Home > Toy Companies > Fascinations > Antworks > Customer Reviews
Antworks
0

4 Star reviews of Antworks by Fascinations

Return to Antworks product information...

Antworks has been reviewed 274 times with an average rating of 4.58

neat to watch...
Posted 10/21/2009 by Ashley Howcroft
Rating: 4

very neat to watch them dig and interact with eachother. fun for the hole family.

11 of 15 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

Antworks
Posted 8/10/2008
Rating: 4

This ant farm is very nice looking, our only trouble was the lid had "dried" onto the sides and so the seal tore at the sides on opening. It was OK though, once we got ants big enough to not squeeze out the damaged spots. The air holes we taped as recommended, because our ants could get out. This product's exterior scratches fairly easily, so I wouldn't suggest you do as we did and take it out to the ant's nest . Ants caught in a small jar by tapping them in off a stick (no dirt that way), and refrigerated for a few minutes slowed them enough to keep them in the ant habitat long enough to put the lid on while in the house. The little "ant catcher" worked best for us as an excellent tiny magnifier once the ant's were in the habitat. We did not send away for the recommended Harvester ants yet; medium-sized ants ("pavement" ants) from our area are working fine, tiny ants did not do well,the gel seemed hard for them to deal with-we let them go after 2 days, since the gel is how they are to be fed. For this reason also, we took only worker ants the second time-no pupae, eggs or soldiers ants. The ants are quite amazing to watch in the clear tunnels, our 13 and 11 year-old children constantly check their progress.

7 of 8 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

Geralyn Fucinari
Posted 9/27/2011 by Geralyn Fucinari - FRIEND
Rating: 4

Have to wait till Oct. 17th to order ants...thats when regular shipping is available. Quite impressed with quality of product tho..

6 of 7 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

Product review of Antworks
Posted 9/19/2011 by Renee Burris - EDUCATOR
Rating: 4

Watching the ants work is very interesting!

6 of 7 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

Great Antfarm
Posted 3/8/2006 by Lori McGee Smart
Rating: 4

Although we have not received our ants yet, this is a very well-made product. My children, ages 6 1/2 and almost 10, can't wait to see what happens. The great colored gel is also a huge improvement over the old sand-filled ones.

5 of 5 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

Very, very cool!
Posted 3/2/2006 by Cindy Frey
Rating: 4

What a wondrous science toy! I admit we were a bit skeptical in the beginning. It took the ants 3-4 days to begin to burrow and create their tunnels. Almost half the ants died before the digging began, but the other half were clearly strong enough to take on the task! My 3 1/2 year old son is loving waking up each morning to see what the ants have taken on next! The light accessory is a must! It has served as a great night light in my son's bathroom!

5 of 5 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

AntWorks
Posted 3/2/2006 by Karl Morris
Rating: 4

Product is interesting and basically as advertised. I was a bit disappointed in the overall size of the unit, smaller than was expected based on the photos on the web site. Overall though the product is made of good quality materials and seems to be useful for my intended purpose. I'm generally pleased.

5 of 5 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

Antworks
Posted 2/21/2006 by Phyllis Palmer
Rating: 4

Although the magnifier broke the first time it was used, the rest of teh product has been enjoyable. The kids can watch the ants tunnel and learn about ant community behavior by watching their every move. The kids are fasinated by this item. We have had other ant farms before, but none come close to this level of fun.

5 of 5 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

Antworks
Posted 1/21/2006 by Adrienne Vivar
Rating: 4

It was smaller than I expected, but very interesting. The whole family loves seeing what the ants have been up to during the night. It's amazing to watch them carrying the gel to the surface. We never knew ants were so smart. The plastic is thick and appears to be a quality item.

5 of 5 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

Fun!
Posted 11/21/2010
Rating: 4

Well, the case is smaller than I expected. But although we're still waiting for the ants, my son is very excited about it, has been playing with it as much as he can already, and it does look very cool when there are holes in it. I am sure it will look awesome with tunnels and lighting.

