Home > Toy Companies > Front Porch Classics > Dread Pirate - Bookshelf Edition > Customer Reviews
0

Customer reviews of by

Return to product information...

has been reviewed 89 times with an average rating of 4.73

Adventure In a Small Box
Posted 8/7/2008 by Phil Foster
Rating: 5

I bought the game on the strength of the pirate genre and online description. It's so much better. The bookshelf version is a first- rate production. It offers best quality components, from wooden 'book' storage box to glas and metal game pieces. Best of all, it's actually fun to play. It has enough strategy and 'action' without becoming bogged down in over-complicated rules. Adults and kids can both enjoy it and it can be played in whatever amount of time you want to devote to it, a half an hour or an entire evening. I rate it a '5' because I can' t honestly find anything about it to subract points. It's a playable, enjoyable alternative to computer games. Take it along on your next vacation to the beach.

8 of 9 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

great game
Posted 7/26/2008 by Kim in Nebraska
Rating: 5

We originally saw this game at the FAO Schwarz store in NYC - it is a fun game of the highest quality! The cloth gameboard and gamepieces are all quality materials, not to mention the wooden game box it comes in.

6 of 7 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

Review of
Posted 9/24/2008 by M. Sisson
Rating: 5

The game is fun to play, and the quality of the components is very good. I did not want to spend the outrageous sum for the regular edition of the game, so this was a fine alternative at a good price. Plus, the game ican be stored conveniently in this configuration.

5 of 5 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

Dread Pirate
Posted 8/29/2008 by Dustin Meyer
Rating: 5

I saw this at a bookstore and wanted to find it. When it arrived I was not dissapointed. The craftsmanship is wonderful and imaginative. We really like the cloth map and wooden dice.

5 of 5 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

awesome
Posted 7/29/2008 by Torre Kotheimer
Rating: 4

really cool game. i played it with a friend a couple times and ordered it that same night from fat brain. sooooo fun!

5 of 5 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

Wondeful game!
Posted 6/12/2008 by Aaron Osborne
Rating: 5

I first played this with some friends on a mission trip one summer, and I found it very fun. Ever since then, I've wanted it, and I finnaly decided to purchase it! In a week, I have already played it multiple times. My one tip is: Using Pirate voices while playing is half the fun! I hope everybody else enjoys this product as much as I do! Fun with freinds and family alike!

5 of 5 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

Good Game
Posted 6/22/2007 by Nickleen Faucher
Rating: 4

My boys are 8 years old and love anything to do with pirates. This was their favorite birthday present!

5 of 5 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

Dread Pirate
Posted 11/22/2006 by Jaclyn King Knapp
Rating: 5

This game has been great for the whole family. From ages 8 to 45. It's hard to find a game that everyone can agree on, and that is simple enough to play and enjoy with anyone who stops by.

5 of 5 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

Review of
Posted 4/17/2008
Rating: 5

The quality of the game (cloth playing board, figures, dabloons, etc.) is excellent. The game is fun and entertaining and can be played with several variations.

5 of 6 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

Dread Pirate
Posted 6/25/2010 by KERITH L LARSON
Rating: 4

We had a great time with this game. The kids loved trying to collect all the coins and jewels. I'd recommend it to any family. The only downside is that it takes four players - so one time I had to play two pieces. Otherwise we loved it!

4 of 4 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

Great family game
Posted 4/14/2008 by A Texas Dad
Rating: 5

This is a fun family game, perfect for family game nights for a wide age range. We play with 8 year olds through adults, have much fun, taking an hour to hour and a half for a game. Rules are straightforward, though you'll have to sort out a few minor ambiguities. The game is nicely packaged and visually appealing in this bookshelf version.

4 of 4 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

Dread Pirate Game
Posted 4/10/2008 by D LeBlanc
Rating: 5

Dread Pirate is a wonderful game for the entire family. My 7 year old son loves it. Any child (or adult) who loves pirates will love this game.

4 of 4 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

A rating of
Posted 3/29/2008 by Meriellen Muller - GRANDPARENT
Rating: 4

As a grandma, I bought this to play with my two grandsons ages 6 and 10. It keeps their interest and gets pretty lively at times. It's a great game visually and the youngest likes the process of sorting all the jewels and gold dubloons both before and at the end.

