Home > Toy Companies > Erector (Meccano) > Erector Build & Play Easy Bucket > Customer Reviews
0

Customer reviews of by

Return to product information...

has been reviewed 93 times with an average rating of 4.44

Erector Build And Play
Posted 7/19/2009 by Mary Murphy - GRANDPARENT
Rating: 2

Not appropriate for a 5 year old. The instructions are too complicated. The pieces, bolts and nuts did not readily hold together. If you want a toy to share with a child, this is great. If you expect a 5 year old to do this unassisted, not so great.

21 of 22 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

Review for
Posted 12/30/2008 by Luann Miller - RELATIVE
Rating: 5

My nephew loves it! He gets to build things with Daddy & Uncle and use his imagination. It is just too cool!

13 of 13 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

A rating of
Posted 11/4/2009 by Rebecca A. May
Rating: 5

thank you for providing such a selection for little boys. It is so hard sometimes to shop for little boys when you are looking for toys that are "boyish" but yet not with monsters and all that yucky stuff that seems to get deemed as a boy toy these days. I believe this company promotes toys for boys that are wholesome and I don't have to worry that the toy will come with Hulk on it or some other character that does not teach the values we believe in. thank you Fat Brain toys for having a huge selection of toys for boys!!

16 of 21 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

Erector Set
Posted 12/23/2008 by Barbara J. - GRANDPARENT
Rating: 4

A bit difficult without parents assistance but the pieces are sturdy and the screwdriver and wretch are perfect for little hands.

11 of 11 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

Erector Build & Play Easy Bucket
Posted 7/7/2010 by erichardson@mindworks.com - GRANDPARENT
Rating: 5

My four-year-old grandson loves it. He likes one of his parents to help him but, in time, I think he will be doing it himself. He now wants the mechanical bucket that compliments the Build and Play. I said 'Yes' when he can follow the instructions on his own. Wonderful learning tool. Wish there were more pieces so he could display his accomplishments and still be able to build more.

10 of 10 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

A rating of
Posted 4/27/2010 by Sanjiv Sarwate
Rating: 4

We were thrilled to find this product. Our four year old daughter has recently expressed an interest in machines, a welcome departure from the princess stuff. This beginner set seemed perfect to stimulate her interest. The only reason I give this four stars instead of five is that the included booklet only gives plans for some of the machines shown on the cover. While I understand that the set is meant to encourage open-ended play, it would be nice to have the plans for at least the models shown on the box.

10 of 11 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

Lots of fun!
Posted 8/31/2009 by Catherine Opela
Rating: 4

We purchased this product for our nephew who enjoys building. This set offers the child the chance to build something they can later play with so there's a sense of accomplishment and then the fun of playing with it afterwards. Lots of pieces for lots of building options. And great quality, too!

10 of 12 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

Erector build
Posted 3/12/2009 by Mary Beth Brandenburg - RELATIVE
Rating: 5

just as i expected---great quility

10 of 12 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

Erector Set
Posted 10/18/2010 by Janette Smith - GRANDPARENT
Rating: 5

This was much nicer than the old erector set. Perfect for the younger child.

8 of 8 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

Review of
Posted 11/30/2009 by Linda Wooden
Rating: 5

Perfect hands on toy for my four year old son to play with. Dad grew up with Erector sets and I his son to play with things other than the computer and video games. This is perfect for the smaller builder and he will have plenty of help from his older sister building with it. Thanks so much!

8 of 8 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

A rating of
Posted 9/27/2011 by Jennifer Printz
Rating: 5

This is a great introductory building set with a lot of versatility. Our son was very excited to construct the different vehicles with dad. With time, I think he will be able to do it himself. Great toy.

7 of 7 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

Product review of
Posted 12/28/2010
Rating: 3

For an early 4 year old, it is a bit too complex for him to put things together. However, the more he plays with it, the more he can do with it. I anticipate that within a few weeks or a month, he will be building regularly with it.

7 of 7 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

Pretty good
Posted 11/23/2009
Rating: 4

Given that this toy is targeted towards kids 5+, I shouldn't have been too surprised that my precocious 3-year old wasn't as interested in it as my 7-year old. I would've given this toy five stars if there were a greater variety of set/pieces that allowed children to make a wider variety of things.

