Home > Toy Companies > C & A Scientific Company > My First Lab Duo-Scope Microscope > Customer Reviews
My First Lab Duo-Scope Microscope
0

4 Star reviews of My First Lab Duo-Scope Microscope by C & A Scientific Company

Return to My First Lab Duo-Scope Microscope product information...

My First Lab Duo-Scope Microscope has been reviewed 164 times with an average rating of 4.68

Good microscope for the price
Posted 7/28/2008 by John
Rating: 4

As a physician, I have a great deal of experience with microscopes. The optics on this scope are quite good for the price, and although some parts of the scope are of cheaper quality(such as the battery compartment), they put the money where it counts. Intuitive design, surprising illumination at high magnification(400x). As a bonus, this scope also features above-stage illumination, which allows examination of opaque objects such as insects- making the scope easier to use for younger kids who cannot prepare traditional slides. Finally, included supplies such as scalpel, probe, prepared slides, well slide, stain, cover glasses,small petri dish, lens paper and test tube allow the budding scientist to set up a home "lab". Excellent for ages 8-13

35 of 35 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

Very Satisfied
Posted 2/8/2009 by avgood
Rating: 4

After the Christmas disaster with the ToysRus microscope, I checked reviews and purchased this one. I have tried it and it works very well. Highest magnification is not great but ok. The lower 2 are excellent and more than enough to keep my 9 year old son happy and busy. I would highly recommend it. Buy some prepared slides too.

19 of 19 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

great beginner microscope
Posted 7/16/2008 by shawn garzony
Rating: 4

Do not buy this microscope for the 40x objective, it's useless-which is why I can't give this a 5 star as it doesn't do all is says it can. However, DO buy this microscope if you want to explore the world or microscopes at a low price. We have been able to study blood, skin, and the teeniest of insects with this seeing many amazing details with 4x and 10x objectives. The duo-light option is very handy. We just finished inspecting paper, fabric, a dog toy and even a lego man using the upper light. This probably isn't going to get us through any high level microbiology courses, but it sparked an intense desire to explore our world so I go for it!! It also comes with lots of "extras" that sure beat having to buy these things separately!!!

15 of 15 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

Review of My First Lab Duo-Scope Microscope
Posted 9/3/2008 by Marsha Snyder
Rating: 4

This item wqs purchased for my ten year old son for his birthday. He was able to enjoy it right away. The directions were easy to follow and he quickly began to search for more things to look at under the scope. I quickly realized that this is going to be an item that we will be able to incorporate in to our homeschool studies.

13 of 16 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

Microscope is great
Posted 4/2/2010 by D.H.
Rating: 4

I bought this for my 6 year old son for Christmas. He loves it. He is fascinated by being able to see things that he cannot see with just his eyes. This was a great product and we are all happy with the purchase.

11 of 12 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

Review for My First Lab Duo-Scope Microscope
Posted 10/21/2010 by Aimee Gardner
Rating: 4

This is a great first microscope. My 5 and 4 year old are able to use it effectively. They love to find items in the yard and house and investigate - especially dead bugs!

8 of 8 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

Great product
Posted 12/27/2009 by Kevin Parker
Rating: 4

We purchased this microscope for our 8 year old twin girls for Christmas. Before purchasing I had looked at others and for the money nothing compared to this one. The reviews on this one were far superior than any other microscopes. We have used it several times and my girls are really amazed at the things they saw. One of them actually went to our neighborhood pond that is in our backyard and got a water sample to view. It was neat to actually see microscopic organisms moving around. They were impressed. I highly recommend this product for a first time microscope. Quality seems to be great. We are glad we purchased this one over some of the others I had viewed.

7 of 7 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

Looks Good
Posted 11/16/2009 by Scott Shipman
Rating: 4

It seems like a solid piece of equipment, though I've only looked at it briefly so far. Happily surprised to see that it comes with a small set of prepared slides.

7 of 8 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

Student Microscope
Posted 10/8/2009 by Alisa Vizethann
Rating: 4

For an elementary science class, this microscope is perfect. My sons (ages 9 & 10) have enjoyed this thoroughly. It's sturdy enough for them to use it unsupervised, and it works well with our homeschool science lessons. We've looked at skin cells, onion skins, roots, pond water, cheek cells and many other things and have been easily able to identify the parts of the cells. For the price, this is a great microscope. I only gave 4 stars because my kit did not come with the vinyl dust cover that was supposed to be in the box.

