Home > Toy Companies > Bucky Balls > Bucky Balls > Customer Reviews
0

Customer reviews of by

Return to product information...

has been reviewed 72 times with an average rating of 4.65

Information about
Posted 1/15/2010 by Scott Workman
Rating: 5

Bucky Balls are a great toy for all ages. I am a 25 year old college student, and I've seen people enjoy this toy that were 12 all the way up to 70. That's the most important thing I could say about the toy overall. They are great for people who like to find their own uses for things. In fact, I would almost consider Bucky Balls as more of an artistic tool than a puzzle, like some places market it as. At first, I was somewhat worried that the balls would come apart and my cat would eat one, but these magnets are VERY powerful. I don't know if I could lose them if I tried. One thing that is important to know about this toy before you buy it is that there is a learning curve. It's not a big curve, but it takes getting used to. I have big fingers and so the small balls were somewhat difficult to get a handle on at first, but I would say that after 15 minutes of playing with them, I got the hang of it. My only real complaint of the product is the price. I don't believe it's "worth" $30 (I think the quality of the materials is the basis for the high price), $20 would make more sense to me.

8 of 8 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

Information about
Posted 3/16/2010 by Milwaukee mom
Rating: 3

Love the idea of these, but they are tiny! The whole square is not much bigger than a single dice. I am disappointed in that! I would not have purchased them if I would have realized how tiny they are. They would be easily lost. I cannot imagine children playing with these until they are much older.
Any toy that doesn't measure up to your expectations may be returned. Please visit the Returns & Exchanges center for full scale details.

7 of 7 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

Fun and entertaining
Posted 2/21/2010 by Joy Wright - GRANDPARENT
Rating: 5

Everyone in my house has had a blast with these magnetic balls. I may need to order some more to keep people from fighting over them!

7 of 7 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

bucky balls
Posted 2/18/2010
Rating: 5

My two older kids love this toy. They really enjoy building and creating different shapes with the magnets which stick together extremely well. The cost seemed high at first, but they haven't tired of it and this can go anywhere for easy entertainment. Families with small children shouldn't get this, though, as the balls are small and easy to swallow.

7 of 7 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

Information about
Posted 1/7/2010 by Linda Whitmire - GRANDPARENT
Rating: 5

GREAT! Entertained for hours. Did not have to worry about the balls falling off and getting lost in the carpet. The only suggestion is maybe make the balls larger so the projects are larger to look at.

7 of 7 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

Review of
Posted 10/17/2009 by Don Phillips
Rating: 5

Bucky Balls are great for children that like to build and create with their hands and imagination!

7 of 7 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

Product review of
Posted 4/5/2010 by Susan A. West
Rating: 5

How much fun can a bunch of bb's be? Love playing and toying with them. Trying to get them to behave.....Ha They jump into lines before you can stop them

6 of 6 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

So much fun!
Posted 1/19/2010 by Paige Williams
Rating: 5

I bought Bucky Balls for my 12 year old twin boys for Christmas. The engineers I work with have had so much fun playing with them that I had to buy more! There are so many things you can do with these magnets and guys 12 to 50+ enjoy them equally. Awesome product.

6 of 6 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

Bucky Balls
Posted 3/19/2010 by Stephane
Rating: 5

Great toy - hours of playing by both my son and husband

6 of 7 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

Excellent! Fun! Builds creativity!
Posted 12/1/2009 by Bri
Rating: 5

I really enjoyed these magnets. I find that I sit and play with them while I'm thinking at work. . . I did have to fight my kids off of them though becase everyone in the family wanted a chance to play with them and build things! The case for them is a nice plus if you like things to stay neat. They are really small tho so you need to be careful around pets who like to eat everything (like our dog) and kids. . . great for the adult or young adult. My 3 year old likes to play with them too, but she needed to be suprvised.

6 of 7 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

Best Toy Ever and Got it Quick!
Posted 12/1/2009 by Timothy Wilson
Rating: 5

Awesome toy! So entertaining at my desk and makes you think when making all the cool shapes. Fun for all ages!

6 of 7 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

My rating of
Posted 1/12/2010 by Bradley Helton
Rating: 5

Great fun and pass time at work, very challenging to make some of the many unique shapes!

5 of 5 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

Bucky Balls
Posted 12/29/2009 by Mom of 3
Rating: 5

This is one of the best toys I have purchased. I gave it as a Christmas gift to my 15 year old son and he has been playing with it nonstop. In fact his Grandfather, 12 year old brother and I have all been pleading with him to let us have a turn! It's hard to find gifts for teenagers other than video games and clothes. This was a hit!

