Home > Toy Companies > Elenco Electronics, Inc. > Frightened Grasshopper Solar Powered Bug > Customer Reviews
Frightened Grasshopper Solar Powered Bug
0

5 Star reviews of Frightened Grasshopper Solar Powered Bug by Elenco Electronics, Inc.

Return to Frightened Grasshopper Solar Powered Bug product information...

Frightened Grasshopper Solar Powered Bug has been reviewed 138 times with an average rating of 4.23

Solar Grasshopper Fun Teaching Tool
Posted 8/21/2009 by Tracy Peterson
Rating: 5

This product was given to my kids by their grandparents. It was assembled by my 11 year old son and enjoyed by both children (my daughter is 6). As soon as it gets in the sunlight it vibrates in the palm of the hand, and stops immediately when you walk into the shade. I took it to my daughter's kindergarten last spring and the children had a great time taking turns with it on the playground, holding it flat in the palm of their hands. The teacher liked it so much that I ordered one for him to have for his classroom this year. Really cool!

37 of 44 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

Frightened Grasshopper
Posted 10/20/2008 by Michele Adornetto - RELATIVE
Rating: 5

I really love this little bug. Its adorable and my nephew loved it. It ended up being perfect for a little family gift exchange. Thanks so much and I was so excited to see all the other educational products you sell.

31 of 36 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

GRASSHOPPER
Posted 9/17/2008 by MARLANA VENUS
Rating: 5

I gave it to my son last night and I was surprised how small it was but it was really cute. He really enjoyed putting it together and really enjoyed taking it outside and seeing it work! Even the neighbor kids enjoyed it.

17 of 20 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

great educational toy
Posted 6/9/2009 by Tara Henrichon
Rating: 5

I purchased this as a demonstration toy for the nature center that I work at. We used it recently at a community event and the children and adults alike loved watching it (and the solar robot, and hopping solar frog) jump around -- and sometimes off --- the table they were set up on. Many visitors to the Fair asked for the website they could order it from and we happily passed it on!

15 of 16 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

Information about Frightened Grasshopper Solar Powered Bug
Posted 1/28/2010
Rating: 5

I bought this for my 10 year old daughter's science fair project. She was able to put it together herself. As soon as we took it outside it started to jump around in her hand. She is enjoying this project!

13 of 14 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

Delights young kids
Posted 1/3/2010 by ROBERT B THOMPSON
Rating: 5

This model was simple to assemble in 5 or ten minutes. I bought two and I assembled one while our grand-niece of 6 years assembled another while watching my moves. She and her sister (age 4) were delighted with the result. Lots of giggling attracted the interest of their parents and they were charmed as well. Its a simple toy. Held their immediate attention for another five or ten minutes after the assembly. But I expect they will return to play with it when their friends come over to play.

12 of 12 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

My rating of Frightened Grasshopper Solar Powered Bug
Posted 6/20/2011 by Susan Rich
Rating: 5

This was a birthday gift for a 10-year-old boy. When he opened it, he was very excited about the concept as were all the kids - boys & girls - who attended the party.

11 of 12 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

Grasshopper Solar Powered Bug
Posted 10/30/2010 by Kim Adams
Rating: 5

My son had fun putting int together and learning about solar energy

11 of 12 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

Review of Frightened Grasshopper Solar Powered Bug
Posted 7/16/2008 by Rafael Mora - TEACHER
Rating: 5

Excelent, funny,...

14 of 19 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

A Fun Solar Wonder
Posted 4/23/2008 by Samantha Crow
Rating: 5

This grasshopper trembles like crazy. He has quite a lot of power for a little guy! Quick to assemble. Great for a few minutes of fun. Works through a sunny window and in bright artificial light. Cute, too.

9 of 10 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

Super Fun Grasshopper!
Posted 1/30/2008 by Nina
Rating: 5

Fun little project. Great idea! Very cool solar powered thing.

9 of 10 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

Review for Frightened Grasshopper Solar Powered Bug
Posted 12/29/2009 by Margaret Parker
Rating: 5

grandkids and their parents having alot of fun with the toys

7 of 8 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

Great Easter gift!!
Posted 4/9/2012 by Robin Moldenhauer
Rating: 5

Gave one of these to each of our kids for Easter....Really cool and teaches them about the use of Solar power versus batteries or electricity....

6 of 6 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

Frightened Grasshopper Solar Powered Bug
Posted 2/6/2009 by Candace Zaugg
Rating: 5

This was part of a gift certificate for my 13 yr old son from my parents. He had a blast assembling the little grasshopper. When he brings it out to play with - his younger brothers always get a kick out of how the grasshopper trembles near any light. A very ingenious toy!

6 of 6 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

Product review of Frightened Grasshopper Solar Powered Bug
Posted 2/23/2011 by Daniel McManaman
Rating: 5

haven't given it to my grandson yet

7 of 9 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

Review for Frightened Grasshopper Solar Powered Bug
Posted 11/11/2009 by Patrick Oliver
Rating: 5

Simple, fun. Great!

