Home > Toy Companies > Fat Brain Toy Co. > Reptangles > Customer Reviews
Reptangles
0

4 Star reviews of Reptangles by Fat Brain Toy Co.

Return to Reptangles product information...

Reptangles has been reviewed 221 times with an average rating of 4.42

A rating of Reptangles
Posted 6/13/2010 by Jennifer Yunk
Rating: 4

Hard to put together - I thought these would be more fun, but they don't come together easily for my 6, 15 or 16 year old. So, they tire and walk away.

28 of 29 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

Reptangles
Posted 6/10/2010 by Lydia - RELATIVE
Rating: 4

Another quality product from Fat Brain... sturdy, colorful, etc, etc, the only slight setback i think they are a little bit difficult for young children to fit together...but maybe its recommended for older ones...

12 of 12 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

IN A SNAP
Posted 3/30/2011 by COFFEEMOM
Rating: 4

The pieces are easy to snap together and a little harder to get apart than I imagined. I ordered this for a three year old - now I realize that is young, but they really enjoy putting things together. The colors are pleasant and it was easy to play games counting out the pieces and matching colors - making patterns - lots of fun games. The shape of the pieces is fun (who doesn't like turtles?). There are just enough of them - not too much for them to put in the toy box. Enough to make some really big shapes.

8 of 8 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

Reptangles
Posted 8/23/2010 by AnneLouise Grippo - GRANDPARENT
Rating: 4

I think this is a sound educational toy for children. The only problem that my grandsons seem to have was to snap the "turtles" together. It was a bit of a challenge; however, the idea book is fantastic and challenges the mind with an assortment of geometric skills.

7 of 7 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

Reptangles- fun for the whole family!
Posted 9/22/2013 by Amanda Olson - FRIEND
Rating: 4

I bought this for a beloved little boy who turned two last week. His older brother is really into Legos right now and he wants to be doing anything his brother is doing. I thought it would give him something he could do too, and it was on the list of best gifts for two year-olds on your website. When it arrived, the box stated that it was for six year-olds +. I was a little disappointed, but just figured it was a toy he could grow into. The pieces are a little hard to put together. As I guessed, the four year-old brother LOVES it and has been playing with it nonstop. Daddy, Mommy, and Grandpa enjoy it, and the two year-old who it was intended for loves the colors. It's a little hard for him to manipulate, but he likes it anyway!

6 of 6 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

Review
Posted 8/8/2012 by Alena Eckert
Rating: 4

The concept of the toy is great, but the instructions on how to build things is not easy to follow.

6 of 6 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

Product review of Reptangles
Posted 9/24/2013 by Susan - GRANDPARENT
Rating: 4

Bought this toy for my son for his 7th birthday. It wasn't the first toy he went to but once he started playing with them he really enjoyed them. It took him a little bit of practice to be able to snap them together but after that he had no problems. I had considered getting a set for his twin sister but some of the reviews indicated that girls that age did not like them as well but she has played with them more than he has. You never know. We like the set and would reccomend it to others.

5 of 5 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

Information about Reptangles
Posted 6/14/2012 by Joanna Hoover
Rating: 4

Super fun toy! Very cute, my 9 yr old son and 5 yr old niece both play with these!

5 of 5 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

Product review of Reptangles
Posted 6/7/2012
Rating: 4

Interesting and educational

5 of 5 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

Review for Reptangles
Posted 1/31/2012
Rating: 4

I bought this for a 3 year old and feel the parts are difficult for him to manulupate. We did sort by color and it has other useful skills to learn, but I doubt if he could use without supervision.

5 of 5 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

A rating of Reptangles
Posted 9/14/2011 by sonia gandhi
Rating: 4

I liked the toys and so did my son. a lil complex for him at 4 but he is getting a hang of it :). the quality is good and the clours are beautiful.

5 of 5 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

Information about Reptangles
Posted 4/11/2011 by Kathleen Bushnell - GRANDPARENT
Rating: 4

Looked at toys for 3 and 4 year old boys. This was on it. It is a bit tough but eventually he will get it. Too hard now and he is brilliant!

5 of 5 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

Product review of Reptangles
Posted 2/25/2011 - OTHER
Rating: 4

This is a wonderful manual dexterity experience for children 6 years and up! It really sparks imagination and mental manipulation and visualization. At times the connections can be a little tricky especially for those younger than 6 yoa.

5 of 5 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

very fun, very complex
Posted 1/2/2011
Rating: 4

My 6 yr old niece loves these.. she calls them her "turtles". She hasn't quite gotten the "science" behind them, but she enjoys building with them. The only downside is that these are pretty difficult to snap and unsnap... definitely takes a bit of force and the turtles have to be lined up exactly right... and since they're made of plastic I'm hoping they don't break. She still likes them. And once she's asleep... the adults have a blast with these things too. The book that comes with it shows some pretty cool designs, although the instructions are a bit hard to follow, even for a 30 yr old engineer. Still a great toy.

