Home > Toy Companies > Fundex Games > Hot Potato > Customer Reviews
Hot Potato
0

Customer reviews of Hot Potato by Poof-Slinky, Inc.

Return to Hot Potato product information...

Hot Potato has been reviewed 57 times with an average rating of 4.39

15 Minutes of Fun?
Posted 9/7/2008 by Lisa Signiski
Rating: 1

The game play was really great...but after only a few minutes, the potato hit the Pergo floor, and the sound was gone. The box of electronics inside just stopped working. Now, this is a game where the whole point is to toss the potato! Of course it's going to be dropped. And the players were little kids, so it didn't have far to fall. How disappointing that the potato was not able to withstand normal play.
A replacement is on its way. We regret our customer received a bad tater!

10 of 11 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

loving It
Posted 8/18/2008 by Tammy Milton - GRANDPARENT
Rating: 5

this one is the best everone love mr. potatoe head and we had hours of fun thinks fatbrain toys keep up the good work.

9 of 9 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

Lots of fun
Posted 8/15/2008 by Carolyn Burnham
Rating: 5

I bought this toy for my daughter's 5th birthday. We took it where she could use it with several friends and they had a blast. They even sucked the parents in. It came with Potato chips which was a nice device to lengthen the game and make it more fun. The chips could be stored in the potato. I would highly recommend for this age range.

8 of 8 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

Fun, But A Caution
Posted 11/4/2009 by Mary L. Beringer
Rating: 3

You must get into the battery pack and remove the battery saving strip before you assume the batteries are not viable. The batteries in my purchase were fine. I also recommend you pad the battery pack area, as one child was bumped and hurt by the enclosed battery pack, which is very hard. An old sock will do the trick.

7 of 7 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

A rating of Hot Potato
Posted 11/2/2009 by Cynthia S. Linert
Rating: 4

It will work for the games I have in mind. Seemed very well made, but haven't used it yet! The music is a little loud.

7 of 7 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

Great game!
Posted 10/23/2009 by Shannon Quinby
Rating: 5

This game proves to be a lot of fun for my neice and nephew. I gave this as a gift for my nephew's birthday and it was opened immediately. He, his sister and all of their cousins had a great time playing with the hot potato - seems good for nearly all ages too!

7 of 7 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

Excellent toy!!!!
Posted 4/6/2008 by Emily Buxton
Rating: 5

I thought it just vibrated or spoke, but it plays music too. I was thinking about plugging in a cd player in my daughter's room, etc.. Sit there to turn the music on & off, but didn't have to. So I played w/the kids as well. THe kids loved it. It brought out laughter & competitiveness in the kids. They loved to squeeze it, the talking & music was loud enough too. Plus, the chips & collecting 3 & then being out of the game, made it last longer. Great game all around for parties, playdates or family fun!

7 of 7 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

A rating of Hot Potato
Posted 3/12/2008 by Kate Hibbert
Rating: 5

I bought this for my classroom as a way to teach turn taking, being a good sport, and basic social skills. The game is great. Hot Potato takes a lot of abuse and keeps working!

7 of 7 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

Hot Potato - Great Fun!
Posted 2/26/2008 by Carolyn
Rating: 5

I bought this game to use in my 6 year old son's autism intervention program at home and school. It was such an instant hit with his twin sister, neighborhood friends and classmates! Great fun on a traditional game. The music was a little loud. However, it was easily fixed by placing a piece of tape over the "speaker" to lessen the noise level. Overall, this is a great toy. I would definitely recommend it to others.

7 of 7 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

cute
Posted 3/18/2010 by Kathy
Rating: 5

This is a cute way to play Hot Potato at a child's birthday party. The "potato" asks, "Are you ready?" then begins its music. Very easy for a little one as young as three to understand how to play the game.

6 of 6 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

Great game!
Posted 2/28/2010 by Leah Gray
Rating: 4

For a little boy who loves ball a very fun game!

