Home > Toy Companies > Educo / Hape Inc. > Bamboo Collection Contina > Customer Reviews
0

Customer reviews of by

Return to product information...

has been reviewed 24 times with an average rating of 3.96

Pretty Colors
Posted 6/6/2008 by Sandra Szumiloski
Rating: 3

The finish on these blocks is slippery, making it not so great for building. The colors are very pretty. I think the Kapla are really far superior for building.

8 of 9 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

Basically Colored Wooden Sticks
Posted 6/17/2008 by Matthew Loyd
Rating: 2

These are just colored bamboo sticks (like a shorter, thicker tongue depressor) They're just sticks that if you are really, really patient and meticulous, you could stack to resemble the product photo. On the positive side, the packaging is lovely. The sticks themselves are smooth and the paint colors are gorgeous. And you get a ton of them. But they're just sticks, which was disappointing to our family. We'd expected something that was easier to build and more fun to play with. My kid is happier playing with Legos, Tinker Toys and other better designed building toys.
Please note the additional photos provided for this product.

7 of 7 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

Beautiful, Fun, and Imaginative
Posted 8/11/2008 by Jillian Caci
Rating: 5

Great colors and limitless possibilities. My son loves these even though he's younger than the age range. I also love that it comes with a little brochure of suggestions for those of us adults who might need a little jump start for the imagination.

6 of 6 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

A rating of
Posted 5/14/2008
Rating: 5

Beautiful colors. Great quality.

6 of 6 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

Review for
Posted 5/5/2008 - EDUCATOR
Rating: 4

Beautiful, colorful, texturally satisfying. A little smaller than Kapla blocks in length. They work well with them when creating patterns and structures.

5 of 5 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

Terrific Creative Toy
Posted 4/23/2008 by Karen S
Rating: 5

I bought this toy for my niece for her 4th birthday. It was a huge hit! Everyone got involved in playing with the Bamboo tiles: my husband, my brother, my 3 year old daughter, and my nieces (ages 4 and 8). My 1 year old nephew enjoyed knocking down towers constructed from the tiles. The kids integrated the tiles into games that they were playing with other toys. I highly recommend this product. I will definitely give it as a gift again in the future.

5 of 5 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

Such A Great Toy
Posted 4/14/2008 by Liz Norton
Rating: 5

This is one of those toys that is based on such a simple concept: what can you do with a large set of small thin rectangles made of bamboo and only distinguished by color? The answer is anything you want. Our kids (ages 6 and 8) have used it for making a large domino wall, a house for Lego guys, an intricate ramp for cars... This is truly a set that will age with your child.

5 of 5 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

Review of
Posted 4/13/2008 by Diane
Rating: 4

Very creative. Colorful and fun. My son enjoys playing with them. He will enjoy these tiles for quite awhile I think.

5 of 5 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

Awesome!
Posted 4/3/2008 by Nicole Sutton - RELATIVE
Rating: 5

I am completely thrilled with the Bamboo blocks! The look on my nephew's face when he opened them was truly awesome! He loves that he can use his creativity to build anything he can think of. It's fun for us big kids, too! I am ordering a 2nd set for my house!

5 of 5 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

Great Toy, Very Versatile
Posted 10/7/2007 by Tabitha Ann Lehosky
Rating: 5

The picture gives the impression that the blocks are bonded in a U shape but each piece is separate. There are several different colors and several different shades of colors. There is a game you can play with these pieces called Contina or you can play 'falling domino effect' which is what my boys enjoy doing. However, there is a manual that shows you several designs that you can try to copy and this booklet also gives you several ideas on how you can start to make several ideas of your own. It s a very versatile gifts: play Contina, fall dominoes overs, designs patterns, or come up with your own ideas. A great idea anyway you play.

5 of 5 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

Product review of
Posted 9/30/2007 by Dan Battisti
Rating: 2

Since I am used to using and buying Kapla Blocks, I must say I was a bit disappointed. These are smaller and the colors are poorly done. I use them in my 6th grade class. The students seem to enjoy them, but even they commented on how these seemed "cheesier" than what we were used to. They still use them however. I guess you get what you pay for.

5 of 5 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

Great Building Tiles
Posted 6/22/2007 by Tamra Feito
Rating: 5

These Bamboo Tiles are great for fostering creative building and interactive play designs! Even Mom has had a fun playing with the set.

