Home > Toy Companies > GoldieBlox > GoldieBlox and the Spinning Machine > Customer Reviews
GoldieBlox and the Spinning Machine
0

Customer reviews of GoldieBlox and the Spinning Machine by GoldieBlox

Return to GoldieBlox and the Spinning Machine product information...

GoldieBlox and the Spinning Machine has been reviewed 38 times with an average rating of 4.37

Spinning Machine less than expected
Posted 7/1/2013 by Don Fitzpatrick - GRANDPARENT
Rating: 2

The GoldieBlox story is exciting, and I was intrigued by the Spinning Machine, which I bought for one of my granddaughters. My dad and I are engineers. My son, his wife, and my daughter's husband are all engineers, so I was pre-disposed to expect that the GoldieBox concept would be a winner. My granddaughter is one with endless, imaginative questions like why it is colder on the top of a mountain when it's closer to the sun, and where does air come from? She quickly assembles Lego sets rated a couple years above her age, and loves puzzles of all kinds. She seemed a natural to be intrigued by the first GoldieBlox product. After reviewing the gift enough to fully understand it, she seemed surprisingly indifferent. The enclosed story about the animals that would be spun on top of the spools wasn't gripping enough to even listen to until the end - possibly because her mother has read so many hundreds of books to her, her expectations were unrealistically high. The first assembly of spools, axles, washers, the band and the lever were fun, and the first project seemed satisfying enough. But she was bored by the second pass at putting the same parts together in different configurations, and never picked up the toy again for several weeks. I held off on this review until I felt she had a fair chance to play with it without the distraction of the birthday party. I opened up the Spinning Machine one day, put it together in a different configuration, and left it out with other toys and puzzles that she often plays with. She was interested enough to take it apart and reassemble it again that day, but that was the last time she has shown any interest in it on her own. It's hard to penetrate the mind of a six-year-old, but my take on her lack of interest is that, as well designed as the Spinning Machine is, it basically only does one thing. Since there's really no other way to use the toy except as designed, there doesn't seem to be room for imagination as there is with a more open-ended toy like Legos that can build anything your mind can dream up. As exciting as the GoldieBlox business story is, I don't plan to buy any more of their products unless they appear to provide for more imagination in what can be done with the components provided.
We contacted our customer with good news! We've built a smart collection of Mechanics & Engineering toys to get minds in gear. With 7,000 Fat Brain Toys storewide, you'll find just the right level of challenge to engineer smart play. Supercharge your experience with a visit to our Returns & Exchanges Center - It's one smooth operation.

54 of 57 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

Product review of GoldieBlox and the Spinning Machine
Posted 6/6/2013 - RELATIVE
Rating: 5

Wonderful idea to foster a girl's imagination in a way that doesn't always involve mothering or domestic chores. This was a birthday gift for a 4 yr old whose grandpa happens to be an engineer. Great fun to watch them working on this together. I think her age helped to make this a successful gift. Once they reach kindergarten and first grade they are too influenced by peers.

9 of 9 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

Love this!
Posted 4/29/2013 by Libby Ball - GRANDPARENT
Rating: 5

I purchased this toy for my granddaughter's 7th Birthday. She played with it for hours. She loved reading the book and following the story to build her machine. I truly hope that there will be more to come so she can advance her little engineering abilities.

6 of 6 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

Nurturing next generation engineers
Posted 5/15/2013
Rating: 5

This toy has a very good fundamental point to start with - to prepare girls for the interests in engineering and problem solving. I have a 6-year old daughter. She likes new things and is very curious about new devices, and equipments, etc. She likes lego as well as barbie dolls and other girlish stuff. This toy makes engineering a non-gender biased area so that girls will be able to learn engineering in a non-gender preference way. Engineering is no longer top choices for students in many OECD countries. Hence, learning engineering in a non-gender biased way or encouraging more female to take up engineering is very important.

8 of 11 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

Great toy...not sure for how long.
Posted 5/8/2013 by Daryn Polanco
Rating: 3

My 5 year old daughter was so excited to receive this toy! I had been telling her about it for months and we purchased it soon after it became available. We worked through the initial challenge in less that 30 minutes. Then she asked, "Now what?" It was bed time and I told her we could explore later. She hasn't asked about it again. I'll pull it out and try to get her to explore more on her own, but after the initial thrill, she was pretty much over it. I'll update if this changes!
If your child isn't spinning with delight over the gift you've purchased, turn our way. Our satisfaction guarantee is 100%. Visit the Returns & Exchanges Center for details.

