Home > Toy Companies > Fat Brain Toy Co. > The Learning Calendar > Customer Reviews
0

3 Star reviews of by

Return to product information...

has been reviewed 452 times with an average rating of 4.60

The Learning Calendar
Posted 12/27/2007 by Lisa Blake
Rating: 3

I was disapointed that the information included was about little known historical figures. I had hoped there would be more child-appeal in this calendar.

6 of 6 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

History Galore
Posted 11/29/2011 by SARAH J SEBRANEK
Rating: 3

I rated this a 3 because of the use for my family currently - with a 2 & 4 year old boy, they are not as interested in the history/info yet. I also wish there was more room in the date to write events down. I like and will use the craft ideas given in most months. As a former high school history teacher this is a great resource for a classroom. It is eye catching for the meandering student to browse through.

5 of 6 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

Information about
Posted 1/17/2011 by monica yolles - GRANDPARENT
Rating: 3

Did not notice it started in August. My grandson was exceedingly disappointed it didn't start in January and so was I. Some interesting info but nothing special so sorry I purchased it. Shouldn't have sold it after August 2010, except as a remainder.
Because the Learning Calendar is used very often in schools, it begins in August and continues through the school year to the following December. If any Fat Brain Toy product fails to delight, please visit the Returns & Exchanges center. We've got you covered.

4 of 4 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

A rating of
Posted 12/17/2009
Rating: 3

Lots of information! Is it all "real science"? One problem: content is aimed at 10-12 year-olds. The picture on the cover of the calendar is of a 2-3 year old and therefore not appealing to this 10-12 year old set--especially boys. Also I was not aware that it started in August of 2009 seems odd. It would be simpler to have a regular 12-month calendar year. Good to have so many mentions of women but please be more selective- i.e.- Mary Austen was a great writer but makes no sense to have her used in a science calendar. Also please don't refer to women scientists as "girls." And although I am picky, I would buy next year.

4 of 4 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

The Learning Calendar-2010
Posted 9/9/2009
Rating: 3

Yeah, I'm not that impressed with the calendar. It got great reviews which is why I ordered it but so far it is more history than science. It's random facts that are interesting but not lasting. I home school and my girls love science but this doesn't add to our curriculum. We don't remember to look at it every day.
August through December 2009 months are a recap of the previous 2009 theme of Innovations, Inventions, and Ideas, in case you missed the 2009 calendar. The Spectacular Science data begins on January 1, 2010.

4 of 4 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

Small Print
Posted 8/22/2008 by Candace Galen
Rating: 3

This calendar is crowded with very small print (I would think the font size is about 5-8). That combined with the specialized information makes it a mediocre choice for kids in the lower grades (below fourth grade). I would not recommend this calendar for young children.

4 of 4 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

The Learning Calendar
Posted 1/24/2008
Rating: 3

I love this calendar. My one big complaint is the pages are not high quality. Last year's was better. I hung this up and within a day the pages were curling. This was disappointing.

4 of 4 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

A rating of
Posted 12/18/2007 by Judith L Free - GRANDPARENT
Rating: 3

This calendar started in August 2007 which would have been great if it hadn't been December. I thought it had some great information but was a bit too wordy. My 14 year old nephew avoided it.

4 of 4 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

The Learning Calendar
Posted 1/29/2007 by Jodi McClaskey
Rating: 3

The product was overrated. Had I seen it firsthand, I would not have bought it. It is not as practical as deemed to be. Interesting, yes, but not fabulous.

4 of 4 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

The Learning Calendar
Posted 12/8/2009 by Julie Roehrich
Rating: 3

I got the calendar for my nephew and my boyfriend's son. It looks like it will be great fun.

6 of 9 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

My rating of
Posted 1/2/2013 by Renee S.
Rating: 3

This is not our favourite Learning Calendar. There are some interesting facts. However, glad that we have three boys. I can't see girls being that interested in all the gross pictures and stickers. Even the older ones (15) were a little too old to find it very interesting.

Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

Not appropriate for most
Posted 12/24/2012 by DEBORAH L. JACKSON
Rating: 3

Very disappointed with this purchase. Have purchased this calendar in past year and content was very good. Tons of fun facts. This was far too gross.
Don't waste a day dissatisfied with a product. Visit our Returns & Exchanges Center for excellent care all year round.

Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

Product review of
Posted 12/24/2012 by DEBORAH L. JACKSON
Rating: 3

We have purchased the Learning Calandar every year as it has been filled with new facts and tons of Learning. This year I purchased it for my son's classroom that is for Higher functioning Special Needs Children. After I received it and flipped through the pages I decided not to give it to the classroom because I felt much of the content was not appropriate for classroom discussion. I suppose I should have been alerted by the title. I just didn't it to be soooooo gross. Very disappointed.

Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)


McAfee SECURE sites help keep you safe from identity theft, credit card fraud, spyware, spam, viruses and online scams
Home | Shopping Cart | Help | Privacy Policy | Return Authorizations | Toy Blog | Coming Soon | Christmas Toys
Best Toys by Age | Birthday Gifts | Top Kids Toys | Toys on Sale | New Toys | Popular Toy Searches

Copyright © 2003-2014 Fat Brain Toys LLC. All rights reserved. Fat Brain Toys® is a registered service mark of Fat Brain Toys, LLC
Fat Brain Toys Offices
1405 N 205th Street, Suite 120
Elkhorn, Nebraska 68022
Phone 1-800-590-5987
Omaha Toy Store
16909 Burke Street, Suite 131
Omaha, Nebraska 68118
Phone 402-504-6218
Overland Park/Kansas City Toy Store
5601 West 135th Street, Suite 2230
Overland Park, Kansas 66223
Phone 913-305-4894

  MacWeb02