Home > Toy Companies > Gamewright/Ceaco > Rory's Story Cubes > Customer Reviews
Rory's Story Cubes
0

Customer reviews of Rory's Story Cubes by Gamewright/Ceaco

Return to Rory's Story Cubes product information...

Rory's Story Cubes has been reviewed 60 times with an average rating of 4.62

Best Activity Ever for Language Learners
Posted 7/24/2011 by Jerry L Ruth
Rating: 5

My wife and I both teach English at a university in China. Rory's Story Cubes is a fantastic tool for getting students to open up and speak freely in small groups. This activity requires almost no instruction; the students instantly are playing the game and having a great time producing unique English sentences. It's also great for helping them learn new vocabulary as they encounter symbols they don't know the words for. This could easily be used in American high schools for students to practice Spanish, French, etc.

9 of 9 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

Rory's Story Cubes
Posted 8/11/2010 by hpatterson - RELATIVE
Rating: 4

Perfect for the pre-reader who wants to tell stories. Lots of combinations and some images on dice can be interpreted in different ways.

8 of 9 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

Love This
Posted 5/10/2011 by COLETTE
Rating: 5

This game is great at home or in the car. We use this for fun, and I also send it to school with my 6 year old to give him ideas to write about in their journals at school. The kindergarten teacher loved this and wants this game for her classroom as well. Fun and easy.

7 of 7 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

Awesome
Posted 12/14/2011 by Jonathan Gogan
Rating: 5

Bought it for my daughter. Now my wife, who is a grade 3 teacher, has taken them - lol. I will be purchasing another set for my daughter.

6 of 6 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

Great Classroom Addition
Posted 1/18/2011 by Tina Hansen - EDUCATOR
Rating: 5

This actually being used as a tool for creative writing. The children have not had a chance to use independently (such as a rainy day activity) for story telling. Children like being able to roll the dice on their own and the freedom to write their story with little direction.

6 of 6 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

Information about Rory's Story Cubes
Posted 8/31/2011 by Jean Val Jean
Rating: 4

We played with Story Cubes on a weekend getaway. We used predetermined themes and tossed the dice to frame a story around those themes - with the constraint that the stories were truthful. We both liked it because of the insights and creativity used in sharing stories that we don't get via day-to-day conversations. We also found that a bottle of champagne enhanced the enjoyment - include in game instructions??? ;-)

6 of 7 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

A great kinestic activity
Posted 6/19/2011 by Norman Holmes
Rating: 3

I used this product with a 6th - 8th grade Special Needs M. R. class in Washington, DC. The class aide assisted me by recording the student's responses. It proved to be a very insteresting activity once the students began to understand the activity. For this particular student population, the cubes need to be larger. The three stories that were created were posted on a large sheet of paper so that the students could see their creation. This was a great kinestic activity.

6 of 7 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

Rory's Story Cubes
Posted 4/24/2012 by Tatum Hartvigsen
Rating: 4

I love having these in my 4th grade classroom. I use them as a station during reading/writing time. I feel that it keeps kids' creativity going and gives them the ability to think outside the box.

5 of 5 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

Super Imagination Tool
Posted 1/17/2012 by Pete Bottiglier
Rating: 5

Great quality, almost indestructible (a serious plus), great stories every time from all ages of our family, which is 4 to 40. A super product, highly recommended for everyone and all ages. Thank you very much!

5 of 5 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

Review of Rory's Story Cubes
Posted 12/14/2011 by Sharyn Vien - GRANDPARENT
Rating: 4

The product does require imaginative thinking and I find my child who uses creative imagination in her play time more interested in this game than the child who requires more action in her playtime. I think the game is fun and I play it with the children to spur on their imagination. However, it seems that compared to their other "action" toys this one gets to spend a lot of time in the background. Unfortunately, because it really is a splendid prompt for story telling. I recommend it.

5 of 5 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

Perfect
Posted 12/14/2011 by Holly Hoelting
Rating: 5

Great game for kids and families to play together. Perfect for all ages.

