Home > Toy Companies > Erector (Meccano) > Erector Set Best of 50 Model Set > Customer Reviews
0

Customer reviews of by

Return to product information...

has been reviewed 327 times with an average rating of 4.44

Erector Set - Best of 50 Model Set
Posted 3/15/2010 by Julie Bewley
Rating: 4

Purchased this for an 11 year old future engineer, to combine with his other smaller erector set. Love the motorized tool, although the motor runs a bit slow. My only concern is that there is not any sort of container for the parts, all come in little plastic bags, so if you're purchasing this kit you'll need lots of containers to hold all of your parts.

12 of 12 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

Review of Meccano
Posted 6/10/2008 by Amichai Lichtenstein
Rating: 4

Product's great. I bought it for my 5 year old son (so for myself really), and we are both working at it. While I follow the instructions, he assembles simple structures of his own imagination. The instructions are clear, there are many models to choose from with detailed instructions and at least another 50 that gives you an idea. The age range is 8-14 but I feel that 8 years old would struggle on their own, which is not a bad thing as it forces the parents to join in.

12 of 12 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

Erector set
Posted 12/26/2009 by evelyn phillips - GRANDPARENT
Rating: 5

Product inspires creativity as well as logistical thought process. The best part is they are having a great time while thinking. The only problem I have is the advertisement. It appeared to come with its own case. I never would have purchased this model knowing it had no case. Maybe you can do something about that.

11 of 11 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

erector set
Posted 3/15/2010 by Mary Ehr
Rating: 4

Its nice. The kids like it. It is bit pricey for what is in the package. The company that mfg it has the shaft for the motor different than the gears. I emailed the company, but have gotten no response. (the gears are "keyed", but the motor shaft is not. I think we may end up returning the toy because the boys can not use most of the things to build. That is frusterating.

9 of 9 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

Information about
Posted 8/26/2009 by bruce capobianco
Rating: 4

good challege for my 8 year old soon who had been used to building Lego Bionicles. Definitely a cool toy that has helped bring his buiding skills up to the next level.

8 of 8 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

Review for
Posted 7/24/2008 by Elliot M. Levy - GRANDPARENT
Rating: 5

I remember erector sets from my childhood. I had aNo. 7 1/2 with electric motor,purchased in 1939-1940.

8 of 8 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

My rating of
Posted 7/2/2008 by Donna Carey
Rating: 5

Found exactly what I was looking for, except that I also wanted an Erector set made of the same materials as the vintage sets, but is newly manufactured.

7 of 7 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

Best of 50 Erector set
Posted 6/10/2008 by Chris Kemp
Rating: 5

Outstanding product that I remember from bring a kid. My son who has ADHD sat for six hours, putting the first design together. He chose the helicopter. He's spent hours playing with it already. Thanks again for a great product!

7 of 7 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

Erector Set Best of 50 Model
Posted 1/26/2006 by Laurie
Rating: 4

I bought this for my 12 year old nephew and it was a huge hit. He loves the versatility and spends a lot of time building stuff. The only drawback is lack of a storage system for all of the pieces. The service I received from you was remarkable and I will definitely be a repeat customer.

7 of 7 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

Review of
Posted 11/11/2010 by Donald Gibson
Rating: 4

sturdy, many parts but the manual is not that simple to follow

6 of 6 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

Everything as expected
Posted 3/30/2010
Rating: 5

Bought this for my scientific-minded grandson. He loves it.

6 of 6 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

Parent
Posted 1/11/2010 by Barb
Rating: 5

This set gives my 10 year old son a much needed challenge

6 of 6 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

Erector 50 model set
Posted 5/12/2008 by Samantha Mc Adoo
Rating: 5

This set was bought as a gift. When the boy received the set, he immediately put the battery case together on his own. He is eight years old and couldn't wait to get started buiding one of the many challenging models. This is a great toy to bring a family together. I've talked to several other fathers about this "toy", and they will be getting one for their children

6 of 6 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

My rating of
Posted 2/25/2008 by Robert C. Fenner
Rating: 4

Nice product. The box it comes in has a lot to be desired. When I was a kid the box was metal. This product comes only with a cardboard box, a little disappointing. The instructions to build the models are excellent! I recommend this product, but not nearly the quality as in the past.

6 of 6 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

Not Spectacular, But Fun
Posted 6/11/2007 - OTHER
Rating: 3

This is my first Erector set, and will probably be my only one. I'm not particularly impressed, but it is something to do with my hands that doesn't make a mess or get too frustrating. I was hoping there would be a lot of large beams, but it's mostly smaller pieces, many of which are specialized shapes. The instructions are easy to follow, except that different widths of the same beam length aren't clearly distinguished. There are not instructions for 50 models, so I have no idea where the "50" comes from at all.

6 of 6 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

Disappointed
Posted 11/11/2006 by Marshall White
Rating: 3

I recently purchased the Erector Set Best of 50 Model Set for my grandson. I was very disappointed in the lack of a carrying case. As all old timers know, Erector Sets come with a case! I subsequently noticed the addition to your site of the Erector Set- Special Edition Set which does have a case. I would very much appreciate the opportunity to purchase an Erector case.

6 of 6 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

Meccano - Best of 50 Model Set
Posted 10/16/2006 by Brian Katz
Rating: 3

Really for the price I expected the parts to be better organized and presented. They were lumped into many plastic bags without rhyme or reason. One of the bags was slashed open. As for the presentation, the box itself is cardboard and doesn't have a locking method after it's been opened. A solid plastic box like K'Nex is what I was expecting. After you've opened up all the plastic bags, there is no method to keep the parts organized. Are you supposed to throw small screws, nuts and brackets into a cardboard box? A little frustrating. Not what I expected from the Meccano of my youth. Even then they had a way of organizing parts. The product has gone downhill.

6 of 6 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

Product review of
Posted 2/24/2006 by Randi Berkson
Rating: 3

Some of the pieces are small and difficult to hold. For the price, it should come in a case not a box. The instructions are not the best.

6 of 6 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

50 Model Erector Set
Posted 1/3/2006 by Rich D.
Rating: 5

Great set. Clear instructions and accurate parts list. I bought this for my 6 year old and while he is too young to handle some of the smaller parts and pieces, he enjoys using the electric wrench and tightening down the bolts. He is also learning about how gears and pulleys work and how to follow directions. I recommend this to anyone who wants to spend quality time with their child and likes mechanical projects. I would not leave a 6 year old alone to figure it out however, too many small pieces to get lost and the frustration level would be too high for them to figure it out on their own. An above average 8 - 10 year old should have no problem however.

6 of 6 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

Complicated but rewarding
Posted 2/25/2005
Rating: 4

The Best of 50 Erector Model Set proved to be a great Christmas present - buying it online at Fat Brain Toys was quick, cheap and hassle-free, and the kids loved it. Actually, they loved it once one of the models was built, and moving around the house - their actual participation in the building process was rather limited. True, they are a bit too young for a Set this complicated (our oldest son is seven years old), but due to the host of small and smaller parts like screws and bolts, putting it together seemed to be feasible only for kids more than a couple of years their senior. At times I myself had difficulties putting the models together, and I do take some pride in being at least a bit handy with tools. But - and this is really where the high rating stems from - once the model was finished, it was functioning beautifully, and it was extremely rewarding to see the kids play with it. I just have to get a big box with tons of compartments to hold all the bits and pieces now...

