Home > Toy Companies > Fat Brain Toy Co. > Brain Food > Customer Reviews
Brain Food
0

4 Star reviews of Brain Food by Fat Brain Toy Co.

Return to Brain Food product information...

Brain Food has been reviewed 235 times with an average rating of 4.43

Review for Brain Food
Posted 10/12/2009 by Jenny Winscott
Rating: 4

The product itself is really cool. It is a very durable putty with great color. I would want more directions included on what NOT to do with it - since it got stuck to fabric and I do not know how to remove it.

18 of 19 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

Information about Brain Food
Posted 7/20/2009 by Pam Murphy
Rating: 4

i would agree with one reviewer who said that this appears to be "glorified silly putty", HOWEVER, my 8 year old and 4 year old boys have gotten this toy out EVERYDAY since they got it about 10 days ago! We got this for my four year old for his birthday, and they are currently playing with the Lapis and Scarab colors. I am going to give my 8 year old the amber (glow in the dark) color for his birthday (which i suspect may be even more popular than the other two). and i may even consider buying more. I would not recommend this toy for anyone younger than 4, because if they press it into their clothes, it may be a "sticky" situation. the only reason that i gave it 4 stars out of five is that it is a bit pricey for such a small package (it looks like it would cost much less). But this is a great toy that my kids are really enjoying (especially like to play with it on cookie sheets for some reason), and best of all, it does not require batteries!

13 of 13 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

Brain Food - Somewhat disappointed
Posted 11/18/2008 by Terry Gonzalez
Rating: 4

The children I work with love Brain Food. We were somewhat disappointed with the Twilight color because on the website it looked sparkly and more purple. It is neither sparkly or purple, but very much plain blue, similar to Lapis which we purchased a while back. Thank you for the opportunity to give feedback. Terry

14 of 16 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

Kids like it!
Posted 2/6/2009 by Melissa Miller
Rating: 4

My kids like this putty and enjoy playing with it. It's very beautiful in color and there is quite a bit there to play with. It very similar to other putty on the market. I think the price is a tad high for the product, but we are satisfied with our purchase.

11 of 11 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

Information about Brain Food
Posted 1/13/2009 by Alisa Sisco - GRANDPARENT
Rating: 4

I bought the Super Magnetic Brain Food as a gift for my ten year old grandson. He could not keep his hands off of it. Everyone that saw it wanted to play with it. We were all a little disappointed that it was not truly magnetic as the name would have you believe, however it will stick to the front of a file cabinet or the fridge with a little applied pressure. Over all I still give it four stars.

9 of 9 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

Wonderful!
Posted 1/15/2009 by Eleny Briggs
Rating: 4

My almost 5 yr old loves this stuff! He loves to squish it and take it into a dark room to see it glow.

9 of 10 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

Fun gift!
Posted 5/12/2009 by Allie GK - RELATIVE
Rating: 4

We gave this as a gift to our 5-year-old nephew who has a great natural curiosity. Our nephew has had a lot of fun playing with the putty in general, but especially likes seeing it glow in the dark. We gave him both the glow in the dark and magnetic putty and while he does like the magnetic putty, he prefers the glow in the dark putty. I would definitely buy the glow in the dark putty again.

8 of 9 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

My rating of Brain Food
Posted 10/31/2011 by Sue Mascioli
Rating: 4

I work at a school with students who have sensory integration issues. They enjoy earning points to buy the Brain Food. They like the colors and the texture.

7 of 7 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

Information about Brain Food
Posted 7/2/2009 by Kay Muller
Rating: 4

This product was purchased for my grandchildren (ages 6 and 8) along with the magnetic fish sculpture to entertain them on a long plane ride and vacation. Although they have not received it yet, I have had great fun playing with it myself and expect them to enjoy it, too.

8 of 10 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

Brain Food Is A Fun Time-Waster
Posted 6/18/2008 by Sharon Chandler
Rating: 4

The Brain Food has been fun when there are a few minutes to kill. It is especially handy when waiting for other people. I keep mine on the dining room table. I play with it when I am waiting for things. The kids play with it while waiting for dinner. It doesn't hold it's shape very long. Our creations constantly melt back into a glob. However, this may be due to the heat. I think it is cool that it doesn't stay, it keeps you making new things rather than just looking at something you already made. Kind of smells funny, but most putty products do. I have already bought some as a gift for someone else, and I would probably do so again. The Electric Blue - Lapis isn't as sparkly as the color description says, but it is pretty and fun to play with. I think the Hypercolor ones would be even more fun.

