Home > Toy Companies > BSW Toys > SmArt Studios Paint and Build Erupting Volcano > Customer Reviews
0

Customer reviews of by

Return to product information...

has been reviewed 24 times with an average rating of 4.00

Liked It, Butttt.....
Posted 12/27/2007 by Robert L
Rating: 3

It brought back fond memories of my childhood, I remember the paper mache balloon project well... A cute enough kit and a great idea, so why not actually include enough of the paper mache ("plaster gauze") to cover the cardboard form. It isn’t ever gonna look as textured as the box display if there’s not even enough to cover the full area stretched flat. I don’t know how hot the room the testers made their kit in, but let it dry 2 hours, paint one color, dry another 15 minutes, then paint the other color & another 15 minutes dry time? Our building it was day one, dry overnight, paint the next day, but we waited almost 1.5 hrs for the paint to dry, and even that was not enough. To its credit, the (non-included main ingredients that make it work – doesn't anyone find that strange?) “lava” eruption did amaze the kids and it was fun. Now, is it a one-time use piece or is yours lasting? Ours is being eaten away after the 4th eruption. All in all, a very cute idea, a few hours of good quality time with the kids, not too messy if you like doing crafts, but what is there, a buck-fifty of materials in the box! I think they could have splurged a bit and had a water resistant cardboard frame & added a few more lousy strips of the gauze, huh!

14 of 16 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

Mega Volcano
Posted 1/6/2008 by Diana C.
Rating: 4

Great fun for both of my children, ages 10 and 8. The volcano structure was a bit flimsy which is why I only gave 4 stars. The paper mache didn't help it much in keeping it in a cone shape and there really wasn't enough of it to go around. The texture was cool and added a bit of reality to the product. The lava was the standard vinegar and baking soda with the addition of food coloring (all items we needed to provide-not in the kit). Worth the money? Well, you could come up with all the items on your own and make it for less, but it was handy having it all in one kit.

11 of 13 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

My rating of
Posted 1/5/2008 by Christine Hermes
Rating: 4

The kids enjoyed all aspects of the building and volcano action.

10 of 12 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

A rating of
Posted 7/12/2009 by Sara Jamison
Rating: 2

This kit did not provide enough paint or paper mache to cover the volcano.

6 of 6 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

A great show!
Posted 1/21/2011 by Theresa Jordan - FRIEND
Rating: 4

This is a great kit for building an erupting volcano that actually works. We have gotten other brands as gifts and they don't really erupt, just fizzle. My son enjoyed making it and then really enjoyed maiking it erupt! Eventually it will wear out since it's only papier mache, but it's a good value for the amount of fun we got out of it.

5 of 5 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

My rating of
Posted 12/26/2007 by Jennifer Badalamenti
Rating: 4

My son was very happy with the volcano.

5 of 6 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

Fun, Interactive Toy
Posted 11/9/2007 by J Rowe
Rating: 4

My son was so excited when he saw the box that contained Mega Volcano. The design immediately caught his eye. The product proved to be a fun activity to work on together. Easy to put together. It brought back memories of doing this myself as a child in the backyard.

5 of 6 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

Review of
Posted 11/1/2007 by Julie H
Rating: 4

Very nice product. My son's had a lot of fun making it. The volcano is a little hard to put away or store after it is made but we liked the product very much.

5 of 6 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

Review of
Posted 4/4/2006 by Maria Fochi
Rating: 2

We just opened the package this weekend-purchased for my son's science fair. The brown paint exploded in the plastic bag; all over the paint brush and dinasaurs. We had to purchase brown paint, red paint, a brush, and more plaster sheet because there was not enough to cover the volcano.

While we are thankful it did not register on the Volcanic Explosivity Index, clearly this is not the kind of explosive excitement one would expect from a model volcano. Fat Brain Toys provided a refund to Ms. Fochi to cover the cost of the supplies she purchased to complete this project.

5 of 6 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

Product review of
Posted 12/17/2010 by Kim McGaha
Rating: 5

Product is wonderful. Shipping was extremely prompt!

4 of 4 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

Mega Volcano
Posted 1/26/2006 by Cheryl Zybell
Rating: 5

Shipped as stated. Item was as described. It worked perfect for school science project. Thanks . . .

4 of 5 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

Information about
Posted 12/7/2005 by Katherine Headington
Rating: 5

This was purchased as an Angel Gift for a foster child. We don't know the child but he asked specifically for this product.

4 of 5 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

My nephews enjoy it.
Posted 11/28/2005 by jonathan j clay
Rating: 5

I gave this to 2 of my nephews, and they enjoyed building and erupting the volcanos. The dinos that are included make it a toy to them, and they don't realize the learning value.

4 of 5 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

Product review of
Posted 11/16/2005 by Karen Potter
Rating: 4

My nephew loved it.

4 of 5 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

A rating of
Posted 12/31/2007 by RER
Rating: 5

Educational and fun for our 6 year old grandson. He was very excited. Instructions for use were well-presented.

6 of 10 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

Lots Of Fun
Posted 2/6/2008
Rating: 5

We purchased this as part of my 2nd grade son's presentation on Hawaii Volcanoes National Park. It was easy for him to construct and paint. It was also quite simple for him to make it "erupt" on his own. The first and second graders loved it! However, you do have to be creative with how you prepare for the mess the "lava" makes. The instructions say to set it in a cookie sheet, but it was too wide for that. We actually ended up setting it in a black garbage bag. We pretended the black represented the cooled lava. Another nice thing about this product is that it is reusable. You can enjoy more "eruptions" later!

6 of 12 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)


McAfee SECURE sites help keep you safe from identity theft, credit card fraud, spyware, spam, viruses and online scams
Home | Shopping Cart | Help | Privacy Policy | Return Authorizations | Toy Blog | Coming Soon | Christmas Toys
Best Toys by Age | Birthday Gifts | Top Kids Toys | Toys on Sale | New Toys | Popular Toy Searches

Copyright © 2003-2014 Fat Brain Toys LLC. All rights reserved. Fat Brain Toys® is a registered service mark of Fat Brain Toys, LLC
Fat Brain Toys Offices
1405 N 205th Street, Suite 120
Elkhorn, Nebraska 68022
Phone 1-800-590-5987
Omaha Toy Store
16909 Burke Street, Suite 131
Omaha, Nebraska 68118
Phone 402-504-6218
Overland Park/Kansas City Toy Store
5601 West 135th Street, Suite 2230
Overland Park, Kansas 66223
Phone 913-305-4894

  MacWeb03