Home > Toy Companies > Fat Brain Toy Co. > Palette > Customer Reviews
Palette
0

Customer reviews of Palette by Fat Brain Toy Co.

Return to Palette product information...

Palette has been reviewed 23 times with an average rating of 4.43

Great idea but over priced for the quality
Posted 10/24/2011 by Mary jo harvey
Rating: 1

I was disappointed with the thin paper color chips and wheels given the price tag... although my whole family played and enjoyed it. The thin pieces won't last repeated use. Even if they'd just been on cardstock it would have been better. Bummed, but I've loved many other products!
So glad to hear the whole family enjoyed Palette! The chips are card stock, albeit lighter weight. Palette was engineered with chips to slide into the palettes neatly. A vote of confidence - The chips have been used again and again in our store, and they've held up to the test.

9 of 10 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

Great game for artists and everyone who loves color
Posted 7/26/2011
Rating: 5

A new type of game that focuses on color memory; I bought this one to help keep my color skills sharp (I'm a professional artist), however this game is great for family game time and teaches about the beauty of the colors that surround us in nature and in art

7 of 7 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

Palette player
Posted 1/1/2012 by Bea - GRANDPARENT
Rating: 4

Great game for a family of creative people with good attention spans and good lighting in the house! Can be played around coffee table while other activities are going on. Be prepared for some debate about matching. People don't see colors exactly the same way and some of the color swatch cards don't perfectly match the color wheels.

6 of 6 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

Palette from Fat Brain Toys
Posted 3/30/2011 by Bobbi Dickinson - GRANDPARENT
Rating: 5

This is based on an excellent concept. Will help the kids become more astute observers, and more conscious of all the different shades of a color.

6 of 6 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

Too many similar shades
Posted 7/27/2011 by Adriana
Rating: 3

I love the idea behind this product, but the actual playing turned out to be very complicated. There are a LOT of colors to choose from, and many shades are extremely similar to each other. So much so that even with the selected color tile next to the color wheels it's sometimes hard to tell which one is the correct match. The solution we found to this problem was to play with half the wheels/color tiles. This turned the game from frustrating to actually enjoyable. In all fairness, printing consistent colors is something extremely hard to do, specially in the blue/purple range, and that is why Pantone color fans are so expensive. This game does a fair job of it.
Think of it this way - a 48 box of crayons is much more fun than just 8 crayons. We think Palette is so fun and vibrant because it's not easy! We've been known to turn up the lights during game play to see subtle color differentiations clearly. The suggestion of playing with half the color wheels is also a good one if Palette is too paint-staking. And, the more people you play with- the easier it is to identify those who really get hue.

7 of 9 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

Palette
Posted 4/11/2011 by Donna Proietti - GRANDPARENT
Rating: 4

Our granddaughters, ages 7 and 5, enjoy playing this game with us. Color memory is definitely more challenging than we expected it to be. For that reason, the game takes longer to finish than we thought it would. We sometimes play with partners to speed things along, and enjoy the element of collaboration. The quality of the materials is excellent, and the palettes, color wheels and color chips appeal to the senses. When the game is over, we try to imagine what we might paint with the colors on our palette.

5 of 5 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

Palette Game
Posted 4/17/2011 - GRANDPARENT
Rating: 4

This is a unique game that I can play with my granddaughter when she comes over. It is a little old for her since she is only 4 years old, but I knew that when I purchased it and intend for her to grow into it. I think we will have fun learning colors together and discerning hues of colors together.

5 of 6 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

Product review of Palette
Posted 5/5/2012 by Claudia Piemontese - GRANDPARENT
Rating: 5

This color memory game allows for a use of memory not often considered.

4 of 4 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

Great variation
Posted 3/22/2011 by E. Anderson - GRANDPARENT
Rating: 5

I only reviewed the game from the outside packaging but just loved the idea. I purchased this for my two granddaughters for Easter. It just seemed to fit since so much about Easter involves color.

5 of 7 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

Really different from most games--very fun
Posted 12/28/2011 by Susan Woodhouse
Rating: 5

Palette is a really neat game. It's very fun--a very creative and novel idea for a game. My husband is an artist and he loves it. He thought it was really neat the way the color wheels are mixed up in terms of warms and cools, which really helps to make the game more challenging. The game is so different from other games--I've never seen a game before that focuses on identifying colors rather than focusing on the usual fare (words, etc.). Very unique and fun. The way your eyes are tricked by seeing the colors in different relationships with one another makes it very funny when you turn over your card to see if you identified the color correctly. We laugh and laugh when we see how we were thrown off, which adds a lot of fun. It promotes a lot of interaction and discussion. It's fun to have found a game that my husband loves. My 3-year-old daughter is too little to really get how this game works, which makes sense because it's rated for 6 and above. But she has fun putting the chips into the palettes, which makes for a whole additional fine motor game she enjoys. We'll be taking this game to a New Years Eve game night and expect the adults and teens will have a really fun (and funny) time with this game.

4 of 5 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

My rating of Palette
Posted 11/28/2011 by Mrs.Allen
Rating: 5

The toy was ordered as a Christmas present. Since the children adore anything that has to do with colors, painting, coloring and etc. We can't wait to see how much fun that they and us (parents) will have with this game!!

4 of 5 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

Review for Palette
Posted 1/5/2013
Rating: 5

I got this for my parents who frequently discuss color...they have had so such fun playing this with their family and friends! Remembering color is harder than they imagined :)

1 of 1 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

Review for Palette
Posted 12/23/2012 by Susan Steed
Rating: 5

The recipient of this game was my 6 year old granddaughter who had a paintbrush in her hand before she was a year old. Three generations of us played, including one person with a reading disability. It is terrific because no reading is required and it presents a level playing field for all ages and abilities. Also the physical aspects of the game--the paint chips, color wheels, and palettes worked beautifully. As soon as we had finished, the kids demanded another game and then dragged it to the breakfast table the next morning. Definitely a keeper.

Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

Colorful
Posted 12/23/2012 by Aunt
Rating: 5

Beautiful. Requires a fair amount of adult participation (two kids 3 and 6 playing).

Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

Palette - fun game
Posted 12/31/2012 by Sandy G.
Rating: 5

This is a fun game that challenges your memory in an area that's not often challenged. You'll be surprised at how hard it is to remember the exact color you just saw. It's great for kids and adults - it's one game where our daughter (age 5) is probably better than we are!

Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)


McAfee SECURE sites help keep you safe from identity theft, credit card fraud, spyware, spam, viruses and online scams
Home | Shopping Cart | Help | Privacy Policy | Return Authorizations | Toy Blog | Coming Soon | Christmas Toys
Best Toys by Age | Birthday Gifts | Top Kids Toys | Toys on Sale | New Toys | Popular Toy Searches

Copyright © 2003-2014 Fat Brain Toys LLC. All rights reserved. Fat Brain Toys® is a registered service mark of Fat Brain Toys, LLC
Fat Brain Toys Offices
1405 N 205th Street, Suite 120
Elkhorn, Nebraska 68022
Phone 1-800-590-5987
Omaha Toy Store
16909 Burke Street, Suite 131
Omaha, Nebraska 68118
Phone 402-504-6218
Overland Park/Kansas City Toy Store
5601 West 135th Street, Suite 2230
Overland Park, Kansas 66223
Phone 913-305-4894

  MacWeb03