6 of 8 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

Information about Antworks
Posted 5/10/2011 by JAN J BLUM
Rating: 4

This is very educational and it will expand my granddaughter's interest in other projects and give her satisfaction and excitement for caring for animals.

5 of 6 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

Antworks Ant Farm
Posted 5/24/2006 by T.G.
Rating: 4

The ant farm is really nice. The gel inside is neat and clean and requires no maintenance. The lid seals well, but is easy for an adult to remove. The enclosed guide is amusing and informative. The first day, we found sugar ants. Unfortunately, sugar ants can escape through the tiny air holes in the lid. Our colony now resides somewhere behind my daughter's dresser. Added three carpenter ants...who sat happily eating for two days, but never began to tunnel. Upon release, the three lazy insects scurried out of the ant farm and set up camp in an old hollow tree in our yard. My daughter is eagerly awaiting her shipment of harvester ants (there's an order form in the back of the manual; the ants are not expensive - just $3.00 to cover shipping). Hmm...I wonder how they will ship live ants? And how I will unload them into the ant farm without them escaping all over the house? This ought to be interesting.

5 of 6 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

Review of AntWorks
Posted 5/13/2006 by Nancy Taylor - EDUCATOR
Rating: 4

Exceptional educational item! I teach third grade and my class LOVES AntWorks! I have the illuminated one, and ordered the regular AntWorks for next year's class. It just snaps on the illuminating part. My only regret with the product is that refills of the gel are not available. I did talk to the company that manufactures AntWorks, and was told that it was not safe to provide the refill gel, as it must be heated to very high temperatures during the filling process. Therefore, they couldn't provide that due to liability issues. So, I'll just keep getting a new AntWorks to snap on every year. The cost is worth it...though when teacher's have to pay for these things out of their own pocket...it does become somewhat difficult.

5 of 6 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

Product review of Antworks
Posted 1/3/2011 by sallie
Rating: 4

awesome way to have "pets"

4 of 4 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

great procuct but didnt realize we had to get our own ants
Posted 12/30/2010 by Mackenzie Warren - FRIEND
Rating: 4

made wonderfully. my girls love it but we didnt realize it didnt come with ants (i dont know why) so it wasnt a great christmas gift in ohio but when spring rolled around we were capturing on the sidewalk and captivated

4 of 4 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

Antworks
Posted 4/16/2008 by Holly L Gangle
Rating: 4

This was a great gift for my kids ages 4 and 7. The ants created all kinds of tunnels. Just like the picture shows. The only negative was that we had to wait quite a while for the ants to arrive.

4 of 4 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

Fun For Kids
Posted 3/31/2008 by Anna Centuolo
Rating: 4

My son loves bugs. The gel is great for observing ant behavior. It is sturdy. I wish it included supplemental suggestions or information on ant behavior.

4 of 4 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

Antworks Antfarm
Posted 2/28/2008 - OTHER
Rating: 4

I purchased this Antfarm as a gift for my wife. She is very happy with it. She enjoys watching the ants as they tunnel through the gel.

4 of 4 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

Information about Antworks
Posted 2/18/2008 by Amy Leonard
Rating: 4

My class is already looking forward to using this. It's nice that food and watering of ants is already taken care of. However, it would be nice if the booklet also included instructions on how to obtain ants other than ordering them.

4 of 4 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

Information about Antworks
Posted 1/23/2008 by Wendy Johnson
Rating: 4

Functional. Displays attributes very well. I liked the blue gel.

4 of 4 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

Antworks
Posted 1/15/2008 by Jason Zastrow
Rating: 4

It is a quality product that I've had before.

4 of 4 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

Fascinating
Posted 12/31/2007
Rating: 4

This is a great product. I haven't had a chance to order the ants yet, but I am happy with the ant farm itself. The only thing that I might have wanted is for it to have been a bit larger.

4 of 4 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

Product review of Antworks
Posted 12/10/2007
Rating: 4

Cool item!

