Home > Toy Companies > Front Porch Classics > Dread Pirate > Customer Reviews
Dread Pirate
0

Customer reviews of Dread Pirate by University Games

Return to Dread Pirate product information...

Dread Pirate has been reviewed 10 times with an average rating of 4.40

Buried Treasure
Posted 1/15/2007 by Anthony M. Impenna
Rating: 3

Dread Pirate is the most physically well-constructed board game in my collection. Every game bit, from the die-cast pirate ships, to the hefty gold doubloons, screams quality. While the game itself is fun, it's a little light on strategy. Movement, trading and battles are all resolved via simple dice rolls. The stock rules are geared more to family game night than hardcore gamers. The advanced/alternate rules were a mixed bag. We found "the wind mechanic" frustrating as it did little other than prolong playtime. "Dread card madness" allows players to draw "chance" cards more frequently and proved more fun. The cards help balance gameplay and the fictional pirate lore on each card is entertaining. The rulebook is also ambiguous in several regards - if you draw two cards that have modifiers, are they cumulative or does the more recent card drawn take precedence? If you're successful in raiding a foreign port, must you still flee on your following turn? I recommend purchasing the game and either using house rules (readily available on the internet) or "pirating" the rules from other similarly themed games (i.e., Avalon Hill's "Blackbeard" or "Pirate's Cove" by Days of Wonder).

5 of 5 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

Information about Dread Pirate
Posted 5/22/2009 by Coleen Dawson
Rating: 4

Dread pirate is a high end game. It has excellent quality and is designed in a way that allows it be fun for people of all ages which makes it a perfect family game. Overall the premise of the game is very fun, you are a pirate on the high seas looking for booty and gold doublooms. It pits you against everyone player in a way that doesn't harbour grudges, were all pirates so its expected that were going to plunder everyone else. This version of the game also has some advance gameplay options that would make it more challenging for those who like to play a lot. The instructions also mention that adjustments to the rules and further advanced game play options are available on their web site but that website doesn't actually exsist, so thats a bummer. But overall the game is excellent and would be a great addition to anyone person who seriously likes to play boardgames.

5 of 6 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

Product review of Dread Pirate
Posted 5/5/2008
Rating: 5

Like all Front Porch Classic games, the game is made with exceptional quality. I was disappointed that the chest came with broken sections inside where the wood dividers came unglued. Front Porch didn't hesitate to send a new chest which was nice. The game is easy to learn and definitely recommended.

5 of 6 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

Arrrgggg I'm pirate crazy !
Posted 1/31/2010 by Benjamin Pedneau
Rating: 5

Game design is wonderfull, a piece of art by itself. The gameplay is simple but very fun, can be customised with your own rules if you want to spice it up. The only thing missing is the card deck and rules from dread pirates buccaneers revenge discovery edition (same game, with plastic ship and cardboard box) With it it would be the greatest board game for pirate lovers.

4 of 4 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

Information about Dread Pirate
Posted 3/28/2007 by E Phipps
Rating: 2

It has been fun to play, and looks nice in a picture, but the game is way overpriced for what it actually provides. A wood box holding a few bags of glass baubles, some wooden dice, a few metal play pieces, and a cloth playing board. If I'd seen this opened up in a store, I'd have only judged it to be worth $40 at most. Most of the stuff could be purchased and assembled from a craft store for about that much (or less). Given the price, I expected higher quality and execution. It's difficult to distinguish the metal playing pieces in color (they all seem like shades of greyish bronze) and there were crumbly pieces of about glass baubles in the box I received and some with cracks in them. Also, considering the price, I would have expected better directions to the game. The directions are poorly written and organized. It's not clear on first reading when a player has to use a Dread Pirate card, or which pile of treasure is used to pay for what action. We found ourselves reading the directions several times over to be sure of what we needed to do in a given situation.

4 of 4 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

Dread Pirate
Posted 6/26/2006 by Tracy Henn
Rating: 5

I bought this game sight unseen because I knew my husband would love it. I was a bit leary of the price tag, but the quality shows in the product. They did not cut corners in creating this game, and it is a lot of fun too! The best part is that it makes for a lot of "family time" where everyone is enjoying his/herself. (Yes, even Mom loves it.)

4 of 4 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

Fantastic, High-Quality Game
Posted 7/8/2008
Rating: 5

Dread Pirate is a great game for the whole family. The quality and weight of the die cast ships and metal dubloons really add a great feel to the game. The wood chest looks great on a shelf and just begs people to take a look inside. The game play is good with a lot of optional rules you can add as you like. I've played this five or six times so far and it hasn't been the same game twice. Players can sometimes make an awesome comeback near the end of the game to win. This is definitely a favorite game in our household.

4 of 5 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

Great Fun!
Posted 1/5/2008 by Tracy Huntley - OTHER
Rating: 5

Out of all 5 of the games we have played this year, Dread Pirate is our favorite. The quality of the pieces is superb. The "Treasure Box" container is solid and display worthy! There is some strategy involved, but mostly you are at the mercy of dice. Younger players might find this frustrating or even boring as our six year old daughter informed us! However, our ten year old son loves to play with us because anyone can win even at the last minute! So Ahoy buccaneers! This is a good one - even though the price is a little scary!

4 of 5 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

Dread Pirate A Great Family Event
Posted 5/4/2007 by Chris Gore
Rating: 5

We purchased this game after playing the Bookshelf Edition with some of our friends. We really love games that look like more than just boxes. The chest and coins of the "nicer" edition were irresistable. We love the game and turn it into true family fun.

4 of 5 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)


McAfee SECURE sites help keep you safe from identity theft, credit card fraud, spyware, spam, viruses and online scams
Home | Shopping Cart | Help | Privacy Policy | Return Authorizations | Toy Blog | Coming Soon | Christmas Toys
Best Toys by Age | Birthday Gifts | Top Kids Toys | Toys on Sale | New Toys | Popular Toy Searches

Copyright © 2003-2014 Fat Brain Toys LLC. All rights reserved. Fat Brain Toys® is a registered service mark of Fat Brain Toys, LLC
Fat Brain Toys Offices
1405 N 205th Street, Suite 120
Elkhorn, Nebraska 68022
Phone 1-800-590-5987
Omaha Toy Store
16909 Burke Street, Suite 131
Omaha, Nebraska 68118
Phone 402-504-6218
Overland Park/Kansas City Toy Store
5601 West 135th Street, Suite 2230
Overland Park, Kansas 66223
Phone 913-305-4894

  MacWeb03