6 of 6 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

Hot Potato
Posted 7/6/2009 by Elizabeth Grace
Rating: 5

Incredible for birthday party fun. This game entertains children of all ages and adults too! Very satisfied and really cute product.

6 of 6 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

Hot Potato
Posted 5/27/2009 by ALAN ZUNKE
Rating: 5

This is a great game that can be enjoyed by children of all ages.

6 of 6 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

fun game for a party
Posted 2/2/2009 by Daphne Holden
Rating: 4

I used this for my daughter's 7th birthday party and it was good. We had children from 4 to 8 and they sat in a circle and passed it around. It was fun for all ages. We probably had too many kids--around 15 playing--to keep it interesting until the end. Kids started to leave before there was a winner. That was fine with us. They had fun and no one cried because they didn't win.

6 of 6 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

Review for Hot Potato
Posted 8/11/2008 by Cindy Ockels
Rating: 5

The Hot Potato game is engaging and fun with the music.

6 of 6 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

hot potato
Posted 6/18/2008 by Richard Weaver - GRANDPARENT
Rating: 5

Had a blast playing with hot potato with my grandson and his parents also received the game in plenty of time shipping was great

6 of 6 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

Hot Potato
Posted 5/29/2008
Rating: 5

alot of fun - my 3 kids (ages 11, 7 and 3) all enjoy playing with this product.

6 of 6 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

Review for Hot Potato
Posted 4/29/2008 by Barbara Thomas - EDUCATOR
Rating: 3

I wish the sound was a little louder. I plan to use the toys for a Field Day Activity in the music room, but it is difficult to hear with 20 children. I know it is only intended for about 6. If it were louder, it would be a fun large group activity.

6 of 6 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

A rating of Hot Potato
Posted 3/15/2008 by Diane Shoemaker
Rating: 4

Pretty good quality, a bit hard for young children to catch, as their excitement makes them throw haphazardly and it's not especially easy to catch due to the fabric and tight stuffing. The chips are not much interest for our 5 year old grandson, he just likes the excitement factor.

6 of 6 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

Product review of Hot Potato
Posted 12/26/2007 by Kara Weber
Rating: 4

This is a game we can all play (ages 2, 4 and parents). The chips are just cardboard pieces, but the potato is soft (ideal for kids learning to catch) and the game is nice and short. It is also easy to turn off and on.

6 of 6 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

Review for Hot Potato
Posted 12/17/2007 by Stacy Jones
Rating: 5

This is great for the whole family to play. We have started game night and it is a great way to reconnect with your children. When the music gets faster it is so funny to watch the children try to pass the potato faster.

6 of 6 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

Very Pleased
Posted 12/3/2007 by Deanna C. Owens
Rating: 5

Works great.

6 of 6 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

Hot Potato Game
Posted 4/5/2011 by Barbara G.
Rating: 4

We love the softness of the potato and the ability to shut the switch off when not in use. It is good that the music is loud because as we play we get loud with excitement. The chips would be better if sturdier but they are easily to replicate with construction paper. We use this with 3 yr olds (with guidance) without the chips even though the box says for 4 yr olds. Surprisingly the 14 yr olds get a kick out of it too!

5 of 5 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

fun
Posted 10/9/2009 by Jennifer
Rating: 4

This game is fun and simple for young children. My 3 and 5 yr. old think this game is funny and giggle the entire time we play.

5 of 6 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

games
Posted 7/20/2009 by Sheila Shaffer
Rating: 5

I am using the Hot Potato as in therapy with kids. They love the musical hot potato and as they catch the potato they have the opportunity to share a situation in which they felt a specified feeling followed by discussion.

5 of 6 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

Hot Potato
Posted 9/21/2008 by Carolyn Rebar
Rating: 5

Very cute, works like a charm, good game for very young children.

