Home
Rivers, Roads & Rails
0

Customer reviews of Rivers, Roads & Rails by Ravensburger

Return to Rivers, Roads & Rails product information...

Rivers, Roads & Rails has been reviewed 50 times with an average rating of 4.60

Wonderful cooperative game
Posted 4/6/2008 by Elizabeth M
Rating: 5

I bought this game as a gift for a friend's five-year-old because it was one of my favorite games as a child. The box is identical to my decades-old copy, but the game inside is delightfully fresh. The game pieces are pleasing-feeling cardboard tiles about 2" square. Each tile is illustrated with a river, a road, railroad tracks, or a combination of these. Many pieces have charming details on them - houses, animals, cities, islands, people. I remember as a child just spending a lot of time looking at all the pictures on the tiles and imagining traveling along the road, train, or river and seeing these things pass by. The object of the game is to connect the tiles so that roads line up with roads, rivers with rivers, rails with rails. Many many arrangements are possible. This can be played competitively, with each player attempting to run out of tiles first, or cooperatively, with players working together to arrange the tiles. My sister and I liked to challenge ourselves to get all the tiles into one design. Although perhaps not as well-known as some of the other classic games out there, this game is an excellent addition to any collection. It is simple enough for very young children (no reading is required) but interesting for adults, and has such visual appeal. My memories of playing Rivers, Roads and Rails as a child are very peaceful. I still play it from time to time, like a mental comfort food.

23 of 23 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

Review of Rivers, Roads & Rails
Posted 5/5/2010 by Chiriyan Dominick - GRANDPARENT
Rating: 5

This provides a finished look and feel to what my three year old grandson likes to do best, make imaginative trips with his small cars and trains. The pieces are right-sized and sturdy, the pictures charming but not cloying or cute, the possibilities endless. I have some Ravensburger toys of similar caliber that have stood up to twenty years of on-and-off play at many ages and stages and really trust the brand.

10 of 10 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

Fun for Everyone!
Posted 4/23/2012 by Michele Bianchi
Rating: 5

This is a really fun game for the whole family. I purchased this for my 4 year old son and he likes it a lot. It is a bit challenging for him at this age but he understands the basic concept of the game, he just needs a little help from me. I think it a great educational game and will be enjoyed for years to come. The only drawback is that the game can go on for quite awhile so the younger ones might lose interest. But the older ages will have no problem seeing it through to the end. My husband and I enjoy it and even played it just the two of us one night after our son went to bed.

9 of 9 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

Review of Rivers, Roads & Rails
Posted 12/30/2009 by Linnie Golightly
Rating: 5

We got this game years ago for my son (now 17). Our family has truly enjoyed it. I got it this time as a gift for my niece (age 6). The great thing about it is that it's fun for adults and kids.

9 of 9 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

Review of Rivers, Roads & Rails
Posted 2/4/2008 by Margaret Senn Tallmon
Rating: 5

This game is so much fun. Everyone at school just loves it. The cards are kind of slick. We have to play it on our felt, but that's okay.

9 of 9 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

Rivers, Roads and Rails
Posted 7/24/2007 by Thomas C. Hicks
Rating: 5

I purchased this game for my grandsons. I love to give them toys that are not only entertaining, but that they learn from as well. This met the criteria and we had a good time playing it, learning how these things interconnect, and it was easy to play.

9 of 9 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

A rating of Rivers, Roads & Rails
Posted 7/14/2008 by Jacki M.
Rating: 5

My grandchildren had a lot of fun playing this. They are 6-1/2 and 3-1/2. The younger one needed some help, but she still had fun looking at the squares for a river, road or rail. I would recommend this game.

8 of 8 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

Rivers, Roads & Rails
Posted 11/27/2007
Rating: 5

Game was attractively packaged and will be the perfect birthday present for my seven-year-old son, who loves both games and building toys. The game is everything I expected it would be, and the price was reasonable.

