Home > Toy Companies > Fat Brain Toy Co. > Acuity > Customer Reviews
Acuity
0

4 Star reviews of Acuity by Fat Brain Toy Co.

Return to Acuity product information...

Acuity has been reviewed 69 times with an average rating of 4.43

Acuity
Posted 2/21/2011 by Sammy Coleman
Rating: 4

I work in a vision clinic under the direction of a developmental optometrist. We use many different games along with other prisms or flippers to improve a patient's vision and perception. This game is an excellent perceptual exercise. I like the fact that no game is the same and every time I pick it up to do with a patient, I'm not sure what to expect from the grid or the patient. It is a great tool to teach focus and perseverance.

18 of 18 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

A rating of Acuity
Posted 11/16/2010 by Diane - OTHER
Rating: 4

Purchased for use in a library. Used during two gaming sessions thus far. Able to quickly teach the rules and let kids play. Drew a crowd around the tiles with everyone trying to find a match. Tiles are sturdy and should last a long time, even with use in a library.

14 of 14 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

Acuity good, but challenging
Posted 3/17/2011 by Kathy Ruhnke
Rating: 4

I got Acuity to help hone my daughter's vision; she's seeing a developmental optometrist. She was excited to play the game; it took some explaining before we both figured out how to play. It is challenging, for both of us, to look for matching patterns. She still is asking to play the game, so that's promising. I did have to give her some hints as to what section of the board had the match. I'm thinking the more she plays, the better she'll get!

13 of 14 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

Acuity is a fun game for the whole family
Posted 12/3/2010 by Tom
Rating: 4

We got this game around Thanksgiving and have played it ever since. It's very easy to setup and very simple yet rewarding to play. It really makes you think and plan out your moves. Fast pace and easy to learn.

9 of 9 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

My rating of Acuity
Posted 1/24/2011 by Diane Papa - RELATIVE
Rating: 4

This game is rated for 6 yrs and up but we thought it was way too hard for children. The instructions leave room for interpretation so we aren't sure if we are playing it correctly.
Acuity matches up well to the visual spatial abilities of some six year olds and challenges others. If the directions of any game leave you perplexed, we're experienced decoders of our customers' concerns! We provided our customer simplified game instructions, and we'll happily help you too. Please visit the Returns & Exchanges center for details.

9 of 11 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

Information about Acuity
Posted 12/31/2010
Rating: 4

I bought this game for a 9-year-old and a precocious 41/2-year-old to play. It is beyond the younger, and the game says 6 years and up. But the surprise is that the adults who played it liked it a lot. IQ and education don't necessarily lead to success at this game. It's visual perception and logic.

7 of 8 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

A rating of Acuity
Posted 7/25/2012 by Kelli Bretz
Rating: 4

Little ones love it.

6 of 6 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

Good
Posted 4/12/2012 by Lisa Poe
Rating: 4

It is a great game and a little difficult. Great for visual scanning!

6 of 7 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

Review of Acuity
Posted 1/6/2011 by Karen Grant
Rating: 4

I got this game for my 8 year old son, however when it came time to play it my 15 and 20 year old sons were the ones to play with me. We thought it was a good game, fun to play with a lot of people or three. Playing with the older "kids" it became more of a competition. We haven't had it long, but so far a great game that uses your brain.

6 of 7 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

Acuity
Posted 12/29/2010
Rating: 4

Our whole family from age 5 to 72 played the game and enjoyed it. It can be played competitively or cooperatively just for fun. Everyone had a good time. It's especially nice that it does not require reading so even the little ones can set it up and play without an adult.

5 of 5 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

Acuity
Posted 1/8/2012 by Sheila Smith
Rating: 4

Receiver is 6. Well designed packaging. Believe that instructions are not good enough. Pattern matching recommendations are questionable. Try to show more options in the patterning options. I really enjoyed it, even if I did it incorrectly.

6 of 8 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

Acuity
Posted 12/30/2010
Rating: 4

Our 6-year old wasn't terribly interested. A lot had to do with the fact he was so overwhelmed by all the toys he received. Given some time, we believe he will grow to like it since he loves patterns and enjoys board games.

5 of 7 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

Acuity
Posted 12/30/2010 - GRANDPARENT
Rating: 4

Sturdy tiles; would have liked a 'board' of some sort with slight ridges for various array possibilities. ...very MINOR annoyance having to keep tiles togethe. Instructions do not indicate if rotating the tile manually is OK when making a match and thus changing the game board in an ongoing fashion.

5 of 8 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

Acuity
Posted 3/5/2013
Rating: 4

This game is really fun! It takes some getting used to, but once you get it figured out it really makes you think. It is great for getting kids to think outside the box, and adults too! The game pieces are very sturdy.

1 of 1 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

Information about Acuity
Posted 11/12/2012 by Anna Wygrys - GRANDPARENT
Rating: 4

By changing the matching by shapes, colors, number of tiles needed, etc. it is challenging for multiple ages.

1 of 1 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

Information about Acuity
Posted 9/23/2013 by SUDHA R MUDUNDI
Rating: 4

My daughter really enjoys playing this with her friends.

Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

Vision training
Posted 1/3/2013 by Gena
Rating: 4

We have played this game a few times now. While we didn't find it super 'fun' per se, I have every intention of playing it with my autistic daughter on a regular basis. It definitely makes you look for patterns and makes you think about 'what if I turn the tile this way?' sequences. Her spatial comprehension is delayed, and I can certainly see this as a fun and colorful training tool to help improve her eye/vision coordination and pattern recognition.

Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

Acuity Review
Posted 1/2/2013 by Shani Valdez
Rating: 4

I was really looking forward to this game for my kids, but found the game a little harder than I thought it would be. I think my children will get into this later on, but not as much of a hit right now.

Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

Great Visual skills
Posted 12/29/2012 by Marcy Kozlowski
Rating: 4

We played this game as a family with our oldest child being 16 and our youngest only 7. The game has adaptations for younger players like allowing them additional time to find the patterns. It was fun game and challenging but not frustrating.

Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

Acuity
Posted 12/26/2012
Rating: 4

This was a gift for a 8 year old. The family has played this and say it is a lot of fun!

Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

Review
Posted 12/13/2012 by Kenneth Deja
Rating: 4

Fun game, we enjoy playing it with our daughter.

Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

Viusal matching
Posted 1/21/2013
Rating: 4

Fun game trying to match patterns. The game was much easier for my daughter and wife who are more "visually" oriented. I had a much tougher time, being a left-brained individual. I have to play the game more often to stimulate the other side of my brain.

1 of 3 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)


McAfee SECURE sites help keep you safe from identity theft, credit card fraud, spyware, spam, viruses and online scams
Home | Shopping Cart | Help | Privacy Policy | Return Authorizations | Toy Blog | Coming Soon | Christmas Toys
Best Toys by Age | Birthday Gifts | Top Kids Toys | Toys on Sale | New Toys | Popular Toy Searches

Copyright © 2003-2014 Fat Brain Toys LLC. All rights reserved. Fat Brain Toys® is a registered service mark of Fat Brain Toys, LLC
Fat Brain Toys Offices
1405 N 205th Street, Suite 120
Elkhorn, Nebraska 68022
Phone 1-800-590-5987
Omaha Toy Store
16909 Burke Street, Suite 131
Omaha, Nebraska 68118
Phone 402-504-6218
Overland Park/Kansas City Toy Store
5601 West 135th Street, Suite 2230
Overland Park, Kansas 66223
Phone 913-305-4894

  MacWeb03