7 of 7 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

Looks nice but...
Posted 1/13/2011
Rating: 2

The set looks great but...the plastic nuts and screws won't tighten very well. Whatever you build falls apart. My son who is 5 can't build with this yet. We will keep it for awhile and see if we can do better with it. The bucket with the dividers is great.
Here's the clincher. If it's easy to put together, it's generally equally easy to take apart. Young children who find pure fun in putting pieces and parts together love Erector Build & Play sets. Kids who expect their self-created plastic Erector bulldozer to push heavy stuff reliably develop new patience for imperfection. We offered our customer a return or exchange. Please visit the Returns & Exchanges center for details.

7 of 8 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

A rating of
Posted 12/27/2010 by Cynthia Hotze - GRANDPARENT
Rating: 4

This one was more difficult for our 5 yr old grandson. Definitely needed help. Since the pictures of projects were 3-D, it was much harder for him to figure them out.

7 of 8 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

Disappointed
Posted 8/16/2012 by Kimberly Smith - GRANDPARENT
Rating: 2

My 5 year old son loved the toy, however, the parts loosened up and needed constant tightening. We would build a project and it would fall apart. We returned the toy.
Plastic Erector sets are easier to put together -therefore, tend to loosen more easily with play. It's a cinch to get help if a product isn't a perfect fit. Please visit the Returns & Exchanges center for details.

6 of 6 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

Review of
Posted 8/14/2011 by Rebecca Hampton
Rating: 5

This is a terrific beginner erector set. The instructions are based on images of the parts, which helps the youngest builders. The finished products are much larger in size than I was expecting, which my 4 year old appreciated. Especially liked the "robot."

6 of 6 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

My rating of
Posted 5/7/2010 by Tracy Jackway
Rating: 5

This was purchased for one of my 3 year old twins who is into unscrewing and taking apart everything. At this point this is definitely too challenging for him to do alone, but working together (including his brother) we are all having fun building the many different "machines." Once we get the hang of all of the pieces and how they work together, we'll explore creating our own. I'm excited by this toy's potential!

6 of 6 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

Constructor
Posted 3/11/2010 by Mazol Abdurakhmanov
Rating: 5

I am very satisfied with the product. My 3 year old son loves constructor toys. It is great to be played with other children. Good for creativity plus learning colors.

6 of 6 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

erector build & play
Posted 12/28/2009 by jolynn
Rating: 4

Love the product! My 4 1/2 year old sons loves creating "imagination" items using the parts! he enjoys the carry case although it is a little hard for him to get shut. Using the descriptions they have to build items is interesting-- as they are quite hard for even adults to build. All and all a great purchase and I would get it again.

6 of 6 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

Follow-up on Your Order?
Posted 12/15/2009 by Rigoberto ochoa
Rating: 4

It has a beauty package, awakens the imagination, develops coordination

6 of 6 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

GREAT TOY
Posted 11/28/2009 by Angie Weeks
Rating: 4

A LITTLE DIFFICULT UNTIL THEY GET THE HANG OF IT BUT AN A+ MY BOYS LOVE THIS!!

6 of 6 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

Review for
Posted 1/5/2010 by patricia p
Rating: 5

Both my 6 yr olds loved it - one girl and one boy. With help they can build the easier designs and are learning how to read the instruction pictures. They like assembling the pieces to make alphabet letters too.

6 of 7 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

A rating of
Posted 5/11/2009 - GRANDPARENT
Rating: 5

Excellent toy, which really engages a child's concentration and fine skills.

6 of 7 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

Surprisingly fun
Posted 12/29/2011 by Christine - RELATIVE
Rating: 4

Easy carrying case, great instructions on putting things together, but some of the pictured items aren't fully functional. For instance, we built the dune buggy but the wheels are covered with rubber. Makes it difficult to move the car in any fashion. While he was disappointed in that, we did enjoy building it together. And plan on constructing the other listed items soon.