5 of 5 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

The best service ever !
Posted 4/24/2013 by Sue Welty
Rating: 5

It was fun to find something so new and different that my grandaughter (nor I) had ever seen this before. She loved making the patterns in the book as well as trying some on her own. I was impressed with the amount of things you can do and with the quality of the set !

5 of 5 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

Unique toy
Posted 6/25/2013 by MEREDITH
Rating: 4

Bought this for my 5 year old daughter. I have been excited about trying this new toy, as I have heard a lot about it. She has played with it a handful of times since recieving it about a week ago. It is a bit challenging for her to get the hang of setting up the designs, but I think the challenge is good for her. She enjoys designing her own figures and set-ups now, much like she would if she were playing with Lego blocks. Looking forward to more stories from Goldie Blox.

7 of 10 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

Information about GoldieBlox and the Spinning Machine
Posted 7/23/2013 by Scott Webster
Rating: 3

I was disappointed in the play value of this item.
The play-n truth. We value your full satisfaction. We assisted our customer promptly. Please visit the Returns & Exchanges Center for assured customer care.

6 of 8 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

Information about GoldieBlox and the Spinning Machine
Posted 5/30/2013 by Car0l - GRANDPARENT
Rating: 5

5 year old granddaughter had fun putting it together with her Mom's help. She didn't seem interested in trying other combinations. I fee she is a little young for this toy.

5 of 6 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

Product review of GoldieBlox and the Spinning Machine
Posted 4/23/2013 by Dave Barnhart - GRANDPARENT
Rating: 5

Bought for my granddaughter. Her mother has to limit the amount of time she plays with it. A big hit!

5 of 6 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

Goldie blocks
Posted 7/17/2013 by Jennifer James
Rating: 5

My kids ages 4 and 3 love it! Good story, quality construction and great learning while having fun:)

4 of 4 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

Great idea but rather simplistic
Posted 5/21/2013 by Colleen Myers
Rating: 3

My 6 year old was very excited to get this in the mail and played with it for an hour or so. She hasn't picked it up since. I think it was more simplistic than expected.
If excitement doesn't build for Goldie Blox, let us know! Visit the Returns & Exchanges Center for satisfaction that lasts.

4 of 4 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

Information about GoldieBlox and the Spinning Machine
Posted 4/28/2013 by Randy Costas - FRIEND
Rating: 5

Best toy ever...the kids love it. Please invent more like this for kids to explore their "engineer" within!

4 of 5 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

Goldieblox and the spinning machine
Posted 10/24/2013 by Margaret Purcell
Rating: 4

It's challenging, but she gets better and better at it. It builds dexterity and creativity. It was a great purchase!

3 of 3 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

GoldieBlox
Posted 5/6/2013 by Anne Namey
Rating: 4

My grand daughter is very smart and creative and loves art so I usually get her something along those lines but I wanted to introduce her to more science/engineering so she could use her creativity in that area and hopefully find a future in it. She also has younger brothers who will enjoy it, even though it is pink. Ha

3 of 3 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

Goldie Blox
Posted 4/29/2013 by Katie Erekson
Rating: 4

My daughter really enjoys this toy, she is still too young o play with it by her self but she loves it when we play with it together.

3 of 4 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

goldiblox
Posted 2/10/2014 by Helen byce
Rating: 3

A little simple; I think it's great to make stuff "for girls" but making it pink automatically removes boys from the equation. I think "gender neutral" would be better. For example, snap circuits- they're great for girls or boys and the concept is a better fit for "engineering."

2 of 2 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

GoldieLocks
Posted 4/24/2013 by EMILY G HEINZEN
Rating: 4

Just as described - a GREAT toy that is new and unique - great selection!

2 of 2 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

New Favorite Toy for an Independent, Creative Girl!
Posted 2/1/2014 by Amanda Reiss
Rating: 5

Got this as a Christmas present for our daughter who turned 4 just after the holidays. Even though she's on the younger end of the spectrum, she LOVES this toy! This is one of her favorite toys - she loves to read, and typically uses her very active imagination to repurpose her existing toys into whatever her imaginative stories/games call for. This is a toy that was made for her! She loves the characters, loves that there is a story behind building the basic machine, and loves trying to build the other machines shown on the back of the book. She's recently started incorporating the use of her other toys into playing with her Goldie Blox which has prompted us to order the 2nd and 3rd Goldie Blox sets to keep feeding her ideas and give her more pieces to build her machines with.