6 of 6 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

Big Erector Set
Posted 12/9/2009 by Judy Legerski
Rating: 4

Looks good. I was disappointed that there was no secure [heavy] box or case for the many parts. That doesn't make sense.

5 of 5 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

Review of
Posted 12/8/2009 by Alan Franz
Rating: 5

We haven't opened it yet, it's a Christmas present for our 8 year old. We're very excited to open it on Christmas day.

5 of 5 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

Review for
Posted 11/30/2009 by Karen G Morgan
Rating: 3

My grandson loves the erector set; however, I felt the quality was disappointing when compared with the original Erector Sets.

5 of 5 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

Old School Toys
Posted 11/26/2009 by Gary Gauvin
Rating: 4

I was a little nervous about giving this item to my 9 year old because of the reviews saying the parts are small and directions are complicated but had little problem putting the models together single handedly. The quality of the parts are great and he loves the electric screwdriver gun which make assembly easier for him. The speed of the gun is very slow which means he doesn't strip any bolts. Very Happy

5 of 5 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

Review for
Posted 11/5/2009 by R Meyer - GRANDPARENT
Rating: 5

This is a great Model Set. I would have liked to have built at least 2 models at a time but with all the major pieces making up each model, I understand. No case came with it so we bought a tool box that was portable and had many compartments. It worked extremely well for the Erector Set and laid out all the components so they could be seen and yet easy to transport and keep together. My grandson who is 8 loved it. I would highly reccommend it.

5 of 5 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

Great Model Set!
Posted 10/19/2009
Rating: 4

My son really enjoys his new erector set. It is challenging for an eight year old, but it certainly keeps his interest. The only problem we've had was trying to change the battery in the motor tool. It was very difficult to open the battery compartment and even more challenging to try and put the cover back on the battery compartment.

5 of 5 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

Product review of
Posted 12/28/2007 by Samuel Smith, MD
Rating: 5

The only trouble with the Erector set was that my grandson's father kept trying to help us. That was of course, my son.

5 of 5 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

Erector Set
Posted 12/27/2006 by Carolyn Seipel - GRANDPARENT
Rating: 3

I was disappointed in the amount of plastic in the total package. I was comparing to the original Erector sets where all items were metal and had hoped for same quality.

5 of 5 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

Product review of
Posted 12/26/2006 by Neil Sellers
Rating: 5

I had an Erector Set when I was a kid 35 years ago, and had a great time building with it. My children seem to share my enjoyment of their new set!

5 of 5 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

Information about
Posted 1/19/2006 by Frances Connolly
Rating: 5

Excellent service from ordering process, to shipping on time for an eight year olds birthday. Way to go shipping department. Got to see my grandsons excitement and enthusiasm for the Erector set, and to tell him that's what your sixty year old grandfather played with at his age. It's a gift to outlast us all!

5 of 5 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

Review of
Posted 1/3/2006 by Jeannie Friehauf
Rating: 5

My 11 year old son stayed focused and busy for 4 hours constructing a motorcycle using the directions in the instruction manual. His confidence level was a notch higher when he proudly showed us the finished product. Thank you for providing quality toys!

5 of 5 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

Information about
Posted 2/25/2005 by jack benenati
Rating: 5

The 50 model kit is wonderful!!!! My son and I have enjoyed many hours together.

5 of 5 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

Fat Brain Toys and Erector Set
Posted 2/25/2005 by Steven M. Barto
Rating: 5

This was my first order with Fat Brain Toys and I was extremely impressed with both price and quality of service. I will definitely order from FBT again. The Best of 50 model set is a great gift. My son is really enjoying building the models.

5 of 5 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

Product review of
Posted 7/13/2006 by Lisa Harris
Rating: 3

The toy has been a bit difficult for my son to use on his own. Considerable adult assistance is required despite the fact that he falls within the recommended age range.

5 of 6 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

Erector Set
Posted 12/9/2009 by Jay Firth
Rating: 5

Sorry I cannot help with the review since the gift set has been sent to Germany to an 8 year old - -I know he will enjoy it as I did as a young boy - -they are great sets J

4 of 4 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

Erector Set - 50 Model Set
Posted 12/6/2009 by Ayden
Rating: 4

If you like Legos this is a great gift for that next step. My son loves this set.

4 of 4 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

erector set
Posted 11/29/2009
Rating: 4

The Best of 50 model set is awesome. We are really enjoying playing with the set. Thus far we have made about 10 of the 50 projects. Great set and a good value.

4 of 4 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

erector set
Posted 11/3/2009
Rating: 4

This is an awesome step from legos to the next level of designing

4 of 4 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

Happy with Product & Service
Posted 11/1/2009 by Happy in AZ
Rating: 5

The erector set is everything we imagined and more. It is pleasanttly challenging for the boys and although it requires patience, they still enjoy working on it daily. They have already made a car (& they've only had it for 6 days). This is the type of toy that teaches patience & perserverance. They are gaining insight to working on a project a little bit each day until it is completed. Structurally speaking, most parts are metal. There are a few gadgets/connectors that are made of plastic but it is well made. The drill tool works great & is easy for the boys to use.

4 of 4 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

Review for
Posted 10/16/2009 by Tempie Almstead - GRANDPARENT
Rating: 5

Wonderful product; grandson is thoroughly enjoying.

4 of 4 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

Fun Set
Posted 4/9/2008 by Mrs. Taylor
Rating: 4

My son was very excited to get this set. The instructions are a little difficult for him to follow at age 10. It takes some parental help to put most of the items together.

4 of 4 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

Best of 50
Posted 3/29/2008 by Pamela O'Hare
Rating: 4

My 15 year old who is studying to be an engineer loves the set, but the two tools (allen wrench & box wrench) that were to be in the set, were not there. He has his own tool set and was able to use his own tools in place of returning the entire set.

4 of 4 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

My rating of
Posted 3/12/2008
Rating: 5

Wonderful! My three boys have been playing and building with the erector set. Great for them to work on so many different skills.

4 of 4 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

Information about
Posted 2/28/2008 by Patty Wall
Rating: 4

My son really enjoys tinkering with the set. He would have liked for it to have a longer screw handle for the drill. He spends hours playing with it.

4 of 4 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

Quality Product
Posted 1/23/2008 by Mike Allen
Rating: 5

As a boy I would play with my erector set for hours. Today, they seem to have more unique pieces available for you to create just about anything. My son is 8 years old and doesn't find competitive sports to be his thing. As a father I worry about finding something he has a passion for so that he can develop some skills that will help him later in life. We started with a small tractor set just to see if he would enjoy it. We did the first few steps together. He attempted to complete it by himself. He became frustrated and gave up toward the last few steps. Not willing to let him quit I made him take it apart back to where we left off and we slowly rebuilt it together a few steps each night until he completed it. I promised him I would buy him the Best of 50 Model Set that comes with a motor and battery powered power tool once we were done. That was enough to motivate him. Now that we have this new set we not only spend some great quality time together each night, but he now has a passion for something that is educational and fun. This is a great product. I'm grateful that the Erector Set is still available.

