Home > Toy Companies > Channel Craft > Deluxe Log Building Set > Customer Reviews
Deluxe Log Building Set
0

Customer reviews of Deluxe Log Building Set by Channel Craft

Return to Deluxe Log Building Set product information...

Deluxe Log Building Set has been reviewed 52 times with an average rating of 4.38

Product review of Deluxe Log Building Set
Posted 8/29/2009 by Ronnie B.
Rating: 5

Very nicely colored without chemical dyes and made in the USA by a family company...we had intended to buy Lincoln Logs, but were persuaded to give these a try. We were glad we did. Our grandson started playing with them immediately. Being three, he wasn't interested in creating the specified buildings according to the directions. He just started building, using trial and error to see what worked. He loved them.

23 of 23 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

Deluxe Log Building Set
Posted 5/27/2009 by Cheri Pilant
Rating: 5

I bought this set because it is made in the USA and that is very important to me. The set was well made and sturdy. The logs are hand carved and painted.

17 of 17 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

Definitely Recommend
Posted 12/27/2009 by TSRoberson
Rating: 5

This was a gift for our 3yr daughter and 4 1/2yr old son. They LOVE the logs and we love the fact they are flat and are easily stackable. The children have built structures, strung the logs together as roads for their hot wheels and used them to "cook" with. It's fun to watch them explore and use the product for not only its intended purpose, but also create new ways to play with them. We are also looking forward to our 8 month old being able to play with them in the future. They seem to be durable and well manufactured. The only drawback is the bag is a little small after having dumped everything out. When you replace everything back in, unless you take the time to "stack" them back inside, the bag doesn't leave much room to close.

16 of 17 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

Delux Log Building Set
Posted 4/1/2009 by Ralph Smith - FRIEND
Rating: 2

We bought this for our toddler. We did not like it because the wood chips off with a mere fingernail scrape. We do not think it is safe because of the quality of the wood.

15 of 15 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

Product review of Deluxe Log Building Set
Posted 9/3/2009 by Danielle Inglin - GRANDPARENT
Rating: 5

my 6 year old grandson loved them he and I played for hours. I have to order another one to leave at my house because he took his home

12 of 12 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

Log Set Review
Posted 1/29/2010 by Brooks St John-Smith
Rating: 5

Product is well made and exactly what I had hoped it would be.

10 of 10 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

Review of Deluxe Log Building Set
Posted 2/1/2006 by Cliff J. Worley
Rating: 4

As a child I played with Lincoln Logs and could spend hours building. Although what I purchased is not Lincoln Logs but a simular product that I actually like better. The pieces don't roll which is better for my four year old grandson. Of course I had to inspect them for damage which took about an hour. Happy to report there was no damage and they fit together perfectly. I would recommend this to anyone looking for a building set to stiulate a young child's mind. I down graded it from five to four stars because the included pictures of what could be built are small and poor quality. Young children are very visual. Larger pictures on individual pages would help them grasp the concepts of building much faster.

10 of 10 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

My rating of Deluxe Log Building Set
Posted 6/23/2006 by Pierre Charland - FRIEND
Rating: 4

I like this product. Once built, the buildings have a nice rustic far-west look. I was surprised by how light and soft the wood blocks are. They are not cut so well, some pieces fit better than others, some are a bit longer or slanted, but they still do the job. However, the instruction sheets are really terrible (really unclear, really terrible).

9 of 9 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

Great, American-made toy
Posted 2/10/2009
Rating: 5

I'm always looking for toys made in the USA or in Europe, which do not require batteries, and which stimulate the mind. The deluxe log set meets these factors. It is wonderful because it gives the child a goal of building a complete structure; it requires a child to think about which logs to use so that the structure resembles the drawing in the instructions. Yet, the child can also build other structures after practicing a few times with the recommended ones. For a child who is between 3-4 years of age, there should be a parent to act as a guide because it seems difficult for a child to follow the instructions.

8 of 8 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

Deluxe Logs...Wow!
Posted 1/7/2009 by LR Cohen
Rating: 4

I don't know who is having more fun with the Deluxe Log Building Set, my 4-year-old daughter or my over-40 husband. I had a small Roy Toy set which my daughter loved, so I bought this one to add on. It's real wood...lightweight but rugged so small ones can't break them. My only complaint is that not all the pieces are sanded down, so they don't all fit perfectly together. Overall, I would recommend this toy for anyone who enjoys building...young or old!