1 of 1 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

Review for GoldieBlox and the Spinning Machine
Posted 1/25/2014 by robin dill
Rating: 4

Very simple design, fair construction. The pieces are difficult for my daughter to place, this is a partner project.

1 of 1 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

Fun Non-girly Girl toy
Posted 1/19/2014 by Heather
Rating: 4

My 7 year old niece certainly needed some guidance to do this. Her first impulse was just to try and build exactly what she saw on the box. Working with an adult and using the book she worked her way through the story and really seemed to enjoy herself and have a feeling of accomplishment.

1 of 1 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

Review for GoldieBlox and the Spinning Machine
Posted 12/8/2013 by Cheryl MacNeil - GRANDPARENT
Rating: 4

Fun for girls and works on the STEM that is needed to advance girls in science and technology.

1 of 1 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

Goldie Blix and the Spinning Machine
Posted 11/17/2013 by Michelle Guerin
Rating: 3

Made of decent quality materials

1 of 1 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

Review for GoldieBlox and the Spinning Machine
Posted 1/6/2014 by Gina Dreier
Rating: 5

Our daughter loves that there is a story to follow along with and solve. We love that she needs to use problem solving skills and try different methods.

Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

Review of GoldieBlox and the Spinning Machine
Posted 12/28/2013 - GRANDPARENT
Rating: 5

I gave the gift to a 7 year old and a 10 year old. It waas Christmas day. The girls played and created from 4 o'clock to 8. They read the story, made up their own story, put on a play and then made a video. As excited as I was to give the gift, their enthusism exceeded mine. I shared the story on how Goldi Blocks gave to be and they were mesmerized. Of all the gifts from electronics to clothes by far the most successful!

Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

So much cooler than I thought!
Posted 12/26/2013 by Susan
Rating: 5

I have been amazed at how much my 5-year-old daughter enjoys this toy. It was the toy she played with the most after opening the Christmas presents and she brought it out again first thing in the morning to play with. I think she really likes how hands on it is, plus she likes the story and the characters. She talks to the characters and has been exploring all the different things you can do with the axles and wheels, and made some very interesting discoveries that are not in the book (there are a lot of ways to join the axles to different places on the spools, board, and blocks--and there are creative ways to have the characters interact with or attach to the spools and axels). On the first day she played with it, she built the belt drive as described in the story and kind of explored the parts. Now she's been continuing to explore the different ways to put the pieces together. I play it with her and try to balance following her lead with adding in a new idea here and there for her to chew on and explore. This toy is a blast, and very cool. Very appealing. Very creative too because there are a lot more things you can do with it than just the initial machine. Love the motion, love the hands on. My one complaint is that the little crank pops off too easily--we found that sometimes it was just easier to turn the spools by hand. We may try some creative solutions to the cranking problem--maybe some putty? We'll keep playing with it. It's fun to go through the discovery process together.

Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

GoldieBlox and the Spinning Machine Outstanding
Posted 12/10/2013 by Tim Kimsey - GRANDPARENT
Rating: 5

Excellent product. Well made and wonderful for girls & boys.

Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

Great product
Posted 12/3/2013
Rating: 4

My six year old daughter loves this game. It's something completely different from anything else we have.

Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

Innovative and Fun
Posted 12/1/2013 by Melissa Snell - RELATIVE
Rating: 5

My niece loves this. Looking forward to getting another "chapter".

Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)


McAfee SECURE sites help keep you safe from identity theft, credit card fraud, spyware, spam, viruses and online scams
Home | Shopping Cart | Help | Privacy Policy | Return Authorizations | Toy Blog | Coming Soon | Christmas Toys
Best Toys by Age | Birthday Gifts | Top Kids Toys | Toys on Sale | New Toys | Popular Toy Searches

Copyright © 2003-2014 Fat Brain Toys LLC. All rights reserved. Fat Brain Toys® is a registered service mark of Fat Brain Toys, LLC
Fat Brain Toys Offices
1405 N. 205th St., Ste. 120 Elkhorn, Nebraska USA 68022
Phone 1-800-590-5987
Omaha Toy Store
16909 Burke Street, Suite 131 Omaha, Nebraska 68118
Phone 402-504-6218
Overland Park/Kansas City Toy Store
5601 West 135th Street Overland Park, Kansas 66223
Opening May 2014!

  MacWeb03