Home > Toy Companies > Fat Brain Toy Co. > Dado Squares > Customer Reviews
Dado Squares
0

4 Star reviews of Dado Squares by Fat Brain Toy Co.

Return to Dado Squares product information...

Dado Squares has been reviewed 200 times with an average rating of 4.47

Dado Squares
Posted 9/25/2008 by Jackie K.
Rating: 4

My kids really like them and have made some very unique designs. They are well made and easy to work with. The Dado Squares are very compact and can easily be taken along to grandma's or on a trip for something to do at the hotel. My only suggestion would be an instruction/design booklet with some ideas for designs the kids can build. Great toy!!!!!!!

16 of 16 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

My 6 year old girl loves to say the word "Dado."
Posted 1/1/2009 by Rick Kwapien
Rating: 4

The Dado products (squares and cubes) were prominently featured on the site, along with the awards the product received. The squares and cubes aren't too compatible with one another, so I was glad I popped for two sets of squares. The product wasn't the biggest hit of the Christmas season as I had hoped (in all fairness, we only had a couple of days so far to play with them, as I'm a single dad with 8 days of visitations per month). What she made turned out a bit wobbly (and yes, they were connected properly). When I went solo, she enjoyed the outcome, and supervised my efforts. Pros: We did have fun with the product. The Blue and Ice sets looked nice when combined. Great for children and adults. Inspired creativity with a 6 year old and her dad. Very compact and easy to store when not in use. Encourages planning (sometimes it helps to put a few pieces together to add to the structure, as opposed to Lego type blocks which are typically stacked one at a time). American made! Lead free! Cons: The Square/Cube incompatibility, as I mentioned before. (They were a last minute gift, so I didn't call FB Toys to get an answer). Expensive. Nearly $90 for the three sets. A bunch of plastic pieces that fit nicely in a shoe box. If it were in my budget, I would have sprung for four sets of squares and four sets of cubes to have enough pieces for some projects that would truly be awe inspiring. Its like spending pennies for the materials/manufacturing and dollars for the concept. Now that we have some, I'll eventually break down and get some more. I would have been much happier to pay the same price for more pieces, and would be inspired to buy even more. Part of the profits from the Pink Dado cubes goes to breast cancer research. I'm a Hospice nurse, and commend this effort. How about channeling more of the profits for charity? I think it would be a wonderful way to help teach our children the importance of giving. I told my daughter that Santa also gave some money as a gift from the children who received the pink Dado cubes to help people who are sick, so its an extra special present. She liked the cubes even more because of my comment. Made me so proud of her. Bottom line: Buy plenty if your budget allows. If not, one or two sets won't be enough to enjoy the full potential of this product.

14 of 17 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

Great and Not So Great
Posted 11/9/2009 by nicole gershfeld
Rating: 4

These are such a great product, but we encountered a problem as soon as we opened them from the box. We accidentally droped one of the squares and it cracked. We were disappointed to be down a square and also the plastic was pretty sharp. But we just tossed the broken square and really enjoy playing with this toy. All three of my young children love it and we're considering another set as we have broken about 3 more squares and can imagine more being snapped. We aren't being horribly careless with this product, but when the squares are being slipped into eachothers' grooves, sometimes they don't connect well and my oldest son tends to force them. I've seen the colored squares and oddly the do feel a little stronger, but it could be an illusion. Also, the fact that these are clear has led to a couple pieces being left out on our hardwood floors and our off-white kitchen floor during clean up time and then a subsequent slip when accidentally stepped on. But this is a really neat toy that is worth losing a few pieces while getting used to taking care of them.

10 of 11 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

Dado Squares Are A Versatile Toy
Posted 1/23/2008 by Jan A. - RELATIVE
Rating: 4

My 3.5 year old son opened the package and immediately started building with Dado. He's combined it with other building stuff we have around the house. He's laid it out flat for roads for his vehicles to travel over. Seems to enjoy it immensely. Our only problem was the plastic casing the squares were shipped in cracked and broke during shipment.
A replacement Dado Squares case was delivered to our customer.

7 of 7 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

Dado Squares - Fun for even a two year old!
Posted 6/2/2008 by Melissa Nowacki
Rating: 4

My two year old loves anything that he can build with. He's grown tired of the duplex blocks and tinkertoys, so I thought I would give these a try and see if they would hold his attention. So far, he really likes them. It presents him with a different kind of challenge than what he's had previously. The one drawback is that I need to start out the set for him so there is a way for the squares to balance on themselves, otherwise he gets too frustrated when they fall over. Otherwise, I think these are a decent value for the price.