4 of 4 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

Dread Pirate - Bookshelf Edition
Posted 3/9/2008 by Christine Kellamis
Rating: 5

Great game for pirate enthusiasts! The game is handsomely packaged. The Quick Start instructions made it easy to set up and play the game. Once we had a feel for the game, we could play the more robust version. The fun facts presented on the bottom of the Dread Cards are a nice educational touch.

4 of 4 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

A rating of
Posted 3/5/2008 by Mary Koleno
Rating: 5

The entire game is really well made, especially the game pieces. Even the box it is stored in is great.

4 of 4 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

Dread Pirate Bookshelf Edition
Posted 2/5/2008
Rating: 4

Beautifully crafted high quality game. The rules are very simple making it easy to play. I definitely recommend altering the rules a bit to make it more fun, there are suggestions in the back of the rule book but consider those a starting point. If up to me, I would add a modification to make it so that the Dread Pirate does not move around the board 'quite' so fast as other players are placed at an extreme disadvantage. Easy to play, fun game but definitely more fun with three or more people. Would I buy it if I had it to do over? Definitely!

4 of 4 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

Love It!
Posted 2/4/2008 by Diane
Rating: 5

Got this game for my son's 9th birthday. Good for boys and girls, ages 8 to adult, who enjoy playing games of strategy and action. Two different levels of play, but plan on at least 45 minutes to play the lower level game. Great quality, beautiful workmanship (although, I think the distinction between ships could be a little more obvious--eg: is that my silver ship or your pewter ship?). A game to keep and will keep for generations because of the durable pieces.

4 of 4 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

Dread Pirate Game - 2 Thumbs Up
Posted 1/28/2008 by Paleoe
Rating: 5

This is an original, fun , family game for 2 or more players. The quality of the game, its pieces, board, and box are exceptional. The box itself is a lovely addition to any home library or display case. The game is easy to learn and fun to play with several additional variations of play and difficulty included. We loved this purchase.

4 of 4 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

Dread Pirate
Posted 1/18/2008
Rating: 5

Great game for everyone. We played it over and over and never grew tired of it. We had kids as young as 6 and adults as old as 65 who all played together. Great fun! Also made extremely well of highest quality material.

4 of 4 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

Product review of
Posted 1/15/2008 by Tiffany Aveling
Rating: 5

My boys 8 and 11 LOVED this game. I like the box. I like that it fits on a bookshelf and is easy to put away.

4 of 4 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

Dread Pirate - Bookshelf Edition
Posted 1/10/2008 by Ron Merrill
Rating: 5

We bought this game as a gift for the whole family. Our 9 year old loves it and so do the adults. The game is different every time and you can adjust the rules for easier play for younger players. We would definitely recommend this game.

4 of 4 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

Dread Pirate
Posted 1/8/2008 by Claudia Jackson - GRANDPARENT
Rating: 4

Fun to play. Nicely packaged. Instructions were fairly clear. We had to search to find some of the rules.

4 of 4 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

Dread Pirate
Posted 12/27/2007
Rating: 5

Both my nephew (10 years old) and the adults had a lot of fun. We played it and enjoyed it immensely. Moreover, the game (deluxe version) was beautiful. The cloth board, metal game pieces and coins, gems, and cloth bags were great tactile items. The wooden box is terrific.

4 of 4 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

Wonderful Experience
Posted 12/26/2007
Rating: 5

I purchased this product for my Brother in Law, who loves Pirates. This game is fun to play and very handsome to look at.

4 of 4 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

My rating of
Posted 12/20/2007
Rating: 5

Our sons, ages 9 and 11 at the time, love it. We do too. It is a great family game. We have bought it as a gift for two other families whose kids came over and played it at our house and really enjoyed it.

4 of 4 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

Review for
Posted 12/13/2007 by Genevieve Brown
Rating: 5

My son loves it, as do all his siblings! It is attractive and very high quality. Makes him feel he's having a genuine pirate experience.