6 of 7 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

Fun! Four Year Old Loves it!
Posted 12/9/2010 by Vanessa
Rating: 4

I purchased Frontal Lobe Fuchsia for my four year old daughter. She immediately loved it. It is putty but at the same time she used her imagination and made different shapes and made different impressions with various objects. Thinking about getting another color to add to the collection. The putty comes in a metal tin which is great to store in as well. Played with on various surfaces without any marks or "grease" left on surface. Just don't get it on the carpet!!!

5 of 5 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

fun for all
Posted 2/23/2010 by Robert L VanFosson
Rating: 4

We got teh brain food for both my 4 and 6 year old daughters birthdays. At first they looked at it like what is this stuff, but soon dug in were having fun. Then the 9 and 11 year olds got a hold of it and they had fun also. It's very nice that it does not transfer color or pick up alot of fuzzys from clothes or carpets. The only negative is that when stretched to breaking there are little pieces that flake off. Overall very fun.

5 of 5 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

Brain Food
Posted 2/11/2010 by Glenda Smith
Rating: 4

I have two grandchildren, one 3 years old, a girl, and the other one is 4 years old and a boy. They played with the brain food for over 30 minutes. It was easy to shape and it sparked their imaginations. I liked how it flattens out in the tin container after each use. It was a big hit with the two grandchildren!

5 of 5 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

Brain Food
Posted 1/26/2010
Rating: 4

We ordered the blue and it was a great color. We also received a pretty good amount of putty in the container.

5 of 5 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

Pretty good
Posted 5/12/2010 by Marina
Rating: 4

It was a bit stickier than regular silly putty. If you carry the can in your bag at an odd angle (i.e. not flat), be prepared to put a little effort into opening it. The putty will slide down and stick to the top and bottom of the can. It's also not very easy to get out of the can, at least for a 4 year old. None of this is a big deal, and my son does like playing with it.

6 of 8 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

My rating of Brain Food
Posted 12/13/2011 by William B Bowen
Rating: 4

Grandchildren, ages 2 and 4, enjoyed playing with it. Not much in the can and we had to share so we just made little things. Doesn't seem to get on clothes as much as play dough. We had to stress that it isn't something to eat, even though it says "Brain Food". Interesting how you can make something and then watch it slowly "melt". We made snakes and coiled them around with their head sticking up and watched them fall over, almost as if they were moving. Like the consistency because it is not crumbly.

5 of 6 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

Product review of Brain Food
Posted 7/24/2012 by Jan - GRANDPARENT
Rating: 4

This toy was a gift and I really didn't have ample time to observe over a longer period of time how long the 6 year old recipient played with it. She was excited to see how it stretched and could be manipulated. She shared some of the substance so that adults could experience it. I did also purchase the item specifically so that she would exercise her hands and fingers to further develop her fine motor skills, which I believe the toy could do.

4 of 4 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

LOTS OF FUN
Posted 1/18/2012
Rating: 4

Brain Food is lots of fun. Very versatile, tactile, and reusable.

4 of 4 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

Product review of Brain Food
Posted 1/7/2012 by James Norris - GRANDPARENT
Rating: 4

Surprised and delight by it "self-leveling" properties Swirls in color made it very interesting to look at Stretchy quality was nice but had them play on hard surface so it could all be cleaned up

4 of 4 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

My rating of Brain Food
Posted 1/2/2012 by Robbie
Rating: 4

Love the idea of the Brain Food. My kids really enjoy playing with it, and I do, too. The only con I have is that it can get stuck to material that you would rather it not, such as sheets. Even though the Brain Food came out with washing, it did stain the sheet. It is a great product, but I have learned to use more supervision when the kids play with it.

4 of 4 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

Information about Brain Food
Posted 12/29/2011 by tcmom - RELATIVE
Rating: 4

My six year old daughter loves it! It's simple. It's gooey. It's bright. It returns back to the original/simple/flat shape from whatever shapes we make. It gives enough sensory pleasure.

4 of 4 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

A rating of Brain Food
Posted 12/26/2011 by Cheryl Bridge
Rating: 4

It's a good amount of "putty" to play with. Not too much or too little. It doesn't stick to a lot of things like clay does. The kids and adults really like it.