4 of 4 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

Great Fun
Posted 1/13/2008 by jim
Rating: 4

This kit was amazing!! My son was excited to begin building right away. Unfortunately several of the parts were missing, and when we contacted Nikko, they said they didn't have "extra" parts available. They asked me to fax them a list of what we were missing, and they would let me know how much the replacements would be kind of disappointing.

4 of 4 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

Erector Set: Best of 50 Model Set
Posted 1/10/2008 by Elisabeth A.H.Mensink
Rating: 5

My son thinks this product is the best. He plays with it day and night, as do his friends, making different models. It is also a great way for him to learn how things work.

4 of 4 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

Erector Set
Posted 1/10/2008 by Robert T - GRANDPARENT
Rating: 5

This is a very constructive toy for youngsters. It provides a means to actually build things that perform functions and it stimulates them to think up new ideas for things to build (improves creativity). I bought this one for my grandson, who greatly enjoys. Only one drawback: I bought the biggest set, which I felt was only of limited size. The maker should have a way to greatly expand the set for kids who whant to get into construction big time.

4 of 4 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

A rating of
Posted 12/31/2007 by Eric Schreiber
Rating: 4

My son has enjoyed making two different models. He has, however, been a little frustrated with some of the directions and was not able to get some of the components to work properly. This is by far much different from the Erector sets I recall as a boy, 25 years ago. There are not as many metal pieces, but more smaller plastic components.

4 of 4 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

Foundation Of Engineering Science
Posted 12/31/2007 by Frank Schwichtenberg
Rating: 4

50-Model "Best of" Erector Set. This is a toy against the trend. Like the original sets from Lego Fischer Technik and others, one gets a large sets of parts that one can use to construct many complex mechanical toys. Beware though, that this is not as easy as it looks. Quickly one discovers that a good methodology is important. Plan your assembly step by step. Find all the required parts. The description is challenging. Screws etc need to be measured because there are many similar looking parts that will not fit. I realized that even reading the schematic drawings that explain how the parts in the assembly steps fit together is a skill, that my son needed to learn. The assembly is a good way to train the fine motor skills, many tight spots, wobbly screws and the desire to have more hands to accomplish a tricky part. Often single steps need to be broken down in sub steps, because certain assemblies require a specific order. Sometimes the next steps made it clear, that we did not look carefully enough, sometimes we found that part is not accessible anymore because we ordered the sub steps in a suboptimal way. tricky. A master of the pre-engineered models can eventually evolve in free model design and assembly. My son (5) is definitely too young to master this toy. But he really liked to have a project that requires his dad to join in. And yes, I probably liked that too. I disliked the fact, that the set does not offer any kind of part organization. The cheap box is designed to be thrown away, the parts are initially in sealed plastic bags, that one can not reseal after opening. We ended up using small freezer bags to allow to organize the parts while being able to see what is in them. You need to help your children to find fitting containers for the parts, otherwise they will end up all over the place and eventually disappear. In additional you need to plan for (8) rechargeable AA batteries (and a charger) because the motor and the "power tool" (the weakest part in terms of build quality) will drain batteries quickly. The set does not provide batteries.

4 of 4 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

Review of
Posted 12/27/2007
Rating: 4

My husband and sons have enjoyed playing with the Erector sets. They have had great conversations about how gears and pulleys work.

4 of 4 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

Information about
Posted 12/24/2007 by Nelson Berigtold - GRANDPARENT
Rating: 4

A pretty good erector set but there's no way to lock wheels, pulleys, and gears on shafts. Also needs a box with compartments for the various items.

4 of 4 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

Review for
Posted 12/14/2007 by Karen Lisle - EDUCATOR
Rating: 5

This was a very nice large set and I like that the kids can do many different models

4 of 4 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

SPED Teacher
Posted 10/31/2007 - EDUCATOR
Rating: 5

The product will be set up in a functional high school classroom as a job site. The students in this classroom are "hands on" learners and I felt that this would be a good item to work on.

4 of 4 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

Great Tinkering - Never Ending Possibilities
Posted 10/5/2007 by Meccano Enthusiasts (Kids and Parents)
Rating: 5

This is a great product that Dad wanted to get for a while and could never find in stores. At least now the kids (and parents) have it, and we can play with these, and not with Dad's toolbox and stash of odds and ends... It goes beyond our expectations. We see all materials are durable and can withstand time and children's curiosity and persistence!

4 of 4 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

Review of
Posted 7/31/2007 by Patty Lund - EDUCATOR
Rating: 4

My student was very excited to get started on the projects. We both appreciated that all of the directions are pictures rather than narrative. However, the alan wrench was missing from the set.

4 of 4 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

Review of
Posted 7/9/2007 by Jill Culwell - GRANDPARENT
Rating: 5

Our grandson is a home school student and will use this as part of his science curriculum. Good Purchase.

4 of 4 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

Challenges
Posted 6/6/2007 by Matt Karlsen
Rating: 2

Looks like lots of fun, but both the power drill and the motor are extremely difficult to set up.

4 of 4 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

Review of
Posted 6/4/2007 by Tricia Drinkard
Rating: 5

My grandson was so excited and happy with this Erector set! He says it is the best one he has ever had and loves the tools, extra moving parts and the pulleys; plus the fact that he can create almost anything with so many parts! He will enjoy this for many years to come. Great product!

4 of 4 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

My rating of
Posted 5/24/2007 by Lloyd Mangnall
Rating: 3

The product is great; however, the product we initially received was missing a significant number of pieces essential to use of the set. It appears the product was mispackaged by the manufacturer. We are working with the manufacturer to have the missing pieces sent to us.

4 of 4 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

Missing Parts
Posted 2/18/2007 by Leon Prier
Rating: 3

We are missing a few parts to this product. Can you help me in obtaining the parts? I have contacted the manufacturer and I have not heard back from them.
Help is on the way. We will assist Leon in receiving the parts he needs to bulk up the building potential.

4 of 4 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

A rating of
Posted 1/18/2007 by John Scherlie - GRANDPARENT
Rating: 4

The Best of 50 Set has high quality parts that are very versatile.

4 of 4 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

Review of
Posted 1/15/2007 by Eric W. Jewett
Rating: 4

I think the product is wonderful. We have had Erector Sets before, but this set not only complimented what we had, it brought it to the next level...good stuff!

4 of 4 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

Erector Set- Best of 50 Model Set
Posted 1/4/2007 by Renee Arnold
Rating: 4

My son loved his Erector Set. He actually spent 6 hours constructing a model. He finally took a break when we took in a movie, but then continued working on the Erector Set for another 2 hours after that. He absolutely loves the Erector Set. As for the other reviewers that complained about the packaging-give me a break. Since when do companies actually package their products with a built in organizational system. Get a fishing tackle box like we did and organize the nuts, bolts, and tools yourself. In fact we let our son organize the different items and he did a fine job of it!

