Home > Toy Companies > Front Porch Classics > Shut-The-Box Bookshelf Edition > Customer Reviews
Shut-The-Box Bookshelf Edition
0

Customer reviews of Shut-The-Box Bookshelf Edition by University Games

Return to Shut-The-Box Bookshelf Edition product information...

Shut-The-Box Bookshelf Edition has been reviewed 34 times with an average rating of 4.71

My rating of Shut-The-Box Bookshelf Edition
Posted 11/16/2009 by Jim Shaw Jr
Rating: 4

very good quality, and is very nice looking box

7 of 8 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

Shut the Box Bookshelf Edition
Posted 12/6/2009 by Kerri Verhey
Rating: 5

This is a very nice looking game you can keep out on the coffee table. My 6 year old daughter and her grandfather play all the time and it really helps with her math skills. Everyone in the family loves it and each game only takes a couple minutes, so it can last as long or short as you would like.

6 of 6 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

Review of Shut-The-Box Bookshelf Edition
Posted 11/9/2009
Rating: 5

Purchased for a 10 year old girl for her birthday. Her 6 year old brother loved it it too as did their parents. It is a great family game.

5 of 6 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

Product review of Shut-The-Box Bookshelf Edition
Posted 5/26/2010 by DARLENE WOJTUSIK
Rating: 4

The paper label on the top was coming off in one of the corners. It wasn't a big deal, but it was a gift and I felt funny when they opened it to play. I didn't want them to think I bought something cheap.

4 of 4 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

My rating of Shut-The-Box Bookshelf Edition
Posted 12/20/2009
Rating: 4

It was a gift, and I've never played. However, they say it is simple but highly addictive.

4 of 4 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

Product review of Shut-The-Box Bookshelf Edition
Posted 10/15/2009
Rating: 5

The game was just as described. Great quality and good value.

4 of 4 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

Shut-The-Box
Posted 5/18/2009 by L B Moore
Rating: 5

We've enjoyed playing this game at home, and ordered a second one to give as a teacher gift. It's great for emerging basic math learners.

4 of 4 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

A rating of Shut-The-Box Bookshelf Edition
Posted 7/24/2008 by Debra Donn-Griffin
Rating: 5

We first played this game while camping over the 4th of July. It was a big hit with our group of 40 and we couldn't wait to get home and find one. One of our friends was bidding on the same edition on ebay and gave up after the bidding hit $50. I suggested trying Amazon, found you and the game for $25.22 with free shipping and we both ordered one. The game is as much fun as we remembered! Thanks!

4 of 4 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

Shut-The_Box
Posted 1/31/2008 by Lori - RELATIVE
Rating: 5

I saw this for the first time while visiting during the holidays. Shut-The-Box was being passed around from person to person. All ages were playing it. I noticed how interesting it was and that everyone was enjoying playing it. So I purchased Shut-The-Box for my husband's recent 50th birthday. He loves it. It is a very interesting game. Great challenge for all ages. I would recommend this.

4 of 4 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

Review for Shut-The-Box Bookshelf Edition
Posted 1/20/2008 by MB
Rating: 5

We love the game. It's fun for kids and adults. The "authentic" packaging makes it a nice showcase for the coffee table. Pick it up anytime, and you're addicted.

4 of 4 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

Shut the Box
Posted 8/24/2007 by Don Ross
Rating: 4

This is a fun dice game for the whole family and will help small children with their arithmetic. I find that I get a little bored with the game after a few rounds, which is typical of simple dice games.

4 of 4 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

Shut The Box
Posted 8/22/2007
Rating: 2

My children got bored and literally wanted to "shut-the-box!"

4 of 4 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

Wonderfully Simple, Yet Oh-So-Fun!
Posted 7/18/2007
Rating: 5

This game is so simply constructed, yet so fun to play! The all-wood construction lends a comfortable "feel," and the wooden dice are nice, too. It certainly is nice enough to be placed on a book shelf.

4 of 4 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

Review of Shut-The-Box Bookshelf Edition
Posted 6/14/2007 by Jen Benson
Rating: 5

Shut-The-Box is great! It's the best game and a lot of fun for all ages.

4 of 4 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

Shut-The-Box
Posted 3/7/2007
Rating: 5

My 5 year old son is learning to add playing this game. Very educational and fun at the same time.

4 of 4 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

A rating of Shut-The-Box Bookshelf Edition
Posted 2/18/2007 by Robert L Shames
Rating: 4

Fun game. We bought a few for presents for friends.