7 of 7 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

Best Building Toy for Play Dates
Posted 7/23/2006 by Alison Hicks
Rating: 5

I'm always looking for toys that my son and daughter can play with together without arguing over who has the best pieces, characters or whatever. This Roy Toy Deluxe Log Building set is the best I've found yet. My children and a neighbor have played with the log set for almost 20 hours so far, with few disputes. At a fair price, the set includes enough pieces so everyone can build. The vintage wood quality of the set is rustic and imperfect, yet nice enough that I don't mind them leaving their creations in the living room. I'm SO tired of plastic. The kids have increased their building skills over time. Once they build a cluster of farm buildings they move on to landscaping and dramatic play with small animals on the farm. The only thing I'd improve is the instruction sheet, which is too small and brief to follow. Although even this fostered creativity, as we just decided to build our own creations.

7 of 7 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

For my granddaughters
Posted 1/26/2006 by David
Rating: 5

I bought the Deluxe Log Building Set for my granddaughters to give them the kind of old fashioned "building experience" that I remember from my own childhood. This toy is an alternative to the plastic world of toys that so dominate the toy market these days. The building set allows the child complete creativity but also teaches something about "interconnectedness" between a "plan" and the end product. It's a great toy, and besides, I can play with it with them too!

7 of 7 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

My rating of Deluxe Log Building Set
Posted 12/7/2005 by Devin Anderson
Rating: 2

The instructions are impossible to read, and the photos are too small to make out what logs go where. Some of the log notches are cut too narrow, so the logs stick together when disassembling.

7 of 7 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

great for a 3 year old
Posted 9/9/2008 by Tina Merrill
Rating: 5

i bought this building set for my son's 3rd birthday. the logs are very high quality, and i really like that there is nothing toxic about them (paint, chemicals, plastic). the blocks are just the right level of challenge for my son, who already loved doing jigsaw puzzles. he has been absorbed for literally hours with piecing them together, and he can either do it himself or enjoys having a parent building with him. a great purchase and highly recommended!

6 of 6 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

Deluxe Log Building Set
Posted 8/14/2008 by Laurie Lloyd - GRANDPARENT
Rating: 5

My 3 year old grandson loves lincoln logs but there never seem to be enough parts to build a lot of different things at the same time. When I saw this set had 250 parts, I had to buy it. He loves them and plays with them all the time. Even mixes in some of the lincoln logs windows and doors. These are so stimulating to the imagination and have been a big hit around here.

6 of 6 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

Review for Deluxe Log Building Set
Posted 7/11/2008 by Kirk Rossmeissl
Rating: 4

My 3 year old son likes it, and he can build independently. I feel the toy is safe and glad to know its made in the USA. We have disposed of any toys made in China, and other countries which do not have the same standards that the US or Europe provide.

6 of 6 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

Deluxe Log Building Set
Posted 3/19/2008 by Beth
Rating: 4

We purchased these for my 4 year old son's birthday. He has one small set of Lincoln Logs, but those are made in China and we are focused on purchasing wooden toys made in America. He really likes them, especially the green boards used for the roofs. We also like that the buildings are stable because the boards are notched and fit well together.

6 of 6 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

Product review of Deluxe Log Building Set
Posted 1/2/2006 by Melissa Tarbet
Rating: 5

We really like the amount of logs that are in the set and the fact that you can use your imagination to build so many different structures from them. We like the flat sides better too!! Thanks for such a great product!

6 of 6 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

My rating of Deluxe Log Building Set
Posted 4/18/2006 by Beverly A. Douglas - GRANDPARENT
Rating: 5

I purchased these as an item to use in a preschool program at my Granddaughter's elementary school. The children range from kindergarten to 3rd grade. They all have a great time playing with the building logs and to watch their imaginations work is just wonderful. Thank you very much for the laughs, good times and my joy at being able to give them this gift and also to be able to travel back in my memories to when my two boys played with Lincoln Logs. The Lincoln Logs are wonderful, and I'm sure the elementary school will get many more years of use from them. Thanks.

6 of 7 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

Splinters
Posted 1/19/2011
Rating: 1

We purchased this for our son. As soon as we received the item we found that sizable splinters were coming off of the logs. The splintering made us concerned about the safety for our child.
We're with you - wood a-peeling is unappealing. Our customer was credited for the defective wooden log set. Please visit the Returns & Exchanges center for details of the simple log-istics of solidly, wonderful service.

5 of 5 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

Product review of Deluxe Log Building Set
Posted 1/19/2009 by RW Gettman - GRANDPARENT
Rating: 5

I gave this set to my grandson for his third birthday last weekend. He was completely enthralled and started putting pieces together immediately. This set is well designed and should last for years. And most importantly, this building set will serve as a catalyst for super fun activities and fantastic bonding experiences between the child and parents and grandparents.

