Home > Toy Companies > Gamewright/Ceaco > Rory's Story Cubes > Customer Reviews
Rory's Story Cubes
0

4 Star reviews of Rory's Story Cubes by Gamewright/Ceaco

Return to Rory's Story Cubes product information...

Rory's Story Cubes has been reviewed 61 times with an average rating of 4.62

Rory's Story Cubes
Posted 8/11/2010 by hpatterson - RELATIVE
Rating: 4

Perfect for the pre-reader who wants to tell stories. Lots of combinations and some images on dice can be interpreted in different ways.

8 of 9 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

Information about Rory's Story Cubes
Posted 8/31/2011 by Jean Val Jean
Rating: 4

We played with Story Cubes on a weekend getaway. We used predetermined themes and tossed the dice to frame a story around those themes - with the constraint that the stories were truthful. We both liked it because of the insights and creativity used in sharing stories that we don't get via day-to-day conversations. We also found that a bottle of champagne enhanced the enjoyment - include in game instructions??? ;-)

6 of 7 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

Rory's Story Cubes
Posted 4/24/2012 by Tatum Hartvigsen
Rating: 4

I love having these in my 4th grade classroom. I use them as a station during reading/writing time. I feel that it keeps kids' creativity going and gives them the ability to think outside the box.

5 of 5 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

Product review of Rory's Story Cubes
Posted 12/14/2011 by Sharyn Vien - GRANDPARENT
Rating: 4

The product does require imaginative thinking and I find my child who uses creative imagination in her play time more interested in this game than the child who requires more action in her playtime. I think the game is fun and I play it with the children to spur on their imagination. However, it seems that compared to their other "action" toys this one gets to spend a lot of time in the background. Unfortunately, because it really is a splendid prompt for story telling. I recommend it.

5 of 5 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

Review for Rory's Story Cubes
Posted 8/5/2011 by B. Sambrook
Rating: 4

I bought this for my 6 year old daughter and 4 year old son, because one of their favorite ways to pass the time in the car is to take turns telling stories they've made up. They do enjoy this "game", though they have trouble (and so do I) identifying what some of the pictures on the die are supposed to be. But I think that's part of fun, since YOU decide what the symbol means and go with it. I've also found the dice in the back end of my son's dump truck, so one does need to keep an eye on things so one doesn't lose pieces!

5 of 5 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

rory's story cube
Posted 2/4/2012
Rating: 4

This toys very good it stimulates a child's imagination. I believe this will also help her with her school writing.

4 of 4 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

Story Cubes
Posted 1/3/2012 by Brady Rogers - FRIEND
Rating: 4

Very good idea. Gets the imagination juices flowing.

4 of 4 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

Unlimited possibilities
Posted 12/23/2011 by Suzanne
Rating: 4

The packaging is clever and easy to use (magnetic closure and dice contained in reversible tray), portable (fits in a pocket), and adaptable (can use the tray to contain the dice if playing in a limited space). The images chosen for the dice faces are interesting, evocative, and well-executed (engraved into the face and heavily inked). The ambiguity of some of the images ("what the heck is THAT supposed to be?") just adds to the number of possible interpretations by the story teller. I must say I do wonder at the choice to use 3 out of 54 faces for lock-and/or-key symbols (say anything about the creator, would you say?)

4 of 4 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

Good toy for a family vaacation
Posted 12/2/2011 by a grandmother - GRANDPARENT
Rating: 4

The cubes have intriguing icons on them. I intend them for family play, grandparents to small children. I didn't realize they were as small as dice - three-quarters of an inch -- and the box fits in your pants pocket. We'll enjoy making up our own game rules.

4 of 4 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

Rory's Story Cubes
Posted 9/7/2011 by rochelle weiss - GRANDPARENT
Rating: 4

We all played it, ages from 70 to 7 years old. The kids really laughed a lot and were very creative.

4 of 4 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

Journal Writing Prompt Grade 3-4
Posted 10/4/2012 by James Reid
Rating: 4

I bought six packs of these dice to use in my grade 3/4 split class. I use them once a week during journal with either each student receiving three die, or a group getting one whole pack of nine. I have found so far that they are a valuable tool. Poor writers are forced to move outside of their normal journal entries and incorporate many items while my stronger writers appreciate the creative challenge equally. I have plans to use these a drama tool as well. All in all a decent product for a classroom, having more than one set helps.

3 of 3 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

Enjoyed our visit
Posted 5/15/2012 by MELODIE M CRISTO
Rating: 4

We Drove from across town for the mini anals at the front counter. My daughter loves them!

4 of 7 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

Lots of creative fun
Posted 1/8/2014 by C Young
Rating: 4

I gave this toy to our 30 year old son and the whole family enjoys playing with it. We had good laughs and great creativity when we made up the stories.

Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

Great Discussion Starter
Posted 12/9/2013 by James Stewart
Rating: 4

My son is still learning to read, but he enjoys the concept of using the dice to start him off on telling a story.

Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

Product review of Rory's Story Cubes
Posted 11/3/2013 by Caroline Brewer
Rating: 4

Fun for road trips and rainy days, the story cubes teach good speaking and story telling skills, and are fun.

Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

Lots of Stories to Tell
Posted 1/27/2013 by Jami Merrill
Rating: 4

My boys love playing this game. They come up with the greatest stories.

Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)


McAfee SECURE sites help keep you safe from identity theft, credit card fraud, spyware, spam, viruses and online scams
Home | Shopping Cart | Help | Privacy Policy | Return Authorizations | Toy Blog | Coming Soon | Christmas Toys
Best Toys by Age | Birthday Gifts | Top Kids Toys | Toys on Sale | New Toys | Popular Toy Searches

Copyright © 2003-2014 Fat Brain Toys LLC. All rights reserved. Fat Brain Toys® is a registered service mark of Fat Brain Toys, LLC
Fat Brain Toys Offices
1405 N 205th Street, Suite 120
Elkhorn, Nebraska 68022
Phone 1-800-590-5987
Omaha Toy Store
16909 Burke Street, Suite 131
Omaha, Nebraska 68118
Phone 402-504-6218
Overland Park/Kansas City Toy Store
5601 West 135th Street, Suite 2230
Overland Park, Kansas 66223
Phone 913-305-4894

  MacWeb03