4 of 4 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

Product review of
Posted 12/31/2006
Rating: 4

My 9 year old son enjoys putting the models together and is learning new skills while doing so. I like that the models are down-scaled versions of things that could be built in real life. Cons: there is no case to hold all the many pieces (many small parts) and some of the construction steps are too complicated for my son (even though the box says for age "8 and above"). He's definitely needed adult supervision, but it has been an enjoyable activity for us to do as a family.

4 of 4 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

A rating of
Posted 12/22/2006 by Michelle Downey
Rating: 4

We are very happy with the Erector Set. My 7 year old son loves it. He spends hours building with his father. We were disappointed with the packaging and wish it came in a case. I had to buy an organizer to hold all the little pieces.

4 of 4 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

Review for
Posted 12/20/2006 by Michael Meyer
Rating: 5

A great gift for my son. Having just gotten it at age 5, he will have many years of use.

4 of 4 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

Review of
Posted 11/18/2006 by Robert B. Buckley
Rating: 4

We built a motorcycle design with this set, but we were disappointed because apparently the motor wasn't strong enough to pull the weight of the cycle. We did however enjoy the building process of the project. From a 'Dad/son' bonding point of view, it was awesome!

4 of 4 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

My rating of
Posted 10/26/2006 by Philip Luter - GRANDPARENT
Rating: 4

I bought this Erector set for a grandson. I intend to build a storage case for it. The box that it comes in is a bit of a disappointment. I can hardly wait to see my grandson build with this set. He loves to design and build with similar products, but says he has built everything he can. This has enough parts and projects to keep him busy for a long, long time. By the way, this is something that I, myself, always wanted as a boy, but never got. So, I am sure I will have some fun with it myself.

4 of 4 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

Product review of
Posted 10/22/2006
Rating: 4

Great. My 11 yr old has not put it aside since it arrived for his birthday. I only wish the drill was sold separately so I could get a spare one!

4 of 4 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

Glued for Hours!
Posted 10/16/2006 by Adele Artola
Rating: 5

My 9 year son is glued to the set. When I suggest that he do something else for a while, he rather play with the set. It is difficult for him, but he enjoys the challenge.

4 of 4 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

Best of 50 Model Set
Posted 8/17/2006 by John Jammer
Rating: 4

Great product, my 7 year old plays with the parts all the time, trying to "invent" something. I have to help him to build the actual models. This is great for a father/son experience. On the bad side, some of the screws allen heads stripped out pretty easily.

4 of 4 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

Information about
Posted 8/8/2006 by Julie Vrattos - GRANDPARENT
Rating: 5

Excellent. Very challenging for my 10 year old who has already spent many years with Lego, Knex, etc.

4 of 4 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

Erector Best of 50 Model Set
Posted 7/23/2006 by Tonya Hettler
Rating: 5

Excellent Product, thoroughly engaged my 14 year old.

4 of 4 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

Best of 50 Model Erector Set
Posted 7/20/2006
Rating: 4

Brings back childhood memories.

4 of 4 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

Product review of
Posted 7/9/2006 - GRANDPARENT
Rating: 5

Exactly as advertised. Great for father-son bonding.

4 of 4 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

Review of
Posted 3/30/2006 by Steven Totleben
Rating: 4

My six year old was very excited about this kit and soon got the hang of using small screws and nuts. It seems the Erector system "one ups" brick building toys by adding the mechanical reasoning element. Recommended for slightly older kids but works fine for my more patient than usual kindergartner.

4 of 4 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

Erector Sets are a Quality, Creative Toy
Posted 3/23/2006 by Vaiva Bichnevicius
Rating: 4

It's a very fun product. We bought it as a constructive alternative to violent bionicles that are the craze here. Our son loves it and builds his own machines. I wish it had more of the larger pieces, but so far it seems to be enough to keep him busy.

4 of 4 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

Review for
Posted 3/8/2006 by Don Harris
Rating: 4

Gift for my grandson...he and his father love it. Built a motorcycle the day he received it. It is great, but would have been better with a real case with various compartments to hold all the pieces.

4 of 4 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

Multi-purpose
Posted 3/5/2006 by Athena Caison
Rating: 5

I love that you can make more then one thing. Helps the kids to use more of their imaginations.

4 of 4 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

My rating of
Posted 3/4/2006 by Bob Dubit - GRANDPARENT
Rating: 5

The set was a birthday gift for our grandson who turned 9. He love to put things together and the set was a great hit. He has lots of fun making and taking apart the various models and has even created some of his own.

4 of 4 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

Purchase
Posted 2/23/2006 by Roshan Kalghatgi - OTHER
Rating: 4

This set is great and comes with an amazing amount and variety of gears, screws, nuts, bolts, and connecting parts. However, it only has four wheels of the same type. A larger quantity and variety of wheels in the set would make it a whole lot better. Overall, though it is a great set.

4 of 4 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

Product review of
Posted 2/12/2006 by Richard G. Casey
Rating: 3

Quality and value of Erector sets are down from what I recall in my own childhood. Gears and other parts are plastic and won't hold up. Tolerances are off, so first model I made had too much friction, and gears would not turn. Still I like the way it forces a child to focus in order to accomplish a goal (the model). Also it is amazing how clear the instructions are, even though not a single printed word of direction is offered.

4 of 4 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

Hours of fun!
Posted 2/9/2006 by David S. Hill
Rating: 5

Really nice! The instruction manual is a well thought out and intuitive pictorial document. This is a hands-on product that will provide hours of enjoyment.

4 of 4 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

Erector Set Best of 50 Model Set
Posted 1/31/2006 by Michelle Thomas
Rating: 3

My son does like the set -- it has so many possibilities for models. Unfortunately, the first model that he built didn't work smoothly when attached to the battery pack. Apparently one of the metal parts was just a bit too long to allow the gear to rotate smoothly. So the race car works, but it "grinds" as the wheel rotates rather than whirring smoothly as it should. But there are 49 other models to go, right? However, the delivery time wasn't acceptable, as far as we're concerned. We ordered the kit online on a Saturday, then found out that it didn't even ship from the warehouse until the following Thursday evening, which meant that we didn't receive it until the following Monday. I would have hoped for more rapid delivery, or else more disclosure from Fat Brain Toys that the item wouldn't even ship from your facilities for nearly a week. And that would be when the three-to-five business days shipping time period would begin.

4 of 4 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

Review for
Posted 1/25/2006 by Lauri Dolezal
Rating: 4

Our 6 year old son loves this. We found that some of the smaller pices are hard to manipulate in to place -- maybe Erector could come up with some sort of a tool that helps hold the small pieces.

4 of 4 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

Great Last Minute Xmas Purchase
Posted 1/20/2006 by Lucas Gouldy
Rating: 5

Fat Brain had the lowest price on this great Erector set and shipped it to me in plenty of time for Christmas... for free. My son has always enjoyed taking things apart and building things. This set was right up his alley! It has lots of parts and an unlimited list of things to build. Instructions are great for building 50 different models. My son enjoys starting on a planned model and adding his own touches to make some really cool things. Only drawback to this set is it doesn't come with a case, so plan on buying a container at the hobby lobby to keep all the small pieces together.

