Home
Cutting Fruit Crate
0

Customer reviews of Cutting Fruit Crate by Melissa & Doug

Return to Cutting Fruit Crate product information...

Cutting Fruit Crate has been reviewed 71 times with an average rating of 4.75

Review for Cutting Fruit Crate
Posted 10/20/2008 by Bridgette
Rating: 5

All three children are playing with it, 3,5, and 12

7 of 7 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

FUN TOY!!!!
Posted 10/16/2008 by Karen DIENER
Rating: 4

My son loves to sit at the table and "Cut" while I make dinner. It keeps my 3 year old busy for a good length of time.

7 of 7 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

Cutting Fruit Crate
Posted 7/23/2008 by KEN D LENTZ
Rating: 5

This is a durable and fun product. Our two year old daughter gets hours and hours of fun from this. The way the toy knife is able to "slice" the toy fruit is fascinating to toddlers.

7 of 7 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

Very good product - kids love it
Posted 8/3/2008 by Denny in Az
Rating: 5

Very simple concept and yet the kids love to play with it. So far had it for a week and it's still a a hit and no problems with the item thus far.

6 of 6 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

High quality fun
Posted 8/16/2012 by SYLVIE
Rating: 4

My 19 month old is currently obsessed with cutting things. This lets her play to her heart's content without any worries. The fruits are nicely painted and substantial. As with all Melissa & Doug toys, this is great quality. I only wish it came with a cutting board, but we are using the wood crate that the toys came in.

5 of 5 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

Helping Hand
Posted 2/11/2012 by b. rohm
Rating: 4

"I cut!" is a new favorite saying around the house. Our toddler is always interested in mom's culinary adventures, and now gets to participate in her own way!

5 of 5 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

Fun with food
Posted 11/27/2009 by AJ
Rating: 5

Looked around at other play food brands and found Melissa & Doug's to be the best. Glad to have found non-plastic food. My daughter enjoys being able to "cut" her food like Mom & Dad.

5 of 5 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

Imaginitive Play Plus
Posted 8/1/2008 by Susan Terasinski Kropp
Rating: 5

I absolutely love this product. I bought it for my 18MO daughter and it is a huge hit. She loves to "cut" the food apart and she has really re discovered an interest in eating fruit. She was not interested in feeding herself with utensils either until we got this and now she tries to "cut" and stab things with her fork. Play food is fun but this is better! I love that they are wooden too. You get a satisfying "clack" when you cut it. You can also mis match the fruit together, or play a fruit matching game or play with them whole. It's very versitile! My daughter and I love playing with it together.

5 of 5 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

A rating of Cutting Fruit Crate
Posted 12/9/2007 by Tammy C.
Rating: 5

This product is excellent for children. My son receives speech therapy for Verbal Apraxia and this product is used during therapy. It's good for his oral-motor practice. It provides resistance when cutting and makes noise as they cut. Plus, he's busy and not overthinking his speech. I also purchased cutting foods for both of my 3 year old necies. However, my 1 and 8 year old sons are interested as well.

5 of 5 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

Multiple Learing Facets
Posted 6/18/2012 by Warren Watson
Rating: 5

My year and a half granddaughter just loves this learning tool. I call it a learning tool rather than a toy because of all the things it can teach her. It is too early for "cut in half" but not for developing dexterity. Not for colors...learning her fruits...and knowing the satisfaction of 'cutting something in half...or thirds...or fourths...even if the concept is not there yet. It will prepare her for when it is time!!! I love it...she loves it...highly recommend.

4 of 4 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

HIGHLY RECOMMEND!
Posted 1/4/2012 by JJO
Rating: 5

I purchased this for my 2 year old niece as a gift. She and my daughter (18 months) will sit for 30-45 minutes taking turns cutting the fruit. It is a safe and educational learning tool. Not only are they enhancing their physical skills holding and turning the fruit to cut it but also cognative skills naming the pieces of fruit and taking turns using the "knife" HIGHLY RECOMMEND!

4 of 4 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

A rating of Cutting Fruit Crate
Posted 12/26/2011 by Sharlene Parsons - GRANDPARENT
Rating: 5

our granddaughter loved this and used the play knife to cut the fruit pieces several times and "served" them to everyone. This was better than I thought it would be when I bought it, exceeding my expectations...