7 of 9 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

Review for Frightened Grasshopper Solar Powered Bug
Posted 12/10/2009 by Barbara DeSerres
Rating: 5

Very quirky, just the thing for a very bright 9 years old.

6 of 7 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

My rating of Frightened Grasshopper Solar Powered Bug
Posted 1/2/2012 by nicole murray
Rating: 5

My 10 year old daughter specifically requested something she could assemble with her retired engineer grandfather. They both enjoyed the assembly and were pleased when it buzzed in the sunlight.

5 of 5 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

Product review of Frightened Grasshopper Solar Powered Bug
Posted 12/28/2011 by Christine VanSlyke
Rating: 5

This toy provided the nine year old recipient with an opportunity to build his own solar powered toy within minutes and without assistance or frustration. The glow of completion added to the enchantment of the cute little creature and the solar powered feature was educational for both children and adults.

5 of 5 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

A rating of Frightened Grasshopper Solar Powered Bug
Posted 6/6/2011 by lisa king
Rating: 5

My grandson was very excited to get this and begin putting it together and playing with it!

5 of 5 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

Cool little bug
Posted 1/3/2011
Rating: 5

Easy to put together and cool to operate!

5 of 5 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

Great fun
Posted 12/28/2009 - GRANDPARENT
Rating: 5

Do this when the sun is out! It is suprisingly easy to put together, but don't do it on a cloudy day or if you can't find a 100 watt light bulb. We will certainly buy another!

5 of 5 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

Fun and educational toy
Posted 1/23/2010 by Geoff
Rating: 5

We love this bug! It was easy to assemble and clearly demonstrates to children how one can obtain energy from the sun. Note that multi-pane/low-E glass can reduce the Sun's energy enough to prevent the bug from working, so use a strong interior light, open the window, or go outside!

6 of 8 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

Product review of Frightened Grasshopper Solar Powered Bug
Posted 1/16/2010 by Robin Nogiewich
Rating: 5

Fun and easy to put together. Works very well indoors with a flashlight. This is a great science project for anyone fascinated with solar power.

5 of 6 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

A Hit
Posted 1/15/2010 by Patricia Brannon - GRANDPARENT
Rating: 5

This solar powered bug kit was a Christmas gift for our 9 year old home-schooled grandson. He was excited when he opened it and wanted to start putting it together right away. Even his younger sister got in on the action. This was a grat cooperative activity for the two of them. Directions well written and assembly no problem for them.

5 of 6 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

Very fun
Posted 12/20/2009
Rating: 5

My 5 year old son loves this bug. It was easy to put together and great to see in action.

5 of 6 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

Information about Frightened Grasshopper Solar Powered Bug
Posted 12/19/2009 by Marcio Ubiratan de Almeida Rosa
Rating: 5

I liked, it´s is a very interesting.

5 of 6 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

Product review of Frightened Grasshopper Solar Powered Bug
Posted 12/18/2009 by Corinne Odermatt
Rating: 5

cute bug! Works great!

5 of 6 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

My rating of Frightened Grasshopper Solar Powered Bug
Posted 12/17/2009 by Linda O'Neal - GRANDPARENT
Rating: 5

The solar grasshopper is for my grandson who is 8 and loves things like this. I would have loved to get this as a gift.

5 of 6 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

Great toy for the Kids!
Posted 12/11/2009 by Sally Glausen
Rating: 5

I ordered this toy for my nephew- he asked for it! I was impressed with the educational aspect of the toy, he was more impressed with the "bug look."

5 of 6 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

They are Christmas Presents - Not yet tested
Posted 12/10/2009 by Elaine Steward
Rating: 5

Sorry, but I won't have a report until after Christmas. Feel free to contact me then.

5 of 6 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

Great Looking Toy/Project!
Posted 12/9/2009 by Carrie Piccard
Rating: 5

We haven't played with this because it is a gift for a cousin - but the idea of this toy is amazing and I like that it is an activity for an adult and child to do together!

5 of 6 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

Frightened Grasshopper Solar Powered Bug
Posted 12/7/2009 by Salie Godfrey
Rating: 5

We haven't yet opened it but it looks fun!

5 of 6 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

fun
Posted 11/8/2009 by David Taulbut - GRANDPARENT
Rating: 5

My grand children and I had fun putting these robotic toys together I only wish they had something like this when I was a child now I’m Waiting for you to offer the hex Bug Nano ….

5 of 6 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

Frightened Grasshopper Solar Powered Bug
Posted 5/24/2009 - GRANDPARENT
Rating: 5

6 yr old grandson was intrigued with it, and happliy played with it most of the day. Thanks!

5 of 6 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

super cool
Posted 5/15/2009 by Rebecca - FRIEND
Rating: 5

I bought this for a friends 8 year old son and he loves it. It was easy for him to put together and really captures his attention.

