Home > Toy Companies > Elenco Electronics, Inc. > Frightened Grasshopper Solar Powered Bug > Customer Reviews
Frightened Grasshopper Solar Powered Bug
0

4 Star reviews of Frightened Grasshopper Solar Powered Bug by Elenco Electronics, Inc.

Return to Frightened Grasshopper Solar Powered Bug product information...

Frightened Grasshopper Solar Powered Bug has been reviewed 138 times with an average rating of 4.23

Review for Frightened Grasshopper Solar Powered Bug
Posted 6/25/2008 by Bernita W. Stuckey
Rating: 4

The frightened grasshopper was very easy to assemble. The instructions were simple and my 10yr old had no problem following them. The toy was smaller than I anticipated, but my child has enjoyed playing with it.

21 of 23 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

Review of Frightened Grasshopper Solar Powered Bug
Posted 6/5/2008 by Robyn Martichuski
Rating: 4

the frightened grasshopper is great. My duaghter loved putting it together and watching it work ing the sun. She also experimented and found that it does not work with indoor lighting.

19 of 22 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

Review for Frightened Grasshopper Solar Powered Bug
Posted 10/20/2009
Rating: 4

Very cute, but very small. It was well worth the money for the 'cool science' aspect, but is not a toy to be really played with; especially for younger children. We homeschool, though, so it will be an asset for solar energy lessons.

13 of 14 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

My rating of Frightened Grasshopper Solar Powered Bug
Posted 8/17/2009 by David Tester
Rating: 4

The product was smaller than I thought. It came with good instrucitons and worked!

11 of 12 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

A rating of Frightened Grasshopper Solar Powered Bug
Posted 3/4/2008 by Elizabeth Woods
Rating: 4

The product will be used by my high school students to teach elementary students about the forms of energy. We want to teach that solar energy can be used to generate electricity. Also that radiant energy from the sun can be transformed to electrical energy with the use of a PV cell and that a motor (the inard of this toy) transforms electrical energy into motion. This toy is a kid friendly way to get the message across. I think it will work really well! However, this toy needs to be super close to a light source to work and did not work at all with florescent bulbs.

10 of 10 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

My rating of Frightened Grasshopper Solar Powered Bug
Posted 1/6/2008 by Thomas Micale
Rating: 4

This toy is interesting and fun for my nephew, and stimulated conversation about solar power and its possibilities in the world.

8 of 9 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

My rating of Frightened Grasshopper Solar Powered Bug
Posted 8/11/2011 by Andrea Moncrease
Rating: 4

The solar grasshopper was a great technology item to add to our program, the children were able to assemble the product and enjoy the features.

7 of 7 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

Information about Frightened Grasshopper Solar Powered Bug
Posted 12/29/2009 by Janet
Rating: 4

Cute, but has a number of small parts, so I would not recommend if you have infants in the house.

7 of 7 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

My rating of Frightened Grasshopper Solar Powered Bug
Posted 1/3/2011 by L. Bexley
Rating: 4

Very cute little grasshopper! I gave this to my son for Christmas and he assembled it quickly and easily. Once it sat in the sun for a few seconds it started vibrating and moving. My son was mpressed to see how the sun makes it move.

5 of 5 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

A rating of Frightened Grasshopper Solar Powered Bug
Posted 12/3/2010
Rating: 4

Great project! I gave this to a 13 year old boy and he wouldn't put it down until it was completed. Definitely kept him engaged!

5 of 5 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

Review of Frightened Grasshopper Solar Powered Bug
Posted 1/7/2010 by Linda Whitmire - GRANDPARENT
Rating: 4

We had to wait for the sunshine for the bug to work. But when the sun came out my grandson had a great time playing with the cat.

5 of 5 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

Good Bug
Posted 1/2/2010 by Evelyn Alberding
Rating: 4

This is a cool little toy, but not really an enduring keepsake. It takes about 30 seconds to put together and then it does, as expected, jump when exposed to DIRECT, BRIGHT sunlight.

5 of 5 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

Cute grasshopper
Posted 12/29/2009
Rating: 4

Cute holiday gadget! Smaller than expected, but very cute and entertaining.

