Home > Toy Companies > Fat Brain Toy Co. > Dado Cubes > Customer Reviews
Dado Cubes
0

3 Star reviews of Dado Cubes by Fat Brain Toy Co.

Return to Dado Cubes product information...

Dado Cubes has been reviewed 554 times with an average rating of 4.43

Product review of Dado Cubes
Posted 8/9/2011 by Bailey
Rating: 3

Toy is difficult to put together. Maybe with more use it will be easier?
We assisted our customer. Dado pieces fit smoothly together when notches are aligned neatly with sides of the other cubes. The need to match Dado grooves squarely with an adjoining piece ensures that: 1. Small motor skills are developed. 2. Structures are stable and able to rise high and wide without collapse. If Dado Cubes aren't a good fit for your family, let us know. Our customer service team is securely oriented to delivering your full satisfaction. Please visit the Returns & Exchanges center for details.

7 of 7 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

Information about Dado Cubes
Posted 4/19/2011 by Stephanie Krajicek
Rating: 3

My kids are pretty little. They were interested with these when we first brought them home, but they have trouble using them without a little help. My son uses them with other toys and built a cave. My daughter enjoys stacking them by size.

7 of 7 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

Not a huge hit, yet
Posted 3/15/2011 by Ruth Bleidorn
Rating: 3

The cubes are sometimes hard to put together. They're just o.k. Our two year old was using them as garages and tunnels for his cars. They're better than t.v. The sharp corners scare me a bit.
We like the complex thought in aligning Dado Cubes' notches, the versatility, and the geometrics of perfect corners - however if Dado Cubes are just notch-your-thing, the building cubes may be returned or exchanged. Please visit the Returns & Exchanges center for details.

7 of 7 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

Dado Cubes
Posted 8/13/2010
Rating: 3

The cubes are at grandma's house with other toys. At first, the kids weren't sure what to do with them, but then figured out they could build things.

7 of 8 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

Good Product, She's Too Young
Posted 10/15/2009 by Cynthia Pittman
Rating: 3

Lets be honest there is only one thing to do with these, Stack and connect them. I love the colors but she's too young for it. It's a little boring for the adults. It doesn't have the same construction element of blocks with multiple shapes. We'll have to see if she grows into it or not.

7 of 8 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

Review of Dado Cubes
Posted 12/17/2009 by Helaine - GRANDPARENT
Rating: 3

Not nearly enough cubes to really build. More appropriate for younger child. My one and a half year old grandson was able to build with it. My four year old granddaughter was finished in five minutes. Didn't hold the interest of a four year old child, better suited for two year olds.

6 of 6 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

Perfect for Architect/Engineer's kids
Posted 4/22/2009 by Kelly Imparato - FRIEND
Rating: 3

These cubes are a lot of fun for the kids. I think the parents like playing with them more. I say any toy that gets the parents as involved and as entertained as the child is a good toy. These are very easy to stack and seem very durable.

8 of 11 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

A rating of Dado Cubes
Posted 10/1/2008 by Magdaleen Arangies-Grimbeek
Rating: 3

I think they are a bit young for my boys of 6 & 9, but for smaller kids they are very suitable. I found that the cubes sometimes stick together somewhat especially when they don't go in at right angles - that just means you have to take care what you do.

7 of 9 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

Product review of Dado Cubes
Posted 2/28/2012
Rating: 3

I have 2 1/2 twins and they occasionally play with their Dado cubes but seem to struggle with taking them apart. Hopefully in time they will enjoy them more.
Those fine motor skills will catch up soon - and building fun will escalate! Please note, if you're not 100% satisfied with a purchase, don't feel boxed in. Visit to our the Returns & Exchanges center. We're quick to assist!

5 of 5 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

My rating of Dado Cubes
Posted 12/9/2010 - GRANDPARENT
Rating: 3

Dado Cubes were a gift in combo with Dado Planks for a 3 1/2 year old grandson. The planks caught his eye immediately and while they can be used in conjunction, he preferred the creativity of the planks. Once he was shown how the cubes could be hooked together, especially in cantilever formation, he was much more involved.

5 of 5 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

Christmas Gift
Posted 12/28/2007 by The Macks
Rating: 3

My daughter didn't spend a lot of time with this gift right away, but she isn't quite two yet and I believe in time this will be a toy she will use often.

5 of 5 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

Product review of Dado Cubes
Posted 5/7/2008
Rating: 3

Not really for 14 month old. My son really only wants to stack them inside each other, instead of using the slits to build on. He has played with the Dado Cubes for maybe 5 minutes total.

5 of 6 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

More Challenging Than Expected
Posted 4/16/2007 by Tabitha Olzinski
Rating: 3

I purchased two sets of these cubes to use at my center for children ages 3-6. My children aged 3 & 5 (who are my test subjects) have been playing with them for the past week. They were more tricky to construct with than they appeared in the ad. They also aren't very sturdy and fall over when touched. I think they spark creativity and have numerous configurations, but I am not as impressed with them in person as I was in reading about them.

5 of 6 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

Review for Dado Cubes
Posted 10/10/2006 by David Hammer
Rating: 3

My son is 2...really are for 3+ as advertised. I wish there were more cubes to build things with.