5 of 5 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

Story Cubes
Posted 12/8/2011 by Janice Enos - GRANDPARENT
Rating: 5

Great for creativity and imagination!

5 of 5 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

Great toy to bring out the imagination!
Posted 11/2/2011 by DAWN
Rating: 5

These cubes are great. Our 8 year old and 5 year old both play with them. They come up with the best stories from the pictures on the cubes. Always something different and hilarious!

5 of 5 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

Product review of Rory's Story Cubes
Posted 10/13/2011
Rating: 5

We play it at dinner and have a blast!

5 of 5 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

My review on Rory's Story Cubes
Posted 10/6/2011 by Grandma D.
Rating: 5

I bought this for my grandson age 11 and grandaughter age 9. They loved it instantly. They even play it alone together without fighting. lol We all play it as a family too. I think it's super and so do they. I would highly recommend this. It's fun for kids and adults and great for a family get-together. Anyone that buys this game won't be sorry. It's a wonderful gift to give someone, I think. I can't say enough good things.

5 of 5 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

Review of Rory's Story Cubes
Posted 8/23/2011 by Jane Simon
Rating: 5

Simple, but imaginative product that encourages thoughful, rational processing.

5 of 5 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

My rating of Rory's Story Cubes
Posted 8/5/2011 by B. Sambrook
Rating: 4

I bought this for my 6 year old daughter and 4 year old son, because one of their favorite ways to pass the time in the car is to take turns telling stories they've made up. They do enjoy this "game", though they have trouble (and so do I) identifying what some of the pictures on the die are supposed to be. But I think that's part of fun, since YOU decide what the symbol means and go with it. I've also found the dice in the back end of my son's dump truck, so one does need to keep an eye on things so one doesn't lose pieces!

5 of 5 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

Review of Rory's Story Cubes
Posted 1/4/2011 by Al Breitenbach
Rating: 5

I bought this for my two grandkids 8 & 9. The one that is always telling and making up stories with a big imagination did not give them much time. I thought he was the one to really like them. The other one that does not make up a lot of things really took to them and played with them quite a bit and had fun with them. Go figure.

5 of 5 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

Great for English classroom
Posted 8/18/2011 by Kim Carnahan - EDUCATOR
Rating: 5

I plan to use these as one of a set of writing stations in my eleventh grade English classroom. There are enough cubes and icons to provide a great start to any story or poem. I will give students a set of guidelines and a time limit at this station and they will need to generate stories based on the toss of the cubes.

5 of 6 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

Great way to use imagination!!
Posted 4/13/2012 by JULIE M SMITH
Rating: 5

It gets my kids to put the electronics away and use their imaginations! Fun for the whole family!

4 of 4 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

Awesome
Posted 4/2/2012 by Martha McGowan
Rating: 5

My kids love it, they played with ehyer are who is almost 80 for almost an hour, then they took it to school, the teachers love it, their friends thought it was awesome and cool.

4 of 4 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

Easy-to-Use, Fun and Engaging!
Posted 3/29/2012 by Vanessa Rivera
Rating: 5

The nine dice engage your imagination immediately with the pictures shown. It is fun to come up with a story in no time. My seven year old loves it! :)

4 of 4 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

Review of Rory's Story Cubes
Posted 2/28/2012 by Holly Woodard
Rating: 5

It is a great way to increase imagination in an easy format. My 3yo son loves to tell us how to do it. I like it soo much I will definitely incorporate it into our everyday routine.

4 of 4 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

rory's story cube
Posted 2/4/2012
Rating: 4

This toys very good it stimulates a child's imagination. I believe this will also help her with her school writing.

4 of 4 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

Product review of Rory's Story Cubes
Posted 1/16/2012 by L MORTON
Rating: 5

I gave the story cubes to my niece for Christmas. At four years old, she has a great imagination and likes to make up stories. When she first opened the gift, she wasn't sure about it and I was concerned about the size of the pictures and didn't realize the level of steps to the instructions. But, in a follow up call to my sister, she said my nieces spent all morning playing with them and making up stories together. They weren't following the "instructions", but with each roll, coming up with adventures to tie all the pictures together. It kept their attention, the eldest is 7 and from what my sister said, will grow with them, providing additional ways to spark their storytelling as they get older.