4 of 4 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

Information about
Posted 1/19/2006 by Sue Peck
Rating: 3

The set would get a 5 star rating, except for the problem described below. The set was a big hit and will provide many hours of building pleasure BUT the power tool arrived with a stripped out screw/bolt making the battery door unusable. An email to Fat Brain was promptly acknowledged and a replacement has been promised.

4 of 4 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

Very good construction set
Posted 1/19/2006 by Alessandro Pizzochero
Rating: 4

This toy was purchased for a 6 year old boy and is perhaps a little too complex for him without adult supervision. On the other hand the creative possibilities are enormous and the included directions for 50 models are very well done and easy to follow. Not to mention that the construction variety is quite intriguing to my son and he can't wait to move on to the next "build". In general the components are well made and designed and are also easy to identify from the child's point of view. What is not as nice are the threaded nuts: they are a little too thin and the associated driver wrench does not always do a good job of holding them in place. This is more difficult when the attachment is happening in very tight spaces (even more difficult when it is necessary to "sneak" a finger in tight spaces to hold the nut in place (this is where the child's small fingers are actually an advantage over those of "Daddy"!). There is also some additional learning to be had when it comes to "tweaking" and adjusting the fit of components, especially moving parts. This was particularly clear when we tried running the motorcycle build across the room. Immediately after the build the motorcycle was not well balanced and would not run more than a few feet before falling. We then inspected and discussed what was happening and ended up changing some of the wheel and drive-train offsets and then the bike would easily run across the entire room. Now, if only the motor were more powerful... Overall this toy has been an excellent source of entertainment and learning and will continue to do so for many years to come. I actually will be looking forward to more versions of this same toy, possibly augmenting its potential with custom parts of my own. Highly recommended!

4 of 4 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

Great product, great service!
Posted 1/19/2006 by Lily
Rating: 5

I purchased the set for my 8 years before the Christmas holiday. It didn't take long at all for me to recieve the product despite the busy holiday season. The product is fantastic, a great variety to those have got a lot of Lego products. My little one loves it, especially loves working with the power tool. Many thanks!

4 of 4 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

Awesome Set
Posted 1/17/2006 by Kathy Abbondanzio
Rating: 5

Bought this for my son who loves building types toys. He loves it, finished building one of the models the first night. Much better quality than K'nex, I would recommend this to anyone.

4 of 4 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

Eector Best of 50 Model Set
Posted 1/14/2006 by Lourdes Mena
Rating: 5

I think that this set is great! First there was great service from Fatbrain toys and when I got it my husband for whom I bought it (27 years old) loved it. He automatically started to make one of the models in the instructions manual and a couple of hours after all of the interuptions that he had he finished his first one. I think that for kids this is great but for kids that are very interested in building and car or building models. Personally I don't think that the usual eight year old child can have the patience to build these models.

4 of 4 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

Great Experience!
Posted 1/11/2006 by Hallie Hagan
Rating: 5

We bought an erector set locally at the only store in our town that sells them. My son loved it EXCEPT for the fact that it did not include the drill, so I took back the $125 set and went online to Fat Brain Toys and got another set for $79 with a drill. My 10 year old son is thrilled with it and spends hours "creating" things. He chooses to do this now instead of Playstation and the computer! The service was awesome, I ordered online on Tuesday and received the set delivered to our house on Wednesday (the very next day!).

4 of 4 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

Information about
Posted 1/10/2006 by Terri Wiseman
Rating: 4

The motor is weaker than we had expected it to be, but all the gears and parts work very well. We need more axles for the wheels. We are creating a rover for National Space Day competition with 10 wheels, but there are not that many axles.

4 of 4 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

A rating of
Posted 1/9/2006 by Jacqueline Gundlach
Rating: 5

This is the first set of erectors for my son. He has spent many enjoyable hours building different models. I highly reccomend this product for anyone who likes to work with their hands create things.

4 of 4 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

Great Model Set
Posted 1/7/2006 by Mary D
Rating: 5

We purchased this for my 8 yr old. He loved creating his own battery pack, and then creating a helicopter powered by the battery. I think the set is just right - not too big, not too complicated, but big enough to keep an 8-12 yr old interested. Although my son gets frustrated with other building sets (Knex, e.g.), there is something about the feel of the real metal pieces in the erector set that keeps him engaged.

4 of 4 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

Best of 50 Erector set
Posted 1/6/2006 by Cathy Park
Rating: 4

My son is 11 and got this set for Christmas. He has spent several hours playing with it and naturally gravitates toward building toys. Assembly is more challenging than Legos- although the power tool makes a big difference! The large set provides plenty of variety. He is having some frustration trying to assemble the battery pack.

4 of 4 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

Best of 50 Model Erector Set
Posted 1/6/2006 by Eric
Rating: 4

My son and I spent lots of time together on the floor putting together various models. It was the one thing I will remember about this Christmas... The Erector set was the same as I remember as a kid. I'm having lots of fun.

4 of 4 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

My rating of
Posted 1/5/2006 by Mona Weinberg
Rating: 5

I combined this Best of 50 Set with the 643 part Special Edition Set which comes in a hard case with a depression for the automatic tool included in this 50 model set. The result is a terrific set that could keep ones hands and mind busy for a long time. The two sets are not redundant, so you end up with a terrific array of different parts.

4 of 4 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

Best of 50 Model Set
Posted 1/3/2006 by Sharon Ruble
Rating: 4

The toy is good, but is geered for older children with a greater attention span. Electric screwdriver was helpful in the construction and there was a good selection of parts. However the overall toy was more complex than we expected. The bolts and nuts were small and difficult to work with. There needs to be some type of case to store parts in. Instructions could have more detail on part discriptions. Would rate the toy overall as a challenging and creative complex toy.

4 of 4 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

Great Product, Great customer assistance!
Posted 1/3/2006 by David
Rating: 5

The product arrived as promised, and it has provided hours of educational entertainment for my son. I initially thought the plans would be too intimidating for my 8 year old, but once he gained some confidence putting some of the pieces together that hasn't been a problem.

4 of 4 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

Best of 50 Model Set
Posted 1/3/2006 by Karen Rolleri
Rating: 5

My daughter has already made several of the models, and has shown them off to the boys in the neighborhood. The instruction manual is easy to follow, and the pieces are strong and sturdy. It is one of the nicest sets that I have seen. I know this will last her for some time. I also would like to thank you for your prompt service. Of all the companies I dealt with this year, you by far were the best. Your order fullfillment was quick, and it was here in plenty of time. I will most certainly use Fat Brain Toys in the future.

4 of 4 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

Best of 50 erector set
Posted 1/3/2006 by John M Schubert
Rating: 5

Lots of neat parts, vivid explicit color instructions, nice storage box.

