild's birthday. Although she has not yet played with it {because it is going to stay at my house} it was the only gift that she insisted be completely opened at her party. She had to get the pieces out and touch them. She would have been content to stop with that present and start playing with it immediately. We are looking forward to many wonderful tactile experiences with this play set.

4 of 4 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

Simply Fantastic!
Posted 8/29/2009 by Jada B.
Rating: 4

Melissa and Doug have done it again! Our son received this for his third birthday, and has really enjoyed it. Simple design that has inspired some of his greatest creations!

4 of 4 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

Love Melissa and Doug Products
Posted 8/25/2009 by Lynn
Rating: 4

I just played with this for the first time with my almost 19 month old son--for quite a long time--he loved all the different "tools." I love with all Melissa and Doug products they always include extension activities--lists of additional games you can play with a particular toy. The only drawback is the actual dough--as my son says "P.U. stinky!"--it smells odd and is crumbly and already drying out. The tools are great but for the dough itself we love Eco-Dough.

4 of 4 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

Information about Shape, Model and Mold Play Set
Posted 7/19/2009 by Kris
Rating: 5

This is a wonderful " craft " activity for toddlers. I bought two of them for a 4 and 2 year old . It was a big hit for both ages, the pieces were the right size for little hands!

4 of 4 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

Loved it
Posted 7/1/2009 by Nicole
Rating: 5

I bought this for my two year old twins. They are still learning how to roll out the play dough, but we had so much fun just making shapes and all the various textures. Definitely something they will play with for years to come.

4 of 4 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

Review for Shape, Model and Mold Play Set
Posted 5/2/2009
Rating: 4

Father and son are having a blast. Great toy! This is something that will be in our daily rotation of toys!

4 of 4 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

Great set
Posted 8/14/2008
Rating: 5

My daughter loves making play dough cookies, rolling the dough out, and making different shapes. Lots of fun!

4 of 4 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

Playdough Fun!
Posted 7/28/2008 by linda martin
Rating: 5

Excellent product. The playdough is already included and everything a child needs to create for hours of play.

4 of 4 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

Nice Set
Posted 12/30/2007 by Geoff Davis - HOMESCHOOL
Rating: 4

My son was pleased with this set, but unhappy with the rather dry "play dough" included in the container. It crumbled. Fortunately, we had more play dough on hand!

4 of 4 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

Not Great.
Posted 12/27/2007 by Jason T. Larman
Rating: 3

This is a great idea, but I don't think it was tried before it was implemented. Wood sticks to Play-doh. That is why most other Play-doh toys are made of plastic.

4 of 4 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

Quality Tools
Posted 8/28/2007 by M. Becker
Rating: 4

Toys are of good quality wood. The rollers are little bit small, so that my 3 year old son uses just his fingers to hold on to the handles. Wish there were some wooden molding knives with it. Over all it is the best that is out there though. Unfortunately, the older version with more tools is not available any more.

4 of 4 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

A rating of Shape, Model and Mold Play Set
Posted 2/11/2010 by Megan Schwertfeger
Rating: 5

Fantastic! Definitely not enough dough included in this kit.

4 of 5 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

shape, model and mold play set
Posted 6/26/2013 by Carlene Parker - GRANDPARENT
Rating: 5

my two little granddaughters love to play with playdoh and this just gives them more things to make and they have a good time with it.

1 of 1 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

Great item
Posted 9/16/2012 by Debra Fernandez - EDUCATOR
Rating: 5

Great fun for my childcare kids!

1 of 1 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

Great item
Posted 9/16/2012 by Debra Fernandez - EDUCATOR
Rating: 5

Hours of fun for my childcare kids!

1 of 1 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

Good Durable product
Posted 12/3/2013 by connie falcon
Rating: 4

I have a nonverbal Autistic 11yr old who loves to use rolling pins for her play doh, these are very durable and will last a long time. My only complaint was they were kind of small for her, but I'm sure they were made for smaller children.

Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

Great for sensory play
Posted 2/25/2013 by Kelly M
Rating: 4

All the wooden items in this set are wonderfully crafted and are made especially for small hands. My 2 year old son LOVES it when I take out this set so we can make patterns on play dough. The only thing I didn't know it came with was it's own playdough. That was a surprise to me because I must have missed that on the product description. The playdough it comes with isn't great though. It's nice that it includes it but it's tough and dry and doesn't form very well. You probably should have your own playdough ready to go and not depend on the one that comes in this awesome set. My son loves to roll pins and the one that looks like a cutter. Very well made too!

Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

Great quality toy
Posted 12/4/2012 by Jill Clark
Rating: 5

My daughter is slowly learning to love play doh and this play set makes her like it even more. I'm sure she'll be playing with it for a long time to come.

Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)


McAfee SECURE sites help keep you safe from identity theft, credit card fraud, spyware, spam, viruses and online scams
Home | Shopping Cart | Help | Privacy Policy | Return Authorizations | Toy Blog | Coming Soon | Christmas Toys
Best Toys by Age | Birthday Gifts | Top Kids Toys | Toys on Sale | New Toys | Popular Toy Searches

Copyright © 2003-2014 Fat Brain Toys LLC. All rights reserved. Fat Brain Toys® is a registered service mark of Fat Brain Toys, LLC
Fat Brain Toys Offices
1405 N 205th Street, Suite 120
Elkhorn, Nebraska 68022
Phone 1-800-590-5987
Omaha Toy Store
16909 Burke Street, Suite 131
Omaha, Nebraska 68118
Phone 402-504-6218
Overland Park/Kansas City Toy Store
5601 West 135th Street, Suite 2230
Overland Park, Kansas 66223
Phone 913-305-4894

  MacWeb02