4 of 4 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

Rory's Story Cubes in the classroom
Posted 1/10/2012 by M. Sisson
Rating: 5

I bought Rory's Story Cubes to use in my creative writing class. For a fun activity, I had each of the students roll three of the nine dice and write down what they rolled (i.e. sheep, castle, plane). Then, the students were asked to write a ten-word story using the three words that were rolled. The kids enjoyed the random nature of the activity, compared the words they had to work with to those of their peers, and launched into the writing task with gusto. It is not hard to get students to write lengthy stories; it is a challenge to get them to write succinctly. The fun aspects associated with the story cubes made them forget how difficult it is to be brief but thorough, and they seemed to enjoy the activity.

4 of 4 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

A rating of Rory's Story Cubes
Posted 1/5/2012 by heather hay
Rating: 5

I gave the Story Cubes as a gift to my 7yr old Nephew, who loves it! He, his 4yr old sister and I played the game every night before bed, a new story time. The imaginations these kids have are amazing and very funny. I used the game to also test their memory, after they used the cubes to develop their story, I would take the cubes away and have them repeat story, they would receive points for getting the story right and if they could remember we would make new stories and have a good laugh! We also discussed how great it will be for the 7yr old to play by himself and be tasked with writing down the stories to practice creative writing and penmanship, since computers are taking over the education process. Ultimately, it’s a fantastic gift to bring kids out of their shell and/or develop great communication and creative skills. Going forward, I will buy this forever kid I know!

4 of 4 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

My rating of Rory's Story Cubes
Posted 1/3/2012 by Elizabeth Fuszner
Rating: 5

Gave as a gift...she loves it! Family uses it at the dinner table and when appropriate to help with homework.

4 of 4 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

Great for the whole family
Posted 1/3/2012
Rating: 5

We use the story cubes as a family activity and my children love it! I can finally get them to do something other than play video games, and they are using their creativity to come up with great stories!

4 of 4 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

Story Cubes
Posted 1/3/2012 by Brady Rogers - FRIEND
Rating: 4

Very good idea. Gets the imagination juices flowing.

4 of 4 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

Rorys Cubes
Posted 12/26/2011 by Donna Williams
Rating: 5

We already have this product so I bought it as a duplicate for another location..we like it...

4 of 4 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

Unlimited possibilities
Posted 12/23/2011 by Suzanne
Rating: 4

The packaging is clever and easy to use (magnetic closure and dice contained in reversible tray), portable (fits in a pocket), and adaptable (can use the tray to contain the dice if playing in a limited space). The images chosen for the dice faces are interesting, evocative, and well-executed (engraved into the face and heavily inked). The ambiguity of some of the images ("what the heck is THAT supposed to be?") just adds to the number of possible interpretations by the story teller. I must say I do wonder at the choice to use 3 out of 54 faces for lock-and/or-key symbols (say anything about the creator, would you say?)

4 of 4 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

Good toy for a family vaacation
Posted 12/2/2011 by a grandmother - GRANDPARENT
Rating: 4

The cubes have intriguing icons on them. I intend them for family play, grandparents to small children. I didn't realize they were as small as dice - three-quarters of an inch -- and the box fits in your pants pocket. We'll enjoy making up our own game rules.

4 of 4 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

Rory's Story Cubes
Posted 9/7/2011 by rochelle weiss - GRANDPARENT
Rating: 4

We all played it, ages from 70 to 7 years old. The kids really laughed a lot and were very creative.

4 of 4 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

Review of Rory's Story Cubes
Posted 5/8/2011 by Linda Wessell - GRANDPARENT
Rating: 5

Excellent, very fun! No need for reading, but best for 5 years and up. Start with 3 or 4 and work up to all 12.