4 of 4 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

My rating of Antworks
Posted 10/25/2007
Rating: 4

Great new age adaptation of an old favorite.

4 of 4 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

Good
Posted 10/17/2007 by Martyn Speck
Rating: 4

Cool product. Antworks is a clean and good looking ant farm.

4 of 4 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

Ant Works
Posted 7/3/2007
Rating: 4

Excellent item for summer camps, but no matter the topic of camp all children are fascinated by insects.

4 of 4 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

Antworks
Posted 5/11/2007 by Annette
Rating: 4

Initially quite fun to watch. Now that the ants have built all their tunnels, the kids don't seem as interested in them, and they crawl around at the top like they would like to get out.

4 of 4 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

A Science Experiment and Lighted Sculpture
Posted 2/11/2007 by Gary L. Coleman
Rating: 4

When my 11 year old nephew told me he wanted a "gel ant farm," I had no idea what he was talking about. Then, I discovered Antworks. In reality, Antworks is based on a NASA science experiment. In addition to the main gel container, I purchased the Antworks lighted base. That's the best part of the whole thing. The lighted base works by electricity and has several LED lights in it. When you set the Antworks gel container on top of the lighted base, the LED lights shine up through the gel material producing a soft, blue light that fills the room. It's a science experiment and lighted sculpture all in one. Adults will enjoy the instruction book that comes with Antworks. It's written with a touch of humor, so you really want to read it. Be prepared. The Antworks gel container plus lighted base is not very big. It is the exact dimensions as described, but it was smaller than I expected. However, it is the right size for a desk or bookcase. I can't imagine buying the Antworks gel container without the lighted base. Everyone in the family from my 2 year old niece to Dad and Mom think Antworks looks "really cool."

4 of 4 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

My rating of Antworks
Posted 1/25/2007 by Jodi
Rating: 4

Great product. Antworks has keep our whole family entertained for hours. We wake up in the morning and can't wait to see what the ants have done all night. Best pet we ever had!

4 of 4 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

Information about Antworks
Posted 1/2/2007 by Jennie
Rating: 4

I bought this as a present for a 7 year old boy. At first he was not excited, because the ants are not included-you have to send away for them-so he really did not understand what it was. The saving grace was the informational booklet included with interesting facts all about ants. We spent a lot of time reading it and it got him very excited to set it up. Now that it is in his bedroom, he loves watching the ants in their tunnels. I am now going to buy the optional light, so he can see them at night.

4 of 4 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

Antworks
Posted 8/8/2006 by Roland L. Halpern
Rating: 4

I was somewhat surprised at its small size. Also, air holes would allow very small ants to escape, so you definitely want larger ants for this product.

4 of 4 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

Thankx!
Posted 5/31/2006 by CMB
Rating: 4

Great find. Kids just love watching the Ants as they make tracks thru the gell.

4 of 4 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

Ant Farm
Posted 1/2/2006 by Jeffrey M. King
Rating: 4

It is certainly smaller than what you see on the web site....as the ants are certainly bigger in the picture than real life. My son is looking forward to getting the ants and using it.

4 of 4 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

Awesome!
Posted 1/2/2006 by Valerie DePetrillo
Rating: 4

Very cool ant farm. I'm not sure who likes it more me, my husband or my 4 year old.

4 of 4 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

Review for Antworks
Posted 1/2/2006 by Stacy
Rating: 4

We love watching the ants working!

4 of 4 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

A rating of Antworks
Posted 12/29/2005 by Joyce Slocum
Rating: 4

My 11-year-old grandson has been extremely interested in his ant farm. Doesn't even want 8-year-old brother to share! So it has been a very successful gift, and thank you for sending it so quickly. I read about it in Time magazine, and procrastinated in ordering, but you came through for me.

4 of 4 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

Antworks is super cool!
Posted 12/28/2005 by Steph in Seattle
Rating: 4

I was excited to open the Antworks box and see how it would look with the Illuminator. I loved how it glowed and was excited to know that there would be no issues with sand since gel is being used by the ants. I look foward to seeing the results of the ants making their home but for now it looks great and works as a nightlight in my nephews room. I know that others were concerned about it's small size but I am content as I know it is just right for my nephew.