4 of 4 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

Review for Brain Food
Posted 5/3/2011 by Catherine Moyer
Rating: 4

I have purchased Brain Food in the past. It seems they changed the product a bit, it is a bit stiffer and less shiny but it still accomplishes the same tasks.

4 of 4 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

Quality Putty!
Posted 3/2/2011 by Amy Earp
Rating: 4

We really like the putty. And there is a lot in there! A lot like silly putty, only you get a lot more and the colors are really cool. Have to say I haven't let my kids play with it yet...actually bought it for me. I use it when I need to de-stress...works well.

4 of 4 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

A rating of Brain Food
Posted 1/3/2011 by Dori
Rating: 4

My daughter (age 10) enjoyed this toy a lot!

4 of 4 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

great goop
Posted 12/16/2010 by Kim Swiczkowski
Rating: 4

My girls are getting this for Christmas after checking out the stuff online, I know they will love it more than the playdough we have right now!

4 of 4 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

My rating of Brain Food
Posted 10/29/2010 by Bettina Kokinakis
Rating: 4

my children liked it but the novelty wore off

4 of 4 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

Review for Brain Food
Posted 8/19/2010 by Laurie H.
Rating: 4

My son loves the Brain Food Putty! I leave it on the counter so he can conveniently grab it when he needs to relax. He plays with it as walks around the house and even outside. This is an excellent way to get rid of extra energy in those fidgety little hands.

4 of 4 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

fun product
Posted 8/4/2010
Rating: 4

We've greatly enjoyed the brain food. My 3 year old calls it her "stretchy stuff" and loves playing with it. It makes a great gift too. Although it looks like it would be messy, it's actually pretty neat. The material is very pliable and fun for kids to stretch, roll, etc. And we love the bright, shiny colors.

4 of 4 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

Great gooey fun
Posted 8/1/2010 by SD
Rating: 4

The product is a great consistency. It does not stick to your skin. It is a little stiff to manipulate , and I found it tires the fingers a little. In my opinion it would be great fun for children who have stronger finger strength. It might frustrate someone that doesn't. That being said it could be therapeutic for someone with weak fingers or special needs. Over all I do love the fact that it is not messy like several other putty type manipulatives I have used.

4 of 4 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

Product review of Brain Food
Posted 4/17/2010 by Jody VanWassenhoven - EDUCATOR
Rating: 4

The products arrived quickly, thank you. One can was a little hard to get out of the tin, but once it was out it was fine. Thank you, my students love this product.

4 of 4 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

A rating of Brain Food
Posted 4/7/2010 by A Wiltse
Rating: 4

Two boys, age 4 and 7, have had a good time figuring out different ways to play with the Brain Food. It wasn't the immediate hit I hoped it would be, but they continually go back to play with it.

4 of 4 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

Information about Brain Food
Posted 4/2/2010 by Barbara Prine
Rating: 4

We purchased the Brain Food (Brain Stem Blue). The color was lovely and appealed to my five-year-old. It had good resistance and stretched nicely. My son enjoyed playing with it, stretching it and twisting it. I just wish that for the size of the can that it is in, there was a bit more. I expected to see a large amount of putty, and although there was a decent amount, for the size of the can that it's in, I thought that there could have been a little more. Overall, a great product that provided a lot of fun for a little boy and his Mommy.

4 of 4 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

Information about Brain Food
Posted 1/10/2011 by Jorge Wahner - EDUCATOR
Rating: 4

The Brain Food putty is great, all of my students love it.

4 of 5 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

Brain Food rev
Posted 6/15/2010 by Catharine Weese
Rating: 4

My four and five year old girls love this (they only wish I had gotten the pink for them) - they can split it in half and play for extended periods.

4 of 5 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

Totally worth it
Posted 11/7/2013 by Alok Lal
Rating: 4

It is not clear who plays with it more our son or us. In time I am sure he would play with it more but for now we are beating him at fiddling with this thing!

1 of 1 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

great for long flights!
Posted 10/2/2012 by Paige Alexander
Rating: 4

We purchased this product to entertain our son on a long flight to Hawaii. We all had a great time squishing it, pulling it, making shapes with it, you name it! My husband and I noticed it was an excellent way to relieve hand stress, too.

1 of 1 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

Parent
Posted 9/14/2012 by KATHLEEN P LAUGHHUNN
Rating: 4

We bought this to help my son who has ADHD. He uses it keep his hands busy, but quiet. He loves to use it at school and at home. The tin is hard to get closed, but we love everything else about it.