4 of 4 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

Great gift!
Posted 10/2/2011 by Ashley Roosa
Rating: 5

high quality - durable wood

4 of 4 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

2 Year Old Loves It!
Posted 8/4/2011 by Patricia Adams
Rating: 5

I purchased this item for a two year old girl's birthday. My 2 1/2 year old grandson was at the party, too. The girl did love the bright colors and she enjoyed putting the fruit pieces in a purse that she also received that day. My grandson, however, was really interested in using the "knife" and then putting the fruit back together to use the "knife" again. I mention this in my review specifically because I recall that the reviews I read made this toy appear to be played with by girls more than boys. That was definitely not my experience. I plan to order one for my grandson now that I have seen how much he enjoys it.

4 of 4 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

Awesome gift ...my neighbors daughter loved it
Posted 6/12/2011 by soumya saxena - FRIEND
Rating: 5

I bought this as a gift for my friend's daughter who just turned 2. I was not sure if she is going to like it but we happen to open toys thne and there itself. she loved it. she loves to cut fruits and offer it to everyone. its made up of high quality wood and the velcro which keeps it together is also of very good quality.its totally worth the money . i am impressed

4 of 4 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

Ideal for children of all ages
Posted 3/14/2011 by KC - RELATIVE
Rating: 5

I gave this to my 1-yr-old niece and after she opened it, I watched every child at the party play with it, including my 2 yr old, 5 yr old, and even a few 7 and 8 yr olds. Great quality and I know from experience with similar toys from Melissa and Doug that the velcro lasts for a long time.

4 of 4 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

cutting fruit crate
Posted 2/12/2011
Rating: 5

a birthday gift - will not receive until the end of Feb

4 of 4 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

Review for Cutting Fruit Crate
Posted 1/2/2011
Rating: 5

My 2 1/2 year old daughter loves this product. She thinks she is really cutting the fruit and it keeps her occupied for a long period of time. The fruit is really durable. She loves this product. I would highly recommend this along with the other food products in this line. It encourages lots of imagination and role playing.

4 of 4 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

fuit crate
Posted 12/26/2010 by B JERVIS
Rating: 5

2 yr old daughter will not stop playing with this!!!

4 of 4 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

Cutting fruit, genuis
Posted 12/21/2010 by Claudine Williamson
Rating: 4

Great fun! I love the cutting fruit set. It requires the appropriate use of hand-eye coordination for my niece. She loves making me a sliced fruit plate in her little kitchen.

4 of 4 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

very happy with purchase
Posted 12/14/2010
Rating: 4

Purchased this for my 2yr old daughter. She has an active imagination, and loves "helping" me in the kitchen, so this keeps her busy while I am cooking. We use the pieces to go over types of fruit and colors, and I liked the suggestions on the box for later learing opportunities, such as fractions and counting pieces. The quality is good, the velcro a little loose but ok, and the crate is great for storing all the parts. Very happy with this purchase.

4 of 4 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

Love it!
Posted 11/24/2010 by Jill Williams - RELATIVE
Rating: 5

This is a great product for 2-year-olds. My son loves cutting the fruit.

4 of 4 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

A rating of Cutting Fruit Crate
Posted 5/13/2010 by Kelsie O'Dell - EDUCATOR
Rating: 5

Love love this product my kids play with it for hours. Keeps them very busy while learning skills at the same time.

4 of 4 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

Great for boys too!
Posted 3/16/2010 by Angelica Olivera
Rating: 5

I have two toddlers (3 and 2 years old). They love pretending to cut the fruit and then eating the pieces. It's heartwarming to see children playing with and enjoying non-battery operated toys.

4 of 4 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

Innovative Toy
Posted 3/15/2010 by Connie Dinning
Rating: 5

My 2 year old toddlers love cutting their own fruit. We go over all of the fruit names and their colors. We also review the concept of fractions because the fruit is divided into either 2, 3 or 4 pieces. The cutting action promotes hand eye coordination and fine motor skill development. Overall, this is a fantastic toy that the kids return to again and again.

