Home > Toy Companies > Erector (Meccano) > Erector Set 40 Model Set > Customer Reviews
0

Customer reviews of by

Return to product information...

has been reviewed 57 times with an average rating of 4.54

Cool Item If You've Got The Time And Commitment
Posted 2/19/2008 by Jake
Rating: 3

This is a great toy in many respects, but the designs included are very complex, even for adults. I spent about 2.5 hours building one of them with my 8 year old. In the end she loves the car we built, but looking at the finished product, one realized that a lot of the time we spent was simply oriented toward little frills for making it look cool (tailpipes!?), rather than building to the core functional components that make it run. I would rather have spent 1/2 an hour and have something that simply runs than spend five times that time making it look slick.

5 of 5 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

Erector Model 40
Posted 6/5/2008 by John Meyer
Rating: 4

Both my 8 year old son & I love this thing! It's great---with one exception. I bought it primarily to replace a motor which went bad on another Erector set my son has. After only a couple days of play, it appears there may be problems with this motor as well. That's very disappointing.

4 of 4 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

Review for
Posted 4/25/2008 by Jeanne Smith - GRANDPARENT
Rating: 5

My grandson loved it. He plays with it all of the time. Bought him the big one last year. He loved it, as well.

4 of 4 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

Review of
Posted 3/5/2008 by Satisfied Parent
Rating: 5

My son likes to build. This is definitely going to improve his creativity. He likes to create his own models based on imagination. This is definitely the toy for him.

4 of 4 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

Review of
Posted 12/27/2007 by Charles Drum
Rating: 1

While I was excited for my son in getting a ‘real’ erector set, the product delivered disappointed. The most obvious flaw was the plastic motor shipped with the product did not work. Having the motor, a key component to this product, as plastic was a huge let down. The fact that the motor doesn’t even work is ridiculous.
Our customer was contacted for a replacement or refund. We expect our customers to be 100% satisfied with the products we sell and the service we provide. Please visit the Customer Service Help Center for details.

4 of 4 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

Erector Set Review
Posted 10/31/2006
Rating: 4

This Erector Set came with clear instructions and lots of great projects. My daughter really likes it.

4 of 4 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

Fun
Posted 10/9/2006 by Debbie
Rating: 4

I purchased this product for my son's birthday. It is a lot of fun. My son just turned eight and some of the smaller pieces are still difficult for him to handle. Even so it is a lot of fun and the sky is the limit with this set that includes a powerful motor. I would suggest it for any kid who likes to build.

4 of 4 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

A rating of
Posted 9/6/2006
Rating: 5

Excellent gift idea! My son absolutely loves this set. It has kept him entertained for hours!

4 of 4 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

40 Model Erector Set
Posted 8/1/2006
Rating: 4

Overall a very good toy. Only drawback is small pieces which can be challenging for larger hands (while helping the youngster, of course).

4 of 4 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

Erector Set
Posted 7/16/2006 by Dorothy Burcik - GRANDPARENT
Rating: 5

This was for my grandson who is very easily bored. He has been working with this non-stop and I am very pleased.

4 of 4 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

Erector Set
Posted 1/9/2006 by Sharon Byers
Rating: 5

The erector set met all my expectations. I know my grandson was excited about the present, but his dad spent the rest of Christmas day building a motorized vehicle. Not even football games would pull him (son, not grandson) away from the erector set. I appreciate the personal service provided by Fat Brain Toys. I will not shop at big box toy stores. Being a teacher, I feel toys should serve a purpose. Your selection is just what I have been looking for since all of the smaller educational toy stores closed their doors. I am glad I have found you!

4 of 4 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

Erector set
Posted 1/7/2006 by Shannon Holtrop
Rating: 5

My son loves things like this product...I like the idea it comes with a case.

4 of 4 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

My rating of
Posted 1/6/2006 by scott Vaillancourt
Rating: 5

Product was shipped on time as advertised. Searched all over and found the best price at FatBrainToys.

4 of 4 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

Erector Sets for the 21st Century
Posted 1/3/2006
Rating: 5

Erector sets have come a long way from the days when they were very expensive boxes filled with various metal bits. 15 years ago they couldn't compare in value to lego sets. Now, erector sets are a super value compared to other building sets and much less expensive than the robotic kits that are currently available. There are enough directions to guide a child through different building projects to avoid boredom - but enough versatility in a kit that there is practically no end with what can be done with a bit of imagination. We are very pleased with our purchase, our children love them, and the neighborhood children with playstations are jealous!

4 of 4 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

AWESOME
Posted 1/3/2006 by Samantha
Rating: 4

This is a great toy for young 'tinkerers'. You do have to have nimble fingers to put the motor together but overall it provides hours of creative fun. And the look on my son's face when he finishes a model and sees it working is absolutely priceless!

