Home > Toy Companies > Bananagrams > Bananagrams > Customer Reviews
Bananagrams
0

5 Star reviews of Bananagrams by Bananagrams

Return to Bananagrams product information...

Bananagrams has been reviewed 100 times with an average rating of 4.84

Product review of Bananagrams
Posted 11/13/2008 by Deborah - GRANDPARENT
Rating: 5

The game is fast and fun - for anyone that can spell. My adult children thought it would be boring but to my delight agreed with me that it is great. We even played around with the rules and made up new ones. Made the game hilarious.

7 of 8 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

Fabulous Game!
Posted 12/27/2009 by Marsha Melsheimer
Rating: 5

This is one of the best games I have ever played for several reasons: Fun for all ages (I've played with 4th graders on up to age 80); very easy to learn with flexible rules so you can adapt the game according to who is playing; you don't need a game board or that much space; its a fun challenge for each person as they create their own crossword puzzle so even if you aren't the first to finish, you can still "finish" and usually the other players want to help you use all your letters; if you want more challenge you can try harder to be the first to use all your letters; you can play and be challenged but still have a great time socially--really breaks the ice with people who don't know each other well; much more flexible than scrabble and more fun because each person is having their own "game" within the overall group game; great fun to be able to rearrange the words, and redo your crossword during the game in order to add another letter; can play with a lot of people (using teams), or just two and it is just as much fun; its great as a solitaire game, too; easy to bring with you anywhere; and finally, everyone I have given this game to has enjoyed it--everyone!!

6 of 6 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

Bananagrams
Posted 12/14/2009 by J. Turner
Rating: 5

This is a great gift! My 6 year old grandson loves to play Bananagrams and it's very educational in teaching him how to spell. It's easy to carry and tote around. I recommend it if your child has started reading.

6 of 6 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

Top Banana
Posted 4/22/2009 by Brooklyn mother of 3
Rating: 5

A colleague of my husband brought this to work for everyone to play at lunchtime. He had so much fun with it, we ordered one for our home. It has been a big hit with kids (ages 5 and over -- some needed a little bit of help), with grandparents, and with everyone else. I have now given two as gifts, and have another on hand for an emergency gift. This game is destined to become a classic!

6 of 6 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

Bananagrams
Posted 7/22/2009 by GHighley - GRANDPARENT
Rating: 5

On a recent cruise we watched several young people in our group playing this game...it looked like a great way to exercise the brain, flex those vocabulary muscles, and entertain a group of both young and old. Upon our return home I started looking on line to find the game which we now have and are thoroughly enjoying...a great addition to family game night or keeping the grandchildren occupied.

6 of 7 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

A rating of Bananagrams
Posted 9/20/2011 by Barbara Schafran
Rating: 5

The quality of the tiles is the best, Veryeasy to read and handle. Love it. Love it.

5 of 5 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

Product review of Bananagrams
Posted 9/19/2011 by Marguerite M. Peterson
Rating: 5

Love the games, play with grandchildren and they love the games too. In fact the one grandchild that is in the fifth grade wants to take the bananagram game to school with him. So I'm going to order the game for him. We like to make up our own game rules and see how many words we can find with using most of the letters. Really fun when you don't have anyone to play with.

5 of 5 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

Bananagrams
Posted 9/12/2011 by FARAH I RAMCHARAN
Rating: 5

My son is 8 and loves to play this game. It encourages him to come up with words and the correct spelling. Much easier than Scrabble ! My son says " it is neat and he has it at school also."

5 of 5 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

My rating of Bananagrams
Posted 9/12/2011 by Dianne Wilson
Rating: 5

This is so much fun to play! I played it with a bunch of teenagers. They were having a ball! Great Game!

5 of 5 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

Review of Bananagrams
Posted 6/12/2011 - GRANDPARENT
Rating: 5

This is an excellent family game enjoyed by all ages. The bananagrams bag stays near our kitchen table and is often the activity of choice following a family meal. Because the "rounds" are relatively brief, players can drop out and be added as they desire. While it is a game with competition as to who finishes first, it is also a game where you're in competition with yourself in a way. This allows those people who do not like to play highly competitive games to participate without fear of always being the "loser". Bananagram is not only easy but also challenging to play and, as a bonus, is easy to get out, put away, and store in plain sight.