6 of 7 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

Great microscope
Posted 12/26/2011 by Sarah McNealy
Rating: 4

I really like that this microscope has two types of lighting (from above and below) and can accommodate solid objects. My daughter is really curious about bugs and nature in general and this allows her to explore so much more. We also purchased the Bugs World Blocks and can use them easily with this microscope. The microscope is easy to focus and works great.

5 of 5 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

Review for My First Lab Duo-Scope Microscope
Posted 10/7/2009 by Debra Hemingway
Rating: 4

This is a great microscope.....my only complaint is that i didn't think to order one with dual eyepieces....my eye gets a little tired from all the squinting....i also should have ordered extra slides....my son and I have been looking at Everything .....and really enjoy "exploring" with it......

5 of 5 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

Duo-Scope Microscope
Posted 12/27/2007 by Liza
Rating: 4

I bought this for my six year old neice as she enjoys doing simple science experiments. It is a great scope for a kid to get the hang of using a micrscope (with suprevision due to the number of glass items involved with slides, etc). I picked this scope because it's a combination dissecting/biological scope, and I figured she could view a greater range of opjects to better advantage this way ('big' things like pennies, as well as 'little' thing like pond water). Indeed, the opition to light specimins from above is great for examining things like birdfeathers, coins, etc. but you also get really good images of cellular organisms on all magnification levels. The only drawback is lack of a fine-focus knob. Still, the images are good - and in a way, having only one knob to focus helps my neice to get the hang of the instrument. The scope is quality-made and of the sort you find in a high school science lab. It comes with all the accessories needed for robust use: slides, covers, optical lens paper, tweezers, agitators, dyes, etc.

5 of 5 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

Information about My First Lab Duo-Scope Microscope
Posted 12/23/2007 by Roger W. Cain
Rating: 4

Simple, rugged, quality product. Love the upper light for examination of opaque items. THE LOWER LIGHT IS OFTEN TOO BRIGHT AND CANNOT BE ADEQUATELY DIMMED BY SELECTING EVEN THE SMALLEST LIGHT APERTURE ON THE STAGE. You see spots on your eye after use.

5 of 5 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

Information about My First Lab Duo-Scope Microscope
Posted 11/27/2007
Rating: 4

I bought this for my 9 year old son and he loves it. When using the 400x magnification, the lens is pretty much on the glass. It's difficult to focus & really see anything worthwhile. That doesn't seem to bother my son though! He's been looking at alot of things with this scope.

5 of 5 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

Review of My First Lab Duo-Scope Microscope
Posted 11/21/2007 by JoAnn G Mapp
Rating: 4

I bought this as a Christmas gift for my grandson and have already taken it out of the box and tried it. The quality is good and I think he will enjoy being able to view the slides. I also think he will find it interesting to make his own slides.

5 of 5 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

Nice Sturdy Scope
Posted 9/28/2007 by Kendra Rumbaugh
Rating: 4

We bought this scope for our 5 year old to start looking at larger specimens. I am a microbiologist and very familiar with microscopes. This is a nice sturdy scope. It's battery operated so you can take it outside. My favorite detail is that it has two light sources so you can look at slides (light coming from below) or larger specimens (light from above). We looked at a fly with the overhead light source and it looked awesome!

5 of 5 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

My rating of My First Lab Duo-Scope Microscope
Posted 7/20/2007 by Melissa
Rating: 4

I bought this microscope for my 11-year old son, and so far, we've been very pleased. My rating would have been 5 stars if they had included some prepared slides in the set. It was easy and inexpensive to get some sets of prepared slides on Amazon, though, and we were up and running in no time. (at least we knew ahead of time from the description that prepared slides were not included.) The only thing I might do differently next time is spend the extra money for the model that includes a camera to show the images on a computer screen.

5 of 5 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

Great choice
Posted 10/13/2008
Rating: 4

Great microscope for the price. My nieces have a lot of fun with it.

6 of 8 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

Product review of My First Lab Duo-Scope Microscope
Posted 12/28/2009
Rating: 4

My 9 year old loves it. He used it to look at his cheek cells on the slides you make yourself. He loved viewing the pre-made slide, and used it to view details on a penny up close, as well as an ant we found crawling in the kitchen--that one grossed him out a little. Great gift for a kid who's interested in science! Gave it 4 of 5 stars only because I don't know much about microscopes, but as far as it being a toy, it looks very durable. It does what a real microscope is suppose to do.