4 of 4 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

Shut the Box, Great Party Game
Posted 2/14/2007 by John G.
Rating: 5

This is a truly great game. We entertained our guests for hours. Nobody was bored. The surprise of "shutting the box" adds to the enjoyment. The best game yet for two or many more at a party!

4 of 4 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

A Great Game For Adults And Kids
Posted 2/6/2007 by Sherri Graves
Rating: 5

We think this is one of the funnest games we have found. It is a great party game, any number of people can play. Adults like it because you can play and socialize at the same time, kids like it too and really can benefit from the math skills required. Simple yet genius! We love it!

4 of 4 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

Shut The Box
Posted 2/4/2007 by Charlotte Dyslin
Rating: 5

I love the game.

4 of 4 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

Review for Shut-The-Box Bookshelf Edition
Posted 1/24/2007 by Wendy
Rating: 5

A Great Quality Product. I gave it as a gift to my son for his birthday. He loves the 'old time look' of it. It looks great on his bar in his game room.

4 of 4 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

A Family Favorite
Posted 1/17/2007 by N. Graybill
Rating: 5

We love Shut-The-Box. We have played it with family and friends. It is a great game to play while entertaining because it is so easy to learn. Our eight year old son loves to play it with us, too. Plus, it looks beautiful on our book shelf.

4 of 4 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

A Great Family Game
Posted 1/16/2007 by Linda Martinez
Rating: 5

This game can be played by all members of the family. It teaches children how to add and puts them on an even playing field with adults because it doesn't require any great skill to play and win. I saw another version made by another manufacturer and it wasn't as attractive and well-made as this one.

4 of 4 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

Shut-The-Box
Posted 1/12/2007 by R. Lewis
Rating: 5

I love this game. It came highly recommended by my son's school. It's a great fun way to teach math to your young one...And it comes in a beautiful package.

4 of 4 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

A rating of Shut-The-Box Bookshelf Edition
Posted 11/7/2006 by Maureen Connelly
Rating: 5

I love this toy. It's simple in that there are no bells, whistles, lights, batteries, etc. and it teaches math skills in subtle way. My kids (ages 9 and 11) enjoy and actually ask to sit and play a few rounds of competitive addition!

4 of 4 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

Great Gift for Grandchildren
Posted 10/30/2006 by Gary Staab
Rating: 5

I first saw this game at a small "exclusive" store for more than twice the price paid. It is a fun and seemingly simple toy that my 9 year old granddaughter has enjoyed for many hours in the short time she has had it. It is well made in the style of toys from the 'good ol days' and I have no doubt will last many years. The game itself requires strategic thinking on a level similar to checkers. It can be played by as many folks as wish to join in the fun. Even as a grandparent, I find myself enjoying the challenge of the game - not to mention the activity with the grandchildren.

4 of 4 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

Review for Shut-The-Box Bookshelf Edition
Posted 10/24/2006 by Judith Bennett
Rating: 5

It's exactly what I wanted! I know there are other more expensive versions out there, but this product suited my needs perfectly.

4 of 4 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

Product review of Shut-The-Box Bookshelf Edition
Posted 10/24/2006 by Irena McWilliams
Rating: 5

This game is the best. We have about 8 couples that come over and play the game every week.

4 of 4 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

Shut the Box (bookshelf edition)
Posted 8/2/2008 - EDUCATOR
Rating: 5

I love this game. Not only is it entertaining for the child, but also for the adult. I also like that it works on math facts and place value without the child realizing it.

4 of 5 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)


McAfee SECURE sites help keep you safe from identity theft, credit card fraud, spyware, spam, viruses and online scams
Home | Shopping Cart | Help | Privacy Policy | Return Authorizations | Toy Blog | Coming Soon | Christmas Toys
Best Toys by Age | Birthday Gifts | Top Kids Toys | Toys on Sale | New Toys | Popular Toy Searches

Copyright © 2003-2014 Fat Brain Toys LLC. All rights reserved. Fat Brain Toys® is a registered service mark of Fat Brain Toys, LLC
Fat Brain Toys Offices
1405 N 205th Street, Suite 120
Elkhorn, Nebraska 68022
Phone 1-800-590-5987
Omaha Toy Store
16909 Burke Street, Suite 131
Omaha, Nebraska 68118
Phone 402-504-6218
Overland Park/Kansas City Toy Store
5601 West 135th Street, Suite 2230
Overland Park, Kansas 66223
Phone 913-305-4894

  MacWeb01