5 of 5 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

Bucky Ball Review
Posted 12/27/2009 by Jacquelynn Goessling - RELATIVE
Rating: 5

This is the third set of Bucky Balls we've given as a gift and every time the recipient says "Oh! It's those cool magnets you guys have!" and then they disappear into a meditative construction phase that lasts from 30 minutes to hours. Bucky Balls are so deceiving when opened. Little silver balls? They are a great heft, get warm and keep their warmth, please the geometric person as well as the free form builder, engender creativity in the most staid codger and are just plain fun.

5 of 5 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

Bucky balls
Posted 2/15/2010 by Andrew Ballard
Rating: 5

The Bucky Balls are a great toy. Sometimes quality toys are more expensive, but I would give these to my children over the poorly-made action figures and plastic throw away toys any day. They are also very portable, can be used in a car or in a public place when kids need distraction. We have three kids under 5 and we take them everywhere. We break out the Bucky Balls when they get antsy. Also, they are divisable so more than one kid can play with them at once. Kids are able to use their imagination and experiment with them. They are a delight for both children and adults.

5 of 6 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

Cleo
Posted 11/30/2009 by Carol
Rating: 5

Bucky Balls is a great product. It has kept the entire family entertained (13 to 50 years old). It is a blast. Says it is relaxing but I beg to differ.

5 of 6 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

FUN!
Posted 11/27/2009 by Kyle Harper
Rating: 4

This is a gift for my father and he loves it. Addictive! I'm surprised he gets any work done at his office with these around.

5 of 6 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

Desktop Toys - Bucky Balls
Posted 11/24/2009 by michael vanacore
Rating: 5

These rare earth magnets make a great conversation starter on any desktop. Why squeeze a rubber toy to relieve stress when you can rearrange these magnets and squeeze to your heart's content.

5 of 6 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

Great office toy!
Posted 2/3/2010 by Teresa Wright
Rating: 5

My daughter already has these, and I bought them to play with at my office when I'm on the phone. They're really fun! Great gift for adults or kids. (Kids old enough to know not to swallow them).

4 of 4 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

My rating of
Posted 2/2/2010 by Cathy McIntyre
Rating: 5

I ordered Bucky Balls for my 10-yr-old grandson, based on your website's recommendation of toys for 10-yr-old boys. The Bucky Balls were fantastic. They entertained the whole group of us from age 2 - 62! It was amazing how the magnets seem to come alive. And with having younger children around, it was great that they did not easily separate from the chain. Our 8 year old grandaughter was upset that she didn't receive the same gift! I highly recommend them for something different, but very entertaining.

4 of 4 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

Bucky Balls are amazing
Posted 1/28/2010 by Mark Massaro - EDUCATOR
Rating: 5

I purchased these for my church youth group and they were a big hit with teens and adults. Anyone who saw them and started to mess around with them was hooked and couldn't put them down. the only downside is they were so popular at our winter retreat, only about half made it back into the box. Looks like I'll be ordering more soon. At $29.99 the price is high for a single person item. (not a group game or activity) I also would like them slightly larger for easier use.

4 of 4 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

Bucky Balls
Posted 1/12/2010 by Alrene Gorsuch
Rating: 5

Great toy - enjoyed thoroughly

4 of 4 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

So much fun
Posted 1/2/2010
Rating: 5

The best part of Buck Balls was the vast sea of possibilities to mold numerous shapes. I was expecting a bit more, or the balls to be bigger, but that's not so huge of a detriment. Perhaps a good improvement to the selling of the product (because nothing is wrong with the actual product) would be to include more than 216 balls.

4 of 4 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

Bucky Balls
Posted 12/31/2009 by Catherine Martin
Rating: 5

Great, gave it to my college age son. I was afraid I'd have little balls rolling all over the place but the magnets were so strong that wasn't a problem. It attracted mostly adults. All kinds of shapes and configurations. I'll buy more for next year.

4 of 4 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

bucky balls
Posted 12/30/2009 by Theresa
Rating: 5

I gave this to my son for Christmas- 14yrs. he loves it. He likes trying to create different objects and the magneticism is super.

4 of 4 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

Product review of
Posted 12/30/2009 by A LITTLE LESS STRESS
Rating: 4

IT'S GREAT FOR DOWN TIME. A PRODUCT THAT WILL JUMP START THE IMAGINATION.

4 of 4 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

A rating of
Posted 12/30/2009 by Lurene C Houston
Rating: 5

Our grandson, age 12 opened them at Christmas and they were passed around and around the room to all ages!

4 of 4 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

My rating of
Posted 12/28/2009 by Elizabeth Warga
Rating: 5

The package arrived and was disappointing because the Bucky Balls looked so small. The instant the package was opened, my 10 year old and my 13 year old became completely involved. They were a huge hit.