1 of 1 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

Product review of Brain Food
Posted 11/11/2012 by Alice Foreman - GRANDPARENT
Rating: 4

Sees to be a little messy for motehrs

1 of 2 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

My rating of Brain Food
Posted 10/22/2012 by wendy koster
Rating: 4

This is a fun product for boys and girls -- I think it helps with staying focused and attentive, plus it helps develop fine motor skills. The downside is the packaging, which is hard to open and close. It's also kind of hard to get the stuff out of the tin -- at least if you're a 9-year-old kid.

1 of 2 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

birthday gift
Posted 25 days ago by mary MEADOR
Rating: 4

played with item frequently until it got stuck in the carper

Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

My rating of Brain Food
Posted 7/13/2014 by Savanna Pavkov
Rating: 4

Both my husband and my three year old daughter cannot put this down! I purchased it for my husband to use while working and he loves it - but so does my daughter. With the two of them vying for playing time I'm sure I will soon be purchasing another tin of it!

Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

Product review of Brain Food
Posted 11/26/2013
Rating: 4

Keeps idle fingers busy.

Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

My rating of Brain Food
Posted 10/27/2013 by Christopher A. Zaino - OTHER
Rating: 4

The stiffness of the product is good. So that when our children use the Brain Food, they are really working their fingers. The glow in the dark does not glow as well as I had hoped, but the streaks of glow in the dark mixed with the portions that do not glow creates an interesting effect that that is motivating to the child.

Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

Occupational Therapist
Posted 9/30/2013
Rating: 4

kids like shiny-metalic colors blue resistance is med/hard

Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

A rating of Brain Food
Posted 8/21/2013 by Hugh Stirts
Rating: 4

Gifts for our granddaughters (4 and 6 yrs). They liked the gift quite a bit, and play with it often, usually 30 to 40 minutes at a time. I also got one (cranium chrome) and use it as a stress reducer. Good purchase!

Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

A lot of fun!
Posted 1/27/2013 by Heather79
Rating: 4

Brain food is a lot of fun...such a strange substance! Better than silly putty. I had high hopes that my 3 year old would play with it a little more than he does, but it's my husband that's enthralled by it! It's pretty relaxing to manipulate. I hope that he'll play with it a little more when he's older but this is such a distractable age :)

Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

Very Cool Brain Food!
Posted 1/9/2013
Rating: 4

My 8 year old has Asperger's and ADHD and this product helps him stay focused when completing tasks that require him to sit still. He enjoys manipulating it when he is frustrated as well. He really likes the color as well. The only drawback is it is very stiff and difficult to manipulate at first until he gets it "warmed up" in his hands. Other than that it is a wonderful product!

Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

Fun!
Posted 12/30/2012 by Neil P - RELATIVE
Rating: 4

Fun putty toy. Glows in the dark a little. 4 yr old nephew uses the same as play dough.

Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

Information about Brain Food
Posted 12/30/2012
Rating: 4

This putty has a tougher texture to it, it reminds me of hand therapy putty used after hand surgeries, it is fun to play with. It is not sticky or messy, leaves no residue or smell on your hands and stays together really well. Adults and kids both like it

Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

Brain Food
Posted 12/28/2012 by Pam Narvaez
Rating: 4

This is a fun toy that elicits imaginative play!

Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)


McAfee SECURE sites help keep you safe from identity theft, credit card fraud, spyware, spam, viruses and online scams
Home | Shopping Cart | Help | Privacy Policy | Return Authorizations | Toy Blog | Coming Soon | Christmas Toys
Best Toys by Age | Birthday Gifts | Top Kids Toys | Toys on Sale | New Toys | Popular Toy Searches

Copyright © 2003-2014 Fat Brain Toys LLC. All rights reserved. Fat Brain Toys® is a registered service mark of Fat Brain Toys, LLC
Fat Brain Toys Offices
1405 N 205th Street, Suite 120
Elkhorn, Nebraska 68022
Phone 1-800-590-5987
Omaha Toy Store
16909 Burke Street, Suite 131
Omaha, Nebraska 68118
Phone 402-504-6218
Overland Park/Kansas City Toy Store
5601 West 135th Street, Suite 2230
Overland Park, Kansas 66223
Phone 913-305-4894

  MacWeb02