4 of 4 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

Great father-son activity
Posted 1/3/2006 by Grown-up kid
Rating: 5

I always wanted an erector set when I was a kid. I purchased this set for my 10 year old son. We have already spent time the last few nights working on our first model. If we build all 50 models in this set it will keep us busy for a long time. Some of the fine assembly is a little tough for my son's hands now, but I am sure he will develop the skills in time. I believe this is a great tool for developing fine motor skills, blueprint reading, and using tools. A child could also stretch their imagination by comming up with original designs from the parts. Overall, I am very satisfied.

4 of 4 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

Review of
Posted 1/3/2006 by Linda Ruyle
Rating: 5

This was purchased as a gift for my grandson who resides with me. We have had many fun hours out of the erector set. The quality was as good as expected and the enjoyment has been more than worth the cost. The service from your company was excellent and I have told more than one person to go to your website. Have found myself shopping here more than once since I placed my first order and am certain I will order from you again.

4 of 4 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

A rating of
Posted 1/2/2006 by Sally
Rating: 4

This is a great item for kids and adults...those very adept at building Legos using the directions provided will excel and enjoy putting these items together. For those who are not as able with the Lego type product it is a wonderful parent/child endeavor. We have thoroughly enjoyed putting these together with the added screwdriver!

4 of 4 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

Great Great Great
Posted 1/2/2006 by BJB
Rating: 5

Product is amazing. I spent 5 hours putting together a crane with my little brother. It was immensely fun and there was no need for other toys that day. Child needs to be at least 10 years old to build anything. While not necessary, the screwdriver made the project feel more "real". I would highly recommend this product to anyone who wants a real building set.

4 of 4 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

Not what I anticipated
Posted 1/2/2006 by Shantelle Mitchell
Rating: 3

There are 2 comments I would like to make on the set. The first is that the minimum age recommendation is to young and that 10 and over would be a better fit. The second comment is that the components do not stay together (fasteners do not stay tight) allowing pieces to just fall off after assembly. I would not recommend this toy for anyone who is not patient and does not want to spend a lot of time helping the kids with the assembly.

4 of 4 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

Erector Set declared Cool!
Posted 1/2/2006 by Lisa Headley
Rating: 5

Awesome product! Superb customer service and communication. I was thrilled with the price and fast shipping. My son's gift was unwrapped with the declaration of, "Cool!" The current project has now taken over a table in our house and it was great to see my son and husband working on something productive and fun together with no TV screen involved! Thank you for a great memory.

4 of 4 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

Erector Set -- Best of 50 Models
Posted 12/19/2005 by Carol Cromwell
Rating: 5

Every bit as good as I remember Erector sets to be. The range of models, from easy to complex, makes it perfect for those who have experience with lots of other building toys.

4 of 4 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

Easy website - Quick Service
Posted 12/19/2005 by Kathleen McMahon
Rating: 5

This easy to browse website keeped me informed of every aspect of my order as it was shipped. Delivery was quick and in excellent condition.

4 of 4 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

My rating of
Posted 12/11/2005 by Margarette Cleveland
Rating: 5

fast delivery and best price on this toy that I could find!

4 of 4 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

Erector Set
Posted 12/8/2005
Rating: 5

Great gift set for the kids. I grew up on it, now my kids can too. Good learning tool, and very practical for the young learner.

4 of 4 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

Erector set
Posted 12/5/2005 by Kim Adams
Rating: 5

The Erector set will not be played with until Christmas Day, but I have had a chance to read the package and instructions, and feel it will be a great toy and be much used by my 12 yr old son. I am looking forward to opening the toy and watching him design machines. Anything to get him away from video! We also found this toy for the lowest price on the web at Fat Brain Toys. We received the model set in very fast time. Although we also have another item on backorder in this order, we receive regular updates from Fat Brain Toys with its status. Thanks!

4 of 4 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

My rating of
Posted 11/28/2005 by Nicole Badeau
Rating: 4

Looks great and has the flexibility to provide many hours of fun. I was frustrated when ordering because it didn't come with a case. We would have purchased one separately if offered, but I truly believe that to earn 5 stars it needs to include a case. Great toy, worth saving. Great price and shipping.

4 of 4 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

Review for
Posted 11/26/2005 by Linda Weber
Rating: 4

My boys love to build. This set gives them lots of options and hours of fun.

4 of 4 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

My rating of
Posted 11/22/2005 by David Schaaf
Rating: 5

Great Starter set! My son really enjoys the power tool that came with it.

4 of 4 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

meccano best of 50 erector sets
Posted 10/28/2005 by David Neidlinger
Rating: 5

Arrived exactly on time and packaged very well. All at a great price. Thank you!

4 of 4 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

Erector set 50
Posted 10/20/2005 by Sarah
Rating: 5

My husband and I bought this for our daughters 9th birthday. Having enjoyed technical lego we wanted to buy something that had more variety. This is a great set. There are plenty of models to choose from and the directions are well laid out. A more detailed index in the book would have been nice, but we had a great time deciding what we were going to build. We settled on starting at the beginning and working our way through the book. I decided to buy the 50 set knowing that it did not come with a case but I thought my daughter would have more fun with the drill. Its no Black and Decker but its definitly age appropriate. I will be buying a case for this set, you do need one. My daughters only complaint is that there is only a boy pictured on the box. My younger daughters have also shown an interest. I will certainly be buying more Erector sets. Fat Brain Toys service is excellent. I will definitly be back.

4 of 4 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

EXCELLENT
Posted 10/19/2005 by SUSANN
Rating: 5

I purchased this set for my 8 year old grandson. He just loves to build things and this set given him lots of options to do that. I would purchase other items from Fat Brain Toys. The ordering process was easy and the shipping just Fast.

4 of 4 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

Enjoying Erector Set 50
Posted 10/3/2005 by Sue
Rating: 4

We gave this set to my son for his 8th birthday. He loves the great variety of models available to build (he had quite a time choosing which one to do first), as well as building creations of this own. He has no problems following the instructions which are well-laid out, colorful and clear. He does, however, battle occasionally in dealing with the smaller screws, and with getting them into tight spots like corner locations. Overall, he loves the set and cannot wait to get home from school to build with it. On the whole, the quality of the product is excellent. The large number of metal pieces means that this product can easily withstand use by an 8 year old boy. I was, however, disappointed with the drill that came with the set. My husband and I placed batteries in the drill and tried it out before giving the set to our son. We were very glad we did this ahead of time as when we started using the drill it did not work. On opening up the drill (as we did not have time to return it) we found that the inner mechanisms were unaligned and we had to fix this. I would also like to see a bit of a better fit between the allen keys and some of the screws. This set would also greatly benefit from having a carry case with it (as that that comes with Erector 40). I would like to compliment Fat Brain Toys on their excellent service. UPS delivered our order to the wrong address. Fat Brain Toys were extremely helpful and courteous when we called them. They resolved the problem immeditaly by sending us another shipment that arrived well within time for our son's birthday. We were very impressed with their service.

4 of 4 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

Great Product! Great Prices!
Posted 9/13/2005
Rating: 5

My boys just love playing with this. It is so nice to see them using their imaginations to come up with some pretty neat things.