4 of 4 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

Bucky Balls
Posted 12/28/2009 by Barbara Byram
Rating: 5

This was the adult hit of the gift assortment--all the adult men could not keep their hands off the Bucky Balls. And my son-in-law wants to get more so he can build more complicated constructions! A great hit. Thank you.

4 of 4 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

My rating of
Posted 12/28/2009 by Cheryl Blanton - RELATIVE
Rating: 4

Great item - intriquing - well made.

4 of 4 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

Information about
Posted 12/28/2009 by David Stoneking
Rating: 5

This toy is incredibly fun to mindlessly play with. Everyone who's played with it loved it.

4 of 4 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

Review for
Posted 12/27/2009 by Lindsay Wcislo
Rating: 5

They are really addicting and everyone enjoys trying to figure out how to get them back to the cube.

4 of 4 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

Fun things come in small packages!!
Posted 12/27/2009 by Tracey ONeal
Rating: 5

My son loves these!! You can design some really cool things with them. A great toy to use on the go, since they are so small. I have a feeling these will bring many hours of entertainment!

4 of 4 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

Fun gift
Posted 12/27/2009 by Lindsey
Rating: 5

I purchased these as a Christmas gift for my boss, who likes to doodle and play with his desk accessories during phone calls -- I thought he could use a new toy. He really seems to be enjoying them so far and I'd definitely buy them again as a gift for a teenager or adult. One thing I'd note is that the balls are TINY -- the picture on the website is actual size or maybe even a little bigger. Not a problem, I was just surprised.

4 of 4 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

Bucky balls
Posted 12/27/2009 by Daniel Davenport Hunt
Rating: 5

Unique and all that was expected

4 of 4 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

A rating of
Posted 12/27/2009 by jwen3535
Rating: 5

My son was mesmerized with these super-powerful magnets. He has spent hours making all sorts of creations and even figured out how to reconstruct the cube himself.

4 of 4 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

Bucky Balls are cool!
Posted 12/27/2009 by Daniel Morris - FRIEND
Rating: 5

I really like it. You can make endless shapes and still have more to make. I really like them!

4 of 4 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

Great store, Great product
Posted 12/26/2009 by Mark B. O'Neal
Rating: 4

Bucky Balls are wonderfully fun. I only wish they didn't cost quite so much or I would buy more of them as gifts for others.

4 of 4 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

Bucky Balls are amazing
Posted 12/26/2009 by Marge Howley
Rating: 5

I purchased this for my 15 year old son after reading about them in the Philadelphia Inquirer. I thought it would be his last "toy". Well after he opened the Bucky Balls and started playing with them he stopped opening other gifts! He thinks they are great and is thinking of buying more for friends when he needs a gift. The things you can make out of them is endless and amazing.

4 of 4 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

Information about
Posted 12/23/2009 by ERIC MORRISON
Rating: 4

good and fun product, but balls are very very small and will be a hazard to young children

4 of 4 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

Captivating & Challenging!
Posted 12/22/2009 by James Paternoster
Rating: 5

These little magnets present a fascinating challenge for both old and young. They have a mind of their own, so getting them to cooperate demands close attention and perseverance, but it pays off in understanding and satisfaction.

4 of 4 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

My rating of
Posted 12/22/2009
Rating: 4

So far, this is a fun, engrossing, let's-kill-time kind of toy. I'm hoping my husband will continue to use it for relaxation and for its creative possibilities. I'm not sure that it has long-time use potential.

4 of 4 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

Product review of
Posted 12/22/2009 by Matthew Storrs
Rating: 5

This is a very fun toy. I brought it out at a party and it was a hit with my friends. Everyone wanted to have a turn at creating something. If you're having a lazy day with someone you love bring these out and you will have an even better day. Very relaxing.

4 of 4 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

A rating of
Posted 12/22/2009 by Steven A. Baxter
Rating: 3

My only disappointment was that they are so tiny. Perhaps there was something in the description that I overlooked.

4 of 4 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

Bucky Balls
Posted 12/19/2009 by Diane L. Mueller
Rating: 5

Great item for imagination. can create many designs. Although they have not been used yet as these are Christmas gifts, it was my 23 year old son that saw them & suggested this as a gift for himself & his 16 year old brother. He thought they looked like a lot of fun.

4 of 4 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

Awesome!
Posted 12/18/2009 by Jeff Lipes
Rating: 5

This lil guy is a lot of fun - it'll keep anybody entertained for a long time!