4 of 4 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

40 Model Set
Posted 12/28/2005 by Frances Morris
Rating: 4

My ten year old son wasn't quite sure about this, since he has never seen Erector Sets advertised on TV. But he's been playing with it since he opened it up. It's much more challenging than the Legos he's been used to but as of this date he has completed the robot and loves it.

4 of 4 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

40 Model Set
Posted 11/16/2005 by R. Smith
Rating: 5

My son loves playing with erector sets. This item offers so many different models and it comes with a carrying case.

4 of 4 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

Erector Set
Posted 11/5/2005 by Thomas Ritenour
Rating: 5

Exceptional! I bought this "toy" for my seven year old and he loves it, and so do I. We have already spent hours creating our own designs. I have enjoyed this set so much I am going to buy more.

4 of 4 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

40 Model Set
Posted 9/5/2005 by David Soden
Rating: 5

My six year old son and I are just about finished with our first project. The set is exactly what I would expect from such a product. I am a mechanical engineer, and I am quite pleased with the mechanical concepts that my son is learning. I'm having fun too. Quality of the product is good, all pieces are present, and the assembly pictures are excellent. Great product.

4 of 4 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

Erector Set
Posted 6/24/2005 by Alton Erdem
Rating: 5

This was a gift for my 8-year old nephew and he loved it. He had every Lego set you could imagine and we were trying to move up to the next level... and we did it with this set!!! I also would like to thank Fat Brain Toys for their super nice service. They were not only very knowledgeable in their advice, but also very efficient with the whole process... Thank you all very much... Altan Houston, TX

4 of 4 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

40 model erector set
Posted 2/25/2005 by Jack Levy
Rating: 4

Son has been playing with legos for y ears creating "cubic" designs. This offers so much more creativity and fine motor skills. He's very excited to get started. Case is a great idea so parts aren't lost.

4 of 4 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

40 Model Erector Set
Posted 2/25/2005 by George & Jennifer Springer
Rating: 4

Our son, George, got this set for Christmas. The set includes very thorough directions. It is an educational tool and gives hours of fun too. Unfortunately the first motor did not work--but we contacted the company and were sent out a new one immediately. It is nice to have peace-of-mind knowing that you are dealing with a friendly and efficient toy company.

4 of 4 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

Product review of
Posted 2/25/2005 by Robert Douglas
Rating: 5

It is as good as I remember from 50 years ago.

4 of 4 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

Erector Set (40 Models)
Posted 2/25/2005 by Richard Soll
Rating: 4

The directions for building the models are at times confusing. My son and I have had to disassemble several subassemblies in order to get them to work out. The manufacturer needs to include more diagrams from different angles. However, we are enjoying the challenge.

4 of 4 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

excellent set!
Posted 2/25/2005 by Deanna Jones
Rating: 5

this toy is one of the greatest toys my boy has ever had.... it works his brain and plus it keeps him occupied all day!!! I totally would reccomend this product! very good quality...

4 of 4 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

My Great Nephew loved this!
Posted 12/6/2004 by Gail Konopacki
Rating: 5

I gave this as a Christmas Gift to my Great Nephew who's 8. He loved it! He needed a little bit of help getting started, but after that he was well on his own.

4 of 4 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

Great work!
Posted 10/17/2004 by Kevin Drollinger
Rating: 5

Great selection, communication, and follow through. Package arrived just as promised. I'll be back as a repeat customer.. even without the 5 bucks! Thanks!

4 of 4 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

Information about
Posted 2/22/2008 by Karen
Rating: 4

I purchased this set for my son's eighth birthday. He has always been good at construction and building sets, but initially found this set overwhelming. The blow-out diagrams used in for the instruction manual can be confusing to follow at first. But, after working through a model with my husband, he seems to be handling the set better himself, getting used to how the materials and tools work, and reading the instructions better on his own, even trying his own ideas. I would recommend the set- it will be used for a long time.

4 of 5 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)


McAfee SECURE sites help keep you safe from identity theft, credit card fraud, spyware, spam, viruses and online scams
Home | Shopping Cart | Help | Privacy Policy | Return Authorizations | Toy Blog | Coming Soon | Christmas Toys
Best Toys by Age | Birthday Gifts | Top Kids Toys | Toys on Sale | New Toys | Popular Toy Searches

Copyright © 2003-2014 Fat Brain Toys LLC. All rights reserved. Fat Brain Toys® is a registered service mark of Fat Brain Toys, LLC
Fat Brain Toys Offices
1405 N 205th Street, Suite 120
Elkhorn, Nebraska 68022
Phone 1-800-590-5987
Omaha Toy Store
16909 Burke Street, Suite 131
Omaha, Nebraska 68118
Phone 402-504-6218
Overland Park/Kansas City Toy Store
5601 West 135th Street, Suite 2230
Overland Park, Kansas 66223
Phone 913-305-4894

  MacWeb02