Home > Toy Companies > Gamewright > Rat-a-Tat Cat Deluxe Tin > Customer Reviews
0

Customer reviews of by

Return to product information...

has been reviewed 21 times with an average rating of 4.57

Love The Game, But Not The Deluxe Anniversary Edition
Posted 7/13/2008 by L Sansbury
Rating: 2

We bought this game because we love the Rat A Tat card game, and had actually worn it out! When we saw the deluxe tin with the super peek we had to have it. We are disappointed, the art work is not as good and there are way too many super peeks (6)! Our children actually pass on cards, hoping for another, it's too much trouble to peek at everyone else's card. We'll probably take some super peek cards out, or at least just keep one super peek card in. I don't like the hidden face value of the card on the outside. My kids have already tried and been successful at interpreting them without the special scanner.

9 of 9 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

Fun For The Family
Posted 1/1/2008 by J. Erik Johnson
Rating: 4

We had a great time playing Rat-a-Tat Cat! The fun thing about the game is it can last a while or be over somewhat quickly. It depends on who thinks they have the lowest hand. It was fun for ages 6 to 40. The 6 year old needed a little coaching. It was fun to watch my 40 year old brother get beat by his 10 year old daughter! The directions were a bit complicated to learn. But once we learned, the game went smoothly. I would recommend this!

7 of 7 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

Our favorite family game
Posted 10/3/2008 by Cambridge, MA
Rating: 5

Rat-a-tat cat is a terrific game - fun and entertaining for kids *and* their parents. We really enjoy playing with our two kids (10 and 6) and would recommend the game to anyone with kids (or not). It's a great way to learn the relationships between numbers and other math skills without it feeling "educational" or dull.

5 of 5 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

The 'improved' Rat-a-Tat
Posted 12/27/2010 by Rebecca Anderson
Rating: 4

I don't know how long this game has contained a 'super peek' option with codes on the backs of the cards. Possibly years. We resurrected our original set a couple of years ago and our grown children wanted copies. Our oldest grandchild was ready for the game, as well (although he hasn't yet received it). The 'super peek' reduces the need for attentiveness concerning the changes others make in their cards, and removes some of the anxiety about switching cards in one's own hand. Perhaps this makes it easier for the target age range, but it substitutes an attempt to remember which cards have been switched with an attempt to remember the locations of desirable cards. Worse, the codes on some of the cards can be discerned with the naked eye -- the instruction cards have shorter codes than the number cards, and some of the number cards can be identified outright. This is the biggest disadvantage of the change and cannot be remedied by simply removing the super peek cards. Improvements include better card stock, brighter illustrations and a change in the numbers on the cards -- previously the 4's and the 1's were not easily distinguished by aging eyes.

4 of 4 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

Rat-a-Tat Cat
Posted 11/22/2010 by Emily Anderson - GRANDPARENT
Rating: 3

Kids enjoy this game

4 of 4 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

Still waiting
Posted 10/10/2010 by GINA M KOHL
Rating: 5

Still waiting to play the game.

4 of 4 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

Rat A Tat Cat Deluxe
Posted 7/21/2010
Rating: 3

We love Rat a Tat Cat so we wanted to try the new verision. It has Super Peek cards that allow you to look at all the cards using a special set of glasses. We found that we could read some of the values on the cards without the glasses. We still enjoy the game very much.

4 of 4 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

A rating of
Posted 2/15/2010 by Kathy Bussard
Rating: 5

Still waiting to give as gift

4 of 4 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

My rating of
Posted 12/24/2007 by peggy howard
Rating: 5

This was purchased as a Christmas gift but I have played it with children previously and know that it will be a fun yet educational addition to their family.

4 of 4 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

Rat-a-tat Cat
Posted 12/6/2007 by Georgene Sibbald
Rating: 5

Great family game.

4 of 4 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

A rating of
Posted 11/25/2007 by Lisa T Phipps
Rating: 5

This is a fun game that we've enjoyed playing. The cards are high quality and the illustrations are wonderful. The tin is also very nice and helps keep the cards in good condition.

4 of 4 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

A Great Game For Kids and Adults
Posted 11/23/2007 by Katie Kight
Rating: 5

I bought this game as a gift for my daughter's kindergarten classroom. We love the game. Our copy is in it's second generation use from our cousins. My kids (5 and 8) both love to play it. We enjoy playing also. My daughter has learned to start counting on her own simply by adding up the points earned. She is learning how to play using strategy.

4 of 4 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

This Was Our Favorite New Game
Posted 11/22/2007 by Robert Childress
Rating: 5

I bought almost all the high rated games that could be played with young kids and adults for quick games. This was the favorite of the bunch. Before we were to play, we wanted to test them out to see how hard and how much fun they were. We actually haven't had a chance to play with the kids yet. We are having so much fun ourselves! Our poker players like the strategy aspect and the element of surprise on going out early. Easy to pick up. Addicting!

4 of 4 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

It's A Hit!
Posted 7/26/2007 by S. Montgomery
Rating: 5

We gave Rat-a-Tat Cat to our daughter for her 6th birthday. It only took a couple of hands for her to have the basics figured out, and since then it is the only game she wants play and we've been playing about several hands every day. It practices counting, memory and also reasoning, as you have to decide when to switch cards and when you think you have the lowest score and want to end the hand. Each player has 4 cards, and we're playing the easier version with two showing and two hidden. Because it combines luck of the draw and calculated guessing with some skill, it should level out the playing field somewhat for families with both younger and older children, and it's fun for adults, too. It's small enough to pack for travel. It will make great gifts for friends this year!

4 of 4 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

Review for
Posted 8/8/2008 by kenneth j. kies
Rating: 5

we have had this game for years. our children grew up playing it and loved it. i purchased a game for our summer home for our many houseguests to enjoy. it is fun for children and adults. easy to learn and very entertaining. we also love frog juice, which i think is the same company.

4 of 5 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

Love It!
Posted 1/2/2008 by Rachel
Rating: 5

I have had this game since I was kid. When I moved to college, I wanted my own copy. Easy to learn. Fairly quick. You don't get tied down for a long time. Easy to adjust the rules slightly for younger players.

4 of 5 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)


McAfee SECURE sites help keep you safe from identity theft, credit card fraud, spyware, spam, viruses and online scams
Home | Shopping Cart | Help | Privacy Policy | Return Authorizations | Toy Blog | Coming Soon | Christmas Toys
Best Toys by Age | Birthday Gifts | Top Kids Toys | Toys on Sale | New Toys | Popular Toy Searches

Copyright © 2003-2014 Fat Brain Toys LLC. All rights reserved. Fat Brain Toys® is a registered service mark of Fat Brain Toys, LLC
Fat Brain Toys Offices
1405 N 205th Street, Suite 120
Elkhorn, Nebraska 68022
Phone 1-800-590-5987
Omaha Toy Store
16909 Burke Street, Suite 131
Omaha, Nebraska 68118
Phone 402-504-6218
Overland Park/Kansas City Toy Store
5601 West 135th Street, Suite 2230
Overland Park, Kansas 66223
Phone 913-305-4894

  MacWeb03