Home > Toy Companies > Dowling Magnets > Magnet Levitation Kit > Customer Reviews
Magnet Levitation Kit
0

3 Star reviews of Magnet Levitation Kit by Dowling Magnets

Return to Magnet Levitation Kit product information...

Magnet Levitation Kit has been reviewed 100 times with an average rating of 4.40

Good Set, Train Could Be Better
Posted 11/21/2007 by Avi Deitcher
Rating: 3

I bought he product to use as a demonstration of magnetism for my son's grade 3 science class (I am not a science teacher, just an involved parent). The set of magnets was good and varied, and the experiments interesting. The primary problem was the maglev train set. The train is the "crowning glory" of the set, and featured on the cover of the train. In the end, I got it to work, but not with ease. The set is composed of 5 blocks of wood one is the train, 4 are the tracks. Additionally, there are two long strips of magnet for the tracks, and two shorter ones for the train undercarriage. Finally, 6 plastic railings serve to keep the train centered (3 on each side). As you can imagine, 4 blocks+3 railings on each side+1 strip on each side, is not exactly even. Basically, you can put it together once and that is it. It would be much better if there were 4 blocks, 4 railings per side and 4 strips of magnet per side, to put it together. Second, the blocks do not stay together evenly. Considering how sensitive it is to the tracks being perfectly aligned end to end, some additional equipment to keep it aligned (e.g. hooks or clamps, or matched wood) would have been a great help. Finally, the train is highly sensitive to the width between the magnetic tracks, and the width of the plastic railings. Yet, few guides are available. A better solution would be slots for the rails, or perhaps something like magnets from the side to keep it centered. All in all, the kids had fun, and it worked reasonably. Still, I would prefer a better set.

11 of 11 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

My rating of Magnet Levitation Kit
Posted 12/12/2010 by Loretta Lasky
Rating: 3

All the parts were there but it doesn't work as well as I would like. The train does not move on its own and will not stay on the tracks.
We contacted our customer to let her know, a little tinkering with variables should do the trick. If not, our customer service team is on the fast track to help. Please visit the Returns & Exchanges center if a product is not all you believe it should be.

9 of 9 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

A rating of Magnet Levitation Kit
Posted 3/7/2006 by Melissa Ciavarella
Rating: 3

I thought that this set was going to be a little different. There doesn't seem to be many activities with the train itself. However, there are tons of activities with magnets. Also, I thought that it would be easier to build since it's a child's set, but it's pretty difficult and everything must be exact, which is not the easiest when you work with powerful magnets. I just wish there were more experiments that deal directly with the train.

8 of 8 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

Product review of Magnet Levitation Kit
Posted 2/4/2006 by Gopal Parakulam
Rating: 3

Magnets are good. The instruction manual is well written. We have missed a Compass in the shipment and we could not levitate the train and we could not balance the pencil.
We contacted Dowling Magnets and requested a compass for Mr. Parakulam. The compass is enroute to his home address.)

5 of 5 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

Levitating Train Kit
Posted 3/7/2006 by Robin Generoso
Rating: 3

Not too impressed with the product. We could have easily gathered these materials and made this on our own. The success of the levitation is questionable.

5 of 6 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

Review of Magnet Levitation Kit
Posted 3/11/2005 by Randolph A Meyer
Rating: 3

Delivery was 3 days past your predicted date. Had me wooried it wouldn't arrive in time for my daughter's science fair. I wish your instructions to read were easier to read for a 8 year old.

5 of 6 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

Very Basic Kit
Posted 3/4/2009 by Chirag N. Shah
Rating: 3

The kit consists of items that can be obtained at a hardware store. Only the book may be considered special. The set was not worth the money in my opinion.

6 of 9 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)


McAfee SECURE sites help keep you safe from identity theft, credit card fraud, spyware, spam, viruses and online scams
Home | Shopping Cart | Help | Privacy Policy | Return Authorizations | Toy Blog | Coming Soon | Christmas Toys
Best Toys by Age | Birthday Gifts | Top Kids Toys | Toys on Sale | New Toys | Popular Toy Searches

Copyright © 2003-2014 Fat Brain Toys LLC. All rights reserved. Fat Brain Toys® is a registered service mark of Fat Brain Toys, LLC
Fat Brain Toys Offices
1405 N. 205th St., Ste. 120 Elkhorn, Nebraska USA 68022
Phone 1-800-590-5987
Omaha Toy Store
16909 Burke Street, Suite 131 Omaha, Nebraska 68118
Phone 402-504-6218
Overland Park/Kansas City Toy Store
5601 West 135th Street Overland Park, Kansas 66223
Opening May 2014!

  MacWeb03