4 of 4 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

Nice scope, the kids love it
Posted 9/3/2009 by Steven Marx
Rating: 4

This microscope is nicer than the first impression might be taking it out of the box. As others have written on Amazon (where I did my research before buying here), the optics are very nice despite the light weight. The LEDs are surprisingly bright, sometimes a little too bright, so it's nice to have the ability to lower the light level. The kids (we're a home school/private school with 5 kids from 4 families) enjoyed looking at the slides that came with it, and we've already looked at some other things using the included blank slides. The kit that comes with the microscope is quite nice, including dies, but has some things I need to keep in my teachers-only drawer to bring out as needed, due to sharpness. Overall, though we haven't used it much, it seems a very nice microscope in general, and especially so for the price.

4 of 4 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

Good value for the money
Posted 8/25/2009 by PK
Rating: 4

The microscope is a good value for the money. It comes with a light which is important, and other microscopes do not. It also comes with sample slides as well as blank slides which encourage children to view their own samples. My daughter has really enjoyed it. The only thing I would add is a simple book with suggestions on things to view.

4 of 4 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

Simple And To The Point
Posted 1/9/2008 by Niccole Clark
Rating: 4

It was just what I was looking for. My niece had so much fun going through the house to find things small enough to put under the microscope.

4 of 4 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

Good Quality Microscope
Posted 1/7/2008 by Charles Dlhopolsky
Rating: 4

I was sceptical when my wife ordered this. I thought you might need to spend a lot of money to get a good microscope. But this one is very nice. It works really well for casual home use with kids.

4 of 4 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

Looking Forward To Many Years Of Exploration!
Posted 12/31/2007 by Walter H. Henderson III
Rating: 4

Our son received this and is just beginning to realize how cool it is! His parents have turned into kids again looking around the house for things to explore. Our son will be 7 soon and may be on the young side, but he loves science and isn't into "toys" per se as much as other kids his age, so this is right up his alley! He especially likes looking at things he is familiar with salt, the edge of a ripped napkin, etc. We will probably be ordering more prepared slides soon, but in the meantime, the accessories included are adequate to explore our immediate environment. Don't know what to use the 40x on yet it is too strong for anything we have tried.

4 of 4 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

Good 1st Scope
Posted 12/26/2007 by Amy
Rating: 4

This product is as-advertised and is great quality. My only reservation with the product is that the prepared slides provided with the microscope are not at all interesting and do very little to provoke further scientific exploration. Otherwise, only having it for one day so far, it seems to be a great product and well-made.

4 of 4 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

My rating of My First Lab Duo-Scope Microscope
Posted 12/25/2007 by Marty McGee
Rating: 4

Quite good for the price. Good build quality. Unfortunately, optics are not good enough to use the 40X lens.

4 of 4 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

Microscope Review
Posted 10/30/2007 by John Celentano
Rating: 4

Very nice product. It is perfect for my 8 year old daughter. It's not too complicated, but with all necessary features at the right price.

4 of 4 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

Review of My First Lab Duo-Scope Microscope
Posted 3/7/2012 by STEPHEN HENNEMANN
Rating: 4

Grandson loves it. prepared slides are nice so they can use right away

4 of 5 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)


McAfee SECURE sites help keep you safe from identity theft, credit card fraud, spyware, spam, viruses and online scams
Home | Shopping Cart | Help | Privacy Policy | Return Authorizations | Toy Blog | Coming Soon | Christmas Toys
Best Toys by Age | Birthday Gifts | Top Kids Toys | Toys on Sale | New Toys | Popular Toy Searches

Copyright © 2003-2014 Fat Brain Toys LLC. All rights reserved. Fat Brain Toys® is a registered service mark of Fat Brain Toys, LLC
Fat Brain Toys Offices
1405 N 205th Street, Suite 120
Elkhorn, Nebraska 68022
Phone 1-800-590-5987
Omaha Toy Store
16909 Burke Street, Suite 131
Omaha, Nebraska 68118
Phone 402-504-6218
Overland Park/Kansas City Toy Store
5601 West 135th Street, Suite 2230
Overland Park, Kansas 66223
Phone 913-305-4894

  MacWeb02