5 of 6 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

hot potato
Posted 6/2/2011 by RYAN G DREES
Rating: 5

fun game, perfect for my daughters

4 of 4 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

Review of Hot Potato
Posted 3/31/2011 by Craig Parker-Smith
Rating: 5

The product is fun and can involve many participants. It is being used in a school classroom situation as a lesson breaker or before the bell. It improves eye-hand co-ordination, social skills and sense of fair play.

4 of 4 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

Hot Potato
Posted 3/9/2010
Rating: 2

The hard plastic battery compartment in this toy makes it unsafe to toss back and forth because a child could really get bonked by it. The front side of the potato is padded, but there is little padding in the back over the battery compartment. The only safe way to use this is to just hand it back and forth which takes away from the fun of it. I also wish it played more than one song rather than the same one over and over again.
Pass your Hot Potato Game back to us if you aren't fully satisfied. We offered our customer the options of a gift certificate or refund.

4 of 4 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

Information about Hot Potato
Posted 4/28/2014
Rating: 4

This is classic entertainment. Well made and was a crowd pleaser at my sons birthday party. We ended up using this as a game my son party. Everyone was asking where I bought it.

Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

Team Building
Posted 3/27/2014 by Laurie Hempy
Rating: 5

I originally purchased this for a Team Building short, fun game for after our company monthly safety meeting. It's next venture will be at our American Legion to get both the young and old to participate. Lastly, it will remain in our family for grandkids, kids, parents and grandparents to enjoy many times. I remember this game from childhood and was very pleased to find it in your collection of toys. Thanks for the fun day today! Laurie 3-27-14

Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

works like a charm to call kids to "circle time"
Posted 1/14/2014 by kirk barrett
Rating: 5

i bought this for the sunday school class of 6 year olds that i teach. i use it to get them to peacefully assemble for a story. we play hot potato a few times before the story. it works great. it doesnt get the kids overly excited tho.

Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

As pictured
Posted 10/31/2013 by Janet Robinson
Rating: 4

Item as pictured. Seems to be good quality.

Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

My rating of Hot Potato
Posted 10/23/2013 by Leslie Zetlin
Rating: 3

The product has a sound component. It is not as loud as previous products I have owned (same product). Not sure why. Disappointed.
Timid Tater? Turn up the volume and contact us! Visit the Returns & Exchanges Center for sure assistance. We contacted our customer promptly.

Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

Review for Hot Potato
Posted 9/23/2013 by Lori Talsma-Woods
Rating: 3

The sound on this product could be louder.

Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

Fun for the girls
Posted 1/30/2013 by JENNIFER GREDER
Rating: 4

They real object is NOT to get stuck with the potato but my 2 and 5 old girls love to be the stuck with the "boink"

Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

Cute
Posted 1/5/2013 by Holli W
Rating: 4

It's a cute toy, pretty simple but always get's the kids giggling and excited. Might be a little overpriced for what it is.

Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

Musical hot potato game
Posted 12/27/2012 by Linda Gertler
Rating: 5

How great that this game involves imagination and action. It's great fun for my 3- and 5-year-old grandsons.

Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)


McAfee SECURE sites help keep you safe from identity theft, credit card fraud, spyware, spam, viruses and online scams
Home | Shopping Cart | Help | Privacy Policy | Return Authorizations | Toy Blog | Coming Soon | Christmas Toys
Best Toys by Age | Birthday Gifts | Top Kids Toys | Toys on Sale | New Toys | Popular Toy Searches

Copyright © 2003-2014 Fat Brain Toys LLC. All rights reserved. Fat Brain Toys® is a registered service mark of Fat Brain Toys, LLC
Fat Brain Toys Offices
1405 N 205th Street, Suite 120
Elkhorn, Nebraska 68022
Phone 1-800-590-5987
Omaha Toy Store
16909 Burke Street, Suite 131
Omaha, Nebraska 68118
Phone 402-504-6218
Overland Park/Kansas City Toy Store
5601 West 135th Street, Suite 2230
Overland Park, Kansas 66223
Phone 913-305-4894

  MacWeb01