8 of 8 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

Rivers, Roads & Rails
Posted 10/15/2009 by Yamuna Lingam
Rating: 4

It is an excellent game for 3-4 yr olds who love building stuff

7 of 7 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

Rivers, Roads & Rails
Posted 5/29/2007 by Lydia Oppenheim
Rating: 5

Clever, fun, and great for whole family! Parents will want to spend time playing this with their kids!

7 of 7 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

Fast Shipping & Products met expectations!
Posted 4/28/2009 by A. SCALZO
Rating: 5

All of the items that I ordered met my expectations... I was a little concerned because some of the other sites I have ordered from were dissapointing, but I will defenitly order from Fat Brain Toys again!

7 of 8 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

Rivers,Roads & Rails
Posted 1/4/2012 by Joanne Kapp - GRANDPARENT
Rating: 5

I purchsed this game for my grandson this past Christmas. While I was busy preparing dinner it kept the rest of the family, children and adults alike, around the kitchen table, having a great time playing, Rivers, Roads & Rails.

6 of 6 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

Rivers, Roads and Rails
Posted 12/7/2011 by Melissa Williams
Rating: 5

Neat and sturdh pieces, helps to keep child's focus while entertaining everyone.

6 of 6 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

Information about Rivers, Roads & Rails
Posted 7/22/2011
Rating: 5

Great game for a group of children. The four year old is learning to play too. Simple but challenging.

6 of 6 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

Nephew loved it!
Posted 4/3/2011 by GINA K - RELATIVE
Rating: 5

Bought for 5 yr old nephew who loves trains. He was so excited when he opened his present. He keeps asking others to play.

6 of 6 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

Simple, fun game even for toddlers
Posted 1/16/2011 by cristian carlone
Rating: 5

We got this game for our 4-years-old nephew this Christmas. It's very easy to learn, intuitive, fast enough for such young kids to play and it's pieces are sturdy enough for their little hands. He played a lot with it and involved his family as well. Very good game!

6 of 6 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

river, roads, & Rail
Posted 12/31/2010 by tori mendes - RELATIVE
Rating: 5

this toy/game is great.. easy to use fun for all.. able to play with solo or with friends.. it is a big hit !

6 of 6 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

Addictive and Fun for One or More
Posted 12/29/2010
Rating: 5

Quality card-stock tiles are nicely illustrated and there are tons of them (140 pieces)! Game can be played alone or with others. It's rated for 5 years and up, but our 4-year-old boys enjoy it and improve their skills with each play. We find this to be an excellent addition to our family game selection.

6 of 6 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

Review for Rivers, Roads & Rails
Posted 12/14/2010 by Connie Chapman - RELATIVE
Rating: 5

This product is a Christmas gift therefore the recipient hasn't gotten it yet. I already own this game and it is a hit with all ages because no two attempts are the same. We have loved it for years!

6 of 6 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

Rivers, Roads & Rails
Posted 1/20/2009 by Amy Jacksic
Rating: 4

This was purchased a birthday gift and the birthday boy loved it.

6 of 6 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

Great Game
Posted 12/27/2009 by Patty D
Rating: 5

Very fun game, I highly recommend this game!

6 of 7 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

Fun Game
Posted 12/29/2010 by Lisa in NH
Rating: 4

Rivers, Roads & Rails is a fun, family game. We play with our 6-year-old daughter. The idea is to make a chain of rivers, roads and rails using high-quality playing card tiles. Each tile has either a river, road or rail or combination of two or three of them. Play continues as long as the chain can be lengthened. Be careful of where the rivers, roads and rails end/begin/turn...it can be tricky!! The only problem we ran into was that we would run out of tiles that could be played sometimes rather quickly. Still a fun game overall.

5 of 5 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

Review of Rivers, Roads & Rails
Posted 12/16/2012 - GRANDPARENT
Rating: 5

Actually this is the second time I bought Rivers, Roads and Rails because the first grandchild really used it alot. The first child used it as a puzzle, both with and without his siblings. Every use was a new adventure, a new challenge. Even when a piece was destroyed the game was still useable.