5 of 5 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

All three kids are playing with them!
Posted 12/30/2010
Rating: 4

I bought this item for my 7 year old daughter, but my 10 year old and my (almost) 14 year old keep picking them up and playing with them. They pick them up and put them down quite a bit. The oldest seems to play with them for the longest at one sitting- she seems to have the patience to know that she can get a pattern to repeat into a cool 3D spherish or rhomboidish shape. The 7 year old clicks them together to make them look like they are dancing or walking hand in hand. She also is using blocks to build the turtles houses. I think she would play with shaping them more if they were easier to click into place and get to stay. Although there are multiple different ways to click them together, the "clicks" don't seem to hold their lock together equally- some seem less solid, particularly until you have a good shape going. The clicks are made by small slots and tiny tabs that are all over the turtles- and I think the 7 year old gives up because although her coordination is pretty good in general, it isn't quite yet optimal to get them going really well. Overall, I would recommend the toy, and would recommend them to older children for the full intent of the product. There are some pattern 'instructional' diagrams included in a booklet in the box, and they are helpful for the 10 and 14 year old, but I think they could also have a few pages with bigger and more 'step-by-step' instructions for kids under 10.

5 of 5 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

Reptangles
Posted 11/7/2012 by Debra M Stevens - GRANDPARENT
Rating: 4

Well, I "shopped by age" for my just-turned-four grandchild and Reptangles showed up, looked great, so I purchased it. When it arrives, the box says 6 years old. I was a tad disappointed. He however likes turtles and colors. We sort and stack and play turtle house with them. He will grow into them. They are easy to clean!

6 of 8 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

Reptangles
Posted 4/14/2012 by Charyl Granatella
Rating: 4

Clever toy, used by both grandkids, ages 4 and 7

4 of 4 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

purchased for Christmas gift
Posted 12/27/2011
Rating: 4

My 5-year old grandson received this as a Christmas gift from me and was very excited when he saw the box and tried to figure it out. At first he was frustrated but then he started to get the hang of it. He will need a little more time with it to discover how neat the toy is. I ordered it based on other reviews but haven't had a chance yet to see how much he'll like it.

4 of 4 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

My rating of Reptangles
Posted 12/12/2011 - FRIEND
Rating: 4

Bought this as a gift for my friend's son's 5th birthday. When it arrived neither the 5 year old or the 3 year old younger brother could put it down.

4 of 4 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

Very interesting
Posted 1/5/2011 by Marilyn Lindner - RELATIVE
Rating: 4

Well constructed, a bit difficult to snap together, very interesting, would appeal to all age levels for a long period of time

4 of 4 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

A rating of Reptangles
Posted 8/12/2010 by Maxine Fredricks
Rating: 4

this toy was a gift for my grandson and he really likes it

4 of 4 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

Fun toy
Posted 12/28/2010 by Lori
Rating: 4

The kids only received Reptangles a few days ago as a Christmas present, but it has been a hit. Our girls are younger than the recommended age on the box (3 and 4 1/2), but they have begun putting the pieces together with my help. For now, they are able to sort the pieces by color, play with color combinations, and the turtles also play together in the kids' imaginary world. Since I bought them knowing that it was above their recommended ages, I don't mind helping them snap pieces together and playing with the shapes we can make. It's a great variation on puzzles and I think this is a toy we will get great use out of for the next several years. I even want to play with the expert puzzles in the back of the booklet to keep my mind active.

4 of 5 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

Review for Reptangles
Posted 3/20/2012 by Tine Shim - RELATIVE
Rating: 4

Good quality product. Appeals to creativity and enhances building skils

4 of 6 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

Review of Reptangles
Posted 1/3/2013 by Angela Wakeland
Rating: 4

Very cute and fun to create different shapes with the turtles.

2 of 2 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

A rating of Reptangles
Posted 1/2/2013 by Staci
Rating: 4

The colors are attractive. My son likes to sort and stack them. They don't stay together real well. It is a little frustrating to build shapes because they fall apart easily. The box is durable and easy to put the pieces away.

2 of 2 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

Product review of Reptangles
Posted 10/1/2012 by JK Langlois - GRANDPARENT
Rating: 4

Since this was for my grandson's 4th birthday, he had difficulty pulling them apart. He also has some problems putting them toget her, by matching the tabs to the holes. I'm sure he will "grow" into the turtles. I personally love them.

2 of 2 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

Interesting toy
Posted 9/23/2012
Rating: 4

Great toy. This set of toy brings about another way to build instead of the usual standard blocks.

2 of 2 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

My 5 year old grand son loved this toy.
Posted 9/23/2012 - GRANDPARENT
Rating: 4

Gives lots of options to put different shapes together.

2 of 2 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

NonReader's Favorite Activity
Posted 10/25/2012
Rating: 4

Excellent quality plastic, different enough to capture and keep attention, and a fun family activity!