5 of 5 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

Family Fun Game
Posted 3/26/2010 by Mary Birgerson
Rating: 5

Our family has liked Scrabble for years, but Banagrams is a neat, new twist on a game that builds words. The thing the kids like most is that there is no taking turns. Both players go simultaneously. A child over 8 can play against an adult and do well. Another nice component is that you're not stuck with your answer after you take your hand off the tile. There is always the opportunity to rearrange for a better outcome. The game does not take a long time to play. On the rule sheets there are varietions of the game to try.

5 of 5 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

Great fun!
Posted 2/23/2010 by Bethany D. - OTHER
Rating: 5

I've already logged numerous hours with these! They are extremely fun and versatile. I've played by myself and with other people of various ages, by "the rules" and with my own rules. The possibilities are endless! The tiles seem to be durable and make satisfying 'ticky' noises. The fun bag is portable and well-made. (One fun option my friends and I came up with is this: play normally, but at the end, try to tell a story using all the words created during the game. Hilarity abounds.)

5 of 5 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

Product review of Bananagrams
Posted 2/10/2010 by Gail Ahlenslager - GRANDPARENT
Rating: 5

This is so much fun. Great spelling tool.

5 of 5 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

Banagram
Posted 12/28/2009 by Christine Jones
Rating: 5

My son is learning how to read and spell. He is five. We can't quite play the game as laid out, but we enjoy looking at the letters and making words. I am confident that as he gets older we will find more and more ways to play with the game, including playing the game itself!

5 of 5 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

Information about Bananagrams
Posted 3/12/2009 by Marybeth Bush
Rating: 5

This is a great game that my kids love to play (ages 12-17) The grandparents also love this game so it its a great way to bring the generations together. I also ordered one for my daughters teachers to use as a teaching aide and indoor recess day game. My daughter uses them to study her spelling words also (hands on learner)

5 of 5 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

Bananagrams
Posted 10/27/2008 by Bonnie Quigley - RELATIVE
Rating: 5

My adult daughter and I love playing Bananagrams. The letter tiles are easy to read and the banana case is perfect for traveling. When we get together we play 4-8 games at a sitting. We are finding that we have so much fun challenging each other on words and then looking them up in the dictionary. Being a retired teacher, I like it because we don't have to count points and everyone is actively involved in playing at the same time. I can see this working in classrooms to encourage spelling and increase vocabulary. I have bought several Bananagrams and have given them away to relatives just for fun!

5 of 5 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

Review for Bananagrams
Posted 9/2/2008 by Margaret Reilly - FRIEND
Rating: 5

My family loves the game. You can make up any version depending on the skills of the players. It is easily portable and a great party game. One of the best features is that you do not have to take turns, each player can move at their own pace. I highly recommend this game.

5 of 5 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

Bananagrams Review
Posted 8/22/2008 by Erin McWilliams
Rating: 5

What a great, easy, and educational game for children to play! As a teacher, my new set of Bananagrams is hanging out in our "Rainy Day Games" box and will certainly go to great use! This game really equires hands-on and minds-on thinking in a creative and engaging way. Children will find themselves working on spelling and word use without really even trying! I especailly love that children will be playing against one another but in a very independent and less competitve way. On top of that, all of the fun banana related terms give it an extra little flare of fun! What a great tool and toy!

5 of 5 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

Bananagrams
Posted 8/20/2008 by Anne
Rating: 5

This is a fun variation on Scrabble type games. It is a faster moving game that can be played in a shorter time period. It can be played by two or by several people or even as a solitaire game. As a teacher, I can see this game in classrooms as well as at home. It is very portable so it would be easy to take on trips.

5 of 5 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

Review of Bananagrams
Posted 8/17/2008 by Teri Hower
Rating: 5

This is a great game because our whole family can play it. Our kids are ages 8-13, so it's fun to find something we can all do together.

5 of 5 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

Review for Bananagrams
Posted 7/15/2008 by Tim Trigilio
Rating: 5

Very fun game, even for 2 players! Definitely enjoy the intellectual challenge inherent in the game especialy in light of how easy it is to set-up and use. Great for travel due to compact size.

