Home > Toy Companies > Atomic Sports > Ybike Extreme > Customer Reviews
0

Customer reviews of by

Return to product information...

has been reviewed 12 times with an average rating of 4.25

Bike Too Small for Advertised Age
Posted 5/26/2010 by Jennifer P.
Rating: 3

We were disappointed with YBike Extreme because it was too small although the ads state the bike's age range is 3-5. The real age range for this bike is 2-3.5. Even if the bike was the right size, there are a few design flaws that decrease its longevity. First, the one-piece handlebar is not adjustable. Second, the seat height is not adjustable. Our previous balance bike had both an adjustable handlebar and seat, which turned out to be very useful during the course of learning to ride and then riding at full running speed. Not so with YBike Extreme. Another feature that was a bit disappointing was the tires. The solid rubber tires are much better than plastic ones, but the wheels on YBike are very small and not very thick, so you would feel bumps and rocks a lot more than on a balance bike with inflatables. The bike is light, easy to assemble, and looks pretty cool, but its lack of adjustability really hurts long-term potential. In the end, I would hesitate to recommend YBike Extreme to friends because there are just many more and better options in balance bikes now. There are even several that offer the option of adding pedals and crank.
Any Fat Brain Toy that falls short of your expectations may be returned. Please visit the Returns & Exchanges center for details.

20 of 20 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

4 Year old Nephew loves it
Posted 5/12/2010 by Dan Miller
Rating: 5

I purchased the YBike Extreme for my Nephew and he absolutely loves it. He picked up on the premise fast and is cruising around so fast that my sister-in-law saw the need for him to wear a helmet while riding. The product looks really cool and the other kids in the neighborhood are always coming over to see it. I think this is a great pre-bicycle transition product that won't overwhelm the child with pedals or brakes. They can cruise around and get the experience and balance needed for riding a pedal bike.

11 of 12 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

Exciting New "Bike"
Posted 5/29/2010 by HGB
Rating: 4

Bought this Ybike Extreme for our extremely active 3 1/2 year old son. My husband had seen the Ybikes on a trip to South Africa, where everyone was raving about them and telling my husband he must get one for his son. Our son loves his tricycle, so we thought this would be a good next step before getting him on a first bicycle. He's tall for a 3yo, but the size seems right for him. So far, he loves it, but is still figuring out how to balance on it. First instinct is to push with his feet (good), but tricky to learn how to sit and balance... but that's good! Just trying to find a good safe spot for him to learn now (doesn't work well on grass). Kids on our street are wow'ed by its design, and even the much-watched older boys want a turn on the cool new toy. Happy to have made the purchase, hoping my son ends up loving it and moving onto a bicycle more smoothly after a summer of fun.

9 of 9 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

Lots of fun!
Posted 12/26/2010 by Amber Vanderpol
Rating: 5

We got the smaller version of the YBike for our youngest on his 2nd birthday and when we saw how much his big brother liked it we decided to get the bigger version for him on his 5th birthday. We have concrete floors so they have been having a wonderful time zooming all around the house on the bikes! It is a great size for him and he's very pleased with it. The narrower wheels make it a little more challenging for him to ride, which is a good thing too. His balance has noticeably improved in the week or so he's been using it and if it ends up being used like his brother's, I anticipate it will get a lot of riding time!

6 of 6 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

Information about
Posted 5/16/2010 by Andrew H Olson - FRIEND
Rating: 4

Combined with its predecessor in terms of skill level, sems to be a fun way to learn to ride, perfect for two young boys 2 years apart as the earlier model will be perfect for the younger rother once his sibling progresses to the YBike Extreme.

5 of 5 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

Fun, unique bike
Posted 7/13/2010 by Deanna DeVooght
Rating: 4

Fun, unique bike that will grow with my son and daughter. Works with two-year old son because his trike pedals were always in the way. My three year-old daughter likes that the bike is brightly colored and fun to get around with.

5 of 6 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

Favorite toy
Posted 5/25/2010 by Jonathan Levav
Rating: 5

Very solidly built, relatively easy to assemble, and my kid rides it around the house. Oy.

5 of 6 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

Review of
Posted 5/13/2010 by Lisa Bowker
Rating: 3

The bike is nice. Good quality. It was ridiculously difficult to assemble. My son enjoys riding it.

5 of 6 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

My rating of
Posted 7/18/2011 by Richard Hollas
Rating: 5

Looks solid since constructed. Assembly looks simple but getting the wheels on is very difficult.

4 of 4 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)


McAfee SECURE sites help keep you safe from identity theft, credit card fraud, spyware, spam, viruses and online scams
Home | Shopping Cart | Help | Privacy Policy | Return Authorizations | Toy Blog | Coming Soon | Christmas Toys
Best Toys by Age | Birthday Gifts | Top Kids Toys | Toys on Sale | New Toys | Popular Toy Searches

Copyright © 2003-2014 Fat Brain Toys LLC. All rights reserved. Fat Brain Toys® is a registered service mark of Fat Brain Toys, LLC
Fat Brain Toys Offices
1405 N 205th Street, Suite 120
Elkhorn, Nebraska 68022
Phone 1-800-590-5987
Omaha Toy Store
16909 Burke Street, Suite 131
Omaha, Nebraska 68118
Phone 402-504-6218
Overland Park/Kansas City Toy Store
5601 West 135th Street, Suite 2230
Overland Park, Kansas 66223
Phone 913-305-4894

  MacWeb02