4 of 4 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

Cutting Fruit Crate
Posted 2/11/2010 by Cindi Howell
Rating: 5

It wasn't until my 3yr old got her hands on this toy that I truly understood what it was like to find "the perfect toy at the perfect time". She would say "cut, cut, cut" when she made everyone "fruit salad" for "tea party time". The best part was when she began counting the pieces as she went. Now she counts, says her colors, and helps in the kitchen all the time. She has had this toy only about a couple of weeks, and yet not a day goes by she doesn't bring out her cutting box and fruit and cuts everyone a snack. Her ability to pretend play had improved as well as her motor skills for holding one side of the fruit while cutting it. They parts are sturdy and safe for long, lengthy play time, as well as safe to have out around her delayed sister. I reccomend this toy to any parent of a toddler.

4 of 4 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

wooden cutting fruit
Posted 1/27/2010 by Riva
Rating: 5

Nice assortment of fruit and well made!

4 of 4 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

Information about Cutting Fruit Crate
Posted 12/29/2009 by Debbie Lynch
Rating: 5

excellent toy (same review as food crate)

4 of 4 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

Review of Cutting Fruit Crate
Posted 12/29/2009 by Jutta Furca - GRANDPARENT
Rating: 5

I gave this to my granddaughter for Christmas (she is two). Although she opened a lot of presents that morning, she kept coming back to the fruit! She had so much fun cutting the fruit and putting it together! Your products are made so well. I also gave her a puzzle and the wooden pots and pan set from your website. I am delighted with the quality of them all!

4 of 4 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

Review of Cutting Fruit Crate
Posted 12/26/2009 by Meredith Moe
Rating: 5

I purchased three of these ... one for a 4 year old girl and 2 for two year old boys. So far all of the children are really enjoying them. I think they really like the idea of being able to cut food by themselves, and it makes a satisfying noise when the fruit is "chopped". Highl recommended!

4 of 4 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

Cutting Fruit
Posted 10/5/2009 by Angela Movius
Rating: 5

My two year old and my five year old both LOVED this product. Especially the two year old- she spent HOURS cutting and sticking back together. My older daughter used it more for imaginative play. I even enjoyed playing with it! :)

4 of 4 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

A great set for busy hands!!
Posted 8/24/2009 by Elizabeth L. West
Rating: 5

My children LOVE this set! They have such a great time playing in our play kitchen at home and this has been such a great addition to making that kitchen feel more REAL to them! It keeps them very busy and focused and they'll put them together and cut them up over and over again! I am a preschool teacher, and this is a favorite set among the children in my classroom!

4 of 4 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

My 3 year old loved it!
Posted 7/16/2009 by Diana Saenz
Rating: 5

Nice, quality toy. Love that it makes a chopping sound.

4 of 4 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

fun
Posted 6/30/2009 by FangYunJohnson
Rating: 4

fun toy. the kids like cutting the fruits with the knife. the only thing is that it's made in China and my little one loves to put everything in her mouth. I watch her closely because I'm not completely comfortable with the paint used.

4 of 4 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

Not quite as nice as M&D Cutting Food Box
Posted 6/9/2009 by Sharman LeBlanc Beltran
Rating: 4

I have already called Melissa & Doug Toys to express my disappointment that this Cutting Food Crate is not quite as nice as the original Cutting Food Box. Not only does it NOT come with a cutting board (which is important when you have two kids trying to share the sets), it also has one less item in the set, plus overall has much less "cuts" than that of the original set (most of the fruits are just cut once - in half). I even asked M&D if they would sell me a cutting board to go with this set, but they would not sell it separately (from the Cutting Food Crate set). It is still a nice idea, but if you are only buying one set, do yourself a favor and buy the original Cutting Food Box instead; you'll get a much better bargain and won't have to be hunting all over town for a small wooden cutting board to match the set (plus it also has fruits!).

4 of 4 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

Review for Cutting Fruit Crate
Posted 1/14/2009 by Donna Haas
Rating: 5

Excellent toy. Love the bright colors, no splinters, and the cool "cutting" sound made as the fruit is cut.

4 of 4 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

Review for Cutting Fruit Crate
Posted 1/12/2009 by Leslie Poggemiller
Rating: 5

The toy is very sturdy and encourages kids to use their imaginations.