5 of 5 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

Information about Deluxe Log Building Set
Posted 12/11/2007 by Laela Leavy - GRANDPARENT
Rating: 5

My 6 year old grandson loves this "Lincoln Logs" like set. I bought this as I wouldn't buy a toy made in China where Lincoln Logs are made and found Roys Toys on your web site.

5 of 5 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

Deluxe Log Building Set
Posted 11/27/2007 by Jeff
Rating: 5

These building logs are great. They are designed much better than than traditional building logs as they are not round and don't roll off the table. Furthermore, they are made in the good ole' USA so your potential for lead paint causing brain damage in your kids is much lower.

5 of 5 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

Bought for my 3 yo girl
Posted 3/15/2006 by JoAnne
Rating: 4

Love the quantity of pieces - enough to build 3 separate structures + at the same time. The quality is very good, too. I grew up with the round logs, but these work just as well.

5 of 5 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

Product review of Deluxe Log Building Set
Posted 1/17/2006 by Darrella McGuire
Rating: 5

This toy is awesome!! My children who are 7 and 8 years, old love building with them, the logs fit well together, stay together and don't roll under the bed when they dump them out of the bag. I have enjoyed building with them as well. The quality is unbeatable. I highly recommend Roy's Toys building logs to anyone who is looking for high quality building toys.

5 of 5 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

Information about Deluxe Log Building Set
Posted 1/2/2006 by Ann Maupin
Rating: 4

Use of your website is very easy and delivery was extremely prompt. Product is as promised and what we expected. The logs themselves, however, were of a cheaper, lighter weight wood that we remembered log building toys being.

5 of 5 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

Roy Toy Deluxe Log Building Set
Posted 1/2/2006 by Roger D. Eury
Rating: 5

The Roy Toy Deluxe Log Building Set was such a hit with my daughter (Age 8) that now my son (Age 6) will not even play with his Lincoln Logs any longer. The way these logs fit together is just so much better than the traditional Lincoln Logs that they have always played with. They are also very appealing to my daughter, because they not only have the natural log color, but yellow and orange logs as well. I only wish I had thought this through a little harder and I would have gotten him some as well. I just had no idea they were going to be that big of a hit. Roger N. Carolina

5 of 5 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

deluxe log building set
Posted 12/14/2005 by doris krogman
Rating: 5

The pieces are solid and easy for little hands to use. We appreciate that the toy is made in the USA.

5 of 5 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

Christmas Gift
Posted 12/1/2005 by Paul Carson
Rating: 4

If they are like what I used to play with as a child, they will be a blast! Our youngest, loves to build things with the older round logs we have. So at this point they will a tremendous addition to what we now have. She will love them. The package was in really good shape, which doesn't always happen. Best Regards to you and your families!

5 of 5 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

Made in USA - Deluxe Building Set
Posted 2/25/2012 by Johnson House
Rating: 4

Numerous things to build and all wrapped up in a nice canvas bag. This product is made of real wood and 100% made in USA. The items are sturdy and plenty of pieces. It was a gift for our almost 4 yr. old son who loves to build things out of anything! We usually work on projects together, but he enjoys surprising me with new structures. I wanted to be able to rank this the highest score; however, there are some non-uniform cuts in the logs where the logs join. This causes the structure to be less stable or height variations. We set these pieces aside when building a tall or complex structure. All in all, we are pleased to have a real wood, American made toy that lets children of all ages be creative and have fun alone or in a group.

4 of 4 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

My rating of Deluxe Log Building Set
Posted 1/2/2012 by Doreen S. - GRANDPARENT
Rating: 5

The Log Building Set arrived in plenty of time for Christmas and was in a wonderful storage bag. My Grandson has been building "cabins" ever since and is very happy with the set. I will certainly be looking for more gifts on Fat Brain Toys website in the future. Thank you for your reliable services.

4 of 4 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

Product review of Deluxe Log Building Set
Posted 6/14/2011 by Frances Schroeder
Rating: 5

Fantastic set of building blocks! High quality, fun, and she can build several buildings at a time. Made in the USA! Worth every penny. This is a set of building blocks that can be passed on to the next generation:)

4 of 4 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

My rating of Deluxe Log Building Set
Posted 3/16/2011
Rating: 4

Very nice toy with a sentimental "old fashion" feel to it.