5 of 5 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

Fun little bug
Posted 12/29/2009 by Jennefer P
Rating: 4

I got this for my 5 year old daughter after she saw it in the Fat Brain Toys newspaper and requested it on her Christmas list. She loves bugs and anything with cute wiggly eyes. You have to assemble it - which was really simple - but i had to do it becasue the parts were way too small for her. Supposed to use it on a sunny day - which it was cloudy out - so we put him next to a light bulb instead & it worked! It vibrates and moves around when the heat from the lamp hits it. She though it was super cool & loved it. Cant wait to try it outside in the sun. Really fun way to teach kids about solar power! Only suprise was it was much smaller than I thought - like the size of a sugar packet. We put him in a little plastic box so he doesnt get lost or broken.

5 of 5 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

Information about Frightened Grasshopper Solar Powered Bug
Posted 12/29/2009 by tracey bowen
Rating: 4

Fun to play with, but bug needs a lot of light to activate. Directions only tell you how to put it together, not how to operate it after it's completed. Overall good value for the price.

5 of 5 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

Product review of Frightened Grasshopper Solar Powered Bug
Posted 12/25/2009 by grandma mary
Rating: 4

Purchased this toy as Christmas gift for eight year old grandson. With his Dad supervising and giving a few verbal suggestions, Jacob assemble the bug in a couple of minutes. On a sunny window sill the bug took a minute or so to "charge" the solar cell and began trembling and emitting sounds. Jacob was happy with the performance and experimented with different light sources. We expect that his cat will also find the bug entertaining! This is well constructed and performs as advertised. It remains to be seen how long the novelty will last. I expected the bug to be small, after reading others' reviews. I hope it will not be lost underfoot and smashed or mauled by cat.

5 of 5 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

Great Grasshopper!
Posted 12/23/2009 by Rebecah Freeling - RELATIVE
Rating: 4

My 10 year old neice loved this and she and her mom had a great time putting it together.

5 of 5 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

A rating of Frightened Grasshopper Solar Powered Bug
Posted 12/18/2009 by Danielle Eballar
Rating: 4

it was cute, funny, and unique.

5 of 5 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

Information about Frightened Grasshopper Solar Powered Bug
Posted 12/15/2009 by Jason V. McBride
Rating: 4

A little smaller than expected, but very fun and the recipient loved it and my daughter wanted one for herself.

5 of 5 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

My rating of Frightened Grasshopper Solar Powered Bug
Posted 12/14/2009 by mark raymond
Rating: 4

Interesting toy! Fun to put together.

5 of 5 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

Frightened Grasshopper
Posted 12/9/2009 by J. Patrick Burns
Rating: 4

This is a great toy for Science minded kids. It's simple, inexpensive, and fun.

5 of 5 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

neat toy for kids
Posted 6/9/2009
Rating: 4

The grasshopper only hops is fairly strong light, and it pulses on/off. The kids I gave it to liked it a lot. It's not the sturdiest thing in the world, but it's fine for

5 of 5 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

Excellent
Posted 3/17/2009 by Sandra Billmyer
Rating: 4

Very fun and easy to put together. My 8 year old daughter found it and assembled it on her own without us realizing it. She had no trouble and was able to put it to the test after 20 minutes. It's been a great learning tool and she will be using it for an upcoming science project.

5 of 5 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

Satisfied
Posted 12/5/2009 by J.
Rating: 4

Bought as a gift, nephew enjoyed.

5 of 6 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

Grasshopper Solar bug
Posted 12/4/2009 by Patricia Layne
Rating: 4

Looks like it could be another favorite gift.

5 of 6 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

A rating of Frightened Grasshopper Solar Powered Bug
Posted 12/26/2011 by Charity Nuckolls
Rating: 4

Really educational toy.Love how it is solar powered!

4 of 4 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

Information about Frightened Grasshopper Solar Powered Bug
Posted 12/23/2011 by Kerry Bruce
Rating: 4

Bought this for my 11-year old nephew. He was able to put it together and getting working right away. Really enjoyed it.

