Home > Toy Companies > Can You Imagine > Time Machine > Customer Reviews
0

4 Star reviews of by

Return to product information...

has been reviewed 90 times with an average rating of 4.07

Time Machine
Posted 5/26/2009 by Charles B. Roegiers
Rating: 4

I enjoy this product on a therapudic level. It is a welcome diversion from the drudgery of office work. Some find it annoying, but I love gadgets and this is difinitely a cool gadget. This is actually the third one I have purchased. I have had problems with the generator (I think) that moves the arm that carries the marbles burning out. This is the first I have purchased from Fat Brain Toys. Hoping for better luck. I use the 6V power cord (not included, but very cheap at Radio Shack) to power the beastie since it tends to eat batteries.

14 of 15 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

Time Machine
Posted 4/20/2009 by Mark Heimbecker - OTHER
Rating: 4

The Time Machine is a really cool clock. I have one many years ago, and have been looking for another one for a long time. The only problem I have is that sometimes at 1 o'clock when all the trays dump all their marbles, they tend to jam near the bottom of the return chutes. I see where there is a gate that is supposed to control the flow of the return marbles. On my Time Machine, it was to light weight to stay in the down position when it was supposed to. I glued some extra weight on the arm (a quater) and it now works perfectly.

10 of 11 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

Neat little toy
Posted 6/26/2008 by Jennifer N.
Rating: 4

I bought this for my husband for Father's Day. It is a really neat thing to watch. No good for our house because we have toddlers who can't keep their hands off, but it's perfect for his office at work. As others have said, it's a little loud, but not enough to be irritating.

9 of 10 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

Fun & Functional
Posted 5/18/2008 by Somewhere in MO
Rating: 4

This clock is fun to watch and functional to boot. Keeps accurate time over the course of the battery life cycle. Lost time is a clear indicator for battery replacement. My only complaint is that this has the ability to utilize AC current but the cord is not included as part of the package.

8 of 8 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

Review of
Posted 8/18/2008 by james baker-noren - EDUCATOR
Rating: 4

Over several days the time wanders, but I am still working on what is causing the varance. My students enjoy watching the time piece.

9 of 11 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

Time Machine
Posted 4/1/2008 by Stephen A. Burke
Rating: 4

The Time Machine works exactly as it says, however it is a bit noisy, but that's to be expected. The only really annoying thing I've found is that it picks up the little ball when the seconds read zero, in my opinion this an error, as it drops it on the top track at about 5 seconds past the minute, it should pick the ball up at 55 seconds so the ball is dropped onto the top track at approximately the beginning of the next minute, but otherwise, I'm very happy with my new Time Machine.

7 of 7 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

Review of
Posted 2/22/2008 by Richard Henry
Rating: 4

I was hoping that the ball clock was more as I remembered it to be. I remember that it had a rotating arm at 1 rpm instead of the electrical timer so that the arm pauses. I guess it doesn't really matter though. It works great. Same design.

7 of 7 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

Fun, But Loud
Posted 2/19/2008 by Robert Foglia
Rating: 4

This is a great way to tell the time. It's very fun to 'watch'(get it?) especially going from 12:59-1:00. The clock is vintage and very sleek, but it's pretty noisy. I found out after about 3 days I got used to the noise though. I'd say it's worth getting, i.e. for an office desk.

7 of 7 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

Product review of
Posted 4/17/2007 by Christopher C Cape
Rating: 4

This clock is absolute, pure eye candy to watch. Since being started up last Friday the 13th [it is now almost the 18th], it has maintained the time to within one minute of my workplace, networked computer's time. I would pay $500 for a larger model made of metal, glass and wood. Everyone who sees the clock is amazed and delighted. Let's see how long it lasts.

7 of 7 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

Time Machine
Posted 8/23/2009 by Joe Chua
Rating: 4

The product is very good. However, there is a crack on the acrylic cover.

7 of 8 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

Time machine - rolling ball clock.
Posted 4/3/2009 by M. Elkin
Rating: 4

This clock is a re-make of the original rolling ball clock made by Idle Tyme Corporation and then later Arrow Handicraft. I purchased this clock for its nostalgia value. This clock works slightly differently than the original. In the original Arrow clock, the arm would continuously move, catching the ball on one pass per minute. In this version, the clock remains idle and once per minute the arm will make a pass and drop the next ball. The clock looks very similar to the original. The quality of the plastic is not the greatest and it does not keep accurate time. Over a period of a few days, balls may get stuck or fall from the rails. It is important to use the dust cover to keep the rails free from debris. There are small pieces of foam on some tracks to prevent the balls from bouncing and these tend to dry out over time. Overall this clock is a fascinating conversation piece and well worth the money.

7 of 8 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

Time Machine Ball Bearing Clock
Posted 10/30/2007 by Scott S
Rating: 4

This clock is a clever, unique way to display the current time. It tends to be a bit noisy, both from the clatter of the balls as they're dumped to the next level down, and from the motor that actually carries the balls from the bottom to the top. I'd recommend this as a purchase for anyone who fancies themself a tinkerer or someone who appreciates extravagant methods for doing mundane tasks.