4 of 4 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

Great toy!
Posted 7/9/2008
Rating: 4

Great toy for both our 2 daughters (3 yr old and 18 month old). They could hardly wait for me to open it once they saw what it was, and played with it immediately. My 3 yr old loves to pretend to slice toy food up, so this was perfect for her. My 18 month old just tears the pieces apart then reattaches different fruits together and tries to name them. She hasn't bit into them yet, but the packaging says it's nontoxic despite being made in China -- hopefully they do their research well! The set will stand up to a lot of abuse I'm sure, and is a great addition to any toy kitchen. Negatives? No cutting board - although you can use the crate, we just used a wooden toy one we already own for more realistic play. My only real worry is how long the velcro will last. We'll just have to see, and enjoy it in the meantime!

4 of 4 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

Good quality wooden fruit
Posted 7/7/2008 by Melissa
Rating: 5

My 18-month-old son and I are very happy with this product. He doesn't yet have the coordination to cut the fruit with the knife, but he enjoys pulling them apart and pretending to eat them. They feel very nice to the touch and the colors are vibrant and appealing.

4 of 4 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

Nice, clolorful wooden fruits
Posted 6/9/2008
Rating: 4

Each piece of fruit is larger than I expected, and somewhat it dosen't look cute as I saw in the picture. Over all, my 19 month old daugher loves this toy. She cuts fruits at least twice a day.

4 of 4 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

Instant Fun
Posted 5/4/2008
Rating: 5

We got this for our two-year-old grandson. He loved it immediately and has been very busy with it ever since. I chose it because the fruits were all common and familiar to him and look pretty realistic in terms of color and shape. It is generally easy for him so he is very successful. Putting the pieces back together properly (especially the banana and melon) is more challenging, which is a good thing. As he gets older the fraction concepts will also be valuable.

4 of 4 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

Awesome Wooden Fruit Set W/ real cutting action!
Posted 4/24/2008 by hillary k dills
Rating: 4

My three year old loves this fruit set. Unlike the plastic fruit she had before which was less expensive this lifelike fruit is not only beautiful with bright life-like colors but has the awesome added bonus of cutting simulation. My daughter uses these fruit items daily and plays with them alone and in her play kitchen endlessly. I will never buy any plastic food again. Plus the wooden toys are safer too.

4 of 4 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

Product review of Cutting Fruit Crate
Posted 4/10/2008 by Francia White/ Hernandez
Rating: 5

This is a great toy for younger children. It is carefully packaged and the bright colors make it very appealing. Along with the pizza party toy by the same maker, we had a real pizza party for 4 small boys. They spent a long time playing with the fake fruit and serving pizza to each other while we got the real party food prepared. The best thing about the toy is that each fruit is cut up for 2 or more. This way they did not mind sharing.

4 of 4 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

Melissa & Doug Cutting Fruit Crate
Posted 3/26/2008 by STEFANIE MIXON
Rating: 5

Melissa & Doug Toys are absolutely wonderful!! My son loves cutting up the fruits and vegetables, and the velcro makes a realistic cutting sound, as well as provides great resistance that resembles actual cutting. We also got Peter a pot and pan set, and he chops up the fruits and vegetables, then puts them in the pan to "cook" them. This education tool is also very entertaining!! We also purchased the sushi set. The cutting device in the sushi set is a cleaver, which is different. These products are of great quality, and I am sure that they will last for a very long time.

4 of 4 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

A rating of Cutting Fruit Crate
Posted 2/13/2008 by Tiffiney Kleczewski
Rating: 4

My 2 year old daughter loves it! She cuts and serves the fruit and has learned the names of each piece. I love the solid wood construction and crate is comes in for easy storage.

4 of 4 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

Review of Cutting Fruit Crate
Posted 1/3/2008 by Tina
Rating: 5

My son loves the Melissa and Doug fruits and veggies "Cutting Food Box" so much that I had to get him this one when he saw it. It's such a well made product!

4 of 4 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

Love The Toy
Posted 12/4/2007 by Leah Polack
Rating: 5

Such a good fine motor, developmental play toy.

4 of 4 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

My rating of Cutting Fruit Crate
Posted 4/11/2011 by Anna Pavlova
Rating: 5

my daughter likes it so much that all of the items seem to be real fruits, they make her happy and she prefer them tasty dishes I cook for the girl, she is only 17 months, but she is already use the knife, so toys are adorable and very natural.