2 of 3 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

My rating of Reptangles
Posted 9/10/2013 by Pam Gerald - EDUCATOR
Rating: 4

More for older age range

1 of 1 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

Review for Reptangles
Posted 1/2/2013 by Erin Peckham - GRANDPARENT
Rating: 4

The product looks to be a good buy, it was bought for a three and a half year old girl and she didn't play with it much after she opened it up for Christmas. She did try to play with it once but it is a little old for her because it is still hard to "click" the reptangles together. I think that as she gets older she will like the toy more and play with it a lot more.

1 of 1 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

A rating of Reptangles
Posted 5/22/2013 by Carol Anne Kryder
Rating: 4

This is a great toy for the child who likes to build with blocks or legos. More limited in some respects (hard to build a building out of reptiles) but with geometric possibilities that are harder to achieve with other forms. The brightly colored reptiles make whatever she builds visually pleasing.

1 of 2 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

It was a hit!
Posted 4/3/2014 by KATHY L ROBBINS-WISE
Rating: 4

This was a birthday gift for a six-year-old boy. His mother tells me that it was a hit with the birthday boy and that he loves playing with it.

Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

Reptangles
Posted 3/20/2014 by Derrick Schreiber
Rating: 4

Bought this for my 6 years old daughter. She likes it but is learning to play with it still. It's a bit more to think about than just connecting legos. Good toy though.

Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

Information about Reptangles
Posted 3/11/2014 - GRANDPARENT
Rating: 4

Just received it for my grandson when he comes to play at my house. He opened and was very excited with it so far. He's six, the pieces did seem a bit tough to get them to stay together. He had them all lined up and was playing with them like they were turtles.

Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

Reptangles
Posted 11/18/2013 by Beth Bradford
Rating: 4

Love the colors and the shape is fun and different from traditional legos.

Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

Fun toy!
Posted 6/6/2013 by Queenofcats
Rating: 4

My 4 year old daughter loves both turtles and building toys, so this was two great things that taste great together. They are a littlehard for her to snap together on hero own, but she has fun with them individually as her "turtle army". I think that as she gets older, she'll enjoy playing with them as building and design toys. I (Mom) really like exploring the different geospatial designs, too. So its my toy too.

Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

My rating of Reptangles
Posted 5/28/2013 by stephanie steinbart
Rating: 4

Great product -- different and colorful. Very attractive and durable packaging.

Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

Complex Toy
Posted 3/4/2013 by Baotam Nguyen
Rating: 4

Bought this for my 4 year old niece, she likes to build with blocks and legos. Couldn't quite grasp the connecting pieces and angles with the reptangles. I felt it the toys had a rather sharp feel to them, I was concerned if they could pinch her fingers.

Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

Product review of Reptangles
Posted 12/30/2012 by Elizabeth Montgomery
Rating: 4

Will be great in a few years, but right now seems a bit advanced for my 5-yr daughter in terms of her attention span and fine motor skills

Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

Information about Reptangles
Posted 12/29/2012 by dd
Rating: 4

Bought this for 4-year old grandson. He had so many toys at Christmas, that he did not play with this item at first. Now that the excitement is over, he has enjoyed exploring the many items he can build.

Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

Great toy!
Posted 12/27/2012 by Veronica - RELATIVE
Rating: 4

My autistic nephew really likes this toy. He loves blocks of any kind but these are so unique it caught his attention and held it for quite a while. That is unusual.

Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

Product review of Reptangles
Posted 12/6/2012 by David White
Rating: 4

Loves the colors and shapes!

Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

perhaps a bit too young at 5
Posted 5/21/2013 by Judith Parker - GRANDPARENT
Rating: 4

My grandson, the recipient, sees his dad (my son) every other weekend. And because they live far away I was only able to see him open the present (online viewing) and then he and dad tried to put something together. My grandson's 5th birthday, he had some trouble making the connections first try. I bet he's much better at it now but I haven't asked or had a chance to see him again. I imagine my son might be putting together some nice polyhedrons on his own though!

Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)


McAfee SECURE sites help keep you safe from identity theft, credit card fraud, spyware, spam, viruses and online scams
Home | Shopping Cart | Help | Privacy Policy | Return Authorizations | Toy Blog | Coming Soon | Christmas Toys
Best Toys by Age | Birthday Gifts | Top Kids Toys | Toys on Sale | New Toys | Popular Toy Searches

Copyright © 2003-2014 Fat Brain Toys LLC. All rights reserved. Fat Brain Toys® is a registered service mark of Fat Brain Toys, LLC
Fat Brain Toys Offices
1405 N 205th Street, Suite 120
Elkhorn, Nebraska 68022
Phone 1-800-590-5987
Omaha Toy Store
16909 Burke Street, Suite 131
Omaha, Nebraska 68118
Phone 402-504-6218
Overland Park/Kansas City Toy Store
5601 West 135th Street, Suite 2230
Overland Park, Kansas 66223
Phone 913-305-4894

  MacWeb01