4 of 4 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

Product review of Rivers, Roads & Rails
Posted 12/23/2009 by Clare Haas Claveau
Rating: 4

Looks like lots of fun.

5 of 7 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

Review of Rivers, Roads & Rails
Posted 9/2/2012 by Jennifer Harp
Rating: 4

My son started playing with this at school and loved it. He was very excited to have one at home too.

3 of 3 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

Like it!
Posted 12/15/2012 by Kathleen
Rating: 4

My 7-year-old really enjoys this game. It really helps him calm down. There's a bit of a meditative quality to it, and that's especially good for my child with sensory integration issues.

2 of 2 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

Review for Rivers, Roads & Rails
Posted 11/13/2012 by Penny Fourt
Rating: 4

It seems to be suitable for my 4 and 5 year old grandsons.

2 of 2 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

Review for Rivers, Roads & Rails
Posted 12/18/2013 by MARIAM MOORE
Rating: 5

My son loves it very much, and enjoy playing with it.

1 of 1 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

My rating of Rivers, Roads & Rails
Posted 1/22/2014 by Gaylene Nutzman
Rating: 5

I purchased it for my grandson but his birthday isn't until May. I couldn't find the game anywhere so when the chance came up to get it here I took advantaged of it. I know he'll love it. He loves to draw maps and etc.

1 of 2 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

Carcassonne type game
Posted 6/19/2014 by Rich Hampton - FRIEND
Rating: 4

My wife and I love this game, but our son just turned 5 and trying to match three different types of transport is too much for him. So we play a simplified version where we match just one type at the same time without taking turns to create a map with every piece. I hope that with time, he'll take to the actual game.

Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

Rivers, Roads & Rails
Posted 1/11/2014 by Gordon Griffenhagen - GRANDPARENT
Rating: 4

Interesting game, but a little slow to keep young minds entertained. I played with my grandchildren, aged 7, and they would lose interest before we got through all of the tiles. I found it better to play with fewer than the total amount of tiles when there are fewer than 8 players involved.

Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

Off to a good start
Posted 12/26/2013 by Rebecca Vaurio
Rating: 4

My son loves maps and puzzles and this seemed like the perfect mix. He is just about to turn 5 and is enthusiastic about playing with it. The game gets to be a bit long for his attention span when playing with only 2 players, and he may be a bit young yet to be able to track and plan with all of the cards required to play. That being said, it's a wonderful game that takes strategy, planning, and a bit of luck. I definitely think our family will be playing for years to come.

Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

Rivers, Roads & Rails
Posted 11/29/2013 by Mary Varano - GRANDPARENT
Rating: 4

My Grandson has autism and doesn't play with most toys but he seems to enjoy this one. I marked plays with it frequently but he has only had the toy for about a week.

Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

A rating of Rivers, Roads & Rails
Posted 11/25/2012 by PATRICIA J MOYER
Rating: 5

This item was purchased as a Christmas gift. I cannot rate it at this time.

2 of 5 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)


McAfee SECURE sites help keep you safe from identity theft, credit card fraud, spyware, spam, viruses and online scams
Home | Shopping Cart | Help | Privacy Policy | Return Authorizations | Toy Blog | Coming Soon | Christmas Toys
Best Toys by Age | Birthday Gifts | Top Kids Toys | Toys on Sale | New Toys | Popular Toy Searches

Copyright © 2003-2014 Fat Brain Toys LLC. All rights reserved. Fat Brain Toys® is a registered service mark of Fat Brain Toys, LLC
Fat Brain Toys Offices
1405 N 205th Street, Suite 120
Elkhorn, Nebraska 68022
Phone 1-800-590-5987
Omaha Toy Store
16909 Burke Street, Suite 131
Omaha, Nebraska 68118
Phone 402-504-6218
Overland Park/Kansas City Toy Store
5601 West 135th Street, Suite 2230
Overland Park, Kansas 66223
Phone 913-305-4894

  MacWeb03