4 of 4 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

Awesome!
Posted 12/18/2009 by Richard K Leuchter
Rating: 4

Fun to use. Lose their interest overtime, but if you keep them on your desk in cool designs, people always will play with them and have fun. Good for when you are bored...

4 of 4 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

Bucky Balls
Posted 12/18/2009 by Julie Newsome
Rating: 5

They are so much fun! My son is 21 years old and plays with/fidgets with them all the time! As soon as he puts them down someone else picks them out trying to out do what ever has been previously made! They often end up on the refrigerator too!

4 of 4 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

My rating of
Posted 12/17/2009 by leon ward
Rating: 4

product appears larger than acctual size. very stong, fun toy

4 of 4 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

Fantastic as a gift
Posted 12/17/2009 by William Finkel
Rating: 5

Fun and loved by my dad

4 of 4 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

My rating of
Posted 12/16/2009 by CINDY I BALICK
Rating: 5

my kids love bucky balls; they have played with it nonstop since I gave it to them. Very creative toy; endless possibilities with manipulating the magnetics into different shapes.

4 of 4 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

Bucky Balls
Posted 12/16/2009
Rating: 4

This is actually a gift for my husband (an industrial designer). He watched a video of someone playing with bucky balls and was immediately enthralled. He has a love of magnets and this product creates something fun for all ages. It appears to be good quality and entertaining to children and adults alike.

4 of 4 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

size matters :)
Posted 12/16/2009 by Dean.
Rating: 4

Over all the Bucky Balls are fun to play with. I have a very large collection of different rare earth magnets but wanted the Bucky Balls because they were all the same shape and size. While they’re fun to play with I think that the size of the balls is a bit small at about 5 millimeters. Had I seen them before I purchased them I think I would have not because of the size. At least 7mm would be better because the smaller size makes it hard sometimes to handle them and it’s easier to loose a smaller ball. The instructions with the balls don’t give you any idea how to put them back into the shape of a cube. I just make a blob and put them into the plastic box that they come with for storage. These are not for young kids. If you swallow them they can be and have been deadly so I don't even keep them at home where I have young ones. I keep them at my desk at work.

4 of 4 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

A rating of
Posted 12/16/2009 by Mikey
Rating: 4

Challenging and entertaining

4 of 4 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

My rating of
Posted 12/15/2009 by Diana M. Guenther
Rating: 5

I bought several for the nephews and sons in my life. The bucky balls looked much larger online. I was very disappointed by the small size of the balls. I wouldn't have purchased them if I'd seen them in person! Perceived value is a $10 gift item - not a $30 item when I look at it. It was fun to play with my son's copy.

4 of 4 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

buckyballs are the best!
Posted 12/5/2009 by JD
Rating: 5

Great fun - keeps me entertained weeks after purchase. Everyone who tried them loved them too.

4 of 4 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

My rating of
Posted 11/23/2009
Rating: 4

The product was much smaller than I anticipated, but still a great toy that keeps my 8-year-old son occupied for quite some time. He loves creating different shapes and pictures with them.

4 of 4 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

Product review of
Posted 2/16/2010 by Gary Arenz
Rating: 4

Fascinating collection of magnetic balls - a lot of fun to play with, but have yet to figure out how to return them to the cube shape that they were in when I received them.

5 of 7 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

Bucky Balls
Posted 11/16/2009 by Katrina
Rating: 2

I bought these for my 8 year old son who loves anything magnetic. The Bucky Balls are about the size of a pea and come in a toothpick jar. The idea behind them is great, but I would not have bought them had I known how tiny they are. I am returning them for something bigger.

5 of 7 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

stocking stuffer
Posted 2/8/2010 by Cristin E. Farney
Rating: 5

Great product, exactly as described. Great stocking stuffer gift idea for a guy!

4 of 5 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)


McAfee SECURE sites help keep you safe from identity theft, credit card fraud, spyware, spam, viruses and online scams
Home | Shopping Cart | Help | Privacy Policy | Return Authorizations | Toy Blog | Coming Soon | Christmas Toys
Best Toys by Age | Birthday Gifts | Top Kids Toys | Toys on Sale | New Toys | Popular Toy Searches

Copyright © 2003-2014 Fat Brain Toys LLC. All rights reserved. Fat Brain Toys® is a registered service mark of Fat Brain Toys, LLC
Fat Brain Toys Offices
1405 N 205th Street, Suite 120
Elkhorn, Nebraska 68022
Phone 1-800-590-5987
Omaha Toy Store
16909 Burke Street, Suite 131
Omaha, Nebraska 68118
Phone 402-504-6218
Overland Park/Kansas City Toy Store
5601 West 135th Street, Suite 2230
Overland Park, Kansas 66223
Phone 913-305-4894

  MacWeb01