Home > Toy Companies > HABA > Basic Building Blocks - Extra Large Starter Set > Customer Reviews
Basic Building Blocks - Extra Large Starter Set
0

5 Star reviews of Basic Building Blocks - Extra Large Starter Set by HABA

Return to Basic Building Blocks - Extra Large Starter Set product information...

Basic Building Blocks - Extra Large Starter Set has been reviewed 62 times with an average rating of 4.69

A rating of Basic Building Blocks - Extra Large Starter Set
Posted 1/4/2008 by Gretchen
Rating: 5

We bought the Haba Basic Building Blocks - Extra Large Starter Set for our girls (ages 5 and 7). I am sorry that I didn't buy them earlier! They were an instant hit! They are beautifully shaped and make amazing creations. I love that we can create something together as a family, but also that the girls can play with them alone or with each other.

8 of 8 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

Fun For All Ages
Posted 12/27/2007 by Cindy M.
Rating: 5

We gave this gorgeous set of blocks to our 4.5 and 18 month old daughters because our oldest was asking for "blocks just like at school." They have been a huge hit with both girls, and even my husband has spent hours creating castles, tunnels, barnyards, etc. The quality is superb - we like the slightly raw, natural feeling instead of varnished, polished blocks. And it's nice to have no worries about the quality or materials used by the maker.

7 of 7 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

Information about Basic Building Blocks - Extra Large Starter Set
Posted 8/15/2012 by Elizabeth Barber
Rating: 5

Though I purchased these for my youngest, they are a hit with all of my kids--ages 6-11. Classic blocks with new, inventive shapes as well. Really pleased with this purchase. Hours of creative play ahead. My 6-year-old commented on how things made in Germany are better than those made in China. Very true. We also purchased the vehicle set and the two sets together make a nice pair.

6 of 6 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

HABA Building Blocks
Posted 8/16/2007 - EDUCATOR
Rating: 5

This is a fine set of quality building blocks. The set combines well with the HABA marble run sets, the HABA specialized architectural sets, and the HABA logical sets. This is a well thought out system.

6 of 6 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

Review of Basic Building Blocks - Extra Large Starter Set
Posted 6/25/2012 by Suzanne A. - RELATIVE
Rating: 5

This was a gift for my 2 year old niece. Her parents requested basic wooden blocks. The Haba blocks are anything but basic! They are heirloom quality that will last for generations! Everyone at the birthday party couldn't put them down, their tactile appeal is off the charts. As a former preschool and kindergarten teacher, these are the blocks I lusted for in my classrooms!

5 of 5 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

Wonderful.
Posted 9/18/2011 by Sarah Honeyman
Rating: 5

Sure there's a couple of little edges that aren't perfect, but out of the - say - 250 pieces I received quickly, maybe only 4 of the, had a barely unfinished couple of millimeters. Either they've upped their attention to detail thanks to past reviews, or their product has and always will be exceptionally well made. The variety and smooth, amazing feel of all the unique blocks are a must. Buy them -- your kids will play with them for years. Even my 5 year old (whose imagination could use a boost) has been creating new ways to use the blocks and delights in them. Roads, zoo's, spelling words with them, creating a restaurant for some dolls with them -- it's awesome. He's even started to combine them with other blocks he hasn't used in years.

5 of 5 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

Excellent service and fast shipping
Posted 2/9/2009 by Stephen Haynes
Rating: 5

Fantastic quality blocks. Much better than anything I had as a child. All the sizes match up well so that intricate designs can be built with ease. I was astonished that five minutes after I opened the box my 2 year old had built 3 amazingly detailed towers with no supervision. A tribute to their quality and ease of use.

5 of 5 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

Review of Basic Building Blocks - Extra Large Starter Set
Posted 2/4/2008 by Mom Of 2 Girls
Rating: 5

The building blocks have been great thus far. They are completely durable and allow the kids to be creative for an endless amount of time!

5 of 6 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

Information about Basic Building Blocks - Extra Large Starter Set
Posted 1/7/2011 by Bethany
Rating: 5

My 3 kids (ages 3,5 and 7) all love to build with these blocks. There are enough blocks in this set to build some cool stuff.

4 of 4 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

Enjoys it
Posted 12/20/2010 by Scott
Rating: 5

Got it for our 2 year old - he likes!

4 of 4 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

Fine
Posted 12/7/2010 by Craig Cavolo
Rating: 5

It was a gift. Great reaction from the mother.