4 of 4 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

Amazing!
Posted 12/11/2007 by Mandy McD
Rating: 5

I love this game! The quality is superb! I bought this as a gift for my husband and he was blown away. Not only was it fun to play, but it is just so beautifully put together! We love how it looks on the bookshelf and can't wait to play it with our friends.

4 of 4 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

Product review of
Posted 12/3/2007 by Merissa Fuentes
Rating: 4

Game itself was high in quality and very beautiful.

4 of 4 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

My rating of
Posted 11/27/2007
Rating: 5

Good! Lots of fun!

4 of 4 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

Information about
Posted 11/27/2007 by Sarah McGowan
Rating: 5

It is a great quality game and a lot of fun to play.

4 of 4 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

Review for
Posted 11/8/2007
Rating: 4

Dread Pirate is a beautiful game. The game pieces themselves are so attractive. The best feature of this game is the quality, beauty of the pieces, the gems, ships, and the map. The game certainly sparks curiosity. It is probably not as educational as other games Fat Brain Toys carries.

4 of 4 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

Fantastic Game!
Posted 9/24/2007 by Lisa WilliamsCraig
Rating: 5

I purchased Dread Pirate for my husband, whose birthday happens to land on "Talk Like a Pirate Day" each year. He was bowled over by the care taken in crafting this game... the box, the map, the metal ships and doubloons. It's really quite beautiful. And it's fun to play. The guests at his party loved it. We had about a dozen people playing in teams of three, and there was much laughter and brandishing of plastic cutlasses. My husband actually said, "You found the perfect game for me."

4 of 4 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

Information about
Posted 8/16/2007 by Lindsey Roy
Rating: 4

The Dread Pirate Bookshelf Edition is a beautiful board game! It's pieces are nicely crafted and the detail on the treasure map is delightful! However, the game is rather simplistic even with the addition of alternative ways to play. I was a little disappointed with the level of skill required to play the game.

4 of 4 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

A rating of
Posted 7/13/2007 by Beth Ann O'Keefe
Rating: 5

This game is exciting, really fun, and just plain COOL.

4 of 4 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

My rating of
Posted 6/28/2007 by Rebecca
Rating: 5

Every aspect of this game has impeccable quality and authenticity. We have already played it twice and had a great time.

4 of 4 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

Dread Pirates
Posted 6/27/2007 by Jonneth E. Santschi
Rating: 5

We've purchased 4 of your Bookshelf games and are thrilled with them! They are interesting, fun, and engaging. We were ok with the price (even the $50 Pharoah game which my husband balked at at first, but loves the game...) and very satisfied with the quality.

4 of 4 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

What a Cool, Fun Game
Posted 6/27/2007 by John A. Walke
Rating: 5

My family and I have already played this game several times and we love it! We have customized it a little and we have added some rules to clarify others, but we have kept the spirit unchanged and even our 6 year old loves the game. (Especially if he's the dread pirate!!). I would recommend it for your next game night or party.

4 of 4 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

Well Worth the Price
Posted 6/25/2007
Rating: 4

Dread Pirate-Bookshelf Edition adds an element of realism to the play with the gold colored dubbluns and jewels. My sons enjoy the optional wind direction rules that again adds realism to the movement of the nicely detailed sailing ships. However, I personally think a larger map would have been an improvement.

4 of 4 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

Product review of
Posted 6/25/2007 by Chris Rhinehart
Rating: 5

It's simple to set-up and learn, and terrifically fun to play.

4 of 4 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

Dread Pirate -Bookshelf Edition
Posted 6/20/2007 by Jennifer Gelhar
Rating: 5

The game was exactly what I expected. My 13 year old son has played it every day since we received it!

4 of 4 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

Good Game
Posted 6/11/2007 by Genichi Yamano
Rating: 5

The most beautiful game I have ever seen.