6 of 6 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

Dado Squares add fun to the Dado boxes
Posted 4/28/2010 by Cristy A Baker
Rating: 4

This is a great toy for hand-eye coordination and creative thinking. I bought this to go with the Dado boxes and they match up pretty well. I definitely like them better with both toys than alone.

6 of 7 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

lots of fun
Posted 12/29/2008 by Sarah
Rating: 4

a great toy - though I wish there were more in the package. my 3 year old builds with them and my 18 month old chews and stacks them. I'd highly recommend them.

6 of 7 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

Dado intitial thoughts
Posted 12/20/2009 by Tyler Zernicke
Rating: 4

I ordered Dado Cubes and Squares for a Christmas gift for my 2.5 y/o son. As it isn't yet Christmas he has not played with them, but I have. I have a feeling he and all the other little builders out there will thoroughly enjoy them. The Dado Cubes and Squares are compatible. The way the pieces connect will help your child with critical thinking and problem solving. The only downside so far is that I could see a child running out of pieces before a project is finished. I may end up buying another pack of both the cubes and the squares.

5 of 5 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

Dado Squares
Posted 11/29/2009 by Kim Goldstein
Rating: 4

This is a great product that keeps the children entertained. My only complaint is that one package is simply not enough . Just as they are getting started with something interesting they run out of squares

5 of 5 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

Product review of Dado Squares
Posted 11/17/2009 by Jennifer English
Rating: 4

These toys are sturdy and fit together easily. Both my 4 and 6 year old really enjoy creating different structures with them.

5 of 5 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

Dado Squares - Original
Posted 10/15/2009
Rating: 4

Great toy; helps stimulates creativity in my nephew who is 2 years old; helps him recognize colors as well

5 of 5 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

Review of Dado Squares
Posted 3/4/2010 by S.L. - RELATIVE
Rating: 4

Bought these and the cubes, my daughter (5) is not interested in them now, but I hope she becomes interested. I think they would be a great toy for a child.

5 of 6 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

Review for Dado Squares
Posted 5/20/2008 by nicole Dunaway
Rating: 4

We love the squares and my 4 year old, as well as his little 18 month old brother took right to them - building and making tracks etc through the house ~ they are great for creative play. The Dado Cubes are fun for home play - and I have dropped a handful of the squares in the diaper bag to take to restaurants for table top play. My husband is in commercial real estate - he jumped right in as well and created some amazing "buildings".!

5 of 6 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

My rating of Dado Squares
Posted 4/4/2008 by Susan Marantz
Rating: 4

I am a gifted teacher who purchased the squares for use with students in grades K-6. I have been quite interested in and surprised by how much attention these squares have gotten by students of all ages. The 5th graders today built amazing structures and then took photos of them before disassembling them. The younger students like the way they can fit pieces together with ease. The only request so far has been that they would like a second set so that they could construct even larger structures.

5 of 6 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

Review for Dado Squares
Posted 3/26/2008 by Greta Peterman
Rating: 4

Very nice toy. I got it for my 3 year old, but my 7 year old engaged with it more. He and I built some interesting structures. I expect this will be a toy that both my boys will revisit at times over the years. It's interesting, but doesn't hold their attention for too long. Product quality appears durable, even if it is plastic.

5 of 6 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

A rating of Dado Squares
Posted 9/14/2011 by sonia gandhi
Rating: 4

Loved the product...but it should come with a designs manual. thought it evokes a lot of imagination but having a manual helps u getting started with. good quality, pretty colours....everything is perfect but a manual with lots of designs is a must.

4 of 4 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

Dado Squares
Posted 8/10/2011 - GRANDPARENT
Rating: 4

I bought this toy for my granddaughter who is four. She has amazing spatial skills and I'm always looking for toys to further develop this ability. The first time we worked with the squares together and built a number of structures. As we only had one set of the squares, we had to disassemble and reassemble the structures so having more sets would have been helpful. She had to use her imagination to create uses for the structures as they did not make anything instantly recognizable. She enjoyed playing with them, but as she has many "building" toys, she goes back to these only once in awhile.

4 of 4 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

One of the better construction toys.
Posted 5/20/2011
Rating: 4

Good for both simple and complex construction, making it good for both younger and older children.

4 of 4 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

Product review of Dado Squares
Posted 4/19/2011 by Pat Hinkley
Rating: 4

He's hard to keep occupied with just one item, but seems to really like this, so far.

4 of 4 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

Review for Dado Squares
Posted 11/3/2010 by ed g
Rating: 4

My 4 yo grandson loves to build with these durable pieces. Me too!