4 of 4 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

Review for
Posted 8/24/2005
Rating: 5

I greatly appreciate the ease at which I was able to navigate your site and find exactly what i was looking for. Your prices were more than competitive, the ordering process was quick and painless, and the product arrived 2 days after submission with no delivery charges. Thanks.

4 of 4 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

Best of 50 Model Set
Posted 8/15/2005 by Ellen Lamb
Rating: 4

Hello, This is my son's first Erector Set. He has spent the past three days enjoying building and re-building models. He has no complaints. My only comlaint is that the set did not arrive with a container/organizer. The pieces are difficult to keep track of. Now that I look back at the Erector set descriptions, I notice that some of them mention that containers are included. I guess, I needed it spelled out for me that the container was not included. Is it possible to seperately order a organizer or container for our set? I consider this an heirloom toy and would like to preserve it. Other than that this was a great transaction and great price! Thank you, Ellen Lamb

4 of 4 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

My rating of
Posted 7/6/2005 by Donald Fedorko
Rating: 5

The colored illustrated directions are outstanding, especially for young kids. My sons are 6.5 and 5 and they love the set even though the recommend age range starts at 8 years old.

4 of 4 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

Love the erector set
Posted 6/13/2005 by Rodney W. Kunkel
Rating: 5

Lots of parts and things you can build with this one! Keeps me busy for hours.

4 of 4 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

Great kit, love the power tool
Posted 5/4/2005 by Tara Clark
Rating: 5

I had hoped to buy the power tool separately, but since it doesn't seem to be sold outside of this kit, decided to purchase this item. It's a great beginner set.

4 of 4 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

A rating of
Posted 4/28/2005 by Alan Parkinson
Rating: 4

I question whether this set could really be used by an 8 year old (as indicated on the box). Nevertheless, as a mechanical engineer, I think it is the type of toy more kids should have--one that challenges their imagination, one that teaches them how machines work, and one that allows for hours of active, creative fun.

4 of 4 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

Great service and prices
Posted 3/1/2005 by Michael Tucker
Rating: 5

My son and I love the erector set. Brings me back to my pre-teen years. The service and prices are great. The followup they did with order with shipping info was not expected. I will purchase from them again.

4 of 4 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

The Impossible Is Possible
Posted 2/25/2005 by Lorilee Richardson
Rating: 5

We have been searching for an alternative to video games (gameboys, x-box, etc and other mind dulling toys) and believe we have finally found it. Our 10 year old boy has spent a significant amount of time playing and building with the new erector set since Christmas. Because its fun for me, too, its given me the opportunity to spend some quality time with him. I can see him and his friends spending many hours building and playing. Its an all around great gift.

4 of 4 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

Review for
Posted 2/25/2005 by Fred Bush
Rating: 5

This item is a Christmas present for a 9 year old future inventor. I checked the package upon receiving it and the product quality appeared to be excellent. I am sure he will be thrilled on Christmas morning. What impressed me most as a first time customer was the extremely courteous and friendly service that I received. The young lady was very knowledgeable about the products and along with her pleasant attitude, I could not resist the purchase. I look forward to future business. Thanks Grandpa

4 of 4 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

Information about
Posted 2/25/2005 by Peggy or John Wilson
Rating: 5

Great shopping experience. Good price. Fast shipping. Good email communication. Toy arrived in perfect condition. There was nothing about this transaction that could be improved on. It was perfect. Thank you

4 of 4 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

Erector Set Best of 50 Model
Posted 2/25/2005 by Carol
Rating: 5

My nine-year old son received this as a Christmas gift and loves it. He has already spent several hours building one of the models. A great gift for a kid that likes to build things!

4 of 4 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

Best of 50 Model Set
Posted 2/25/2005 by Greg
Rating: 4

This is a solid, well made toy with good instructions and overall a very good experience for kids of all ages. The parts probably do require the skills of an 7 to 9 year old but they seem to pick it up quickly. My 7 year old, who has been independent on medium level Lego projects did need some help but it is a nice variation for building toys. He loves it.

4 of 4 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

Erector Set: Best of 50 model set
Posted 2/25/2005 by Scott A. Lewis
Rating: 5

I was very pleased with the service that I received, espically this close to Christmas. I searched the web to find the set for my son. All other sights that I found were out of the set that I purchased, or they were well over priced. I will buy from Fat Brain toys again, and will also recommened them to others. They were the right store at the right time. They had the erector set in stock, and shipping was lighting fast, with great communication with me to let me know where the product was. Once again I am very pleased with this company and my purchase. Thank You!!!

4 of 4 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

Best of 50 model set
Posted 2/25/2005 by Michael Otto
Rating: 5

Excellent service from my telephone order to the fast shipment of my order. Your staff is very courteous and helpful. My order received "same day shipping and it arrived in excellent condition in a very timely mannor by UPS ground. The Erector set was a Christmas gift for my two boys and myself. We are enjoying it very much. It is an educational toy that we work on together. Count on us to be return customers for future gifts and toys. Thank you very much and best wishes for the new year! Michael Otto

4 of 4 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

A rating of
Posted 2/25/2005 by Penny Isenhour
Rating: 4

So far, my son has been very pleased with the erector set. He has not finished the initial construction yet as we were out of town - but he is enjoying the options available with the set.

4 of 4 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

Review of
Posted 2/25/2005 by Patrick Fero
Rating: 4

Nicely challenging for my 9-year old grandson. Everything works well but the battery pack is unnecessarily difficult to put together and getting at the batteries in the drill far too hard for a kid.

4 of 4 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

My rating of
Posted 2/25/2005 by Catherine Hastings
Rating: 4

I purchased this item for my son. He has already built several of the models, but I chose this set because he can design his own models. I like to encourage him to use his imagination.

4 of 4 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

Product review of
Posted 2/25/2005 by Andrew Greaney
Rating: 5

This is a great building set. I purchased this for my nephew. He got right into building. Everything down to the battery pack must be assembled. He really loved this set.

4 of 4 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

Review for
Posted 2/25/2005 by Laura Boffa
Rating: 5

When my son opened this set on Christmas morning, everything else was anti-climatic for him! The number of projects possible are endless and the ability to use the power drill makes the constructing far more interesting!

4 of 4 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

Erector Set (Best of 50 Model Set from YoungBuilder.com )
Posted 2/25/2005 by mark hil
Rating: 5

We had these in England when I was a boy, 30 to 40 years ago. It was called Meccano. I had thought they had stopped making these sets in favour of plastic sets like knex, but I was wrong. I heard about this on the radio and found your web site on Google. The web site is very well laid out with lots of other interesting items. Ordering was easy, delivery was quick and I got just what I wanted. The additional catalogue was a nice bonus. I am certain to order from Fat Brain again. Great job!

4 of 4 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

Review of
Posted 2/25/2005 by Kim Arrigo
Rating: 5

The Erector Set was great. I bought it for my nephew who is studying engineering at college and he loved it.

4 of 4 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

Review for
Posted 2/25/2005 by Teresa Ketelsen
Rating: 4

My son was very pleased with this gift. Erector sets are still a high quality, high entertainment gift for young builders.