4 of 4 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

Great Addition to smaller set
Posted 6/21/2010 by mom2boysnjapan
Rating: 5

These blocks are wonderful! We received the smaller set of colored blocks for my oldest son's 1st birthday and he loved them. Then for my youngest son's 1st birthday we decided to get the Extra Large set for him (them). They LOVE the blocks and are so excited to play with them everyday. It really helps the oldest with creating fun and new castles and buildings and just gets him creative and imaginative. The youngest is getting so much better at stacking the blocks and likes that he can hold them well and position them without it being too small. Perfect gift for any child.

4 of 4 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

great quality blocks
Posted 4/6/2009 by Kelly
Rating: 5

the quality is excellent, and the variety of shapes makes creativity limitless. I am considering purchasing another set!

4 of 4 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

Outstanding Play
Posted 12/18/2007 by Wesam Abdallah
Rating: 5

These blocks are a wonderful value, without compromising on quality. They are plain with no paint or finish (which is great consider my son, at 16 months, uses pretty much everything as a teething toy). The fabric carry bag was a great surprise. At 102 blocks there's enough to keep both him and I busy with tons of healthy, creative fun. As I've found with many Haba items, great product!

4 of 4 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

A rating of Basic Building Blocks - Extra Large Starter Set
Posted 9/27/2007
Rating: 5

Excellent product! This is the second HABA set I have purchased. They are sturdy, smooth, and well-balanced. This set goes well with the 60 piece starter set. It has provided hours of entertainment for my two boys, ages 4 and 6. I feel that they will be using these blocks for years to come, and I will definitely get my money's worth.

4 of 4 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

Haba Blocks
Posted 7/24/2007
Rating: 5

The blocks are great! They are unique and creative, yet sturdy. They will last forever.

4 of 4 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

A rating of Basic Building Blocks - Extra Large Starter Set
Posted 5/7/2007
Rating: 5

Blocks are the best for kids' imagination. This set is great on its own or to add to any other block set.

4 of 4 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

Information about Basic Building Blocks - Extra Large Starter Set
Posted 2/25/2007 by Glenn Moore
Rating: 5

Outstanding building blocks of the highest quality. The kids absolutely love them.

4 of 4 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

Exactly What It Claims To Be
Posted 2/24/2007 by Paul
Rating: 5

This set is exactly what it claims to be, an extra large starter set of basic building blocks. Many, many blocks. Lots of basic shapes and not too many special shapes. Well suited for learning basic building skills, which my 12-month old is of course not even thinking of (she's more in a destructive stage, destroying what daddy built, that is.) If she will build, these are the blocks that are best suited for it.

4 of 4 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

Fun-nomenal
Posted 1/29/2007 by Mom at Home
Rating: 5

Wow! We so love the Haba blocks - for everyone in the family. Our three year old is captivated, we have great talk time as we build, and our two year old is close behind. I love the variety of shapes, the unique curves and design that allows for really interesting building projects. We like, too, that we can add Haba sets as the kids get older with marble slides and so on. I can see this being a favorite for many, many years to come!

4 of 4 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

A rating of Basic Building Blocks - Extra Large Starter Set
Posted 1/16/2007
Rating: 5

Our son (9 months) loves the blocks. I actually had the same blocks when I was a baby. My parents back in Germany still have them. When we were back in Germany for Christmas, our son played for hours with these blocks. It is amazing for a 9 month old to have such a long attention span. Accordingly, we had to get him the same blocks back in the U.S.

4 of 4 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

Excellent Set of Blocks
Posted 12/4/2006
Rating: 5

This is an excellent set of wooden blocks. The abundance of shapes included provide endless fun and exploration in 3-D. My 2 year old is still only capable of rudimentary play with the blocks (simple stacking, looking at different shapes, etc.), but these blocks will provide many more years of fun as she matures. I recommend them for any child.

4 of 4 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

Great for Toddler
Posted 7/20/2006 by Richard Foulk
Rating: 5

Lots of different shapes and very high quality hardwood.

4 of 4 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

Blocks
Posted 5/17/2006 by Elizabeth Vaughan
Rating: 5

Great set. Just right size- not too big or too small.

4 of 4 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

Information about Basic Building Blocks - Extra Large Starter Set
Posted 5/1/2006 by Cynthia Walker
Rating: 5

High quality, interesting shapes, basically uniform. The Pattern Shapes by Haba also high quality and both products are precisely what I envisioned I would get.

