Home > Toy Companies > Educo / Hape Inc. > Pallina > Customer Reviews
Pallina
0

Customer reviews of Pallina by Hape

Return to Pallina product information...

Pallina has been reviewed 20 times with an average rating of 4.25

Good, not great product
Posted 1/10/2012 by Kara Hanks
Rating: 4

I really wanted to love this product! My three and five year old love Kerplunk, but they can't play it by themselves because it takes them too long to get all of the sticks through those little holes and they get frustrated. I wanted something just like Kerplunk that they could set up themselves. While Pallina is really close to being a great toy, there are a couple of reasons it doesn't quite hit the mark. The good: True to all of FBT's products, Pallina is a beautiful, well-constructed toy. It has sturdy wooden sticks and the "marbles" are wooden balls about the size of a ping-pong ball. Everything is brightly colored and easy for small fingers to handle. The basket is like wicker with nice, big holes to push the sticks through. My three and five year old have no trouble getting the sticks all the way through the basket by themselves with little-to-no help from me. If they set it up themselves the game lasts a decent amount of time (~15 minutes) including set up time. The bad: while the sticks are easy to get through they're also very smooth. Because the holes of the basket are so big it's very easy for the sticks to just slide right out the other side if they're angled too much. I think I can solve this problem by just sanding the sticks down (or maybe carving small notches in them?), which is what I'm going to try. However, there also aren't quite enough sticks. Even with all of the sticks in if you don't have them packed closely together it's very easy for the marbles to drop right through when you put them in the top of the basket. The game comes with 20 sticks, but I really feel like it should come with 30 or even 40. I feel the same way about the wooden marbles. It comes with 16 marbles, but definitely needs more like 30. Because the basket is so big the marbles fall through fairly easily, which means the game is over quickly. For two pre-schoolers that's not necessarily a bad thing, but I really feel that they would play it more often if it took a tad longer. Overall I can't say I'd recommend this product to anyone with pre-schoolers. While it is beautiful and fun to play, the flaws I mentioned above keep it from being an outstanding toy. Kids between the ages of 6-9 would probable enjoy it more, but because of the problem of there not being enough sticks or marbles I'm afraid they'd just be easily bored by how quickly it's oever.

12 of 12 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

Pallina
Posted 3/15/2012
Rating: 4

Fun, interactive game. Great for spatial development and problem solving

6 of 6 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

Review of Pallina
Posted 6/17/2012
Rating: 4

Bought for kids ages 4-8. Still a bit too young.

5 of 6 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

Chris
Posted 4/5/2012 by Christine Hurley - GRANDPARENT
Rating: 4

I bought this product because of the varied ages of my grandchildren. They enjoy playing games when they come for a sleepover and I like games that challenge a mind. Pallina was fun and it was interesting to see how the boys laid out the sticks. We had a great time.

5 of 6 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

Fun game!
Posted 11/10/2012 by AKEY
Rating: 4

My kids are at the young end of the recommended ages, but they still enjoy this product. We do not play the game by the enclosed instructions but we still have a ton of fun. I guess my one small criticism is that the sticks are very smooth, therefore they have to be placed in the hourglass almost parallel to the ground. If you would try to place them at an angle, they will slip down. If there was a notch towards the end of the stick, then the could set at an angle. But, this is a fun product, it makes my kids think about cause & effect.

4 of 4 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

fun for the toddlers!!!
Posted 12/15/2011 by Beth Stannke
Rating: 5

My nephew loved this game. He plays it with his family and with his friends.

4 of 4 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

Family Fun!
Posted 2/4/2012 by Suzanne Jackson
Rating: 4

Great fun for the whole family. My kids keep wanting to play! It's also a quick game so they don't tire of it easily.

5 of 7 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

Chris
Posted 4/5/2012 by Christine Hurley - GRANDPARENT
Rating: 4

I bought this product because of the varied ages of my grandchildren. They enjoy playing games when they come for a sleepover and I like games that challenge a mind. Pallina was fun and it was interesting to see how the boys laid out the sticks. We had a great time.

4 of 5 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

Fun Game for All Ages
Posted 12/30/2012 by SARA DEAN
Rating: 5

What an ingenious game! The concept is simple and my daughter has created several different ways to play it, beyond the "rules" that came with it.

3 of 3 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

My rating of Pallina
Posted 1/29/2013 by Laura
Rating: 2

This product looks nice & is made well, but it is very hard to put the sticks in so that the balls actually stay put for any amount of time while the game is in process. The sticks also slide out unless they are positioned completely horizontal, making it very hard to setup. I bought it for my six year old, and unless I am very hands-on with it, he can't make this game work. We have used the sticks to play pick-up-sticks far more often than we have actually played the game Pallina. My 14 & 16 year old daughters even have trouble getting this game to cooperate! I really wouldn't recommend it. It is the only product I have ever purchased from Fat Brain Toys that was a disappointment.
If the sticks are giving you the slip, set things straight with a visit to the Returns & Exchanges Center. We assisted our customer promptly.

2 of 2 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

Product review of Pallina
Posted 12/27/2012 by MARINA MIREA - RELATIVE
Rating: 4

It is a very challenging and entertaining toy. We play it almost every day.

2 of 2 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

pallina
Posted 12/9/2012 by john nevulis - GRANDPARENT
Rating: 5

great for the younger ages

2 of 2 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

Gift for an 8 year old
Posted 10/12/2012 by Kristin DeWit
Rating: 2

It's okay, but the sticks fall out easily. I found it hard to get the balls to balance on the sticks without the sticks slipping out. I think the traditional plastic version works better.
Hint 1 - The closer the sticks, the better the balls balance. Hint 2 - We'll stick with you until your play needs are met! We assisted our customer promptly. Visit the Returns & Exchanges Center for details.

2 of 2 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

Children's director
Posted 4/1/2014 by Susan Edington
Rating: 5

I use this with large groups of kids, both for organized games and free play. It is very versatile and durable. The kids love it!

1 of 1 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

Pallina
Posted 12/27/2012 by Antoinette Stores
Rating: 5

Very good quality.

1 of 1 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)


McAfee SECURE sites help keep you safe from identity theft, credit card fraud, spyware, spam, viruses and online scams
Home | Shopping Cart | Help | Privacy Policy | Return Authorizations | Toy Blog | Coming Soon | Christmas Toys
Best Toys by Age | Birthday Gifts | Top Kids Toys | Toys on Sale | New Toys | Popular Toy Searches

Copyright © 2003-2014 Fat Brain Toys LLC. All rights reserved. Fat Brain Toys® is a registered service mark of Fat Brain Toys, LLC
Fat Brain Toys Offices
1405 N 205th Street, Suite 120
Elkhorn, Nebraska 68022
Phone 1-800-590-5987
Omaha Toy Store
16909 Burke Street, Suite 131
Omaha, Nebraska 68118
Phone 402-504-6218
Overland Park/Kansas City Toy Store
5601 West 135th Street, Suite 2230
Overland Park, Kansas 66223
Phone 913-305-4894

  MacWeb03