4 of 4 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

Best of 50 Model Erector Set
Posted 2/25/2005 by Dakin Bowman
Rating: 5

We gave our 10 year old son the Best of 50 Erector Set for Christmas and it was a big hit. He loved the "power drill" and it was a great way for dad and son to spend some quality time together! If you're looking for an independent toy, this isn't it. His dad had to help him, but I think that's part of the fun!!

4 of 4 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

Best of 50 Model Erector Set
Posted 2/25/2005 by Steve Shinstrom
Rating: 5

Great toy for my 8 yr old. He loves to build and loves the nuts and bolts and having to figure out all the pieces. Great bang for your buck.

4 of 4 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

Best of 50 Model Erector Set
Posted 2/25/2005 by Paul Driskill
Rating: 4

This set has at least 25 models that my son who is almost 12 years old really enjoys. The set is complete with the all of the parts needed to make all 50 models. It also includes a motor and a battery powered screw driver to makr the model building more fun and faster!

4 of 4 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

Toy to Spark Creativity
Posted 2/25/2005 by Maureen Martyak
Rating: 4

Greta toy. Keeps my son focused on something other than TV or video games. It provides enough pieces to construct many different models.

4 of 4 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

Imagination
Posted 12/1/2004 by Carolyn
Rating: 4

My son loves to create the models and build things on his own. It lets his imagination take him any where. The best part of all is the real drill that lets him feel like he is building with Daddy's tools.

4 of 4 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

Erector Set
Posted 11/29/2004 by Ric Schwartz
Rating: 3

The set seems good but my nine year old son has yet to show interest in it. He says he plans to make something but hasn't yet. I think it will require parental assistance to get him going.

4 of 4 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

Wonderful toy!!
Posted 11/11/2004 by Tammy Van Ryzin
Rating: 4

Wonderful toy!! My 3 boys love it!!!

4 of 4 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

Wonderful creative toy
Posted 11/8/2004 by Anne M Caswell
Rating: 5

My son loves his erector set. This is a classic creative toy that helps to build skills in both following directions to build a model and free creative play in designing new things to build. It provides hours of purposeful fun! I highly recommend this for any child who likes to build things or take things apart.

4 of 4 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

1- Best of 50 Model Set
Posted 10/14/2004 by Robert A Sallavanti
Rating: 4

The Best of 50 Model Set arrived in fine shape and is of excellent quality. The youngster for whom this was purchased is actively enjoying it, and its educational value has been observed by me as valuable and significant.

4 of 4 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

Looks great.
Posted 10/19/2009 by Leslie
Rating: 4

This item is for Christmas, so I won't know how much this toy is loved until then. My child loves to build things and to me this looks like a lot of fun.

5 of 7 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

Remains To Be Seen
Posted 2/3/2008
Rating: 3

I was a little disappointed in the product for the money. I expected a much bigger, heavier box full of more stuff. Having read the previous reviews, I was prepared with a tackle box to store the set but it was much bigger than we really needed. My eleven-year-old aspiring engineer needs a lot of help getting the projects together, so either they are really advanced or he has chosen the wrong field! On the bright side he loves the power screwdriver, and it could be that he will grow into this set after a while.

4 of 5 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

Best of 50 Model Set
Posted 3/6/2006 by Tyra Buttry - GRANDPARENT
Rating: 4

The only problem I had with the product is that the wire between the motor and the battery was not strong enough. My nine year old granddaughter pulled on it and it broke. I rated the heirloom-quality materials and longevity as disagree because the motor to battery wire broke to easily.
Nikko provides replacement parts for Erector sets. We contacted Ms. Buttry to inform her of the contact number for receiving replacement pieces.

4 of 5 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

Excellent Service and Product
Posted 1/29/2006 by David Monson
Rating: 5

The erector set is a lot of fun. My 9 year old nephew and I are working together and he is learning to think and read plans and use tools. My order was handled same day. I am very happy.

4 of 5 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

My rating of
Posted 1/26/2006 by Su-Min Oon
Rating: 4

A good product as always. I grew up with Meccano in the 60's and this is even better because it is motorized. Different than Lego, ie. the parts do not snap together, and is more suitable for the older child.

4 of 5 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

Information about
Posted 2/25/2005 by Lee Anne McVicar
Rating: 1

I had never bought an Erector set before and was very disappointed in what is included for $85., mostly little bolts. I actually sent this product back yesterday for a refund. I am not blaming the company; I just had other expectations for this product. I also was unable to get through on the phone to see about the refund, so hopefully there won't be a problem with that. I included the invoice and a note about why I was returning it.

4 of 5 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

great toy, great service
Posted 2/25/2005 by Jon Sibley
Rating: 5

First of all, I had never heard of Fat Brain toys, until I ran a search for Erectror Sets. Not only did they have what I was looking for, they had much more. I like the fact that they offer a variety of educational (and fun) toys for kids of all ages (even adults). Secondly, I was a bit apprehensive about ordering from a company that I was unfamiliar with. However, I read customers' reviews and Bizrate's approval rating and went ahead with it. To my surprise and relief, the order arrived earlier than expected and was packaged very well. Third, FatBrain provided me with great communication regarding my shipment. All in all, a great experience that already has me thinking about what to get next Christmas.

4 of 5 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

Very Good
Posted 2/25/2005 by Karen Raines
Rating: 4

This purchase was made in mind for my 10yr old, however, my 13 yr old has had a blast with this set. What a nice change from video games, Thanks!

4 of 5 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

Erector Best of 50 Model Set
Posted 10/26/2006 by John Lenz - OTHER
Rating: 1

This was, is, and will always be, my first and only Erector Set. After taking inventory and sorting all the parts, I thought there would be value in the manual. Wrong! The manual is as minimal as it could possibly be. There is not one word in it. Only pictures of how to assemble builds. In many cases, I would only be able to tell what I was building after it was built. I liked it so much that, after I put all of the parts in one of those divided plastic storage cases, I put it on a back shelf.
An email was sent to Mr. Lenz requesting, Please pull that set off of the back shelf and send it back to us for a full refund. Toys and clutter should never be synonymous.

4 of 6 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)


McAfee SECURE sites help keep you safe from identity theft, credit card fraud, spyware, spam, viruses and online scams
Home | Shopping Cart | Help | Privacy Policy | Return Authorizations | Toy Blog | Coming Soon | Christmas Toys
Best Toys by Age | Birthday Gifts | Top Kids Toys | Toys on Sale | New Toys | Popular Toy Searches

Copyright © 2003-2014 Fat Brain Toys LLC. All rights reserved. Fat Brain Toys® is a registered service mark of Fat Brain Toys, LLC
Fat Brain Toys Offices
1405 N 205th Street, Suite 120
Elkhorn, Nebraska 68022
Phone 1-800-590-5987
Omaha Toy Store
16909 Burke Street, Suite 131
Omaha, Nebraska 68118
Phone 402-504-6218
Overland Park/Kansas City Toy Store
5601 West 135th Street, Suite 2230
Overland Park, Kansas 66223
Phone 913-305-4894

  MacWeb01