5 of 5 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

Bananagrams are Delicious
Posted 7/6/2008
Rating: 5

Bananagrams has become a family addiction. Our daughter-in-law introduced my husband and me to the game and purchased it for us. We love it so much it has begun to replace Scrabble. We bought Bananagrams for my step-daughter and her family and, now, they're addicted. The game is fast paced, challenging, helps you see patterns, teaches that there are more than one or even two ways to solve a problem. Were I still teaching, I would definitely have Bananagrams in my arsenal!

5 of 5 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

Bananagrams
Posted 2/3/2009 by Christopher Eidse
Rating: 5

great game - we love it! I love it that it's so compact and we can take it with us.

5 of 6 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

Cool Banana!
Posted 11/3/2008 by Margaret Azouz
Rating: 5

I bought this game as a gift for my mother who is a big word game person. She loves it! In fact, she brings it with her (and loves the ease of portability) when she is being a Big Sister to a 9 yr-old boy with ADHD. He also enjoys playing this game. We've also played it together as a family and have a really great time.

5 of 6 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

Review for Bananagrams
Posted 2/23/2012 by Frances Keasey - OTHER
Rating: 5

I think this is a very entertaining game for 3 or 4 people to play at once. Just 2 people playing isn't as much fun.

4 of 4 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

Review for Bananagrams
Posted 2/16/2012 by VICKI SCHMER
Rating: 5

We love Bananagrams and would play with it more if our kids were just a little older. The unique part of the game is that you do not have to wait your turn, you all play at the same time. Our kids are 7 and 9 and the 7-yr-old still requires some help while forming words, but it is a great tool for teaching them how to problem solve and use their critical thinking skills while practicing their spelling concepts.

4 of 4 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

Nuts about Bananagrams
Posted 12/12/2011 by Rita Gallagher
Rating: 5

We love to play games with our family! This game is fast and does not require anyone to keep score ... you either win or you lose. Our family also loves to play scrabble so this is a nice alternative to a board and limited number of players. We've even ordered the Bananagram for larger groups so that we can play with our game playing friends (8-10people). We haven't tried it yet but look forward to trying it soon.

4 of 4 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

fun game
Posted 11/23/2011
Rating: 5

This is a great game for families to play together. Sometimes the kids just dump the letters and start making as many words as possible. There are so many fun ways to play with Bananagrams.

4 of 4 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

Review of Bananagrams
Posted 11/11/2011 by christine - GRANDPARENT
Rating: 5

purchased as a gift and to play with grandchildren....great game so much fun, wonderful convenient way to improve language skills and easily portable too....WOW, will recommend this one to everyone young and older

4 of 4 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

My rating of Bananagrams
Posted 10/29/2011 by Brenda Graves
Rating: 5

A friend of mine had this game and we played for hours. It is an addicting and fun game. My oldest son enjoys it but he is only twelve and had a hard time keeping up with the adults. Overall it is a good family game that can be enjoyed by anyone that can spell.

4 of 4 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

Yeah!
Posted 1/24/2011 by Rebecca Dougherty
Rating: 5

We love Bananagrams! The best part is that along with my 2 girls, my husband (who doesn't seem to have time for other games) is also addicted! It's wonderful for both my 2nd and 4th grader because the level of play is adjusted to each of our abilities. My 78 year old father came over after Christmas, and even he couldn't get enough. Seriously, we've played it more than any other game in the house! Absolutely, absolutely, I recommend it!

4 of 4 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

My rating of Bananagrams
Posted 1/7/2011 - GRANDPARENT
Rating: 5

We enjoyed playing this with our son and daughter-in-law and especially our 7 year old granddaughter. With help, she grasped the game the first time we played it. After that she was able to play on her own.

4 of 4 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

My rating of Bananagrams
Posted 12/27/2010 by Kelly Gray
Rating: 5

Love this game. A great party version of Scrabble - keeps everyone interacting the entire time.

4 of 4 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

Review of Bananagrams
Posted 12/21/2010 by Laurie
Rating: 5

This is a great family game! We love to outsmart each other. Such a challenge to come up with words of length to make good intesections. I love that you can rearrange your words, unlike Scrabble.

4 of 4 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

Fun and Educational
Posted 12/8/2010
Rating: 5

We love this game! Play by the rules or make up your own challenge. A fun and engaging way for kids (and adults) to use their head, vocabulary and spelling skills. I also recommend the Bananagrams books for added fun.