6 of 6 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

Time Machine
Posted 8/31/2007 by Gary D Brummett
Rating: 4

The Time Machine is a good and interesting product. When adjusted correctly, it will keep excellent time and is enjoyable to watch. The instructions advise you to make sure that the machine is level, but I found that it would only work correctly with one side propped up an additional 1/4 inch and slightly out of level. Other than that no problems. I would purchase it again.

6 of 6 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

Great Birthday Present
Posted 7/16/2007
Rating: 4

This was a gift for a 17 year old and she is fascinated by the clock. It works well and keeps very good time.

6 of 6 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

My rating of
Posted 2/13/2007 by Daniel Walker
Rating: 4

The Time Machine is awesome. It's definitely a nice conversational piece to have on my desk. I find not only myself staring at it waiting for the minutes to change, but sometimes I walk back to my desk and there are my co-workers staring at it waiting. It's an awesome product.

6 of 6 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

A rating of
Posted 1/17/2007 by Staci Hedges - FRIEND
Rating: 4

We love our toy and the whole family enjoys it. It's an amazing gadget. It can be distracting at times, due to the noise. Regardless, we still look at it every time a ball falls.

6 of 6 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

Mesmerizing!
Posted 11/2/2006 by Laura
Rating: 4

I highly recommend this clock. I bought it for my 13 year old daughter. She loves it! If you're considering it for your child, however, make sure you have a good place to set it up. The "plink, rrr-r-r-r, plink" sound of the balls dropping from row to row might be distracting for light sleepers.

6 of 6 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

An Attention Grabber
Posted 8/1/2006 by Ryan H. - OTHER
Rating: 4

This is a fun clock to watch, and people are always looking at it after they hear it cycle. I only wish it would have come with an AC adaptor.

6 of 6 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

Just as described
Posted 6/27/2006
Rating: 4

Great conversation piece! At first I didn't have it on a level table and a few balls rolled off the tracks. But after moving it to a level table, the time has been perfect for the last week I've owned it. It is noisy and guests look over at it every 5 minutes when a track clears, but that's half the fun. I'm thinking about getting one for the office too.

6 of 6 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

Time Machine Review
Posted 5/15/2006 by Steve Cross - OTHER
Rating: 4

My grandpa has one of these in his house that I used to play with growing up. I always thought it was so neat, so I finally decided to get one too.

6 of 6 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

Geeks and their Time Devices
Posted 4/12/2006 by Adrian Hayes - OTHER
Rating: 4

I think one of the requirements of being a Geek is owning an "alternative" time device. You've seen the binary LED display clocks & such. This one definitely fits the bill! It has provided endless entertainment and lots of curious looks as it rolls off the time. The only problem I've had is that the balls will occasionally get stuck on the entrance to the middle tray. Otherwise, it was a great purchase.

6 of 6 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

Time Machine Clock
Posted 2/3/2006 by Frederick Spencer
Rating: 4

My children and I really enjoy watching time roll by. The only thing is that it isn't good for a bed room due to the noise it makes. So we put it in the den and it is a hit with everyone.

6 of 6 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

The Time Machine
Posted 2/20/2008 by Gerard A. Leone
Rating: 4

This is the third Time Machine I've owned in the past 15 years. That says something about how much I like it!

6 of 7 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

A Fun and Interesting Gift
Posted 3/22/2007
Rating: 4

It's a good gift for the price. Fun and enjoyable. A real conversation starter.

6 of 7 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

Review of
Posted 12/27/2012 by alice - GRANDPARENT
Rating: 4

The whole family stoped and watched the ball bearings drop on the hour - til bedtime.

2 of 2 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

A rating of
Posted 9/28/2012 by bill green - OTHER
Rating: 4

it is a neat and interresting machine

2 of 2 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)


McAfee SECURE sites help keep you safe from identity theft, credit card fraud, spyware, spam, viruses and online scams
Home | Shopping Cart | Help | Privacy Policy | Return Authorizations | Toy Blog | Coming Soon | Christmas Toys
Best Toys by Age | Birthday Gifts | Top Kids Toys | Toys on Sale | New Toys | Popular Toy Searches

Copyright © 2003-2014 Fat Brain Toys LLC. All rights reserved. Fat Brain Toys® is a registered service mark of Fat Brain Toys, LLC
Fat Brain Toys Offices
1405 N 205th Street, Suite 120
Elkhorn, Nebraska 68022
Phone 1-800-590-5987
Omaha Toy Store
16909 Burke Street, Suite 131
Omaha, Nebraska 68118
Phone 402-504-6218
Overland Park/Kansas City Toy Store
5601 West 135th Street, Suite 2230
Overland Park, Kansas 66223
Phone 913-305-4894

  MacWeb03