5 of 5 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

Great For The Price!
Posted 1/18/2007 by Lisa Palmer
Rating: 4

The kids never seem to have enough Kapla blocks to go around. These blocks are slightly smaller and are not of the same quality, but they are a great deal for the price. They still have a lot of play value, especially for the younger kids, and the colors are bright and fun!

5 of 5 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

Bamboo Collection Contina
Posted 12/21/2006 by Seiji Newman
Rating: 5

My daughter likes the Kapla blocks but the box is so big and the toy is expensive. I found this to be a great alternative. Plus, the colors are fun.

5 of 5 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

A rating of
Posted 12/29/2005 by Kristi
Rating: 5

What a great building toy! We love these!!The bamboo pieces are very durable and colorful! My sons (5 & 7) and I have spent many hours building so many fascinating shapes and structures with these. They are a great value and have endless possibilities. The picture is somewhat deceiving though, the pieces are not "C" shaped as they appear. They are like small, fat, flat sticks. To produce the picture shown you must balance one stick on top of two others. Fun for kids and adults alike!

5 of 5 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

Contina
Posted 2/12/2009 by M. Austin
Rating: 5

This is my son's second set of Bamboo Contina planks. He loves them and can build almost anything with them. He got his first set when he was six. He bought this set himself with his own money at age eight. When it arrived, he, along with my older son, quickly set to work building a Contina version of the Titantic! These blocks are so simple, yet so well-designed, they offer endless opportunities for the imaginative builder. Great product with limitless possibilities!

4 of 4 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

Product review of
Posted 4/30/2008 by J. Kevin Walker
Rating: 3

It would be helpful for younger children if they included ideas on what different things they can make.

4 of 5 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

A rating of
Posted 4/24/2008 by Traci
Rating: 3

The colors are very nice. I love that it is an open ended toy for young imaginations to take charge. I was disappointed that they are small and thin individual pieces. When pictured, they look like small letter 'U" shaped pieces or bridges. They are difficult to get to stand as pictured. It truly is a balancing act and for small hands on a 3 year old. There are so many of the pieces as well.

4 of 5 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

Rainbow Colored Bamboo Domino Set
Posted 4/8/2008
Rating: 2

I was actually shocked when I opened it and saw that each piece was about two inches high and that I was supposed to make the arch by using three of the pieces. What adult has the hand dexterity (and patience) to do that - let alone a child? I seriously considered sending the product back I was so disappointed but I put the toy - unused - in our basement. The colors are certainly pretty but each piece is so lightweight that it was hard to have it stand up.
Please note the additional images provided for this product.

4 of 5 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

A rating of
Posted 4/3/2008 by Virginia Berlando
Rating: 3

The toy is good for making various buildings. The pieces do not stand on their own too well. When trying to make one piece stand on top of two, they fall over.

4 of 5 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

Review for
Posted 7/4/2008 by Linda Pleven
Rating: 1

We were disappointed in the Contina Bamboo Collection. My 4 year old granddaughter is a master builder, (no dolls, no stuffed toys etc.). When I saw this product, I assumed they were arches. Well, not only are they not arches, but the most adept adult who's tried to make them stand up to construct those arches pictured on the cover failed dismally. Our granddaughter is totally disinterested in the strips because the colors are not up to her standards in terms of vividness of color.

5 of 10 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)


McAfee SECURE sites help keep you safe from identity theft, credit card fraud, spyware, spam, viruses and online scams
Home | Shopping Cart | Help | Privacy Policy | Return Authorizations | Toy Blog | Coming Soon | Christmas Toys
Best Toys by Age | Birthday Gifts | Top Kids Toys | Toys on Sale | New Toys | Popular Toy Searches

Copyright © 2003-2014 Fat Brain Toys LLC. All rights reserved. Fat Brain Toys® is a registered service mark of Fat Brain Toys, LLC
Fat Brain Toys Offices
1405 N 205th Street, Suite 120
Elkhorn, Nebraska 68022
Phone 1-800-590-5987
Omaha Toy Store
16909 Burke Street, Suite 131
Omaha, Nebraska 68118
Phone 402-504-6218
Overland Park/Kansas City Toy Store
5601 West 135th Street, Suite 2230
Overland Park, Kansas 66223
Phone 913-305-4894

  MacWeb01