4 of 4 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

Product review of Bananagrams
Posted 12/8/2010 by Ellen Dowd
Rating: 5

This is a highly addictive game for word lovers. I like the fact that games can be played very quickly. It is great for a variety of ages. My 10 year old absolutely loves this game!

4 of 4 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

My rating of Bananagrams
Posted 11/26/2010 by Judith El-Sharif - GRANDPARENT
Rating: 5

A nice change from scrabble, had a lot of fun playing. Anyone who loves word games will not be disappointed.

4 of 4 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

bananagrams
Posted 11/12/2010 by JACQUALINE KREZENSKI
Rating: 5

we actually bought this for a gift because we own it. Tons of fun for adults as well!

4 of 4 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

Review for Bananagrams
Posted 9/19/2010
Rating: 5

Great teaching game for use with grandchildren. It requires interaction but allows children to work at their own pace and level. It is a fun and easy game, quite enjoyable.

4 of 4 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

A rating of Bananagrams
Posted 9/6/2010 - GRANDPARENT
Rating: 5

this is a gift. it is a nicely packaged product. i think it will be well liked.

4 of 4 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

Bananagrams
Posted 8/18/2010 by fanny lopinto
Rating: 5

This is a fun game to play at family/freinds gatherings. Although it can be quite challenging, depending on the skill set of the players; it creates an opportunity for a lot of laughter and enjoyment for hours.

4 of 4 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

Review for Bananagrams
Posted 6/9/2010 by Brigid Fenoglio
Rating: 5

We've only played it a couple times since we got it, but I think we'll get more use out of it as the boys get a little older. Also summer just started and the weather has been good. I think when we get some rainy days and especially this winter we'll use it more.

4 of 4 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

Bananagrams
Posted 5/31/2010 - OTHER
Rating: 5

Easy to learn and quick games - most of all, fun!

4 of 4 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

cool game!
Posted 2/18/2010 by Robin K. Blum
Rating: 5

I bought three Bananagrams for my three Valentines, my husband and two grown sons. I love the compact packaging and the fact that you don't have to tote around a huge board game. All three of them were very pleased with their gifts.

4 of 4 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

11 year old girl interested
Posted 12/31/2009 by Elizabeth Conrey - RELATIVE
Rating: 5

This is such a cool game. i have given it as a gift before. this time gave it to 11 year old neice and she seemed interested in trying it, though didn't right away (seemed more interested in using the banana bag as a make up case - oh well). Her parents and other siblings were interested in it too though and I have no doubt they will play this game together.

4 of 4 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

Bananagrams accessible Scrabble-like game
Posted 11/29/2009 by a boardgamer
Rating: 5

I really enjoy this game. I keep it in the car so that my boyfriend and I can play it while we are waiting for a meal. It plays 1-8 which makes it a good game for many gatherings. It is a bit Scrabble-like in that you make words that intersect one another, but no one else interferes with the words you are creating and each letter does not have a value - just use the letter, don't worry about points. In fact, all that matters is that you use legal words and that you get finished with all of your letters first - that's it. I normally play "Euro-style" games, which require a little more thought and more strategy. This is a great game that my more serious board gaming friends and non-board gaming friends will both play. I have given this game to a lot of people. This purchase was for Toys for Tots and for folks serving overseas.

4 of 4 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

A rating of Bananagrams
Posted 11/23/2009 by Lynell
Rating: 5

I purchased Bananagrams for my daughter, age 8. We played it all summer, at the pool, at home, and while traveling in the summer. It is very conveniently packaged, and the tiles are made such that they will not blow away or be easily damaged. We love playing the game. It is not as competetive as Scrabble as there is no constant scoring and the players can make words and build their puzzle at their own speed. We loved it so much I just bought 3 more to have around for the kids to give to their friends as birthday presents. Players of all abilities can play and make words according to their level. Shorter words work just as good as longer ones. I would highly recommend this game.

4 of 4 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

Product review of Bananagrams
Posted 11/19/2009 by Red Lockhart - GRANDPARENT
Rating: 5

We are really enjoying this product! We have two grandchildren, ages 8 and 10, who were familiar with Scrabble, so they took to this game right away. It goes faster than a full game of Scrabble, and it also offers a more unstructured play for each player's turn. We like it so much, we bought two other sets as gifts.