4 of 4 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

Ahoy Matey! Pirates are among us!
Posted 6/9/2007 by Amy Manchester Harris
Rating: 5

If you enjoyed Pirates of the Caribbean, then you will love this game! It brings home all of the pirate excitement - treasure, ships, bootie, pirate trivia, battles at sea, sinking ships, and the winds of the sea. This is has been a fun game to play and the game pieces look like ships, wind dice, gold coins and pirate flags all make it really a game that is above the rest. There are a lot of instructions which for the first couple of games you have to keep referring to but, once you have them down it is lots of fun. The book version is nice as it fits nicely on the bookshelf. Good luck on getting on the high seas!

4 of 4 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

Review for
Posted 5/31/2007 by Anne K
Rating: 4

It is a fun game! We wish the board was a little firmer as it makes the dice roll funny sometimes and the directions could also be better. Overall, we love it.

4 of 4 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

Great Game for Pirate Aficionados
Posted 5/29/2007 by S. Boeck
Rating: 5

What a fun game! Our whole family had a great time playing. It brought out the pirates in us! The playing pieces are wonderful and the game is creative - perfect timing as the Pirates of the Caribbean movie came out.

4 of 4 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

Dread Pirate
Posted 5/10/2007 by Elizabeth Frazey
Rating: 4

We had only 2 players the first time out, so we decided to have a fleet approach, alternating turns and working either ship. (Split the die or use the total for one ship.) We make up some of our own rules to go with the age group or the number of players. I only have one gripe. I have trouble telling the ships apart. The color variations just aren't enough. We settled this with toothpicks and glue and bits of cloth. (The tiny sunflowers are a real novel pirate flag). I really like the box for the game and the metal and stone parts. It gives it a substantial feel... makes it more like an adventure. I don't know, just much better than a cardboard box and bits of plastic.

4 of 4 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

Dread Pirate Bookshelf Edition
Posted 4/11/2007 by Ted Ishiwari
Rating: 4

Dread Pirate is intuitive and easy to play.

4 of 4 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

Great Game for All the Family
Posted 4/3/2007 by David G Barnes
Rating: 5

Dread Pirate is lots of fun and can be used as a game for adults and kids alike. It's fun battling for treasure and ships as you accumulate jewels and gold and trying to be the Dead Pirate. The Bookshelf Edition is a must with nice jewels, coins and metal ships to play with. The cloth map and wooden dice are also nice.

4 of 4 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

A rating of
Posted 3/27/2007 by Katherine W.
Rating: 5

Dread Pirate is a great game. We were introduced to it by our friends and went out and bought it the next day. It is made with very high quality materials which will last forever. We love this game and would recommend it to anyone.

4 of 4 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

Dread Pirate Bookshelf Edition
Posted 3/19/2007 by AOB
Rating: 5

Dread Pirate is a beautifully well made product. Quite a bit of thought and attention went into the making of this game. The detailed metal ships, the velveteen bags, the cloth map and the wooden dice lend this game to having a "piratey" feel to it. We even noticed that the wooden bookshelf box had a pleasant wood smell to it. The game itself is has been fun to play.

4 of 4 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

Fantastic Game For A 15 Year Old.
Posted 2/7/2007 by Cheryl Cabrera
Rating: 5

My 15 year old son has been playing Dread Pirate with the kids in the neighborhood since it arrived. He really likes it. I like the overall design and the quality of the game. It is something he will be able to keep and pass down to his kids.

4 of 4 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

Great Game
Posted 1/24/2007 by Bret Lanius
Rating: 4

This game has great look and feel. The pieces are well made and the case is beautiful. Game play is fairly easy to learn and challenging enough fun for the whole family.

4 of 4 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

A rating of
Posted 1/18/2007 by Joseph L. Izzo
Rating: 5

My adult children and all the grandchildren who are old enough to play (5 and up) loved the game. We played it over the holidays and bought another game so all households could have it.

4 of 4 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

Nice Product
Posted 1/15/2007
Rating: 5

The product was very nice and just as pictured and described. The game and pieces are of the highest quality. It is a very attractive game.

4 of 4 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

Dread Pirate - Great Family Fun
Posted 1/10/2007
Rating: 5

This is a great game for family-night fun! Parents and children alike will love it.

4 of 4 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

Dread Pirate
Posted 11/25/2006
Rating: 4

The Dread Pirate game design is very well done. The pieces are detailed and authentic-looking, very appealing to youngsters. The game itself is intricate enough to be interesting without being obtuse.

