Home > Toy Companies > Erector (Meccano) > Erector Set - Special Edition Train Set > Customer Reviews
Erector Set - Special Edition Train Set
0

Customer reviews of Erector Set - Special Edition Train Set by Erector (Meccano)

Return to Erector Set - Special Edition Train Set product information...

Erector Set - Special Edition Train Set has been reviewed 55 times with an average rating of 4.64

Special Edition Train Set
Posted 4/15/2006 by Dennis Berry
Rating: 4

Our grandson loved it and is enjoying making them with my husband. He's 9 years old and thinks it is great. My husband thinks it's nice but doesn't think the quality is what it used to be compared to the Erector set he had when he was a child.

4 of 4 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

A rating of Erector Set - Special Edition Train Set
Posted 1/3/2006 by Ann Pasiuk
Rating: 5

Very fun toy. Nice storage case, good manual. It makes an enjoyable single or group activity for teens or adults.

4 of 4 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

A rating of Erector Set - Special Edition Train Set
Posted 11/28/2005 by Rhona Weizer
Rating: 5

I'm very pleased with the Special Edition Train Set. It is a gift for my husband who is both a model railroad and historic scenic railroad enthusiast.

4 of 4 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

Nice Erector Set
Posted 11/16/2005
Rating: 4

Beautiful train, easy to assemble and runs great on the floor; however, not so well on a G-Scale track (LGB brand). The train derails on turns.

4 of 4 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

train
Posted 9/24/2005 by cheryl mattucci
Rating: 5

When I received my train set I loved it!! It is beautiful!! Your website is the best I've ever found. So I ordered two more Erector Sets knowing they will be really nice too. Thank you so much for such a beautiful kit and for having such a nice website!!

4 of 4 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

Product review of Erector Set - Special Edition Train Set
Posted 8/24/2005 by Joseph Buchek
Rating: 3

Instructions were clear but there were a couple of points where it was nearly impossible to get your fingers into the spots where they needed to be to fasten the bolts. We wondered if anyone had actually built the model from the instructions. We also had to modify a couple of the connection points to get the train to operate properly. I also fear that some of the bolts will loosen and fall off after a while and the batteries will be difficult to replace without taking the train apart. Overall the train looks great and was fun to build.

4 of 4 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

Lots of Fun
Posted 8/18/2005 by Jonathan Hirtle
Rating: 4

This is an incredible toy - I can hardly wait to try it on my outdoor G scale track. The building isn't easy but there are great ilistrations and directions. I like the idea I can make more then one project. Thanks

4 of 4 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

Very Good
Posted 7/13/2005 by Jay Gordy
Rating: 4

Very good product, but a little much for an eight year old to handle on his own.

4 of 4 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

~ JK
Posted 5/20/2005 by AMCA - JEREMY KAY
Rating: 5

Though we haven't had the time to assemble any of the terrific constructions, I looked over the Instruction Booklet and found the product is well manufactured with easy to follow directions. I purchased the item to share (?) with my grand daughter (9) who visits several days each holiday. She's quite dexterous & seemes to enjoy Lego - and my old (1950s) Erector Set. I'll send another update in a couple months. I wouldn't be surprised if we purchase another Erector Item from Fat Brain Toys at that time.

4 of 4 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

Blast from the Past!
Posted 5/16/2005 by Jerome Scott
Rating: 4

I got this set for my wife (an electrical engineer) who used to play with Erector sets as a young girl. We had seen it in a toy store and both of us immediately fell in love with it but we did not buy it due to the high price tag (over $40 over list). Then I was doing a search on Google one day and saw that FatBrain had it on sale. It was just after my wife's birthday so I ordered it - a late b-day present. She was very happy with the packaging, instructions and parts however, as with all adults who remember the simplicity of their youthful toys, be they Erector sets or Lego, we were a little put off by all the 'special' pieces - but it builds such darn cool models that we soon forgave that. That is the only reason it did not get highest marks on this review.

4 of 4 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

Review for Erector Set - Special Edition Train Set
Posted 5/7/2005 by Jackie Spencer
Rating: 4

The train model is beautiful to look at, but I think not for the 8 year old the box recommends. My 10 year old son is talented, but this has parts even my husband and I find challenging to build. The instructions could be clearer...guess I'm used to words as well as pictures.

4 of 4 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

Erector Special Edition Train
Posted 4/24/2005 by Jeffrey J Huff
Rating: 5

This product combines the two biggest interest of my son, trains and construction. The set provides hours of entertainment and education. I'm sure we will purchase similar sets in the near future!

4 of 4 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

Review of Erector Set - Special Edition Train Set
Posted 2/25/2005 by WILLIAM O. SHARP
Rating: 5

THIS WAS EXCELLENT SITE. THEY HAD THE PRODUCT I WAS LOOKING FOR AT THE BEST PRICE. I WOULD RECOMMEND THIS THIS SITE TO ANYONE LOOKING FOR STUFF FOR THEIR KIDS. I WAS ALSO ABLE TO KEEP UPDATE WITH THEIR TRACKING SYSTEM THEY EVEN SENT A E-MAIL TELLING IT WHEN IT WAS DELIVERED.

4 of 4 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

My rating of Erector Set - Special Edition Train Set
Posted 2/25/2005 by Katherine Karl
Rating: 4

My 10 year old son is a train fanatic. When he saw this in the catalog he knew he wanted it. He is enjoying this train very much. It is much more challenging than other kits he has had (e.g., lego) but it is providing him with several hours of enjoyment.