4 of 4 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

Product review of Bananagrams
Posted 11/17/2009 by Karen Thisse
Rating: 5

What a great activity-filled game! The contestants are primarily racing against themselves and all at one time. Word recognition skills are encouraged in such a fun way!

4 of 4 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

Product review of Bananagrams
Posted 9/1/2008 by Will Guikema
Rating: 5

good game knew about it b4 I ordered

4 of 4 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

Bananagrams Purchase
Posted 8/25/2008 by Megan E Fedorenchik
Rating: 5

Product is great - I love the game.

4 of 4 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

My rating of Bananagrams
Posted 8/24/2008 by Karen
Rating: 5

Bananagrams is a great game to take with you while on vacation or to play at home. Several people can play at their own pace. Both young and old alike will enjoy this word game. It not only helps the little ones build their spelling skills but it sharpens everyones vocabulary.

4 of 4 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

Product review of Bananagrams
Posted 8/12/2008 by Chris J.
Rating: 5

Bananagrams is totally awesome! It is fun, intelligent, challenging, and most importantly adaptable so almost any age can play. The core of the game is so simple that we can change the rules slightly for the younger players at the table to level the playing field against the adults. This way we can all play the game at the same time and still individually be challenged. There aren't many games like that! It is also a really nice tool to help everyone with vocabulary and have fun at the same time!

4 of 4 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

Bananagrams is Great!
Posted 8/7/2008 by Kate Bates
Rating: 5

Wonderful, fast moving game. We are Scrabble fans and this is a nice break from the slow moving pace of Scrabble with much of the same word creativity and competition of Scrabble. The game tiles are made of a nice smooth plastic that has some weight so the play has a pleasant tactile character and the little banana pouch is cool.

4 of 4 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

Bananagrams
Posted 7/7/2008 by Jenifer
Rating: 5

We love this game! It is similar to Scrabble, but much faster paced and without all of the scoring involved. A single game can be played in less than 10 minutes! I highly recommend Bananagrams.

4 of 4 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

Bananagrams
Posted 9/22/2012 by paul anesti
Rating: 5

Great game that can be played for hours. Never the same game twice, that's what keeps the interest going. This type of game like scrabble, can be played over and over. That's nice because you can master the strategy but never master the game and get bored like video games.

2 of 2 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

none
Posted 10/15/2012
Rating: 5

I first played this game in Colorado at out daughter's home and had to have it. I tried to find it locally but it was not available. Happily Fat Brain Toys had it. The game is compact and easily transported and tons of fun!

1 of 1 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

Product review of Bananagrams
Posted 4/24/2013 by Carolyn S White - GRANDPARENT
Rating: 5

PLAYED THIS GAME WITH SOME OF MY FAMILY WHO WERE DOWN OVER SPRING BREAK. I WAS HOOKED, SO ORDERED IT FROM YOU IMMEDIATELY! LOVE IT AND I AM GOING TO GET ONE FOR MY GRANDDAUGHTERS.

Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

Review for Bananagrams
Posted 12/6/2012 by Judy McKinstry
Rating: 5

I was using them to make Christmas ornaments and I thought they were wood but they still worked for what I was using them for. They turned out really cute. Next time I will try to find the wood ones. They are of great quality and we played the games before I made them into the word ornaments.

Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)


McAfee SECURE sites help keep you safe from identity theft, credit card fraud, spyware, spam, viruses and online scams
Home | Shopping Cart | Help | Privacy Policy | Return Authorizations | Toy Blog | Coming Soon | Christmas Toys
Best Toys by Age | Birthday Gifts | Top Kids Toys | Toys on Sale | New Toys | Popular Toy Searches

Copyright © 2003-2014 Fat Brain Toys LLC. All rights reserved. Fat Brain Toys® is a registered service mark of Fat Brain Toys, LLC
Fat Brain Toys Offices
1405 N 205th Street, Suite 120
Elkhorn, Nebraska 68022
Phone 1-800-590-5987
Omaha Toy Store
16909 Burke Street, Suite 131
Omaha, Nebraska 68118
Phone 402-504-6218
Overland Park/Kansas City Toy Store
5601 West 135th Street, Suite 2230
Overland Park, Kansas 66223
Phone 913-305-4894

  MacWeb02