5 of 6 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

Maybe he's just not old enough yet
Posted 1/27/2010
Rating: 3

Well, my 18 month old wasn't interested in these, but I can't hold that against the toy- to each his own, and at 18 months, he's under the target age. I was a little disappointed in these in the way they fit together - or rather, the way they don't fit together. They require that you line up the slots on both squares; the slots don't fit over the solid cube wall. I find that odd and limiting.
Dado Cubes slots do fit over the solid cube walls. Please select the "More Images" tab -found above the Dado product image- for a closer view of the building capabilities of Dado Cubes.

4 of 4 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

Review for Dado Cubes
Posted 1/8/2010 by Coleen Zellner - GRANDPARENT
Rating: 3

I wish the slots were a larger so the cubes would slip onto each other easier. Some of the cubes have to be pushed into place and pulled out of place. I'm afraid this will cause them to break. Plus it makes them less fun to play with. The Dado Cubes have not caught the interest of my grandsons. I will continue to work with them to show them different ways they can be used.
Dado Cubes are manufactured with precision. When placed at proper angles, the cubes slide together and come apart from one another smoothly. The Dado Cubes are designed so that users must think logically and use fine motor skills to interlock the pieces. It is highly unlikely that the Dado Cubes will break with usage. Please contact us through our Returns & Exchanges center if any problems of this nature should occur.

4 of 4 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

Product review of Dado Cubes
Posted 1/1/2010
Rating: 3

These really looked fun and interesting on-line but I think they don't really deserve all the hype. There aren't that many cubes included, and you really can't build that many different things with them.
Most interested in building your satisfaction, we offered our customer the option to return the Dado Cubes for a full refund.

4 of 4 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

Information about Dado Cubes
Posted 12/25/2007 by Kay Anderson
Rating: 3

Four children in attendance and not one chose to play with Dado Cubes. They looked very interesting, but didn't appeal to this group.

4 of 4 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

Review of Dado Cubes
Posted 12/20/2007 by Aggie
Rating: 3

I liked the blocks, but thought they seemed a little complicated for a 3 year old. It also seems like they would break easily if sat or stepped on.
We have had no reports of breakage of Dado Cubes; Fat Brain Toys will gladly provide a replacement should this happen to a set purchased at Fat Brain Toys.

4 of 4 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

A rating of Dado Cubes
Posted 10/24/2007 by Kathe Lawson - HOMESCHOOL
Rating: 3

Not particularly challenging and limited amount of design configurations. Kids got bored.

4 of 4 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

Interesting, But Difficult
Posted 8/3/2007 by M. Hutcheson
Rating: 3

Neat toy that's good for builders, but difficult to get the pieces lined up and connected right. It requires an adult to help manuever the pieces until they're locked, at least for 4 years and younger. I'm sure an older child could do it easily. Also, 10 cubes is not enough to build anything neat. You should buy at least 2 sets for it to be fun.

4 of 4 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

Not for a 2 Year Old
Posted 1/7/2007 by Patrick
Rating: 3

I got this for our 2 year old (on her second birthday). She likes to nest them, but gets frustrated when stacking them. They lock together in a specific manner. I am sure she'll get it when she is a little older.

4 of 4 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

A rating of Dado Cubes
Posted 10/11/2006 by Ann Lin
Rating: 3

I purchased the Dado Cubes as a birthday gift for my 4 year old niece. I watched her open the present and was disappointed by her reaction. She was not impressed nor interested by them. I tried to hype it up and show her how she could put them together in different ways, but still no reaction. Even my own kids (ages 6 and 4) weren't interested in them.

4 of 4 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

Dado Cubes
Posted 10/11/2006 by Jan Stamos - GRANDPARENT
Rating: 3

Very pretty colors, good quality construction. Not very versatile when considering making lots of different things. Did not seem to intrigue my four year old grandson.

4 of 4 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

Review of Dado Cubes
Posted 1/2/2011
Rating: 3

The toy is fine. We decided it would have been better if the outside box was a complete box so that all of the pieces would stay together when the toy is put away.

4 of 5 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

Review of Dado Cubes
Posted 7/19/2009 by Sharon Brazeal - GRANDPARENT
Rating: 3

For a child almost 4 years old, the cubes were somewhat hard to push together. Fitting the slits and pushing, the blocks had give to them. I thought they would be thicker and more ridged.

6 of 11 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

A rating of Dado Cubes
Posted 10/28/2012 by Gene Sandone - GRANDPARENT
Rating: 3

Interesting toy, but maybe too advanced for a 19-month old.

1 of 1 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)


McAfee SECURE sites help keep you safe from identity theft, credit card fraud, spyware, spam, viruses and online scams
Home | Shopping Cart | Help | Privacy Policy | Return Authorizations | Toy Blog | Coming Soon | Christmas Toys
Best Toys by Age | Birthday Gifts | Top Kids Toys | Toys on Sale | New Toys | Popular Toy Searches

Copyright © 2003-2014 Fat Brain Toys LLC. All rights reserved. Fat Brain Toys® is a registered service mark of Fat Brain Toys, LLC
Fat Brain Toys Offices
1405 N 205th Street, Suite 120
Elkhorn, Nebraska 68022
Phone 1-800-590-5987
Omaha Toy Store
16909 Burke Street, Suite 131
Omaha, Nebraska 68118
Phone 402-504-6218
Overland Park/Kansas City Toy Store
5601 West 135th Street, Suite 2230
Overland Park, Kansas 66223
Phone 913-305-4894

  MacWeb03