4 of 4 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

Product review of Deluxe Log Building Set
Posted 1/12/2011 - GRANDPARENT
Rating: 3

I would have liked to have longer planks for sides of structures. Otherwise it was great. We could only make small buildings. I bought a set of Roy Toys a few years ago and the planks were about an inch longer.
The Original Log Cabin Set by Roy Toy is the set with longer wooden logs - 92 pieces. The Classic Roy Toy Sets, as this one is, contain more pieces- 250, in shorter lengths to provide more building options. Either way, any classic Log Building Set short on fun may be returned or exchanged. We're long-standing in exceptional service. Please visit the Returns & Exchanges center for details.

4 of 4 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

My rating of Deluxe Log Building Set
Posted 12/31/2010 by Margie Austin - GRANDPARENT
Rating: 5

Bought this product to enhance the power of imagination - this was a x-mas gift for a smart 4 yr. old. Was surprised to see how many things that were constructed that I didn't think of myself. Was very glad to see that this was made in the U.S.A., not China!! Happy to see that you care about product quality, not greed . Contented Customer Margie Austin

4 of 4 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

Review for Deluxe Log Building Set
Posted 12/27/2010 by Rhonda Simmerman
Rating: 5

The old tried-and-true kid's favorite came through again. I bought the logs for my four-year-old granddaughter but the seven-year-old loved it too--and the baby even gnawed on a block or two :) They have a great time with it when they come to Gram's house.

4 of 4 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

Deluxe Log Building Set
Posted 12/27/2010 by susan crawford - GRANDPARENT
Rating: 5

On Christmas Day this was the first package my 4 year old grandson opened. It was a great entertainer as the adults completed the dinner items. Dad, uncle and grandpap all played with our little guy! He was so happy with the logs and the activity of building as many different buildings were created. After reading so many other reviews on "log" building sets I chose this one because of the "quantity" of the logs and the American standards of quality control. There will be a plastic container for the log set but all go back into the bag if the longer logs are placed in the bag first followed by the smaller ones. Fat Brain service was excellent and the the toys arrived promptly and were packaged well. Having a company sell toys made in the US by our citizens is a great opportunity to buy "American."

4 of 4 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

Product review of Deluxe Log Building Set
Posted 8/31/2008 by Ellen Terry
Rating: 3

The product seems "mass produced". Most of the cuts are not, what I would consider, straight. However, the fact that the item was/is made in the USA was of the utmost concern to me. I am going the say that the product was good enough.

5 of 7 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

Deluxe Log Building Set
Posted 12/27/2010
Rating: 2

The product in itself seems to be okay. What I was trying to do was enhance a set of Lincoln Logs. This product will not work with Lincoln Logs. I'm a little disappointed.
While similar in concept, Lincoln Log Sets and Roy Toy Log Sets do not interlock. We contacted our customer. All Fat Brain Toys are guaranteed to stack up to your expectations. Visit the Returns & Exchanges center for details.

4 of 5 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

A rating of Deluxe Log Building Set
Posted 12/6/2010 by MARIJEAN TIMMONS
Rating: 4

It's a Christmas gift for my granddaughter so no one has played with the logs yet. I'm sure if they are like I had as a child they will be played with a lot

4 of 5 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

A rating of Deluxe Log Building Set
Posted 3/6/2013 by Eileen
Rating: 5

These are an excellent way to teach building, balance and creativity in both boys and girls. Even the adults can get involved and not be bored. It isn't a noisy endless toy. Just make sure you keep the pieces away from the dog. They like them too.

1 of 1 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

A pre-Christmas hit!
Posted 12/10/2013 by Lisa F.
Rating: 5

A great quality MADE IN USA building toy, easy enough for little ones (2-3) but still entertaining and challenging for older kids too! I purchased this as a Christmas gift for my 2-6 year old nephews, but decided to let my 6-9 year old kids try it out first, and they love it. They have requested a set of their own for Christmas. Plenty of pieces for several kids to build great creations separately or together....

Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)


McAfee SECURE sites help keep you safe from identity theft, credit card fraud, spyware, spam, viruses and online scams
Home | Shopping Cart | Help | Privacy Policy | Return Authorizations | Toy Blog | Coming Soon | Christmas Toys
Best Toys by Age | Birthday Gifts | Top Kids Toys | Toys on Sale | New Toys | Popular Toy Searches

Copyright © 2003-2014 Fat Brain Toys LLC. All rights reserved. Fat Brain Toys® is a registered service mark of Fat Brain Toys, LLC
Fat Brain Toys Offices
1405 N. 205th St., Ste. 120 Elkhorn, Nebraska USA 68022
Phone 1-800-590-5987
Omaha Toy Store
16909 Burke Street, Suite 131 Omaha, Nebraska 68118
Phone 402-504-6218
Overland Park/Kansas City Toy Store
5601 West 135th Street Overland Park, Kansas 66223
Opening May 2014!

  MacWeb02