4 of 4 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

Evcellent
Posted 12/8/2011 by Susan zarachowicz
Rating: 5

Can't stop playing given to adult. Get ice breaker, or family memory maker. All ages can play and enjoy many laughs and memories.

4 of 5 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

Great product!
Posted 9/26/2011
Rating: 5

It is a great product! I think it will be great to help my son with his writing process.

4 of 5 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

Story Cubes
Posted 6/21/2011 by C. Rogers
Rating: 5

Lot's of options to choose from. This has created some motivation for my son to write in his journal over the summer. We take turns making up stories together.

4 of 5 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

Journal Writing Prompt Grade 3-4
Posted 10/4/2012 by James Reid
Rating: 4

I bought six packs of these dice to use in my grade 3/4 split class. I use them once a week during journal with either each student receiving three die, or a group getting one whole pack of nine. I have found so far that they are a valuable tool. Poor writers are forced to move outside of their normal journal entries and incorporate many items while my stronger writers appreciate the creative challenge equally. I have plans to use these a drama tool as well. All in all a decent product for a classroom, having more than one set helps.

3 of 3 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

Enjoyed our visit
Posted 5/15/2012 by MELODIE M CRISTO
Rating: 4

We Drove from across town for the mini anals at the front counter. My daughter loves them!

4 of 7 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

Great Game!
Posted 10/23/2013 by KATHLEEN A WARD
Rating: 5

Our family has had a lot of fun with this game! I bought it to take on vacation and it worked out great in the car, hotel and by the pool. The adults had as much fun as the small kids. (You don't even have to know how to read to play!) I also like how simple the game is; no board, score sheet, playing pieces etc. A+ on this one!

1 of 1 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

Lots of creative fun
Posted 1/8/2014 by C Young
Rating: 4

I gave this toy to our 30 year old son and the whole family enjoys playing with it. We had good laughs and great creativity when we made up the stories.

Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

Great Discussion Starter
Posted 12/9/2013 by James Stewart
Rating: 4

My son is still learning to read, but he enjoys the concept of using the dice to start him off on telling a story.

Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

A rating of Rory's Story Cubes
Posted 11/3/2013 by Caroline Brewer
Rating: 4

Fun for road trips and rainy days, the story cubes teach good speaking and story telling skills, and are fun.

Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

Story cubes
Posted 7/31/2013 by Patricia Freeman
Rating: 5

I love the Story Cubes, it gives our daughter a chance to become creative in her story telling. The fact that my husband and myself love to play also.

Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

Great Product!
Posted 4/18/2013 by ALISSA P ELLIS
Rating: 5

This is a great product! my students loved writing stories with them during a center time this week!

Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

Lots of Stories to Tell
Posted 1/27/2013 by Jami Merrill
Rating: 4

My boys love playing this game. They come up with the greatest stories.

Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

Information about Rory's Story Cubes
Posted 12/28/2012 by Dorothy Breitenstein
Rating: 5

Good product for the imagination. Purchased for a girl that makes up stories all the time so this will be great for her.

Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

Product review of Rory's Story Cubes
Posted 12/19/2012 by gabrielle howell
Rating: 5

can't wait to play this on family game nights!

Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)


McAfee SECURE sites help keep you safe from identity theft, credit card fraud, spyware, spam, viruses and online scams
Home | Shopping Cart | Help | Privacy Policy | Return Authorizations | Toy Blog | Coming Soon | Christmas Toys
Best Toys by Age | Birthday Gifts | Top Kids Toys | Toys on Sale | New Toys | Popular Toy Searches

Copyright © 2003-2014 Fat Brain Toys LLC. All rights reserved. Fat Brain Toys® is a registered service mark of Fat Brain Toys, LLC
Fat Brain Toys Offices
1405 N. 205th St., Ste. 120 Elkhorn, Nebraska USA 68022
Phone 1-800-590-5987
Omaha Toy Store
16909 Burke Street, Suite 131 Omaha, Nebraska 68118
Phone 402-504-6218
Overland Park/Kansas City Toy Store
5601 West 135th Street Overland Park, Kansas 66223
Opening May 2014!

  MacWeb03