4 of 4 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

HABA Building Blocks beautiful!
Posted 2/28/2006 by Scott Nadeau
Rating: 5

These blocks are very high quality birch wood. Solid and with some weight. They also are a good size, unlike other seemingly comparable less expensive sets. I'd say each block is about one and half inches square by whatever length it is. So they are a great size for kids of all ages. Lots of variety too.

4 of 4 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

Great toy at very good price!
Posted 2/23/2006 by Danyu Malveaux
Rating: 5

I bought this set for my 4 year old daughter. It is just right number of pieces and varieties. She likes it a lot. And I think she'll be able to play with it more often and more creatively in the next three to four years.

4 of 4 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

My rating of Basic Building Blocks - Extra Large Starter Set
Posted 1/23/2006
Rating: 5

My son loves these blocks. He has played with them everyday since since they arrived last week. These are good quality blocks and great to build with.

4 of 4 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

Fantastic!
Posted 1/2/2006
Rating: 5

The blocks are high quality, smoothly sanded, lots of fantastic shapes, and even come with a storage bag! We're very pleased! The price isn't bad either!

4 of 4 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

Review for Basic Building Blocks - Extra Large Starter Set
Posted 12/28/2005 by Nicole Morton
Rating: 5

The blocks are excellent quality, and the handy carrying bag is nice to have as well. I purchased this set for my son who is 3 1/2, so this is just the right amount, variety and size. Thanks for a great transaction!

4 of 4 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

Review of Basic Building Blocks - Extra Large Starter Set
Posted 11/28/2005 by M. Adams
Rating: 5

Item arrived within specified time frame. Item is exactly as described. This building set is the perfect gift that lets children really use their imagination and learn the principles of building!

4 of 4 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

The perfect block starter set
Posted 7/13/2005 by Michael De Feo
Rating: 5

Our daughter loves this set... it has the perfect blend of block styles for endless varieties of building. We enjoy playing with it as much as she does!

4 of 4 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

Great blocks!
Posted 5/24/2005 by Katie Holmes
Rating: 5

A friend of mine recommended that I buy nice wooden blocks, and boy, do these fit that description! My 2 year old daughter loves them as do all her friends....would buy for any kid up to age 8 or so.

4 of 4 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

Review of Basic Building Blocks - Extra Large Starter Set
Posted 12/16/2008 by Janice Brady - GRANDPARENT
Rating: 5

Terrific toy for many hours of building and constructing. Could not have been more pleased!

4 of 5 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

Information about Basic Building Blocks - Extra Large Starter Set
Posted 10/27/2008 by Carol Ellis - GRANDPARENT
Rating: 5

I am giving it to my grandson who will be 2. It looks like a marvelous toy for an imaginative child.

4 of 5 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

Grandma Barb
Posted 24 days ago by Barbara McCall
Rating: 5

The best wooden blocks I have seen.

Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

Best educational wooden blocks!
Posted 8/6/2013 by LL
Rating: 5

The Haba block set is of great quality. I would say that they are the best educational wooden blocks that we have ever owned with the exception of Kapla blocks(similar to Citiblocs). I like that the blocks came in a nice box with a handle and when I opened it they were clean. The quality of the blocks were also great with no sharp or rough edges. I was pleasantly surprised to find a beautiful canvas bag with a printed image, for storing all the blocks. I would recommend this set to any parent. The entire family plays with it-ages 3,9,13 and 39. A great addition to these blocks is the Haba Motley World which adds another dimension of play.

Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

Review of Basic Building Blocks - Extra Large Starter Set
Posted 2/4/2013 by Anne - GRANDPARENT
Rating: 5

Very impressed with the quality, size and variety of shapes of the blocks. My grandsons love playing with them and creating their own designs.

Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)


McAfee SECURE sites help keep you safe from identity theft, credit card fraud, spyware, spam, viruses and online scams
Home | Shopping Cart | Help | Privacy Policy | Return Authorizations | Toy Blog | Coming Soon | Christmas Toys
Best Toys by Age | Birthday Gifts | Top Kids Toys | Toys on Sale | New Toys | Popular Toy Searches

Copyright © 2003-2014 Fat Brain Toys LLC. All rights reserved. Fat Brain Toys® is a registered service mark of Fat Brain Toys, LLC
Fat Brain Toys Offices
1405 N 205th Street, Suite 120
Elkhorn, Nebraska 68022
Phone 1-800-590-5987
Omaha Toy Store
16909 Burke Street, Suite 131
Omaha, Nebraska 68118
Phone 402-504-6218
Overland Park/Kansas City Toy Store
5601 West 135th Street, Suite 2230
Overland Park, Kansas 66223
Phone 913-305-4894

  MacWeb03