4 of 5 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

Cutting Fruit Crate
Posted 3/30/2010 by Zoey delRio - GRANDPARENT
Rating: 3

I thought it would be great to use with the first kitchen set. I put this away, because my child is too small to appreciate the cutting of the fruit.

5 of 8 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

Review of Cutting Fruit Crate
Posted 10/10/2013 by lindsey soroka
Rating: 5

my daughter like to help mommy "cook" in the kitchen and this product is perfect to set up on the counter and share that time with her. She really likes being independent and able to cut the fruit all by her self. we bought this for her 2nd birthday.

1 of 1 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

My Granddaught is a Chef!!!
Posted 9/2/2013 by Marie Welch - GRANDPARENT
Rating: 5

We just love this ..... My granddaughter's knowing smile said it all ... by cutting the fruit, it made her feel accomplished and that's a very positive reward.

1 of 1 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

A rating of Cutting Fruit Crate
Posted 9/27/2012 by Carol Ann Duffey - RELATIVE
Rating: 5

I gave this toy to my niece's 2 year old daughter's birthday. She loved the toys. I loved them, I am going to order the same toys for my adorable grand-daughter.

1 of 2 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

Cutting Fruit Crate
Posted 8/17/2014 by christine Kaleal - GRANDPARENT
Rating: 5

High quality toy! Grand daughter loves to cut the fruit just like mom! Something that will be used for years, and handed down to the next generation.

Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

A rating of Cutting Fruit Crate
Posted 8/3/2014 by Amanda Lambert
Rating: 4

My daughters love that they get to chop and the realistic noise is great. Love that it is wood too.

Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

Two year olds love it!
Posted 1/12/2014 by cindy m - EDUCATOR
Rating: 5

I am a teacher in a twos and threes class. My kids love this toy! I actively teach with it in two ways- matching halves to develop math skills, and cutting the fruit for some practical life skills and development of hand-eye coordination. Sometimes the kids form their own pretend play and go grocery shopping by putting the fruit into their shopping bags. The fruit is well made in wood and chunky- perfect size for little hands. The knife is thick and also made of wood but my kids like this activity so much that we have supplemented with a few more plastic knives so that more than one could work cutting at a time. This is just a fantastic item.

Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

Product review of Cutting Fruit Crate
Posted 5/28/2013 by Jan
Rating: 4

She always wants to help out in the kitchen, so it's good to have her occupied when she shouldn't be helping. Loves to cut the fruit for dinner.

Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

Review of Cutting Fruit Crate
Posted 1/18/2013 by Kathy Casparian
Rating: 5

Wonderful toy for my year an half old grandaughter..she loved it as well as her brother an sister..4 an 5..Lov educational toys that teach skills an this was great...planning to buy a few more..

Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

Review for Cutting Fruit Crate
Posted 1/2/2013 - FRIEND
Rating: 5

Fun for cutting, but fruit can be broken apart with small hands too.

Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

Great Toy
Posted 12/28/2012 - GRANDPARENT
Rating: 5

Two 3-year olds and one one 1/2 year old loved the fruit! They used the knife so diligently!

Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)


McAfee SECURE sites help keep you safe from identity theft, credit card fraud, spyware, spam, viruses and online scams
Home | Shopping Cart | Help | Privacy Policy | Return Authorizations | Toy Blog | Coming Soon | Christmas Toys
Best Toys by Age | Birthday Gifts | Top Kids Toys | Toys on Sale | New Toys | Popular Toy Searches

Copyright © 2003-2014 Fat Brain Toys LLC. All rights reserved. Fat Brain Toys® is a registered service mark of Fat Brain Toys, LLC
Fat Brain Toys Offices
1405 N 205th Street, Suite 120
Elkhorn, Nebraska 68022
Phone 1-800-590-5987
Omaha Toy Store
16909 Burke Street, Suite 131
Omaha, Nebraska 68118
Phone 402-504-6218
Overland Park/Kansas City Toy Store
5601 West 135th Street, Suite 2230
Overland Park, Kansas 66223
Phone 913-305-4894

  MacWeb03