4 of 4 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

Special Edition Train Set from YoungBuilder.com
Posted 2/25/2005 by john andrew thomas
Rating: 5

I was very pleased to find your store on the internet while I was looking for this item (Special Edition Erector Train Set). I compared prices with 4 or 5 other sites and yours was best by far. When the item arrived faster than I would have expected I placed an order for another Erector Set (set #0509). Thanks for the great service!!!

4 of 4 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

Special Edition Erector Train Set
Posted 2/25/2005 by David Henry
Rating: 5

Loved this item. As a boy growing up in the 60's, my older cousing bought me a large erector set and it was one of my all-time favorite gifts. My nephew rarerly gets excited about gifts but had the biggest smile I've ever seen on his face at Christmas. He immediately took this special edition set home and began assembling the locamotive. His mother said he's absolutely thrilled with it.

4 of 4 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

Information about Erector Set - Special Edition Train Set
Posted 2/25/2005 by Kelli P
Rating: 4

My son (age 9) got this for Christmas. He is an avid lego builder and this is his first erector set. HE LOVED IT. It is a bit of a challenge for him, but with a little perseverence and guidance I expect him to be a pro at this before long. I like the quality of the kit and the storage case is really nice. Plenty of space to add extra pieces in the future. The only thing I don't like and the reason I give it four stars and not five, is that it only gives directions for a couple of the models shown, the rest are "suggestions" and they have to figure it out on their own. They should include instructions for ALL models shown!

4 of 4 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

Gift
Posted 2/25/2005 by Janice D. Lemire
Rating: 4

I purchased this erector set as a Christmas gift for my nephew and my Dad. I hope that it will bring hours of enjoyment to them both. My Dad grew up with them as a kid and thought it would be nice for him to pass on the fun he learned as a kid to his Grandson. Thanks!

4 of 4 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

WOW! I dont need batteries
Posted 2/25/2005 by Mike Anderson
Rating: 5

Ok, Here's my review...Im 53 years young, and when I was growing up I was always taking things apart, and putting them back together again. I have always loved Erector sets, Lincoln Logs, wind up toys, steam engines, rockets... I could go on, and on, but my main point is you folks are on the right track as far as getting kids, and adults to learn to use your brain to solve problems, and learn to think critically. I love my iMac, but it is not the same as building an erector set! I was really pleased when I discovered your shop, you have a grand selection of items, and your prices are GREAT! I really hope a lot of people discover your store. Thanks for your Time. Michael Anderson

4 of 4 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

Special Edition Train Set
Posted 2/25/2005 by Mike Walsh
Rating: 5

The kit seem very thourough as well as complicated enough to hold my child's attention. The fasteners are almost too small for my fingers, however are of good size for my 8 year old's. My son likes the idea of being able to build multiple projects from the same kit.

4 of 4 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

Information about Erector Set - Special Edition Train Set
Posted 2/25/2005 by Gaddi A Layden
Rating: 4

The description of the product talked about the train runing in tracks however it never mentioned that tracks were not included. Overall I would rate website well above average. Shipment was on time and in great condition.

4 of 4 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

My rating of Erector Set - Special Edition Train Set
Posted 2/25/2005 by Carol Vinson
Rating: 5

Our son is 11 years old and loves Erector toys. This set was perfect for him this Christmas. He could do it all himself, and loved the finished products! It kept him busy for hours and he really had quite the feeling of accomplishment as he showed us the train, submarine and race car.

4 of 4 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

Erector Train Set
Posted 2/25/2005 by Gary D Garner
Rating: 5

This ws purchased as a Christmas present for my 10-yr old. It's his first Erector set, although he's very accomplished with Legos. He completed his first train project (not the largest one on the cover) the first day with very little help - and it worked great. He seems to enjoy the product a lot, probably because he's always been very fascinated with other types of model trains and with putting things together. We're very satisfied.

4 of 4 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

Super savings
Posted 2/25/2005 by Jeanette Copeland
Rating: 5

I had watched this product in the Smithsonian Magazine and just couldn't see paying $175 but at $79 I was thrilled to wrap it up for the little boy in my life, a 65 year old engineer. Thanks again, Jenny

4 of 4 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

My rating of Erector Set - Special Edition Train Set
Posted 2/25/2005 by Clarence Winspear
Rating: 5

Excellent service,very fast shipping , really like the e-mails on status of order and all follow ups on order Thank You.

4 of 4 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

erector set - train
Posted 2/25/2005 by janice hallberg
Rating: 5

My son received the train for xmas, he has already put 2 of them together. He is 9 years old. I would buy more from fat brain toys, the shipping was quick, the price was very reasonable and the free shipping was a nice bonus.

4 of 4 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

Great project
Posted 11/21/2004
Rating: 4

Great project for an adult as well as an older child. Gives you choices . Great finished project.

4 of 4 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)


McAfee SECURE sites help keep you safe from identity theft, credit card fraud, spyware, spam, viruses and online scams
Home | Shopping Cart | Help | Privacy Policy | Return Authorizations | Toy Blog | Coming Soon | Christmas Toys
Best Toys by Age | Birthday Gifts | Top Kids Toys | Toys on Sale | New Toys | Popular Toy Searches

Copyright © 2003-2014 Fat Brain Toys LLC. All rights reserved. Fat Brain Toys® is a registered service mark of Fat Brain Toys, LLC
Fat Brain Toys Offices
1405 N 205th Street, Suite 120
Elkhorn, Nebraska 68022
Phone 1-800-590-5987
Omaha Toy Store
16909 Burke Street, Suite 131
Omaha, Nebraska 68118
Phone 402-504-6218
Overland Park/Kansas City Toy Store
5601 West 135th Street, Suite 2230
Overland Park, Kansas 66223
Phone 913-305-4894

  MacWeb01