5 of 6 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

Didn't even get to try it
Posted 5/14/2009 by Lisa Song
Rating: 5

As soon as we opened the box, my son pulled a little too strongly on the blue and red wires and detached them from the solar panel body. Unfortunately, we didn't even get to make the little grasshopper. It looked pretty cool though. Wish we could have tried it out.

5 of 6 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

A rating of Frightened Grasshopper Solar Powered Bug
Posted 4/13/2009 by willie ericson - RELATIVE
Rating: 5

What a find. It was very easy to put together, the instructions were well illustrated.

5 of 6 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

A rating of Frightened Grasshopper Solar Powered Bug
Posted 1/26/2011 by Jane Klassen
Rating: 5

What fun! The recipient (9yr old) was able to put this together completely on his own. It makes everyone laugh when it is powered up.

4 of 4 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

A rating of Frightened Grasshopper Solar Powered Bug
Posted 12/28/2010 by Stephanie Blake
Rating: 5

My grandson received it on Christmas and went straight to the table and put it together. He absolutely loved it!

4 of 4 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

Product review of Frightened Grasshopper Solar Powered Bug
Posted 1/12/2010 by Linda - GRANDPARENT
Rating: 5

My grandson loved this!

4 of 4 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

Great toy
Posted 1/12/2010 - RELATIVE
Rating: 5

I bought this as a birthday present for my nephew (7yrs old) he absolutely loved it. He couldn't wait to get it out of the package and start building it. I have to admit it was so cute I was very tempted to keep it for my self.

4 of 4 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

Just What We Needed
Posted 1/11/2010 by Michele B
Rating: 5

We purchased this product to use in a science fair project at my son's school. My eleven year old son enjoyed putting the grasshopper together and it made his science fair project lots of fun. In fact, he giggled all the way through it! It's refreshing to see an educational toy bring a smile to a child's face as he/she learns about solar, electrical and kinetic energy. This product is highly recommended.

4 of 4 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

My rating of Frightened Grasshopper Solar Powered Bug
Posted 12/29/2009 by Mary Lager - GRANDPARENT
Rating: 5

This toy was fascinating to my 10 year old grandson. He was amazed at the cause and effect of sunlight and electric light on the grasshopper.

4 of 4 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

Frightened Grasshopper Solar Powered Bug
Posted 12/27/2009 by Monica L. Perri
Rating: 5

easy to build and fun to watch it vibrate. everyone really liked it. You do need very bright light though to make it move, but it works well and is surprisingly durable.

4 of 4 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

Review for Frightened Grasshopper Solar Powered Bug
Posted 10/13/2009 by George Oberlender
Rating: 5

principles of solar power

8 of 13 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

not received yet???
Posted 12/14/2009 by Chris Lowe
Rating: 5

I have not received the product as of today (12/14). Please look into why this email was sent, but no product

5 of 7 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

Information about Frightened Grasshopper Solar Powered Bug
Posted 12/14/2009 by Dee Kinney
Rating: 5

This is a Christmas gift, so I haven't really seen it out of the box, yet.

5 of 7 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

Product review of Frightened Grasshopper Solar Powered Bug
Posted 12/2/2009 by Mindy Thomas
Rating: 5

Wonderful toy for my 8 year old son.

5 of 7 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

Cute toy
Posted 5/15/2011
Rating: 5

Simple toy, but great one! My four year old loves it

4 of 6 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

Review of Frightened Grasshopper Solar Powered Bug
Posted 12/22/2013
Rating: 5

I can't say what kind of "play value" the grasshopper has, because I give these to executives and engineers. I will say they stop me to say how much they enjoyed the gift and how excited they got when it started hopping around. I always suggest they put it in a small bowl so it doesn't hop off the desk and fly apart.

1 of 1 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

Review of Frightened Grasshopper Solar Powered Bug
Posted 9/30/2012 by Joan Hanley
Rating: 5

It is a purchase for Christmas. Don't have any comment yet

2 of 5 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

A rating of Frightened Grasshopper Solar Powered Bug
Posted 10/24/2011 by carol foss
Rating: 5

Haven't received the product yet!!

4 of 16 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)


McAfee SECURE sites help keep you safe from identity theft, credit card fraud, spyware, spam, viruses and online scams
Home | Shopping Cart | Help | Privacy Policy | Return Authorizations | Toy Blog | Coming Soon | Christmas Toys
Best Toys by Age | Birthday Gifts | Top Kids Toys | Toys on Sale | New Toys | Popular Toy Searches

Copyright © 2003-2014 Fat Brain Toys LLC. All rights reserved. Fat Brain Toys® is a registered service mark of Fat Brain Toys, LLC
Fat Brain Toys Offices
1405 N 205th Street, Suite 120
Elkhorn, Nebraska 68022
Phone 1-800-590-5987
Omaha Toy Store
16909 Burke Street, Suite 131
Omaha, Nebraska 68118
Phone 402-504-6218
Overland Park/Kansas City Toy Store
5601 West 135th Street, Suite 2230
Overland Park, Kansas 66223
Phone 913-305-4894

  MacWeb02