4 of 4 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

Information about Dado Squares
Posted 1/1/2010 by Kelli Norwalk
Rating: 4

I have bought the Dado products before and I think they are terrific

4 of 4 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

Review of Dado Squares
Posted 12/29/2009
Rating: 4

an interesting building set. my 4 year old grandson caught on quickly but had trouble building up as he didn't understand about creating a solid base (that will come in time). my 24 year old daughter loved them! very sturdy and playful.

4 of 4 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

A rating of Dado Squares
Posted 12/10/2009 - EDUCATOR
Rating: 4

Well I have only tried it once but my seventh grade students who are classified with mild learning disabilities found it appealing. It kept them engaged, and it was interesting to find out who could or could not quite distinguish among the similar shades of blue (I am always trying to figure out if there are vision issues complicating the reading/academic issues). I would recommend it for teachers or therapists working with small groups. Fine motor skills are less of a prerequisite than with other building blocks.

4 of 4 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

My rating of Dado Squares
Posted 12/30/2008
Rating: 4

I originally bought the dado squares for my 8-year old nephew, but my 5-year old niece loved them just as much. Definitely a winner on Christmas morning amid the pile of other toys.

4 of 4 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

They grow on you.
Posted 7/20/2008 by Holly Bowers
Rating: 4

I bought these for my 6 year old son for his birthday. At 1st he was unimpressed with the box and didn't even open them. I was the one to play with them 1st and they are pretty versatile. Of course my son quickly took them over and now he wakes up every morning and builds with them for a while. He calls it his "brain training".

4 of 4 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

Excellent plaything for the office
Posted 6/27/2008 by JK - CO-WORKER
Rating: 4

I originally got this with the intent that people might absently assemble and play with it while chatting. The "somethin' to do with your hands" idea, since I also like to fidget. As it's turned out-- folks are drawn to the squares and even in an out of the way spot, they will start assembling them out of curiosity. It has become more of a conversation starter than anything.

4 of 4 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

fun gift
Posted 6/16/2008 by Lisa
Rating: 4

I purchased these for my son's kindergarten graduation. He and his younger sister started building with them right away and have been creating various buildings for days. A fun and creative toy that sparks imaginative play. I just wish they were a little bigger.

4 of 4 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

Dado Squares
Posted 5/20/2008 by Teresa
Rating: 4

Interesting toy that challenges the young builder's mind.

4 of 4 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

Fun And Versatile
Posted 3/26/2008
Rating: 4

Dado Squares are a good addition to the Dado lineup. I already own Dado Cubes. My 3 1/2 year old son has enjoyed the Dado Cubes for more than a year. These squares can be added to the cubes to make even more interesting structures. The cubes only stack vertically, whereas you can use the squares to make them stack horizontally. The construction is solid. The colors cheerful. They are extremely versatile in putting them together. Your imagination is almost the only obstacle. (The only other obstacle to stacking is that they are flat, so they won't stand up on their own unless you have a cross-Dado Square to do so). Another plus is that they are very compact when stored.

4 of 4 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

Dado Squares
Posted 1/12/2008 by Scuba Mom
Rating: 4

Great product for my son. Wish I had seen them when he was 4-6! At almost 8, they are still a good choice.

4 of 4 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

Love It!
Posted 12/30/2007 by Sue Jacobs
Rating: 4

All kids, ages range from 3-10, enjoyed using the Dado Squares to create various projects. They kept them entertained for a long time.

4 of 4 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

Review for Dado Squares
Posted 12/27/2007
Rating: 4

Fun for kids who like to build things. A little hard at first for my 3 year old, but soon he got the hang of how the squares connected.

4 of 4 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

Product review of Dado Squares
Posted 12/17/2007 by Malia Huff - FRIEND
Rating: 4

Great toy. A bit unstable but fun for kids 4-6.

4 of 4 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

Information about Dado Squares
Posted 12/10/2007
Rating: 4

My 4 and 5 year olds received the Dado Squares for Hanukah and have loved them! They are not as sturdy as the cubes, so there is some frustration when one of their creations falls apart. Overall, this toy is fun and promotes creativity.

4 of 4 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

Engaging
Posted 12/2/2007 by Sandy Gelpieryn
Rating: 4

Very nice. Brings out the imagination. My 5 year old daughter enjoyed playing with this and was engaged for some time.

4 of 4 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

A rating of Dado Squares
Posted 11/22/2007 by Andrea Durnell
Rating: 4

We bought these for an 8th grade Science Fair construction project. They ended up not being appropriate for her project, but they are colorful and fun to build multilevel projects with as long as the base only needs to be square.