5 of 5 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

My rating of
Posted 12/28/2011 by Heather
Rating: 5

My husband helped my 5 year old put this together. It is holding up well with a destructive 3 year old!

5 of 5 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

Information about
Posted 8/17/2011 by Eileen Funk - GRANDPARENT
Rating: 5

I bought this for my three year old grandson. He loves taking things apart and putting things back together. His Dad is an Engineer. This is advanced for his age, however with adult guidance and interaction he does very well with it. Getting the parts needed.....following the picture directions and creating his masterpiece! Product is well made. Directions booklet is easy to follow.

5 of 5 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

Birthday present for nephew
Posted 6/27/2011 by Lara Mortimer
Rating: 4

Great starter set. Very similar to what we had as kids.

5 of 5 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

Great item!
Posted 5/1/2011 by Paula Eifler - RELATIVE
Rating: 5

This toy was a birthday gift for my niece's son, and he loved it! And so did his dad! ;) He is very into tools and this was a great project for him to tackle. Needed help from his dad, but they both enjoyed working on it!

5 of 5 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

Good Introductory Build Set
Posted 2/27/2011 by Edward Villacres
Rating: 4

My 5 year old daughter likes this very much. She was easily able to follow the instructions, and enjoyed making the various projects.

5 of 5 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

Pretty good
Posted 3/12/2010 by Robyn Price
Rating: 4

This was a smaller set than I thought it would be, but still very good quality.

5 of 5 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

Review for
Posted 4/8/2010 by Joy Usery
Rating: 5

Bought this for our seven year old son he loved it his nine year old sister had to try it out too.

5 of 6 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

Lots of Fun
Posted 8/13/2012 by BShaw
Rating: 4

This was a challenge for my 5 year old, but one that he enjoyed doing. He loved looking through the instruction book to pick out what he could build. He needed help selecting the correct parts, black and grey were tricky, but he was able to manipulate the tools to build. I think it will continue to be a great toy for him.

4 of 4 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

Wish it had some metal parts
Posted 7/25/2012 by Amanda Jeffrey - GRANDPARENT
Rating: 2

Our three and a half year old grandson loved this and said it was the best present ever. HOWEVER, it does require someone to help. He basically finds the pieces and matches them to the picture steps. He can use the screwdriver and correctly told me it had a triangle head; he can use the wrench after being shown how. But some of the trickier connections I did, as well as the putting together steps. The biggest problem was that the yellow bolts are not long enough and the wheels keep popping off. That makes it very non-joyful to use. Are you supposed to make the object and then put it on a shelf to admire? I don't think so. Also, because it has all plastic parts it can't really be screwed down tightly without fear of stripping the screws. I wish it were made in America.
Any product you do not fully connect with may be returned for a refund or exchange. Bolt into the Returns & Exchanges center for details.

4 of 4 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

Erector Build & Play Mechanical Bucket
Posted 12/31/2011 by Parents of 5
Rating: 3

We bought this for our four year old son, who is about to turn five. He hasn't built a thing with it, although he usually loves to build things. He is a pretty smart little guy and can figure things out on his own, but this seems to be something his Daddy will need to play with him.

4 of 4 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

A rating of
Posted 12/28/2011 by Kimberly
Rating: 5

My son love this toy. It's great for father son time.

4 of 4 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

Information about
Posted 12/28/2011 by Kirk Johnson
Rating: 4

Directions are a little confusing for my son. Better illustrations would be better. He loves building, but he just can't look at the illustration and figure out what to do.

4 of 4 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

My rating of
Posted 12/27/2011 by Nancy J
Rating: 4

grandson was in toy overload but think he will play with it later

4 of 4 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

Information about
Posted 10/24/2011 by Debbie
Rating: 4

My nephew is having fun building just like his older brother.

4 of 4 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

Review of
Posted 10/21/2011 by Vicki Millard
Rating: 5

purchased for my grandson - he is 4 and needs a little help getting started but has enjoyed building the different toys.

4 of 4 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

Erector Build & Play Easy Bucket
Posted 7/6/2011 by Kenya Swanson
Rating: 5

This is a toy that is a tiny bit advanced for my 5 year old son but with my help he loves the toys we have been building.