4 of 4 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

Great product!
Posted 12/23/2005 by Kelly
Rating: 4

This is a really interesting new product. It is a little smaller than I expected, but very interesting to watch.

4 of 4 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

Review of Antworks
Posted 12/23/2005 by Jeanette Warner
Rating: 4

The Antworks antfarm is sweet, especially with the lights that go underneath it. I purchased it for my boyfriend, and both him and his brothers are enjoying the ants. The only thing I was dissapointed with was the size.

4 of 4 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

My rating of Antworks
Posted 12/19/2005 by Bee Thao
Rating: 4

Awesome. I like it a lot because it's very different from the other antfarms. Everyone else who has seen it is like, "Cool, where did you get that?"

4 of 4 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

Antworks
Posted 12/19/2005 by Brett Grinder
Rating: 4

Neat little package. It is somewhat small, but the kids don't mind, and the ants are forced into doing more with less. One time- use product, but the ants are still alive at this time and I expect they will be there for several months.

4 of 4 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

My rating of Antworks
Posted 12/12/2005 by Neil Ackerman
Rating: 4

Bought this for my nephew...smaller than I anticipated, but still fun and a modern twist on the ant farm. A lot easier and less messy. I also purchased the illuminator - makes for a fun show at night.

4 of 4 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

Ants are cool
Posted 10/26/2005 by sarah thompson
Rating: 4

This is a really neat product. I bought it for my 3 year old daughter's preschool class. They absolutely love it!

4 of 4 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

Antworks
Posted 10/12/2005 by Beth
Rating: 4

Antworks is a great "antfarm." My six year old daughter found it both entertaining and educuational. We are planning to purchase another one for her classroom when they study insects in the spring. The ants are self-contained (all nutrients, including water) are contained in the gel. You can watch the ants tunnel around without having to risk getting stung ! Really cool !

4 of 4 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

Information about Antworks
Posted 10/11/2005 by Travis McKee
Rating: 4

I do like the antworks ant farm. I actually captured fire ants (which it says not to do), and they have worked out rather well. I'll probably order other ants for it soon. At the same time, I ordered a large 400 piece geomag magnet set. Both items came in the same box, but the shipping box had a large hole punched in it. I have to say that that annoyed me. I like to keep the boxes for items in perfect shape in case I want to sell the item at a later date. Other than that, everything is fine. Thank you for taking an interest.

4 of 4 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

Antworks
Posted 12/26/2011 by cnuck....
Rating: 4

The antfarms are wonderful!!!!!

4 of 6 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

Information about Antworks
Posted 12/3/2013 by Lori Boss
Rating: 4

Great product and durable. I don't feel like ants are going to crawl out

Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

Follow-up on Your Order
Posted 10/28/2013 by Yoav Bensoussan
Rating: 4

kids love it.. better than TV!

Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)


McAfee SECURE sites help keep you safe from identity theft, credit card fraud, spyware, spam, viruses and online scams
Home | Shopping Cart | Help | Privacy Policy | Return Authorizations | Toy Blog | Coming Soon | Christmas Toys
Best Toys by Age | Birthday Gifts | Top Kids Toys | Toys on Sale | New Toys | Popular Toy Searches

Copyright © 2003-2014 Fat Brain Toys LLC. All rights reserved. Fat Brain Toys® is a registered service mark of Fat Brain Toys, LLC
Fat Brain Toys Offices
1405 N 205th Street, Suite 120
Elkhorn, Nebraska 68022
Phone 1-800-590-5987
Omaha Toy Store
16909 Burke Street, Suite 131
Omaha, Nebraska 68118
Phone 402-504-6218
Overland Park/Kansas City Toy Store
5601 West 135th Street, Suite 2230
Overland Park, Kansas 66223
Phone 913-305-4894

  MacWeb01