4 of 4 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

Product review of Dado Squares
Posted 11/16/2007 by Jennifer Adair
Rating: 4

My 4 year old seems to like these but doesn't spend long periods of time with the toy.

4 of 4 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

Dado Squares
Posted 11/9/2007 by Diana T - GRANDPARENT
Rating: 4

These are fun to play with. My almost 3 year old grandson was building with them right out of the package. I feel that they don't fit well with the Dado cubes, but are fun to try and play with together. Love them! I am looking forward to hearing what my 1 and 5 year old granddaughters think about them.

4 of 4 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

Dado Squares
Posted 11/9/2007 by Derek Anderson
Rating: 4

We bought these squares after purchasing the Dado Cubes for our son. Although he is too young (1 yr) to assemble the set, my wife and I had a lot of fun putting them together in various combinations. Combining the squares and cubes provides almost limitless architectual options. I look forward to helping my son build his own creations. This toy is well made, educational, and most of all, fun.

4 of 4 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

My rating of Dado Squares
Posted 11/7/2007 by Nancy Holter
Rating: 4

The pieces are reminiscent of the house building cards we had in my youth, with the cuts on each edge to allow them to slip together. They are nice and sturdy. I think they will survive my grandboys handling. The only thing I would like is more "documentation" of more complicated sculptures, with step-by-step or group-by-group pictures to jump start those of us with poorer eye-mind coordination. It took me a while to figure out what turned out to be a quite simple maneuver. As usual, the boys are finding many things to do with them besides just putting them together in sculptures.

4 of 4 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

For 4 Year Old And An 11 Year Old
Posted 11/5/2007 by Anne K
Rating: 4

Both my 4 and 11 year old children love Legos and other building toys. The Dado Squares have been a real hit! They use them with the Dado Cubes and pretend to build houses. Squares are hard plastic and seem really sturdy. The design is simple, and they stack compactly in a clear plastic box for storing. The box is pretty small and fits nicely on our game shelf.

4 of 4 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

I Like This Toy
Posted 11/4/2007 by Robert Williams
Rating: 4

My toddler is still too young to put the pieces together on his own, but he enjoys sorting out the different squares by color. I look forward to him growing into these Dado Squares. They have got great possibilities.

4 of 4 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

A rating of Dado Squares
Posted 11/1/2007 by Marilyn Newman - GRANDPARENT
Rating: 4

Good to addition to the Dado Cubes.

4 of 4 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

fun
Posted 12/26/2009 by Janet Miller
Rating: 4

Sturdy and easy to build with.

4 of 5 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

Dado Square and Cube Purchase
Posted 11/27/2007 by Tim Tomlinson
Rating: 4

Excellent Product. My daughter loves it.

4 of 5 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

Great product!!
Posted 6/6/2014 by Rumar
Rating: 4

It's a versatile toy with which kids build up things according to their imagination. Quality is also great!!

Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

Review for Dado Squares
Posted 10/16/2013 by ZoBeth Potter - EDUCATOR
Rating: 4

The kids LOVE this toy at daycare. Pieces aren't as heavy duty as I would like for daycare but for home they would be great. Overall they are great for building material and I would order them again!

Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

Review for Dado Squares
Posted 8/12/2013 by Vicky - GRANDPARENT
Rating: 4

My grandchildren play with the Dado Squares constantly. They have created parking garages, day care centers for the little dolls, stores and so on. Both my husband and I enjoy building with the squares also. I will have to purchase another set so that there is enough for everyone in the group.

Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)


McAfee SECURE sites help keep you safe from identity theft, credit card fraud, spyware, spam, viruses and online scams
Home | Shopping Cart | Help | Privacy Policy | Return Authorizations | Toy Blog | Coming Soon | Christmas Toys
Best Toys by Age | Birthday Gifts | Top Kids Toys | Toys on Sale | New Toys | Popular Toy Searches

Copyright © 2003-2014 Fat Brain Toys LLC. All rights reserved. Fat Brain Toys® is a registered service mark of Fat Brain Toys, LLC
Fat Brain Toys Offices
1405 N 205th Street, Suite 120
Elkhorn, Nebraska 68022
Phone 1-800-590-5987
Omaha Toy Store
16909 Burke Street, Suite 131
Omaha, Nebraska 68118
Phone 402-504-6218
Overland Park/Kansas City Toy Store
5601 West 135th Street, Suite 2230
Overland Park, Kansas 66223
Phone 913-305-4894

  MacWeb02