Home > Toy Companies > Fat Brain Toy Co. > Brain Food > Customer Reviews
Brain Food
0

3 Star reviews of Brain Food by Fat Brain Toy Co.

Return to Brain Food product information...

Brain Food has been reviewed 235 times with an average rating of 4.43

Product review of Brain Food
Posted 6/7/2011 by Jackie Bache
Rating: 3

The children loved it. I absolutely hated it. It made a horrible mess, and I am not really very fussy about such things. It is hard to remove from some surfaces (like rugs), as you might expect, but also hard to remove from surfaces you might NOT expect. One of the girls was holding it in her hand and it melted into her hand. It was unbelievably difficult to remove it. This stuff is basically a stickier, prettier version of Silly Putty. Not even close to being worth the money, IMO, and I have begun throwing it away as I find it around the house. I would never buy this stuff again!
At extreme temperatures, Brain Food behaves predictably. At frigid temperatures, Brain Food settles down and doesn't move much. Exceptionally warm temperatures make Brain Food quite affectionate; so it may cling to things. We've never known it to stick to hands - though a millisecond beside an open refrigerator would cool it right down for simple removal. We provided our customer a gift certificate. If any product surprises you with questionable behavior, please let us know! Visit the Returns & Exchanges center for details.

9 of 9 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

Black Magnetic Version Hard to Mold
Posted 4/2/2009 by Linda Lankowski - CO-WORKER
Rating: 3

The putties (I bought at least one of each) were fought over, and we're having fun with this stress reliever. The black Super Magnetic putty is pretty hard to mold, squeeze, shape, etc. (Maybe because of whatever makes it magnetic?) The only person in the office who liked this one is a 23 year old man. The women didn't have a strong enough grip. The magnetic putty is not excessively magnetic. We spent quite some time trying to make it stick to our desks. You have to have just the right amount of putty to make it work. Too little and there's not enough adhesion, too much putty and it's not strong enough to hold its own weight.

9 of 9 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

Maybe Sort Of Magnetic
Posted 7/7/2009 - EDUCATOR
Rating: 3

I've purchased Brain Food before. The kids I work with (who range in age from 6-22) love it! The Super Magnetic version has the same cool texture and consistency, but when we tried it up against a number of things it should attract, it only attracted some of them. It worked the best when stretched to a very thin strand--then it seemed to attract paper clips best. Still great fun to play with, but not super-magnetic.

10 of 13 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

Product review of Brain Food
Posted 4/14/2009 by Laura Schmitz
Rating: 3

We have all really enjoyed the Brain Food. It is perhaps glorified silly putty and more expensive, but you get about three times as much. This was very nice because, in my experience, anytime you see someone playing with it - you want to play with it yourself! My three year old son, myself and my husband all happily played with chunks of it. Our son mainly gave us instructions for what to mold for him! The container was very sturdy and won't be easily misplaced or broken.

6 of 7 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

pretty blue
Posted 6/4/2012 by Peggy Shelton
Rating: 3

it's not what I thought it would be. Kinda hard to get it out of the can. And it's really tough to work with. It doesn't work in the ways I read about. Maybe for other people not sure.
Here's a quick tip- gently pry with the back of a spoon and Brain Food releases its grip on the tin quick. The more Brain Food warms to the temperature of your hands, the more stretchy and pliable it becomes. If you're fed up with performance of any Fat Brain Toy - become fully satisfied with a visit to our Returns & Exchanges center.

5 of 5 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

A rating of Brain Food
Posted 11/1/2011
Rating: 3

It's a great church toy. The creativity can be a quiet creativeness.

5 of 5 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

My rating of Brain Food
Posted 1/6/2010 by Elana Peled
Rating: 3

When we first opened the can, it seemed that the contents were damaged. The brain food appeared to have melted into the lid. Each time the can is opened, the contents appear to be stuck to their container. It requires a bit of work to remove. The can itself is difficult to open.
We contacted our customer to offer a replacement dose of Brain Food. We expect our customers to be 100% satisfied with the products we sell and the service we provide. Please visit the Returns & Exchanges center for details.

5 of 5 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

Brain Food Putty - Meh
Posted 4/30/2010 by Laurie Morella
Rating: 3

Not as exciting as it appeared. It is extremely firm and difficult to work with. For some reason, when I finally pried open the tin, it had apparently liquified at some point and spread all over all sides of the tin. Unfortunately, it was hardened again when I encountered it. I am prying it out of the top and bottom of the tin, where it has an exceptionally good hold. -OK, well that was good. It all came out in one piece. It is the consistency of taffy, without the stickiness.
If your Brain Food appears to have taken a firm liking to living in the tin, simply use the back of a spoon or similar object to pry it free. Although it may be stiff to the touch at first, Brain Food warms up quickly in your hands - pleasureful pliability follows!

5 of 6 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

Review for Brain Food
Posted 1/14/2013 by Karyn Bridges
Rating: 3

It is quite messy. My 5 year old was playing with it and my 1.5 year old got into it and it did not come out of his clothes.
Please note the words of caution in the product description. Brain Food is inclined to stick really, really well to clothes - especially, when left in contact for a while.

1 of 1 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

Conference Call Getter-Througher
Posted 10/29/2013 by Cara Jurkowski
Rating: 3

OKay, ahem. I uh, got this for myself. It's entertaining. I just squish it around and stuff. Not much to say other than that.

Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

Review of Brain Food
Posted 1/6/2013 by Darlene Crowe
Rating: 3

Lots of fun to play with for all ages. However a warning should be given about leaving the ball on fabric as it melts into fabric. You might try removing it from various upholstery fabrics and providing this info with the Brain Food. we have a microfiber sofa cushion ruined from this.

Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

Product review of Brain Food
Posted 12/30/2012 by Antonia B Moderie
Rating: 3

The "Brain Food" started out stiff much like Silly Putty but after it has been handled frequently it becomes almost Liquid. I could hold it in one hand and it would stretch down to the floor. Little pieces would drop and of course become part of what ever it fell on; ie couches and carpet. To be sure though, my son loves to play with it. We will just restrict where it is used.

Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)


McAfee SECURE sites help keep you safe from identity theft, credit card fraud, spyware, spam, viruses and online scams
Home | Shopping Cart | Help | Privacy Policy | Return Authorizations | Toy Blog | Coming Soon | Christmas Toys
Best Toys by Age | Birthday Gifts | Top Kids Toys | Toys on Sale | New Toys | Popular Toy Searches

Copyright © 2003-2014 Fat Brain Toys LLC. All rights reserved. Fat Brain Toys® is a registered service mark of Fat Brain Toys, LLC
Fat Brain Toys Offices
1405 N 205th Street, Suite 120
Elkhorn, Nebraska 68022
Phone 1-800-590-5987
Omaha Toy Store
16909 Burke Street, Suite 131
Omaha, Nebraska 68118
Phone 402-504-6218
Overland Park/Kansas City Toy Store
5601 West 135th Street, Suite 2230
Overland Park, Kansas 66223
Phone 913-305-4894

  MacWeb02