4 of 4 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

Review of
Posted 10/24/2011 by Jerry McClain - GRANDPARENT
Rating: 5

This is a Christmas gift but I am sure he will enjoy this product

4 of 5 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

Erector set...sadly not good
Posted 9/29/2011 by Susan
Rating: 2

The product inside the box is fine and I expect my Grandson will like it... but I have been trying for a week now to get the box, hard plastic satchel, fixed. It has a defect, a missing button hinge, and since that part has no number...
If the Erector case is broken, there is only one thing to do - build a better experience by calling us! We contacted the manufacturer on behalf of our customer to request a replacement. Please visit the Returns & Exchanges center for the nuts and bolts of great care.

4 of 5 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

My rating of
Posted 4/10/2011 by Carole Wall
Rating: 5

My 4 year old grandson hasn't really got the hang of it yet, but his uncle is slowly but surely showing him how to do it. He asks for it as soon as he walks in the door. Grandma babysits him. It sure helps to keep him entertained. I already have my next Fat Brain toy picked out and ready to order.

4 of 5 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

My rating of
Posted 12/8/2010 by Cindy Curran - RELATIVE
Rating: 4

I love this product!

4 of 5 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

Information about
Posted 10/3/2012 by Mke Martin - GRANDPARENT
Rating: 5

Parts are safe for little fingers. Large enough to handle while developing dexterity.

3 of 3 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

Information about
Posted 9/17/2012 by Aileen Melendez - GRANDPARENT
Rating: 3

Sometimes constructions fall apart!
If your Erector constructions excessively fall apart, pull it together and visit our Returns & Exchanges Center. You can expect constructive help from our customer care team.

2 of 2 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

Information about
Posted 12/15/2010 by Janet Thomlison
Rating: 5

He hasn't opened it yet!

4 of 8 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

Review of
Posted 11/25/2010 by Robert Handley - GRANDPARENT
Rating: 4

Always a favorite toy

4 of 8 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

My rating of
Posted 1/9/2013 by Susan McKinnon
Rating: 4

Thought that the container could be better quality. As for the set itself, I think it is great. My grandson is having a little bit of trouble putting things together right now, but I know he will get the hang of it.

Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

Information about
Posted 1/2/2013 by Kathryn Morrow
Rating: 5

Our nephew built his first creation the very next morning after receiving this gift .... and had a huge smile on his face !

Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

My 4 year old loves this!
Posted 12/27/2012 by Clarissa A.
Rating: 5

Christmas morning carnage, the erector set was pushed aside in favor of the trains at first. However, after Dad intervened and opened the bucket and started to take the pieces out, the trains were forgotten (for my child that is a miracle.) Our 4 year old son assembled the helicopter in the set with no help from his father, and was quite proud of himself.

Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

Erector Set - Play Away!
Posted 12/27/2012 by Suzanne
Rating: 5

My son is 4 1/2 and he got this for Christmas! He loves it since the pieces are big enough for him to grasp and sturdy enough not to break when he steps on them while running. The directions are just enough to require a parent to sit with the child, but who wouldn't want to. Easy enough for quick gratification and colorful enough not to get lost! Perfect for child and parent!

Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

Brain Food Putty
Posted 12/27/2012 by CO Buyer
Rating: 5

Purchased three of these this Christmas for stocking stuffers. Of all the items our children received this Christmas, this one item is their favorite. They have constantly played with the putty. My children are 8, 10 & 12.

Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

Great Gift!
Posted 12/27/2012 by CO Buyer
Rating: 5

Purchased this for my 6 year old nephew and he LOVES it! Has played with it a ton since he received it! Thank you.

Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

A rating of
Posted 12/26/2012 by Leonie Caron - GRANDPARENT
Rating: 3

Very disappointed with the overall quality of this toy. Erector sets used to be highly regarded as a very educational toy. Kids loved the "realness" of the parts and tools. Cheap.
The Erector sets created for very young children include very large pieces and are made of plastic. The traditional Erector sets we carry include very small, metal pieces. We contacted our customer to assist. We're specialists in assembling satisfaction. Visit the Returns & Exchanges Center for details.

Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

My rating of
Posted 12/26/2012 by Awesome Auntie
Rating: 5

Great toy, but a bit too much for a 5 year old. The toy is rated from 5-8, and I think 6 or 7 to 8 might get more enjoyment from it. My 5 year old nephew thinks it is really cool, but he doesn't really understand it yet. Eventually he will and I'm sure he'll love it even more. It really is a cool toy!

Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

Great fun
Posted 12/17/2012 by Brooke
Rating: 5

He has had so much fun building different things and loves the wheels. This is a definite keeper.

Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

Great fun
Posted 12/17/2012 by Brooke
Rating: 5

He has had so much fun building different things and loves the wheels. This is a definite keeper.

Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

Product review of
Posted 12/13/2012 by CONNIE L SYDZYIK
Rating: 5

Grandson loves this and loves to build always. Mom thought the gift was great and very age appropriate.

Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

Boy toys!
Posted 11/13/2012 by Lisa Ager - RELATIVE
Rating: 5

My little nephew was always going in to my tool box and pulling out the tools, wanting to play. This erector set is perfect for him!

Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

Information about
Posted 6/15/2009 by Dave Douglass - GRANDPARENT
Rating: 5

This is a gift, I haven't seen it in action yet. Our grandson likes to put things together and then take then apart, so I have no doubt this set will be a huge hit!

5 of 11 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

Product review of
Posted 8/24/2011 by JoAnn K
Rating: 4

Purchased this for my grandson's 5th Birthday in Sept. and haven't given it to him yet.

4 of 9 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

erector build
Posted 10/29/2009 by RHONDA WILLIAMS
Rating: 5

it looks very interesting and fun as bought this for my grand children im very sure they will enjoy it,this product arrived very fast i was surprised ill order from here again

6 of 16 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

Product review of
Posted 5/10/2009 by Deborah Standridge
Rating: 5

It was a bday gift so I didnt see the contents. It looked age appropriate, fun and stimulating.

4 of 12 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

Product is exactly what we were looking for
Posted 9/8/2009
Rating: 4

I did not give it the full 5 stars just because I do not know how the product holds up with a 4 year old yet, as this is a Christmas present. As for the appearance and what I can see, it looks like something my child will have fun playing with for hours. I can't wait to see his face when he gets it Christmas morning.

5 of 17 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

Review of
Posted 10/12/2010 by Sandra Potter - GRANDPARENT
Rating: 5

This was purchased for a grandchild's birthday and was only given to him a few days ago. I haven't had a chance yet to get his input.

4 of 15 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

A rating of
Posted 5/24/2009 by Janet Porter - GRANDPARENT
Rating: 4

At this time I have no comment on the Erector Set since it was a birthday gift which has not been given yet. I can't honestly answer the questionaire at this time.

4 of 15 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

Review for
Posted 9/1/2009 by Fran Wallace - GRANDPARENT
Rating: 5

This has been put up for a Christmas gift. We haven't even opened the box it came in. So I hope what's in the box is what I ordered and wanted. If not, I do hope you will take it back after Christmas. If you will send me the details how.

4 of 23 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)


McAfee SECURE sites help keep you safe from identity theft, credit card fraud, spyware, spam, viruses and online scams
Home | Shopping Cart | Help | Privacy Policy | Return Authorizations | Toy Blog | Coming Soon | Christmas Toys
Best Toys by Age | Birthday Gifts | Top Kids Toys | Toys on Sale | New Toys | Popular Toy Searches

Copyright © 2003-2014 Fat Brain Toys LLC. All rights reserved. Fat Brain Toys® is a registered service mark of Fat Brain Toys, LLC
Fat Brain Toys Offices
1405 N 205th Street, Suite 120
Elkhorn, Nebraska 68022
Phone 1-800-590-5987
Omaha Toy Store
16909 Burke Street, Suite 131
Omaha, Nebraska 68118
Phone 402-504-6218
Overland Park/Kansas City Toy Store
5601 West 135th Street, Suite 2230
Overland Park, Kansas 66223
Phone 913-305-4894

  MacWeb02