Home > Toy Companies > Dowling Magnets > Electric Motor Generator Kit > Customer Reviews
Electric Motor Generator Kit
0

Customer reviews of Electric Motor Generator Kit by Dowling Magnets

Return to Electric Motor Generator Kit product information...

Electric Motor Generator Kit has been reviewed 25 times with an average rating of 4.12

Product review of Electric Motor Generator Kit
Posted 6/15/2006 - OTHER
Rating: 3

The kit did not come with the correct parts. Instead of a compass and sandpaper, it came with 2 compasses and no sandpaper. The compasses were not the same as the ones in the instruction booklet, so it was a little confusing.
Always smoothing out unforeseen rough spots and guiding you in the right direction - We contacted the manufacturer-Dowling Magnets for our customer. Dowling promptly sent a replacement kit to this individual.

19 of 21 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

Cool Kit
Posted 12/29/2009 by loeloe
Rating: 5

My husband was looking for a build-it-yourself electric motor kit as a Christmas present for our nine-year-old son. This not only fit the bill, but also included experiments and other building ideas. It was more than just "build an electric motor and watch it work". My husband and son spent some good "man time" building together. My son was all excited to be able to have generated a tenth of a volt with just wires and a magnet, and my husband was in his electrical engineer glory. drawing charts and waves by way of explanation.

13 of 13 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

Review of Electric Motor Generator Kit
Posted 2/11/2010 by Cyndi
Rating: 4

I gave this as a gift and additional things were needed to perform the experiments (i.e. paper clips, batteries, etc). I don't have a problem with this but would have liked to have known so I could have had a little bag with me with the additional items. We had taken it on a long plane ride and it was disappointing not to be able to do some of the fun stuff in the book.

12 of 12 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

Review for Electric Motor Generator Kit
Posted 4/20/2010 by Frank S. Dzielski
Rating: 1

The motor when constructed cannot be used as a motor because it does not produce enough torque and there is not way to connect a device to the motor. It is a toy that functions but it has no utility. The parts are very small not good for adult fingers. Buying a real motor and disassembling it would be a better choice. Motors come as single phase, multiphase this is a primitive device that has no function.
Too primitive? Our customer service is up to the minute! Please visit the Returns & Exchanges center for details. We promptly contacted our customer to assist.

17 of 25 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

Product review of Electric Motor Generator Kit
Posted 2/27/2012 by Norman Nelson - FRIEND
Rating: 3

Great tutorial into magnatism. But even as someone with experience with motors and generators I found the instructions lacking.

8 of 8 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

Review for Electric Motor Generator Kit
Posted 12/22/2006 - EDUCATOR
Rating: 3

Magnets are very useful for experimentation with kids, although the suggested experiments would make more sense for a college student. The electrical generator experiment is incredibly difficult to implement as suggested.

10 of 13 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

Information about Electric Motor Generator Kit
Posted 5/25/2008 by Lorin Sutton
Rating: 5

This was an excellent product to teach me and my children about both how electricity is created, but how to actually build a generator itself. The progressive experiments provided a clear learning path that was accentuated by the the clear and informative instructions for each exercise.

9 of 11 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

Awesome!
Posted 12/28/2009 by Tina Rippy
Rating: 5

This was a great product. Directions were easy to understand and quality of product was good.

8 of 9 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

Product review of Electric Motor Generator Kit
Posted 11/4/2010 by jo - GRANDPARENT
Rating: 5

A great learning toy for an 8 year old and his grampa to put together and learn from one generation to another! I dont know who is having more fun, the 72 year old or the 8 year old! an interactive toy in the days of computors is a great thing. Even better is the social connection it is making.

7 of 7 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

Review for Electric Motor Generator Kit
Posted 4/25/2006 by An upset parent
Rating: 1

The worst construction kit ever. If you think you want to experience the most unsatisfactory quality time with your child (just for a change, you know), this product is for you. The only thing that is valuable is the set of 6 neodymium magnets. You will also receive a booklet that looks like it was printed during the Great Depression. The quality of instructions, print, and pictures in it is low. Half of the projects are extremely primitive and not exciting. The packaged description is overloaded with lots of words of how electons move and field lines are directed. The quality of the materials provided is so poor that even the most exciting part - building a motor or a generator turns into a nightmare. Kids can read about these effects in much more colorful and interesting books, what is needed is an exciting project. Combining all of that, this product lacks pedagogical value. In fact, if there is a way to turn off an excited child from such subjects, it is to buy the products like this. The materials provided could not be more primitive. It looks like their creators never even thought of making sure that not even the process (forget the process), but the final product of their projects is at least remotely exciting.
The purchaser was offered a full refund as this product did not meet his expectations. We do appreciate hearing back from our customers as it helps us to decide what toys to carry on our site.

7 of 7 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

A rating of Electric Motor Generator Kit
Posted 1/4/2005 by Gary Schneider
Rating: 5

It's a great kit. It teaches both children & adults about how magnets can be used to generate electricity.

7 of 7 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

Kit
Posted 7/9/2008 by Johannes Schmal - OTHER
Rating: 5

Works well

10 of 14 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

Electric Motor/Generato
Posted 6/6/2005 by Roy Skillicorn
Rating: 5

Very well thought out kit. Really liked the fact that it built upon principles that demonstrated the building block concepts. Actually purchased two kits for my daughter and her friend for a science project in class. In the end, the final class project we a comsite of principles demonstrations...rather then the "final" project. Great company serving a valuable need in the market place.

7 of 8 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

Electric Motor/Generator
Posted 11/4/2005 by Paula Duray
Rating: 5

This is a great kit for any child interested in learning about motors and generators. Both my boys used ideas from the kit for their schools science fair projects.

5 of 6 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

Review for Electric Motor Generator Kit
Posted 9/20/2006 by Kelvin Jones
Rating: 1

This product did not meet my expectation. It was not very practical. I attempted to assemble the generator for my daughter's science project and I found it impossible to wind the coil for the generator. This should have been preassembled. After several attempts I managed to wind the coil around 800 times and when I finished it would not generate a current.
A replacement kit will arrive soon, Mr. Jones. Our regrets that the "Aarg!" factor was included in the first.

8 of 13 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

Electric Motor/Generator
Posted 1/4/2005 by Oliver
Rating: 4

my son received this product for christmas yesterday. the box alone excited him. it was the perfect gift. thanks

6 of 10 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

Fun!
Posted 12/25/2012 by Christine Freborg
Rating: 5

My son and his dad have really enjoyed working with this together!

2 of 2 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

Review for Electric Motor Generator Kit
Posted 3/21/2013 by Becky Hoffman
Rating: 5

What fun it was for Dad and son to spend a snowy Sunday with the magnet project and its several applications.

Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)


McAfee SECURE sites help keep you safe from identity theft, credit card fraud, spyware, spam, viruses and online scams
Home | Shopping Cart | Help | Privacy Policy | Return Authorizations | Toy Blog | Coming Soon | Christmas Toys
Best Toys by Age | Birthday Gifts | Top Kids Toys | Toys on Sale | New Toys | Popular Toy Searches

Copyright © 2003-2014 Fat Brain Toys LLC. All rights reserved. Fat Brain Toys® is a registered service mark of Fat Brain Toys, LLC
Fat Brain Toys Offices
1405 N. 205th St., Ste. 120 Elkhorn, Nebraska USA 68022
Phone 1-800-590-5987
Omaha Toy Store
16909 Burke Street, Suite 131 Omaha, Nebraska 68118
Phone 402-504-6218
Overland Park/Kansas City Toy Store
5601 West 135th Street Overland Park, Kansas 66223
Opening May 2014!

  MacWeb01