4 of 4 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

Aarrrggggh! Great game it be, matey!
Posted 11/21/2006 by Amy Smith
Rating: 5

My husband and I - and our friends have really enjoyed playing. The rules are simple and easy to follow. The game pieces are cool, with the jewels and the dubloons as treasure. This game has already provided hours upon hours of fun for my family. More than worth its small price tag. The wooden book box is also very nice to store the pieces because it has a magnetic closure and everything stays together.

4 of 4 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

Dread Pirate Bookshelf Edition
Posted 11/16/2006 by Mary Pearson
Rating: 4

A Pirate game was requested by my grandson. The box and game set was beautiful. I think it will be enjoyed for a long time.

4 of 4 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

Dread Pirate - Great!
Posted 11/15/2006 by John
Rating: 4

This is a fun game!

4 of 4 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

Dread Pirate - Bookshelf Edition
Posted 10/26/2006 by Jeremy K.
Rating: 5

Dread Pirate is very easy to learn and fun to play. With the addition of one or more of the rule modifications, the game takes you on a really fun pirate adventure.

4 of 4 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

Dread Pirate
Posted 10/18/2006 by Mary Courtney
Rating: 5

I purchased this as a gift. When opened, everyone at the party was totally impressed with the quality and detail. The day after, I got a phone call from the 5 year old recipient, "Mimi! We just played Dread Pirate and I love this game with all my guts! Thank you for buying it for me!"

4 of 4 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

Great Game!
Posted 10/11/2006 by John Lambeth
Rating: 5

I purchased this game for my son's class at the teacher's request. It was great! My son and his classmates love the game. The kids love the idea of invading other ports and collecting the stones so they can become the "Dread Pirate". My son and I played the game before we brought it into the class and I want to buy another game for us to have at home.

4 of 4 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

Dread Pirate - Bookshelf Edition
Posted 9/26/2006
Rating: 5

Dread Pirate is an excellent game.

4 of 4 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

Dread Pirate
Posted 9/25/2006 by Kurt Larios
Rating: 4

Dread Pirate is a great game which is very fun. We all (wife, 10 year old son and I) really enjoy playing the game. It is made with very high quality materials.

4 of 4 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

Dread Pirate
Posted 9/21/2006
Rating: 5

Dread Pirate has quickly become the favorite game of my friends and myself. It is fast-paced, open-ended, and a lot of fun. I love the pewter ships, cloth map, and metal dubloons. They really add to the experience.

4 of 4 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

Review for
Posted 8/8/2006 by Ken Windsor
Rating: 5

It is so much fun. We are all sailors and it's fun for the whole family.

4 of 4 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

Dread Pirate - Great Game
Posted 8/6/2006 by Kevin Hart
Rating: 5

Great game! My 8 and 10 year olds love to play it with my wife and I. My 2 year old loves to play with the extra jewels and gold coins. (It keeps her busy while we play).) The initial rules are not too difficult and there are advanced rules for (you guessed it) advanced play. Should be one of our favorite games for a long time to come. I expect that it will retain playability indefinitely. We love it!

4 of 4 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)


McAfee SECURE sites help keep you safe from identity theft, credit card fraud, spyware, spam, viruses and online scams
Home | Shopping Cart | Help | Privacy Policy | Return Authorizations | Toy Blog | Coming Soon | Christmas Toys
Best Toys by Age | Birthday Gifts | Top Kids Toys | Toys on Sale | New Toys | Popular Toy Searches

Copyright © 2003-2014 Fat Brain Toys LLC. All rights reserved. Fat Brain Toys® is a registered service mark of Fat Brain Toys, LLC
Fat Brain Toys Offices
1405 N 205th Street, Suite 120
Elkhorn, Nebraska 68022
Phone 1-800-590-5987
Omaha Toy Store
16909 Burke Street, Suite 131
Omaha, Nebraska 68118
Phone 402-504-6218
Overland Park/Kansas City Toy Store
5601 West 135th Street, Suite 2230
Overland Park, Kansas 66223
Phone 913-305-4894

  MacWeb01