4 of 4 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

Product review of Frightened Grasshopper Solar Powered Bug
Posted 12/30/2010 by Deanna Brassington - GRANDPARENT
Rating: 4

This is a good toy for learning about solar energy. My 10 yr. old grandson easily constructed it. The only hitch was that the sun coming in the window (Michigan) is at too low of an angle to activate it on its feet. He had to hold it in his hand on its side before it would vibrate. The lights we tried on it weren't strong enough to activate it. We'll have to try a stronger light.

4 of 4 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

Grasshopper fun
Posted 12/29/2010 - RELATIVE
Rating: 4

Good product, perfect as a gift.

4 of 4 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

My rating of Frightened Grasshopper Solar Powered Bug
Posted 12/27/2010 by Tara Eng
Rating: 4

Pretty neat. But after it's all put together and we see it working, there's not much else to do with it.

4 of 4 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

Great Toy and Teaching Tool
Posted 12/28/2009 by Qin Cai
Rating: 4

It took a bit effort to assemble. It's quite obvious that the bug vibrates under the direct sun and stops immediately once we block the sun. The vibration is simple, it will be better it can actually hops (my 6 year old's comment).

4 of 4 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

My rating of Frightened Grasshopper Solar Powered Bug
Posted 12/29/2011 by Linnea Nelson
Rating: 4

This toy was cool. My 10 yr old loves putting things together and solar power amazes him. He put it together in a snap.

4 of 5 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

Information about Frightened Grasshopper Solar Powered Bug
Posted 1/2/2013 by DONIVAN HUWALDT
Rating: 4

The grasshopper got lots of play initially by all. It was still one of the top toys that both kids, & adults were still doing the next day. I'm pretty sure it wil not be forgotten.

3 of 3 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

Review for Frightened Grasshopper Solar Powered Bug
Posted 11/18/2012
Rating: 4

My son got this for a science fair assignment. Even after that was over he continues to play with the bug.

3 of 3 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

A rating of Frightened Grasshopper Solar Powered Bug
Posted 9/11/2012 by Patricia Henzel - GRANDPARENT
Rating: 4

Love it.... my grandson loves it and i love that he is able to understand the energy derived from the sun.

3 of 3 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

Product review of Frightened Grasshopper Solar Powered Bug
Posted 2/2/2010 by Rex Harvey - OTHER
Rating: 4

Cute product. Movement is somewhat disappointing. Only random. I think if you angled the legs correctly, it move move forward. 10 year old might be able to construct it.

5 of 8 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

Review for Frightened Grasshopper Solar Powered Bug
Posted 5/3/2010
Rating: 4

Looks very sweet, although won't know for sure my opinion for some time. The item is a stocking stuffer for Christmas. Trying to think ahead!

6 of 11 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

My rating of Frightened Grasshopper Solar Powered Bug
Posted 11/30/2009 by Janice Fontaine - RELATIVE
Rating: 4

sorry but this was purchased as a Christmas gift and have not used yet

6 of 11 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

Review of Frightened Grasshopper Solar Powered Bug
Posted 12/1/2009
Rating: 4

Product was as expected from Fat Brain Toys.

5 of 9 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

Review for Frightened Grasshopper Solar Powered Bug
Posted 7/26/2010
Rating: 4

We have not put the frog together yet. I ordered it early for a Christmas present. My kids were excited when they saw this product and the frog that could be put together. I look forward to watching and helping my kids put together the frog and the grasshopper after Christmas.

6 of 13 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)


McAfee SECURE sites help keep you safe from identity theft, credit card fraud, spyware, spam, viruses and online scams
Home | Shopping Cart | Help | Privacy Policy | Return Authorizations | Toy Blog | Coming Soon | Christmas Toys
Best Toys by Age | Birthday Gifts | Top Kids Toys | Toys on Sale | New Toys | Popular Toy Searches

Copyright © 2003-2014 Fat Brain Toys LLC. All rights reserved. Fat Brain Toys® is a registered service mark of Fat Brain Toys, LLC
Fat Brain Toys Offices
1405 N 205th Street, Suite 120
Elkhorn, Nebraska 68022
Phone 1-800-590-5987
Omaha Toy Store
16909 Burke Street, Suite 131
Omaha, Nebraska 68118
Phone 402-504-6218
Overland Park/Kansas City Toy Store
5601 West 135th Street, Suite 2230
Overland Park, Kansas 66223
Phone 913-305-4894

  MacWeb02