Home > Toy Companies > Blue Orange > Gobblet > Customer Reviews
Gobblet
0

4 Star reviews of Gobblet by Blue Orange

Return to Gobblet product information...

Gobblet has been reviewed 101 times with an average rating of 4.74

go go gobblet!
Posted 8/13/2008 by Denise C.
Rating: 4

Hubster and I first discovered Gobblet not too long ago at a local coffee shop. 2 pieces were missing (the smallest pegs) and there were no instructions. We could only guess at how to play and we were too chicken/lazy to ask the barista if he knew what this game was. So we made up some rules, drank some coffee, then went home to figure out what this game was really about. Turns out we weren't playing right. Though the rules are simple, it's a fun and challenging game. Other games we like to play are backgammon, Set, chess, cribbage, and Rummykub, so chances are if you like those games, you'll like Gobblet too.

7 of 8 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

Review for Gobblet
Posted 11/21/2006 by RosaLea Dodson
Rating: 4

My only complaint is that the instructions for the game seem to leave a lot of openness on how to play the game. This could be a good thing, but I find that I want to know for sure what we can and cannot do. Other then this minor comment, we love the game and are happy with this purchase.

5 of 5 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

A rating of Gobblet
Posted 12/8/2009 by Carol A Ort
Rating: 4

Given to a 9 year old nephew, he was able to read and understand the instructions and he immediately played a round with his dad and then played another one with his cousin who is 6. The 6 year old did not have any obvious difficulty understanding the instructions as explained to him by the 9 year old. The product seems to be very sturdy and I expect it will hold up well which is important if this is going to survive as part of the toy collection of this very active young man.

4 of 4 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

goblet
Posted 11/18/2009 by PAUL J CHURCH
Rating: 4

My 8 and 10 year old love it. Simple enough for even younger kids, but older kids will develop more and more complicated strategies!

4 of 4 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

Kids Gobble Up Gobblet
Posted 11/21/2007 by Joan
Rating: 4

This is a good game for children to develop critical thinking skills. All my kids, ages 5 to 15, enjoy playing this game. They like to challenge each other!

4 of 4 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

Fun, Challenging Game For Everyone
Posted 10/15/2007 by E. Butler
Rating: 4

Really fun, easy to learn game. Lots of simple strategy to keep the game interesting for adults and kids. We really love wooden games, however we were disappointed a little with the board itself. It's not a "pretty" game to leave out on a table. Nonetheless, we pull it off the shelf often for a quick match.

4 of 4 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

Gobblet
Posted 9/25/2007 by James M. Richter
Rating: 4

This toy is nicely made. The playing board is the lid of the wood box holding the playing pieces. The game is challenging and fun for children and adults.

4 of 4 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

Not as Pictured
Posted 8/21/2007 by Dennis Shows
Rating: 4

Gobblet is a great two-player game. It's like a combination of Connect Four and Tic-Tac-Toe with the ability to move anywhere and capture other pieces. It's simple to learn, but the strategy is more complex than it first seems. Gobblet is a fun challenge for two-players. My only complaint is that it is not exactly as pictured. In the picture the light colored pieces match the box, but in reality the game I got has an orange varnished wooden box and light blond pieces. Also, it appears in the picture that game board fits into the top of the box during play, but this is not true. I highly recommend everyone try this game.

4 of 4 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

Great
Posted 7/23/2007 by Malcolm J. Alexander
Rating: 4

It's a great game for the kids and challenging in many ways. It is well made and attractive. My only problem is that, if one piece is lost, the game cannot be played as it should, and I have not been able to find a source for replacement parts. This is a problem with most of the high quality wooden toys.

4 of 4 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

Information about Gobblet
Posted 7/16/2007 by David W. Hayes
Rating: 4

I'm quite impressed by the workmanship of this set. It's fun to play by both kids and adults. The grandchildren play at their own level, and the adults find it challenging. The only negative thing was that my set came with one corner of the box shaved/sanded down like the wood strip was defective. Not enough of a problem to return, but a little disappointing, as we expect this to be a heirloom game.

4 of 4 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

Review for Gobblet
Posted 3/6/2007
Rating: 4

This game is very attractive because it is fun, simple, involves strategy and memory. Most important of all, it appeals to and is appropriate for a wide range of ages. This is a great game for parents to play with kids...for me that is its greatest strength.

4 of 4 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

Gobblet
Posted 3/5/2007 by Pam Roberts
Rating: 4

Fun game. As an adult, I really enjoyed it! Because of the fact that you can gobble the existing pieces, it gets pretty tricky and alters the strategy. I have to say my son (age 9) did not like it as well as I did because I won every time! But I think with more practice, he will get the hang of it and will learn to strategize better.

4 of 4 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

Great Game For All Ages, Love It!
Posted 1/9/2007
Rating: 4

Gobblet is a well-made, handcrafted game. It is easy to play with all ages and comes in a very nice wooden box that doubles as the playing board. Highly recommended.

4 of 4 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

Product review of Gobblet
Posted 10/15/2006 by Linda E Kaiser
Rating: 4

Gobblet is a really fun game and my family is enjoying it! It is simple enough to learn, and yet it involves complex strategy to win (especially against my competitive sons!). Its construction seems to be quite sturdy, with well built wooden pieces, board and box. Our particular unit has a lid that wobbles a bit, however. Overall, we are very happy with our purchase.

4 of 4 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

Awesome Game
Posted 3/23/2006 by Tara Meier
Rating: 4

This is a great family game. Good quality of materials too.

4 of 4 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

Gobblet
Posted 11/4/2013 by PA mom
Rating: 4

My kids 11 and 8 played this game at a friend's house and then requested it for my son's birthday. They really enjoy this game and it's fun for adults too. Glad they are playing a wooden game.

Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)


McAfee SECURE sites help keep you safe from identity theft, credit card fraud, spyware, spam, viruses and online scams
Home | Shopping Cart | Help | Privacy Policy | Return Authorizations | Toy Blog | Coming Soon | Christmas Toys
Best Toys by Age | Birthday Gifts | Top Kids Toys | Toys on Sale | New Toys | Popular Toy Searches

Copyright © 2003-2014 Fat Brain Toys LLC. All rights reserved. Fat Brain Toys® is a registered service mark of Fat Brain Toys, LLC
Fat Brain Toys Offices
1405 N 205th Street, Suite 120
Elkhorn, Nebraska 68022
Phone 1-800-590-5987
Omaha Toy Store
16909 Burke Street, Suite 131
Omaha, Nebraska 68118
Phone 402-504-6218
Overland Park/Kansas City Toy Store
5601 West 135th Street, Suite 2230
Overland Park, Kansas 66223
Phone 913-305-4894

  MacWeb02